Manchester, CT 
Wickham Park Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #11 (Taken 4/2010)
4 / 720ft.   4 / 720ft.   4 / 550ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Beautiful grounds

1    7/23/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: Will_S
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Hands down the most beautiful park I've ever played

- Did a great job utilizing the elevation changes which lead to a lot of challenging shots
Cons: - Took me forever to find the right parking lot. May be a good idea to ask the gate attendant how to get back there.

- Some holes seemed unnecessarily long and open. Those didn't feel very rewarding.

- Make sure you have a course map for some areas. Finding the next tee can be tricky in a few areas
Other Thoughts: The bird sanctuary is cool and the grounds are beautiful. During my week in the area this course was my second favorite after Maple Hill. I'd go back and play this course in a heartbeat.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well maintained, but bring a map

1    8/17/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: ziggynagy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful terrain, fields are mowed and the course is well maintained. Mix of short, medium and long range baskets.
Cons: The signage on this course is somewhere between unnerving and frustrating. There are maps at the blue tees which are not drawn to scale and completely misrepresent where alternate tees are (example: compare the map and sign for alternate tee #8). Not all alternate tees are on the course map either, and i cant find the alternate tee for #10.

Several baskets leave you guessing where to go next.
Other Thoughts: I really cant believe the poor job with the course map given how well managed the grounds are. The aviatrum between #11 and #12 makes for an excellent break. Course is really beautiful.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Rolling hills and beautiful views

1    8/5/2014   8/5/2014
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park this course is in is great! The rolling hills, the beautiful skyline and well up-kept park make this course the great experience that it is. This is a great park to bring your wife and children, because of all of the things to do. Gardens bird sanctuaries and an ice cream stop among others.

Great signage and course flow is really easy to follow. I was surprised to find that the lettered holes were extremely easy to find and follow as well. At most courses they are a mere afterthought, but here they were well thought out. Based on past reviews, it seems like the local volunteers have put in a lot of effort to include next tee signs on every hole.

Some of the best variety around. This course incorporates huge bombers, elevation changes, left and right turns, as well as cool wooded holes and well placed ob. The elevation is great! Some if the open downhill holes really give you the feeling of throwing a mile. The uphill elevation on the other hand, found mostly throughout the adds to the challenge.

Lots of memorable holes throughout. Beautiful views, and awesome mowed fairways. Hole seven is magnificent. Long downhill 550 foot bomb. Don't be discouraged this hole can be reached. The Hartford skyline, is in the background and I can only imagine what a round at sunset would be like.
Cons: This course is top notch, so to find cons, I have to nit pick a bit.

Some of the open par threes are a bit to long for my taste. A lot in the range of 450-550. They could be lengthened 50-100 and be made solid par 4s or shortened and made par 3s. This is just my opinion, and based on the skill level this course is designed for the hole lengths are appropriate.
Other Thoughts: The course itself is a solid, 4.25, but the awesome amenities, and beautiful park is what puts it over the edge and makes it a true 4.5 star course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/6/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 139  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wickham Park was truly a fun course and we had a great time playing it. Here are my pros:

1) Absolutely wonderful signage. The signage could not be any better, as they were full color and had distances, OB, trees, paths, etc.

2) The course had great variation on the distances. Its not often you play a 720 foot par 4 and then a few holes later play a short but challenging 156 foot par 3.

3) I play disc golf for the workout and for the enjoyment and you will get both of those playing this course. The course can be challenging to walk but I actually like getting a good workout.

4) The course actually had some nice elevation. Hole 7 and the first temporary hole offered some nice downhill opportunities. Even though hole 7 was a little on the boring side off the tee, the downhill makes it more exciting as does the view of the skyline.

5) This course had a nice mix of open and wooded holes. I would consider about half of the holes wooded and half of the holes more open. I love a good variety!

6) In general, I thought the course was designed very well with the land they had to work with. There are no water hazards but they still did a great job with the actual design.
Cons: This was a really enjoyable course so I really don't have a lot of cons. Here they are:

1) It was a little confusing to find the "extra" holes. You essentially walked up a hill and then across the fairway of another hole to get to the first of the extra holes. It just felt wrong even though it ended up being right. It was just a bit strange to walk across a fairway to get to them so just keep your eyes open for discs.

2) Its highly recommended you use a map to navigate the course. I definitely would have been lost without it. The front gate to the park (this is a pay to play park) has a great, full color map so take advantage of it.

3) I am a huge fan of longer, more open holes but unfortunately some of the holes here were just a little too open. I wouldn't classify them as boring by any means but a lot of the longer holes were lacking obstacles. The designers essentially did what they had with the land but holes 7, 11 and 12 literally had nothing in the way of obstacles. The only obstacle we had that day was wind. Hole 12 in particular was a 489 foot shot over an open field with no obstacles. Its too long for a par 3 and too short for a par 4. I don't mind longer holes and in fact prefer them but would like to see a few more obstacles on the longer holes.

4) I am not a huge fan of artificial OB and hole 9 had this feature. Its a sharply turning, LHBH or RH flick hole that has a really tough fairway with some low hanging pines. Throwing the OB into play just makes it a little gimmicky in my opinion.

Don't take my cons in a negative way. All in all this course is VERY enjoyable and I rated it Excellent.
Other Thoughts: This course actually had a neat little bird sanctuary after hole 11 that was pretty neat. I always like to point out non disc golf things in the park to entice your significant others to come with you (if you are a guy and your wife or girlfriend is tagging along). Also, the park offers some absolutely stunning views of the Hartford, CT skyline. I would highly recommend this course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Time for Wick to drop some $!

5+    6/30/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Duke CT
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The alternate tee on 8 is the only one I play. It makes it a great hole and a helluva par 3.

The long pin placement on 9 is excellent and makes the hole a challenging par 4. However, both alternates are out of sight and there's no sign for them, they are seldom played.

The pros have been covered well so I won't delve into them.
Cons: The park makes a bundle of $$ off disc golf. They really should invest on more baskets so that you can choose which pin placement you want to play on 13, 14, 18 & perhaps 17. They are not changed enough.
Other Thoughts: During clover season, June forward, bring your bee sting meds if you have a problem with them.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wickham, Once More

5+    5/19/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Mythy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery, and wonderous variety of terrain, distance, elevation change and throwing turns on the holes...

Ask for your FREE, high quality stock, color map scorecard at the front gate and you shall receive!!!

Spacious level rubber tee pads!

So many reviews have covered most of this course thoroughly. So I'll say this:

This was the first course I played and every time I play it I come up with something new to like about it. So nice that the most central, easiest place to meet up in the state is such high quality... I'm told "professional Level"... whatever that means :)

Seriously though... don't miss out... Play this course... often if possible.
Cons: This is a popular spot for gatherings of like 24+ people on the weekends... and frequently they like to camp out by a hole (usually 18, sometimes 7) usually completely oblivious to what is going on less than 20 feet away... throw with an aboundance of caution lest you hit a wayward child in one of these gatherings or sunbather on 7's hill

No water hazards or even scenic water :(

Limited Restrooms along course

$5 parking per car (so it's kind of pay to play)

Wooded holes can be saturated with water/up to 3" of mud... not always but enough where investing in some fairway wood chips might be wise and would certainly raise my rating.
Other Thoughts: Perhaps the most popular course in Connecticut and central in the state so a great meet up point... "Ballyhooed" an appropriate word? Yeah... probably...

But for all that I've never had a bad time here.

Recently they moved the pins to Alt placements on 13, 14 & 15... can't wait until the return of the wooded 100 foot from the tee 50 foot downhill blind drop on hole 14 to return... so classic
:)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The best course in CT

5+    10/25/2013   11/10/2013
Review By: chikago12
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful, well maintained course.

-Wickham Park has a ton of stuff to do even if you're not disc golfing, definitely fun to check out in between rounds when you need a breather.

-Actually a workout getting up and down the hills in this park. You will be legitimately tired after a round, which is great.

-Excellent hole layout. You'll need every shot in the bag to get through this monster of a course.

-Lots of very long holes, so if you have a big arm, you'll definitely have a chance to stretch it here.

-Lots of favorites on this course, but I personally just love 4. Straight shot, like 200 feet, with a gap cut through a downed log. Trees on the right and left prevent you from taking big hyzer or anhyzer lines, so it's pretty much a straight shot. Also, you can't talk about this course without mentioning 7, a 600 foot monster down a huge hill, with the skyline of Hartford looking down on you. Awesome hole.

-Every hole is very distinct, and very unlike the hole before or after it. They're all super memorable.
Cons: -Lots a lots of people. Especially during XC season, there are a lot of people out here, and you'll have to watch yourself or you might hit someone.

-Very long. Shorter arms (<300) will have a hard time keeping up on this course. I throw about 300 and most of the time I'm just trying to stick around for par

-You have to pay for parking, but there are other places you can park to play for free

-Course is only open a limited time, pins come out after October.
Other Thoughts: Professional level course, and one of the most fun and challenging courses out there. I play here once a week when it's open, and it's a blast.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wickham Park

5+    9/5/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: museparade
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice open course; good for beginners. Well-maintained. Nice long tee pads. Nice mixture of long and technical holes
Cons: If you want to park in the park, you have to pay (at least one weekends).
Other Thoughts: Avoid the parking fees by parking down the street and walking to the course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Long holes for beginners

2-4    7/4/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: Paintray98
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice open space and wooded holes. Great for exercise hiking the course.
Cons: Long holes. Holes only have one tee pad (from what I could tell). It might be a good idea to add a second tee pad on the really long holes for the beginners out there.

Also if it is a busy park day you may have to wait a while to play a hole because pedestrians have the right of way. Hole 18 is notorious for this as it is a great picnic spot and you may have to stop your play there if someone is picnicking in the middle of the hole.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a good course to run

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Fantastic Surprise

1    7/7/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2014
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I arrived at Wickham Park at the edge of exhaustion. It had been a long three days. That morning had already included a long walk across Manhattan and a drive from the city to Hartford. After dropping off a friend at the bus station, I sought out the nearest course, hoping for a quick round with sleep primarily on my mind. It was well over 90 when I exited the car and found a big group ahead of me and another car pulling behind me. It didn't look promising. Consulting the map, I jogged up the parking lot to where I could jump in at the seventh tee. I looked down from the tee, a manicured slope led to a sharp dogleg around a bank of trees. To the right, the slope met a broad forest and behind it, The Hartford skyline loomed. Well, that was invigorating.

There wasn't a hole that topped seven, but there was a ton of variety. Hole 8 was another bomb, a straight shot across 640 feet with a guarded cage that presents a serious challenge to par. The landscape is consistently perfect. The fairways are manicured lawns. The obstacles are sprawling, healthy-looking tress. After a few shorter holes, 11 is another bomb but running parallel to a tree line on the left, frustrating RHFHs like myself.

The walk from 11 to 12 is on the long side, but it does pass directly by the aviary and more importantly, a snack shack. (It may be ironic that I came up from the south to swelter in the Connecticut heat, but I was never so glad to find someone selling Gatorade.)

Hole 12 provides one last chance to air it out before heading into the woods. The next four wooded holes are a nice experiment with elevation changes in the woods. You go up, then down, up then down before the woods give way to fields once more.

The last two holes(if you played them in the proper order) would feel like a victory lap. They are probably the two easiest holes on the map. Straightforward shots across an open lawn. The last climbs gradually towards the parking lot where you likely started.

Hole 1 actually would have been a nice starting spot. Downhill, with the hole tucked to the left, a big patch of rough in the way and a nice landing spot to the right for your drive. Hole two transitions to the woods. Still on lawn, but with the woods tight on the right and trees to the left as well. A very narrow fairway for an open hole, a wide fairway for a woods hole.

The next few are wooded, and man, these are are my type of wooded holes. The lines are tough but they are there. There are trees that force you to shape your shot but an absence of underbrush. It's all very clean. Dry soil, fallen leaves and bare trunks.

It wasn't what I was expecting. I hadn't researched. I hadn't read reviews. It was the closest course to the bus station. It was the closest to where I happened to be when I pulled up DGCR. I would have been happy with a quick eighteen. What I found was a fantastic surprise.
Cons: The transition from sixteen to seventeen is strange. From sixteen, it would make more sense to go to the eighteenth tee.

Definitely bring a map. They give you one at the gate, so it's not a real con, but the natural layout isn't the greatest in terms of finding the next tee at times.

The bonus holes are merely mediocre. I would not do them in the middle of the course. Save them for the end since they definitely interrupt the flow. They'd fit right in at most courses, but compared to how good all the other holes are at this course, they seem out of place.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.