Worthington, OH 
Worthington Flats Share
Uploaded By: drblam Hole #8 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 300ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great practice place

1    5/29/2014   5/30/2014
Review By: jimmiew
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A small course but it's important to realize that there are hardly any people there the majority of the time. The course itself isn't exactly challenging (even for beginners) but the huge open fields are great for practicing driving and you can claim a basket in the shade to practice putting almost any time of day. There is also the option of changing tee locations, given how under trafficked it is you could easily design a challenging 18 hole lap around.
Cons: Very small, on school grounds. Many people are oblivious to the fact that there is even a course here.
Other Thoughts: I grew up in the area, live/work nearby so its a great place if I'm just trying to swing by for an hour before or after work to practice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Know-stalgia?

5+    10/27/2013   10/27/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 2.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Designed and installed by a group of young men from the high school (who had to make a worthy presentation to the community to get it done), the nine hole disc golf course in Worthington Flats is a fine example of how our youth are helping to grow the sport.

The course has small-sized (4'x7'), boxed gravel tees and decent baskets, and works along the tree line of the first terrace uphill along the driveway with a couple of sweeping hyzer (rhbh) shots southward to tree guarded baskets (tucked just blind into the wood line), then turns (clockwise) right at the corner for hole three that runs into a small grove of large park trees. Then, you walk toward the river path and under the roadway to play counter-clockwise around that practice field: a pair of anny holes and a shorter hole 6 that sort of mirrors hole 3. Walk back to the underpass along the paved path, where you'll come to hole 7, an open 230 footer, then 8, which plays to the edge of the woods (I had to wait for the young deer to stop grazing here the first time I played the course). You'll finish on hole 9 across the drive and back toward the parking area on the north side of the fields. So in essence, the course plays as three sets of three holes, with a progression of right to left, left to right, and basically open shots. It does complete a loop without too bad a walk from hole to hole (exception: 6 to 7). They range from 150 to 330 feet, so there's some variety for a Rec arm challenge.

There are obviously options for safari golf here if the fields are clear, and some are shown on the map listed here on dgcr.
Cons: Take a look at the map here, and follow the blue lines for the existing tees, because there isn't any signage yet. The course does play around other sports fields and requires consideration and care if there are other activities are taking place there. Safety first. The flats are technically a flood plain, and the lowest of the baskets (4) can be in a pool if the water is up any.

I noted today that they've bulldozed in the gravel for an extension of the bike path that has obliterated the 5th tee box. Seems a shame that the community had these young men jump through the hoops with the planning commission, and then have this other project going on within the year (sorry for the rant).
Other Thoughts: Having played Optimist league football on these same fields as a youngster in the early '70's, I just had to come back to town and try this course out. My first time(s) back to the old stomping grounds in 35 years

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not bad...

2-4    9/5/2013   9/7/2013
Review By: lildragon
Played: 38  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Close to me
New baskets
Gravel tees (better than nothing I guess)
Cons: No signs
Multi use park, so lots of traffic from the local schools, joggers, bikers, etc..
No long tees
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course for a quick 9 holes. I like to make my own long tees to make it more interesting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

closest course

1    7/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: kev32650
Played: 60  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like to rate it for what it is and it's a 9 hole course, not a championship 18. Best thing is it's under 2 miles from the house, so not a plus for everyone, but definitely for me.
I thought the distance was decent compared to other nearby 9 hole course in Dublin and Hilliard.
Decent variety of right and left and a couple tricky pin locations
Cons: no signs, short tees with uneven surface (dirt and gravel). 4th pin, which is theoretically the most interesting hole was completely flooded out. Some pins were out in the open where they could have been moved 10 ft one way or the other to make a more challenging hole.
Other Thoughts: Despite the roughness of the course, the fact that I can run over and play in half an hour will have me out there a lot. If it had long tees or multiple pins some signs and better tee pads it would be one of the best 9 hole courses I've played. Give it time. Potential to add some holes too I think to the north up the bike trail.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The flats

1    4/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: Bushman71
Played: 149  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The basket are nice and new
Cons: T pads, course length, course lay out. You only need to play the first couple holes. After that it exactly the same shot unless the wind is blowing good when you play.
Other Thoughts: Unless you need putting practice don't waste your time.. I would highly recommend NOT taking a beginner to this course, it would give them the wrong opinion of what the sport is and bore them to death.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Work in Progress

1    7/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: drblam
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open fields nearby mean you can play the course from the tees, or use the baskets for field work and create your own holes and shots.
Cons: No signage, and the tee pads are basically useless.
Also, many holes subscribe to the Griggs mentality of pushing the baskets into the woods a few feet to make them slightly more challenging. Not really a deal breaker, but not the best.
Other Thoughts: The "Pro Tees" in the course map that are landmark based could make the course more interesting and fun.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center