Perryville, MO 
Perryville City Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brokensaint Hole #11 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice relaxing course

1    3/10/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: JerryW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 34.5 Years
Pros: Well maintained. No major hazards. Easy to find the next tee. Out of bounds shouldn't be an issue, all holes had wide fairways.
Cons: Could be a bit more challenging.
Other Thoughts: A variety of tee shots. Uphill, downhill, tunnel, etc. Most tee shots are wide open, there are just a few that force you to limit the hyzer. The day I played the ground was a little soft, but it was just after a snow thaw so it was to be expected. It is in a public park so it's well maintained, but don't expect a country club level of grooming. There is a walking track zig sagging through the course but it didn't really interfere with play.

 Good course

1    3/13/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: wr758
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: 1. It is very close to where i live (Chester)
2. solid mix of long and short holes
3. Great mantance of the course
4. brand new baskets
5. concret tee pads
6. nice use of the space and good elevation changes
Cons: 1. During the summer i could see where people in the park could become in the way
2. pad's are little short but nothing too terrible i am just nit picking
3. a lot of rhbh throws not a lot of varitey
4. holes can be a little difficult to find at first, must have a course map before playing
Other Thoughts: It is a beatuiful course with a design. good course if you are passing through to play its quick easy can pick up the course map in the park office. took me about an 1 hour to play 1 round

Clean, Enjoyable, Great for the Area

2-4    12/28/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: tonyroberts
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This new course makes good use of the empty spaces in a well established park. The layout includes concrete tees, excellent signage, and Discatcher baskets, all in new condition. Getting from one basket to the next tee might have been confusing but for the explicit directional information provided wherever needed.

It's great that they found a way to put 18 holes here rather than stopping at 9 or 12 as they might have, but there are some long hikes between a few holes.

Parking is plentiful as are restrooms.

Although there are lots of roads running through this park, the course, thankfully, does not play over them.

The layout is wide open, so you're unlikely to lose any plastic here.
Cons: Because this course makes use of an old park packed with ball fields, playgrounds, walking paths and picnic areas, it may get quite busy at times. I played at dawn on a frosty morning and had the place to myself, but beware of the traffic on a nice afternoon.

The holes average about 300 feet, which is a little outside my range, so I didn't have many birdie chances, but pars were relatively easy. Any bogies carded were the fault of the player, not the course. Those with stronger arms will likely score quite well. There is no rough, just wide-open, mowed parkland, so accuracy off the tee is not all that essential. In only a couple places will you have to worry about hitting an early tree from the tee.

Every hole is pretty much a straight shot from tee to basket. The trees that do come into play are, for the most part, widely spaced and mature, leaving plenty of room to maneuver. The course has minor elevation changes, rambling uphill here and downhill there, but there's nothing that adds any real stress. (I would describe this course as mostly flat rather than moderately hilly.)

Most of the baskets are in wide-open spaces, so putting is pretty simple once you're close. There are a couple exceptions, notably hole #18 which is perched atop a bank at the end of a ravine and guarded by trees.
Other Thoughts: I generally would prefer a course that's a little more challenging, but this layout is perfect fit for the town, especially since there's nowhere else to play for miles around. This course won't frustrate newbies or family groups and is decent for more experienced players. I'm in town often to visit relatives and it will be great not to have to drive 30 miles to play a round. I wouldn't go out of my way to play here if there were other opportunities, but the course is clean, well maintained, and a good fit for the community. I'll be back for another round on my next visit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: joker
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: - well deesigned.
- flowed good from hole to hole.
- restrooms and warter fountanins at almost every other hole.
- not a very busy park
Cons: some areas are pretty soggy after a heavy rain
Other Thoughts: its a good course for beginers and more experinced players. The course pushes beginers to the limits of their abliltys and chalanges more experinced players with holes that are shorter and makes them take some off of what they are use to throwing

Solid city park style course but nothing special

1    7/27/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 99  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. concrete tees

2. signs with pars and feet

3. signs for next tee by the baskets

4. well maintained

5. decent variety

6. friiendly people

7. alot of bathrooms
Cons: 1. short

2. too open in parts

3. a few boring holes

4. too much walking from last basket to next tee
Other Thoughts: This is not a bad course by any means but its also not anything to write home about hence the decent/typical grade. Its about as standard of a city park course as your going to find. It certainly has its bright spots and the park is pretty good. 4 or 5 holes could easily be tweeked to make it better but the open holes have trees planted that could improve it as well in a few years. It's not the best but if I lived in Perryville Id be happy with what they have done and pleased in general. I wouldnt drive more than an hr away to play though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.