Manchester, CT 
Wickham Park Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #15
3 / 156ft.   3 / 156ft.   3 / 156ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Unique and challenging

1    9/10/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2011
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Very unique course design and a great mix of wooded/open, long/short, right/left, up/down, etc.
Great use of natural OB lines to add real challenge to shorter par 3's.
Beautiful grounds for a disc golf course.
Cons: None that I can think of!

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 World Class Course

1    9/4/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 91  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wickham is a large, wonderfully maintained park with huge mowed fields, rolling hills, tight and technical woods and some long, long holes. Color map with scorecard and pencil come with entry fee. Locals were good tour guides and good players. Great signs and tee pads (rubber). Practice basket near 1st tee, and brooms and benches on most holes. Park has restrooms, playgrounds, gardens, sports facilities, a snack shop and even an aviary between hole 11 and 12 where there are peacocks, pheasants and other rare and beautiful birds. $4 per vehicle per day is well worth the price. Some holes have alternate tees/baskets. Nice views. Out of bounds areas add difficulty and old stone walls add character.
Cons: Large groups are common due to entry fee being per vehicle. Beginners might be intimidated by length and difficulty. Closed from October to April. Only open from 9:30 am to sunset. First time navigation without map or guide would be extremely difficult.
Other Thoughts: Wow. You can really see where your money goes at this course. I can't imagine how long it takes to cut the grass which was just long enough to keep any disc from skipping. Local lore is that Mr. Wickham was the guy that invented the plastic window on envelopes. These days Bank of America owns and maintains the park, and they do a really good job!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 An Aristocrats View of Hartford

5+    6/26/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 177  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stunning course in a majestic setting. Rolling hills and tight woods, with elevation changes abound. A great mix of everything, including a few par 4's to boot. Many of the holes are a tough- earned par here. The signs are world class as well as the rubber tee pads. A very friendly group of locals who are rightfully proud of their course. The signature hole which goes down the grassy slope with a view of Hartford is stunning! Adequate parking and restroom facilities on the course are a bonus.
Cons: Minor complaints - a couple of tee pads would have been tough to find without a map (long walks), and a few too many of the long pars are very hard to attain without 3 perfect shots. I played on a weekday evening that was quite crowded. I was told that this was unusual, however as it was one of the first days without rain in quite some time.

The more I think about it, there are a couple of really long field holes that get a little redundant. I don't mind the ones that have trees and OB, but #11 is a little long and dull.
Other Thoughts: On the other day I showed it was POURING rain, but the parks guys let me in without paying, but I had the entire park to myself! On another occasion the rangers told us they were closing in 5 minutes as we were teeing off at 17. I got to the gate 5 mins. after closing and they had locked the gate! Thank God I had the park phone # and the ranger was still on site. Sheesh!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/25/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: bowlingshoes105
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A brilliant course set in one of the most beautiful parks in the state. Includes a nice mix of open fields and challenging woods. You can get a scorecard at the front gate which includes an easy to use map. Holes flow very well which makes each one easy to find. Discs are available for rental ($2) at the front gate.
Cons: The pay to play is more of a warning than a con, just bring 3 dollars to get in. Don't rent discs if you plan on playing for par, they only stock Innova Sharks which can't fly across the wide fields. Warm up you're drive before the first hole because it is difficult to find discs in the rough to the left.
Other Thoughts: Be prepared for a hike, it's a long course that goes up and down many hills.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Yankee Doodle Dandy

1    7/13/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A True World Class Experience that provides everything an experienced player craves. It is seconds off of the Interstate and is located in a beautiful and well maintained city park. Spectacular landscaping as well as top notch maintenance here. Informative tee signs that provide elevation shifts as well as diagrams and distance. Tee pads are rubber but are done correctly so no issue there. There is practically every type of hole here....short but technical, long and technical, open field bombs, ace runs, doglegs right and left, massive elevation shifts from drops of 70 feet to rises of 50 feet! The course begins with a massive open downhill placement drive over OB grass (not high lose your disc grass..just a bit higher than the tight grass on the fairway) after this you play 4 up and down in the woods for some shorter but challenging holes. Then the flavor of the course changes to long and strong. Some holes really stand out and would be signature holes elsewhere! Hole 7 is a huge drive down a wide open grass hill. Picturesque views of the Hartford Skyline. Hole 12 is another huge downhill drive. Holes 13,14, and 15 play up and down massive elevation in the woods and are some of the funnest holes on the course. 13 and 15 are labeled as 252 and 156 feet but remember you are throwing uphill 50 and 35 feet steep inclines. Fun! 14 is a broken elevator drop of 70 feet be careful. The course weaves from open to woods to open to woods to open very well so you never get bored and all aspects of your game are challenged. Most of the open holes include elevation and a technical pin placement so its not just grip and rip. The technical holes utilize elevation and trees that reward technique/decision making over luck. The course finishes strong, as the back 9 are much more interesting and difficult than the front solid 9. this keeps the anticipation level high. Very well thought out course.Excellent course website as well.
Cons: A few non course issues kept me from the giving my experience a 5. It is pay to play, (but at least you see where your money went here) the park was crowded by a X-country meet and many people were milling about and complicated parking, (playing during non peak times may alleviate this) I read the course is pulled from October until April, this makes little sense as it seems like a wonderful fall course with the woods and sledding on the hills would not occur until Jan-March? A shame its only open for summer essentially. Lastly my only gripe with the course was a long transition from 11 to 12 (sinister how that walk takes you past a concession area hmmmm?) i suppose it's good to have a chance to take a break and get some food and drink but for first timer it was a bit confusing. If your out of shape the hill holes from 13-15 could pose a problem. (If your in shape your gonna love them) A little yawn time from holes 9-11.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is very under the Radar but will soon get the recognition it deserves. It is conveniant for any North South traveler. Its a great park and a good place to stop and enjoy a true disc golf course. I wish more city parks saw disc golf as a moneymaker and built fine courses like this one.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Park

5+    7/12/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: kevincote
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Clear view of each hole. Maps and score card are very helpful and the park is just over all beautiful. Cheap to get into too!
Cons: I see no cons at all.
Other Thoughts: You need to check this course out if you live near by.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  You need to play this Course

1    6/8/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: TFRY
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well cared for park/course, as clean and clutter free a course as you will find. Also a real diverse blend of hole types. (Long open, L to R, R to L, Uphill, Downhill, blind shots, fast greens etc.) We ran into Park Maintenance mowing some of the course and found them very accomadating to the disc golfers (He actually waited until we had played the hole to run the mower down the fairway)
Cons: not easy to find the parking lot for the first tee. We did not ask directions at the front gate - Also be sure to ask for a scorecard when you enter the park
Other Thoughts: Course is too far from my house to play often but I would gladly take the road trip again

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful course

1    5/25/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: shamroc333
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A very deverse course. Lots of nice holes. Very well taken care of. One of the most well taken care of course I have played. The park it's self was nice. They have a food and drinks avaliable on the course. Just a course everyone should try.
Cons: It's busy!
Other Thoughts: The one con had it's up side. There was a lot of hot women running and biking and playing. they put alot into this course. They named ever hole and the short ones have ace plaques. Again it is worth any drive to play.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Really good course

2-4    6/23/2001   1/23/2009
Review By: invidious
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2012
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice big course. Good mix of open fairway and obstacles. Good layout, signs are helpful, good parking.
Cons: The 4-5 holes in a row in the woods on the back 9 are a bit of a chore, but once you get out of the woods you have the wide open beautiful view to greet you.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 nice public park course

2-4    8/9/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: sumner420
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, Nice mix of holes-open, wooded, dog legs, some OBs, elevation adds flavor, some challenging tree obstacles (esp. those big ole pines!) Great use of park spaces that really don't interfere with the other folks in the park, Fairways are open-more so on the long holes, Most wooded fairways are still pretty clear, Signs are great, Some second tees are set up (but not as well marked), Bring the camera- lots of photo ops here (esp. skyline vista #7)
Cons: Pay to park, Tricky to find the parking area for first tee- its all the way on the other side of the park from the main entrance, a fairly long drive at 15 m.p.h., A few holes are a walk from the last basket -first timers can get turned around
Other Thoughts: Really nice course, can't wait to go back, hope I can get my drives over 250' by then! Make sure to ask for a score card at the little booth pay to park thingy, the map on the card helps to navigate the first time out. The park may not be the most secluded course, but the use of space makes you feel separated from the rest of the park-for the most part, The lawns/grass at this place- just awesome.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.