Disc Golf Store
Manchester, CT 
Wickham Park Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #4
3 / 175ft.   3 / 175ft.   3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Yankee Doodle Dandy

1    7/13/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A True World Class Experience that provides everything an experienced player craves. It is seconds off of the Interstate and is located in a beautiful and well maintained city park. Spectacular landscaping as well as top notch maintenance here. Informative tee signs that provide elevation shifts as well as diagrams and distance. Tee pads are rubber but are done correctly so no issue there. There is practically every type of hole here....short but technical, long and technical, open field bombs, ace runs, doglegs right and left, massive elevation shifts from drops of 70 feet to rises of 50 feet! The course begins with a massive open downhill placement drive over OB grass (not high lose your disc grass..just a bit higher than the tight grass on the fairway) after this you play 4 up and down in the woods for some shorter but challenging holes. Then the flavor of the course changes to long and strong. Some holes really stand out and would be signature holes elsewhere! Hole 7 is a huge drive down a wide open grass hill. Picturesque views of the Hartford Skyline. Hole 12 is another huge downhill drive. Holes 13,14, and 15 play up and down massive elevation in the woods and are some of the funnest holes on the course. 13 and 15 are labeled as 252 and 156 feet but remember you are throwing uphill 50 and 35 feet steep inclines. Fun! 14 is a broken elevator drop of 70 feet be careful. The course weaves from open to woods to open to woods to open very well so you never get bored and all aspects of your game are challenged. Most of the open holes include elevation and a technical pin placement so its not just grip and rip. The technical holes utilize elevation and trees that reward technique/decision making over luck. The course finishes strong, as the back 9 are much more interesting and difficult than the front solid 9. this keeps the anticipation level high. Very well thought out course.Excellent course website as well.
Cons: A few non course issues kept me from the giving my experience a 5. It is pay to play, (but at least you see where your money went here) the park was crowded by a X-country meet and many people were milling about and complicated parking, (playing during non peak times may alleviate this) I read the course is pulled from October until April, this makes little sense as it seems like a wonderful fall course with the woods and sledding on the hills would not occur until Jan-March? A shame its only open for summer essentially. Lastly my only gripe with the course was a long transition from 11 to 12 (sinister how that walk takes you past a concession area hmmmm?) i suppose it's good to have a chance to take a break and get some food and drink but for first timer it was a bit confusing. If your out of shape the hill holes from 13-15 could pose a problem. (If your in shape your gonna love them) A little yawn time from holes 9-11.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is very under the Radar but will soon get the recognition it deserves. It is conveniant for any North South traveler. Its a great park and a good place to stop and enjoy a true disc golf course. I wish more city parks saw disc golf as a moneymaker and built fine courses like this one.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Park

5+    7/12/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: kevincote
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Clear view of each hole. Maps and score card are very helpful and the park is just over all beautiful. Cheap to get into too!
Cons: I see no cons at all.
Other Thoughts: You need to check this course out if you live near by.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  You need to play this Course

1    6/8/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: TFRY
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well cared for park/course, as clean and clutter free a course as you will find. Also a real diverse blend of hole types. (Long open, L to R, R to L, Uphill, Downhill, blind shots, fast greens etc.) We ran into Park Maintenance mowing some of the course and found them very accomadating to the disc golfers (He actually waited until we had played the hole to run the mower down the fairway)
Cons: not easy to find the parking lot for the first tee. We did not ask directions at the front gate - Also be sure to ask for a scorecard when you enter the park
Other Thoughts: Course is too far from my house to play often but I would gladly take the road trip again

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful course

1    5/25/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: shamroc333
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A very deverse course. Lots of nice holes. Very well taken care of. One of the most well taken care of course I have played. The park it's self was nice. They have a food and drinks avaliable on the course. Just a course everyone should try.
Cons: It's busy!
Other Thoughts: The one con had it's up side. There was a lot of hot women running and biking and playing. they put alot into this course. They named ever hole and the short ones have ace plaques. Again it is worth any drive to play.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Really good course

2-4    6/23/2001   1/23/2009
Review By: invidious
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2012
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice big course. Good mix of open fairway and obstacles. Good layout, signs are helpful, good parking.
Cons: The 4-5 holes in a row in the woods on the back 9 are a bit of a chore, but once you get out of the woods you have the wide open beautiful view to greet you.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 nice public park course

2-4    8/9/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: sumner420
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, Nice mix of holes-open, wooded, dog legs, some OBs, elevation adds flavor, some challenging tree obstacles (esp. those big ole pines!) Great use of park spaces that really don't interfere with the other folks in the park, Fairways are open-more so on the long holes, Most wooded fairways are still pretty clear, Signs are great, Some second tees are set up (but not as well marked), Bring the camera- lots of photo ops here (esp. skyline vista #7)
Cons: Pay to park, Tricky to find the parking area for first tee- its all the way on the other side of the park from the main entrance, a fairly long drive at 15 m.p.h., A few holes are a walk from the last basket -first timers can get turned around
Other Thoughts: Really nice course, can't wait to go back, hope I can get my drives over 250' by then! Make sure to ask for a score card at the little booth pay to park thingy, the map on the card helps to navigate the first time out. The park may not be the most secluded course, but the use of space makes you feel separated from the rest of the park-for the most part, The lawns/grass at this place- just awesome.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip from PA

5+    9/3/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: blazerico
Played: 187  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2008
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This place is great! Lots of long holes, couple of short holes, l to r, r to l, elevation changes, etc... everything is here. There is an opportunity to use all of your shots. The perfectly manicured fairways on some of the long holes just beg for you to throw rollers. Heck, there is even a snack shack after hole eleven that sells ice cream and such. Great scenery and other things to do (gardens, bird sanctuary, play grounds) for non golfers in your family. Update- There are alternate tees listed for some of the holes, but they are hard to find and typically make the holes shorter rather than longer. Alternate baskets were added to a few holes this year.
Cons: Pay to play($3-4) is the only downfall, but it does keep the park in beautiful condition.
Other Thoughts: I've played over thirty courses in 5+ states and this is in my top five. You can park on the street near the Marco Polo restaurant if you want to skip the fee, but I only recommend this if you are a repeat visitor.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.