Oshkosh, WI
Winnebago County Park - Yellow Share
Uploaded By: beatles4sancho Hole #17 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 459ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A Challenge in Oshkosh

5+    10/16/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: Anton
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: Challenging Pro-level holes (600+ft)
Maintained very well
New pads
Accurate & Informative Signs
Free (Donations accepted)
Not busy
Cons: Narrow fairways on very long holes
Roughs laden with prickers and stickers
Lack of woods/hills
Wind is a BIG factor
Other Thoughts: This course takes around 1.5 to 2 hrs to complete. It contains some of the longest holes in the area and therefore seems to have more of a "pro feel". Unless you can drop 600 ft bombs, you will have to rely on a solid approach shot. This particular course seems to be more ideal for forehand throws, so having a complete game is a must for success. It's a highly challenging course, especially for a park without a ton of resources (not much for woods/elevation changes). The biggest pitfalls with this course are the narrow fairways combined with awful roughs on hole 7 and most of the back 9 (Searching for discs can be a huge pain here!). While most of the course is open-fields there are a few water hazards and holes 8-11 take advantage of elevation changes. The challenges of these features really redeem the courses poor roughs/lack of resources. If you can keep it on the fairways or mark your shots well, this course is a lot of fun; however, if you can't, this course ends up being very frustrating. I'd recommend it to seasoned "big-arm" throwers or those looking for a challenge.

Noteworthy Items:

-When there is little to no wind this course is (In my mind) the best in the Oshkosh area. However! Be warned: Oshkosh is windy, county park is flat, has few trees, and wind is almost always a factor. When it's really windy, and you still want to disc in Oshkosh, go with Winnebago County Park's Green route. (Wind will still be a factor, but the course is much more forgiving)

-Talks are taking place to widen the fairways and to set up distance markers on the longer holes.

-If you have time and gas money head up to Plamann Park in Appleton for the best discing in the Fox Valley.

Not as good as the green

1    9/8/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 108  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2013
Pros: This course just like the green plays through a very well manicured and maintained multi use park. As of when we were there in early September 2013 they didn't have all the concrete tees in yet. However the few that weren't were all boxed in and ready to be poured. They have awesome Mach 3 baskets just like the green course. These were in excellent shape and caught well. The tee signs here are the same as on the green course. These are some of the best around. They have a descriptive hole layout, par and distance, hole #, any OB and show where the next tee is located. This course has a few water hazards and a number of holes with awesome elevation. The flow is pretty easy to figure out, though not as easy as the green course. There is a good mix of different distances with some being pretty short to some 500 foot plus holes. There aren't too many trees here but plenty to keep things interesting. The wind will be a big factor here as well. The course wouldn't seem to ever be too busy either. Both this course and the green start and end near each other which is a plus.
Cons: The ridiculously long, straight prairie hole on 15 with a tiny fairway is not fun. Hole 16 is the most impossible hole I've seen in awhile, possibly ever. I didn't even play it. I could throw a disc into the pond or not lose plastic and skip it. Hole 17 is also pretty dumb. It's a 500 footish hole going right with a pond along the right and thick prairie to the left. That combined with trees and its blind make for no fun at all. Horrible design on this and the 2 before it. I really enjoyed this course until I got to these 3 holes. Also hole 10 I believe it was is just a weak design point. It's a pretty long drive to an uphill shot at the pin surrounded by rough prairie grass. Also you have no idea where the pin is until after your first shot. It's very easy to lose a disc here in the prairie grass or at least waste a lot of time searching for it.
Other Thoughts: This course starts out real nice then gets extremely frustrating at the end. Like I said earlier holes 15 through 17 are just not fun at all. This is still a fun course but that's mostly because of the green course. The holes towards the middle of the course on the hills really save this course from being a total disaster. Basically a third to more reasonably a sixth of this course are poorly designed. The rest is comparable to the green course. The 36 holes here are fun to play with the exception of a few on this 18 holer. Also as a warning if you use herbal supplements during your round I'd recommend being VERY careful here. I found but didn't take a Ziploc bag IN hole 1's basket. Then at the end of both rounds seen 2 men in the parking lot with very bovinish faces who seemed out of place to say the least. Be very careful with what you do here. That made me mad and I don't "juice" anymore if you got me.

Super cool

5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.9 Years
Pros: 36 hole park with two separate 18 hole courses.
Great baskets.
Fantastic utilization of the limited obstacles the park has.
Lots of distance with some shorter holes mixed in.
Love the elevation changes.
Some great par 4's.
Difficult park, even though it's mostly open.
The new signs are great.
NEVER crowded.
Cons: Tall grass makes discs hard to find.
Not many trees.
Other Thoughts: Love this park. 36 holes. Lots of long drives and nice shots. The hills on the Yellow course are really cool and well used.

Thistle Party

2-4    7/18/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: ACE_Holes4Life
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's still disc golf, and by the grace of god I've only lost one disc here in two rounds.
Cons: There are zero holes here I consider fun to throw. About 50% of my round was spent searching for discs in the restored prairie, composed mostly of thistle and vetch. Several long holes 350+ have unrealistic fairways. Several hole transitions are long walks or tough to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I'm all about prairie restoration and disc golf, but if you're considering both in the same space, well, just don't. Disc golfers lose discs, and the prairie gets trampled, nobody wins.

Lastly, a handful of the holes, 16 and 17 in particular, are just terrible. It will be years before I play here again.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.