Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
Carmichael, CA 
Albert Schweitzer Park Share
Uploaded By: JHern Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
-- / 319ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Fairway



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Go with a local

5+    10/23/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: DiscWiz66
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Set in a nice park.
- Challenging
- Mix of shots
- Never crowded
- Trash cans
- Very wooded
- It is a lot of fun if you know the course well.

Cons: - Pole holes
- Dirt tee pads
- No hole signs marking distance and location of pin. (or location of next tee pad)
- No parking lot (parking on residential streets)
- becomes extremely over grown during parts of the year.
Other Thoughts: For the first time out to this course I would recommend going with someone who knows the course. If you go at it alone you might see someone out there that can show you around, but that person you see is just as likely to be as lost as you are. I played my first time there with some locals and now I love the course because of how challenging it is and it is a nice break from the crowds at OV.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Little Africa

2-4    6/20/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: EG ChainRacker
Played: 54  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Pole Course
-VERY CHALLENGING
Cons: -no tees or signs
-tough to find your way around when never played here
-very easy to lose a disc
Other Thoughts: -Dusty during the summer and muddy during the winter
-Multiple Places to park
-TONS of trees
-this course WILL make you better if you play here alot
-baskets are only placed once a year here during the skull master disaster
-my best score there is 7 over

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Carmichael Gem

5+    8/24/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: JHardy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shady Oaks gets crowded after 8am every day. Lil Africa is hardly ever busy. Wed Night doubles is about the only time you have to wait. I would also say that this course is more difficult than Shady. Players play here complainers go elsewhere.
Cons: No baskets, but the poles do help with your putting!
Other Thoughts: I'd like to see them take the baskets from Mackey and Natomas and place them here. This course would be awesome with baskets!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Little Africa

1    3/26/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course uses the area to its capacity
- Variety of shot selection
- Plenty of parking
- Surprisingly clean
- Some trash cans provided
- 1 port-o-potty near hole 1
- Locals were friendly
Cons: - No Tee signs, tee pads, or baskets
- Some fairways not defined
- Completely overgrown (at least when I was there)
- Lots of drinking & smoking
- Need spotters on some holes
- Hard to navigate with a map (a had a local with me)
Other Thoughts: This is definitely not a destination course. It needs plenty of work before a dare to make another trip. Most of the time was spent searching for my drives as many of the holes are blind shots over brush and trees. A spotter is definitely recommended along with a guide. I was lucky enough to play a round with a nice fellow at the nearby Shady Oaks course who didn't mind showing me the course.
I do have to say that the course has plenty of potential if it gets cleaned up. There are some holes that are long (17 & 18) but everything can be reached with a mid-range or less. The shot variety keeps the round fun (if you have a thumber it makes the round much easier) and overall the round was enjoyable but only because I had a guide with me.
The pins are wooded stakes with makes putting fun and difficult.

To recap:
- Needs work
- Short course
- Need a guide to navigate

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Glad to have it

5+    12/5/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: LocalsRoute
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not alot of traffic has a good shot variety with blind shots and visible hole locations
Cons: no baskets and heavy stickers in summer tees get sloppy also not marked at all dont expect to find your way around without help

Other Thoughts: Its still better than nothing and much appreciated.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Get a guide!

1    10/16/2008   11/16/2009
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tight and technical, quite, free parking, and in the city
Cons: Impossible to navigate, overerly tight fairways on a few holes, you can see targets...but they aren't always the one you are shooting at.
Other Thoughts: This course is just not doable without a local guide who knows the course. It's very frusterating to go at it alone. The only problem there...is there aren't a lot of folks playing it...so locals are scarse.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Schweitzer Disc Golf Course

5+    8/28/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: xdmann
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quiet, wooded area just off Winding. Very relaxing and peaceful.
Cons: Many trees, some long, narrow turning shots. Some holes can't be seen from tees. Easy to get lost on 13,14,15 if not familiar with course.
Other Thoughts: Playing this course makes me better at other courses due to the poles instead of baskets, narrow shots between trees. Recommend walking course to find all holes before playing if new to course. I've memorized this course so I think I may like it a little more than some.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Why are there poles?

5+    4/8/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: discgman
Played: 46  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its not crowded like all the other courses in the Sacramento area. Its quiet and you can easily finish a round in an hour.
Cons: There are no baskets, lots of brush and trees.
Other Thoughts: The reason there are no baskets or course redesign is due to its location. The course was almost removed due to the large crowds, drinking and trash. If there were baskets at the course, it would be overrun and eventually closed. Check out www.muthaputters.net for any course information or events calendar.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential

3/16/2008   4/28/2008
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Albert Schweitzer park offers a great mixture of open and wooded areas, and a canalized creek runs through the wooded area making a nice set of challenging tunnel shots for several holes. The course is away from major roads, and a bit more secluded, so it is quieter and potentially more relaxing.
Cons: The course is rough, and only barely beyond safari stage of development. I guess that is appropriate for a place called "Little Africa." We spent about 3 hours here, and never found some of the holes. I think these are simply overgrown, with an enormous amount of undergrowth starting to clog things up in some portions of the park. Areas around the north edge of the park are piled up with wood chips and such, which is a bit trashy.

If the park were better managed, some of the overgrown underbrush could be cleared out, dirt piles and wood chips removed, and maybe some bushes left in small patches here and there to provide fun hazards.

Some of the local kids playing were snuffing out and leaving cigarette butts on the wooden targets, smashing beer bottles, and leaving other trash around. There are no rubbish bins to help with this scenario.

Locals exhort players to park on the NE side of the course, but hole 1 begins on the W side of the park where we are supposedly not supposed to park since it annoys the neighbors. This could be fixed in a course re-design/upgrade.
Other Thoughts: This course needs a more thoughtful re-design, better marked tees, and some real baskets. Then some clearing of rubbish and undergrowth by the park management (this is probably a fire hazard, anyways). After that, this could become a fantastic little course, since it offers all the things one appreciates in a challenging course...big trees, a creek, some topography, and a mix of open areas and brush patches.

It is possible to fit 18 holes in here, but it might be more worthwhile to put in 9 really high quality holes with multiple pin positions, etc.. This would realistically cost about $3-$4K. Rubbish bins and other maintenance issues also need to be dealt with, but perhaps a local maintenance regime of and by the players could be established, just as with other nice courses in California.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

4/13/2008   4/13/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Nice wooded nature trail with wood chip trails turned DGC. The difficulty is pretty good.
Cons: There are a lot of trees in the way, keep an eye on your disk. There are no real tees or maps to tell you which way to throw. Most of the time, if I saw orange paint, i threw a disk at it. Good luck!
Other Thoughts: There's no baskets just round wooded poles, don't be suprised.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.