Oshkosh, WI 
Winnebago County Park - Green Share
Uploaded By: DiscGolfer947 Hole #14 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Oshkosh

1    8/15/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 52  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3 Years
Pros: Nice course in a multi use park. Puts several ponds into play. Uses unmowed grass to the sides of the fairway as a rough. Good use of trees. Not many just open shots. I really like that you throw down the sides of, or cut a corner on the ponds instead if just throwing across.
Cons: The rough is really rough. You spend a long time searching for discs there. The two courses run somewhat parallell to each other, which is odd more than a problem, although it could be is the course was crazy busy. The flow from 9, 10, and 11 is awkward.

Fun and long

1    6/28/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: smatthew854
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with many challenging shots, for me anyway. This course will test your ability to shoot both right and left, as the pins are placed both directions from the tee regularly. It is a bit longer so a good arm is needed but on the green course this is nothing that cannot be done.
Cons: I consider myself to be an average player. Every course i've played at, and its more than I've got listed, I come in at 5-10 under REC par. Then I played here, and though challenging the holes were not especially difficult to shoot. Still with the distances, the tight skill shots on most holes, and the course listed REC par I came in at +7. That is a 17 stroke difference and to me means the average player will be discouraged by seeing that kind of score. On the yellow course at this place there is a hole over 600ft with a water hazard that is a par 3. Most rec players I know don't throw much over 200-250ft, meaning there is absolutely no way they could even hope to finish that hole in par unless they hit a lucky 200ft shot. There are many holes on this course over 400ft with tight shots to make to stay on target, which on most every course I've played before would be listed as a par 5, here it is listed as a par 3 sometimes a par 4. It is why I set up my own par scoring for this course and listed it as blue.
That and a few of the walks between holes being longer and somewhat unsure of location, first time playing obviously it'll be easier when we go again, are the only negatives I took away from this otherwise beautiful course.
Other Thoughts: Will be back again and again to make it a regular course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The better of the 2 courses here

1    9/8/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through a very large, multi use park in Oshkosh. The course was very well maintained when we were there. They have nice large, level tee pads on every hole. The signs were awesome here also. They showed a basic hole diagram, hole #, distances and par, any OB on that hole, and even a direction to the next tee. these are color coded either green or yellow for the 2 different courses in the park. The baskets are Mach 3's that were all in great shape and caught awesome. these baskets also had the hole # with an arrow to the next tee on them which is awesome combined with the next tee diagrams on each sign. This made navigation here fairly easy. There are a good mix of different lengths on this course. Some play through the more open parts of the park with others playing through some prairie and wooded areas as well. This provides a good mixture of hole types. Water comes into play on a few holes. This will vary depending on how much rain there was recently. The course was not busy at all when we went either. There was one other group we encountered on the 2 18 hole courses combined. Also both courses start and end near the first tees for each which is always nice. There are not too many trees to contend with but enough to keep it fairly interesting. Wind will probably be the main factor in scoring well here.
Cons: There are a few longer walks between holes but this isn't too much of a problem with the awesome signage and directional. The prairie grass can really eat up discs. It's not as much of a problem here as it is on the yellow course. A few of the holes come pretty close to other fairways and roads through the park.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty decent course but nothing overly amazing. Out of the 2 courses here this is the better of the 2 in my opinion. This is a definitely worth a stop if you're nearby with there being 2 separate 18 hole courses here. They redesigned it in 2013 and did a good job using the available land. Also like I said for the yellow course. Be very careful if you use the green on the green. I found a Ziploc bag IN the basket for hole 1. IN THE BASKET. Then I saw 2 very casually dressed guys in the parking lot after all 36 holes who looked like if I had to guess their occupation would say were police officers. They pulled it off perfectly with the exception of looking like oinkers. Be careful here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Green is GREAT

5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of shorter shots and big bombs.
Love how the tall grass shapes the fairways.
NEVER busy.
Good use of water and what few trees the course has.
Nice tee-pads.
Good baskets.
Open year round.
Cons: Not many trees.
Tall grass can be difficult sometimes.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome. I've been playing County park since it was just 15 baskets. Love how far it has come - now it's 36.
I like the Green course a bit better than Yellow.
Course is located seconds off of HWY 41. If you're headed north and want to drive a car instead of a disc, stop and play County - a nice course in a nice park

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.