Lakewood, NJ 
Ocean County Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: weencycle Hole #2 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 390ft.   3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Open Bomber's Paradise

5+    3/28/2015   3/28/2015
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 48  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a few standout holes that require thoughtful course management through good risk-reward opportunities. Holes 3 and 18 both have tradeoffs for distance and accuracy with OB to punish errant drives. I wish there were more of these challenges on the course. There are also a few interesting elements in other spots on the course. Hole 2 has many small trees surrounding the basket to challenge easy putts. Hole 6 is an interesting shot over a group of tall bushes. Hole 9 has a hanging basket to mess with your putting game.
Cons: Overall the course has too many holes that lack a strong risk-reward factor and play the same. Many shots are nearly wide open and require 350+ of distance with little danger. I am not really forced to throw many complicated shots on the course either. I think I throw one hyzer-flip on hole 16's drive, but other than that there are few areas where an unusual line is necessary. I threw a rhbh hyzer on holes 1,2,6,9,10,14,15 with little worry about recording a bogey.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 is the standout here, and I wish there were more like it. I really respect the designers for all they have done for disc golf in the region, and for getting this course in the ground, but I think the course can see some great improvements with emphasis towards creative shot making and risk-reward on the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Expansion to 18 holes

5+    6/19/2014   6/19/2014
Review By: LaserShow
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 7/26/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After the course expanded to 18 holes, the course offers a lot more variety. The original 9 was mostly wide open and forgiving with the exception of hole 3 and hole 9. However, the alternate tee boxes incorporate a lot of trees and offer much more challenges. The new nine include a lot of distance, short technical shots, tight windows, a hanging basket, and an elevated basket. Overall, it is a very fun course to play.
Cons: Sometimes the park gets crowded and you have to share the fields with large groups and wait for pedestrians. Some holes could be more challenging since you can get away with bad shots with big fields to throw in to.
Other Thoughts: I am excited for the last of the 18 tee boxes to be installed and alternate tees to be placed. I think the course has potential to be even better. Come out and try out this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ocean County DCG

5+    3/8/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: Fishfood
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Finally a course near the shore. This was a long awaited addition to Ocean County/Monmouth County area. I'm not going to rehash what others have said about the amenities.
This DGC is typical park course, wide open grass fairways, not much in the way of challenges to avoid when you let it rip. Holes #3 and #9 are the two signature holes on the course and offer the most challenge to par/birdie. The rest of the holes are basically grip and rip, set up for your put. The course plays in a clockwise direction, start at the end of the parking lot and finish at the entrance to the parking lot. Most fairways are straight open grass with a pit placement either straight ahead or faded to the left. Hole #9 is the only exception, pin plays to the right of the fairway, tucked in the trees, OB (street) to the left, creek to avoid on your drive....best designed hole on the course! Need more of these!
Cons: I think this is a typical open park type course, Nothing is above avg at this course, as most of the raters have been rating this course. It's basically ripping drives in a field. With all the woods around, it kills me to be driving in open fields. Give me a couple woods run par 3's and I'd rate this one higher.
Other Thoughts: First off, I totally appreciate the work and effort to get this course put in, thanks to the course designers and workers who made it happen.
Update: Looks like another 9 holes will be added in the upcoming months. Played the two woods holes between 8 and 9. EXCELLENT ! I understand there will be more "woods" holes in the new course design...Bravo!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Shore Course

1    7/29/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: Wook1
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun quick course, easy to navigate, very convienient to make a quick stop off 195 on the way to the shore. First thing I noticed at Ocean county park was the potential this course has. With a few years, a dedicated club & positive PR/reputation I could see this couse grow into a pro level venue. As it sits now I give it a strong 3. Brand new pins, and throwing into a fresh chains is always a plus. Wooden frames around the tee pads keep the gravel where it should be and instaling the concrete that much easier. This course is good for all skill levels and would be great for introducing new players into the game. Lots of room for improvements/additional tees pins/ and plenty of room to add more holes (pond after 3 cough cough) This course is in a "dead zone" for courses so hopefully this is just the first step in the right direction of bringing our sport into the local parks.
Cons: Needs more variety off the tee and for approach shots, too many dog leg left style shots into open fields at this point. Plenty of beautiful wooded areas surround this park and 2 ponds that could easily be incorporated for a signature hole or two, hopefully they get utilized more in the course improvement/addition phase. Also needs more variety in hole distance everything's in the 175-350 range. Walking & car paths sometimes run along or through a section of fairway. Be careful! especially on the mando/tennis court hole, bad shots could be trouble on that one.
Other Thoughts: Definitiely worth the stop if your crossing NJ via 195 or at the shore for the weekend. Im excited to see this course grow over the next few years, it's always nice looking back on how much a course evolves since first being installed. signage on the road would be nice once entering the park

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.