Disc Golf Store
Jonesboro, AR 
Craighead Forest DGC Share
Uploaded By: LetsPlayGolf Hole #10
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Home Course

5+    2/20/2014   2/20/2014
Review By: 870DG
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All concrete Tee Pads on regular 18.

Easy to find. Just look for the signs on the highway as you come in. You can come in off of Harrisburg or Southwest Drive, depending on the way you are traveling from. Just look for the Craighead Forest Park signs. You'll be there in no time.

This course is challenging, but it is very possible to have a great day on it. Plenty of chances for birdies....or bogies, depending on how well you are hitting your lines. I have bogeyed and birdied every hole (with he exception of #3).

Course can get pretty busy, but not overcrowded. Most everybody out there is polite and courteous to other players/groups. If you have never played here, and want to play with some locals, just ask. (Or message me)

You can play the course really fast, or get a group and make a day of it. I have went out in the morning and played all 22 (there are 4 relatively new holes; A,B, C & D) in about 30-40 minutes. 18 is easily achieved in 45 minutes at a comfortable pace.

Benches at each hole, except for #14 and #16.

Clean course. There are plenty of trashcans located on the course. There are also numerous people that play a part in keeping the course looking nice. I appreciate each and everyone's time that goes into maintaining a fun course. However, you are the one that will make the greatest impact on our local course. Please, please, please use the trashcans and throw away your cigarette butts. Also, you won't see any graffiti on our course, lets keep it that way.

Most baskets have multiple pin positions now, and they are changed relatively often.

10's Tee box and #18's basket
Cons: Not as private as some courses, which might not be a "con" to everybody.

This course is not very open for those of you that want wide open fairways. Each hole is unique.

If you like courses that have mostly 300+ drives to the basket, this may not be for you. (Go to Discside of Heaven)

There is a softball/baseball practice field across the road. Most times of the year there will be nobody on the field. I have never heard of a window getting broken out, but I am sure some cars have been hit. The parking lot is parallel with he 3rd base line and less than 30 feet away. Not a huge deal to most. However, you have been warned.

Some holes/fairways/tee boxes can be close together. Be observant of others to make sure they aren't in dangers way. Be polite, and just wait a minute (or at least make sure they are paying attention) before throwing.

No practice basket. Everybody warms up on #9's basket. Just be sure to watch for people approaching the #9 tee and be courteous and let them play the hole before you continue practice putting.
Other Thoughts: There are 4 practice/extra holes (A,B,C, & D). If you are standing on #1 Tee Box, it is just to your left across the street. You can see D's basket from the road. A's Tee Box is nearby D's basket, just in the woods. You'll see a path leading to it. Tee boxes are not concrete (yet) on practice holes.

Holes 5,6,7,8,10,12, and 13 all have multiple pins now (the pictures only show one pin on those holes). Holes 3, 9, and 15 are the only holes that do not have alternate pins, at least not that I have ever seen.

Go Play!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Course Getting Better & Better

5+    2/9/2013   2/15/2013
Review By: Long Ball Larry
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course to start the game of disc golf on. It teaches you to throw technically sound shots with an emphasis first on control rather than distance. It has great views, good concrete tee-boxes, benches on every hole, and posts with hole information. FYI...This course actually has 22 holes right now and will be growing to a 27 hole course hopefully by the summer. There was a lot of clearing out done in the fall of 2012, which makes it a lot easier to find discs and maneuver around in.
Cons: While there are a few longer holes, most are less than 300 and average around 250.
Other Thoughts: There are 2 softball fields that run together right beside the course that make for a great disc practice area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good Looking

5+    6/21/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DG.Ar.32
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course has a variety of shots, Interesting layout, makes you throw every shot to score well, most holes are short, but with a large amount of trees you throw through
Cons: LOTS OF TREES!. I would prefer the fairways be more open and less trees.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/13/2012   6/13/2012
Review By: DG.Ar.28
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice and shady during the summer.
Good clean tee boxes and fairways.
Great test of accuracy and not a whole lot of out of bounds.
Cons: LOTS OF TREES!. I would prefer the fairways be more open and less trees.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Looking Good

1    2/2/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: rvan84
Played: 57  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set up very nicely. It covered the ground very well and seemed to use the ground as well as it could. I was very happy to see that more than a few of the holes had a few different lines. The pin position on hole number 11 is just across a little stream and perched up on a little outcropping. A very nice piece of design. The teepads are easily big enough. And while the detail on the tee signs isn't exact it is more than adequate to allow you to understand the hole.
Cons: The one thing about this course is that the distance is not very adequate. The course makes up for it quite a bit by using the trees to lengthen out the holes. Numerous holes that are listed as 200-250 feel more like 300. I will say that it could be a little tougher when the leaves are on the trees.
Other Thoughts: This course is not one that I would travel to play exclusively. However if I lived in the area I would be more than happy to have it as my home course. It is a wonderful course that is a hybrid between a tough wooded course and a little pitch a putt. Not a bad way to spend a day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fairly Good Course

1    10/29/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: Warhammer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners. The course is not long, it is a technical course. Very tight, but not unreasonably so, this is good for beginners as it makes you learn how to use your disc. Short length means you can play with only 2-4 discs.
Cons: Very short means you won't be able to really let one rip, any distance drivers are useless here. The course had an awful lot of holes that turned left. I don't mind some, but it seemed a bit much. The next tees were not marked well. There were 4 or 5 holes I had to spend 3 minutes or so figuring out where the next tee was. A simple sign or arrow on the pins would help tremendously.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the course quite a bit. It was fun, and not having to worry about being long I could focus more on shot making. I found that at the end of the round I was much better at avoiding trees and getting the discs to do what I wanted them to do. As a beginner, I left this course a better player than I walked on and at this stage that means a lot. I loved the fact that I needed to figure out how to use my discs. I used a total of 5 discs, but I could have easily used only 2 or 3. I would certainly play this course again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Good for honing shots

2-4    4/22/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: rrogers04
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great little course with tight fairways and LOTS of trees. Very good for honing in skills with mid-range and putting since most goals require some curvature of the shot
Cons: Very tight fairways (kind of a pro and con at the same time!)
Other Thoughts: As a newb to disc golf, this course is very challenging in the fairways and through the trees. Most of the fairways provide for good straight throws off the tee box. Gotta watch the trees though!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.