Lakewood, NJ
Ocean County Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: weencycle Hole #5 (Taken 8/2013)
-- / --   3 / 237ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beautiful Course!

2-4    4/2/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: superk1035
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of long holes for huge drives.
Interesting pin placements.
Gorgeous views during your walk.
Holes not crowded with trees for me to bounce off.
Cons: None for me.
Other Thoughts: I would love to see more holes as this is a huge area with tons of room for more. I didn't see the extra "woods" holes others talked about, but I wish I had. I also wish I had more time to stay and play this course over and over!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ocean County DCG

5+    3/8/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: Fishfood
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Finally a course near the shore. This was a long awaited addition to Ocean County/Monmouth County area. I'm not going to rehash what others have said about the amenities.
This DGC is typical park course, wide open grass fairways, not much in the way of challenges to avoid when you let it rip. Holes #3 and #9 are the two signature holes on the course and offer the most challenge to par/birdie. The rest of the holes are basically grip and rip, set up for your put. The course plays in a clockwise direction, start at the end of the parking lot and finish at the entrance to the parking lot. Most fairways are straight open grass with a pit placement either straight ahead or faded to the left. Hole #9 is the only exception, pin plays to the right of the fairway, tucked in the trees, OB (street) to the left, creek to avoid on your drive....best designed hole on the course! Need more of these!
Cons: I think this is a typical open park type course, Nothing is above avg at this course, as most of the raters have been rating this course. It's basically ripping drives in a field. With all the woods around, it kills me to be driving in open fields. Give me a couple woods run par 3's and I'd rate this one higher.
Other Thoughts: First off, I totally appreciate the work and effort to get this course put in, thanks to the course designers and workers who made it happen.
Update: Looks like another 9 holes will be added in the upcoming months. Played the two woods holes between 8 and 9. EXCELLENT ! I understand there will be more "woods" holes in the new course design...Bravo!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

2-4    1/16/2014   1/17/2014
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 15.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Holes are fairly long with alternate tees.
- Beautiful peaceful setting (Winter)
- Open tee shots with nice fairways with holes tucked away into tree/bush setting.
- Smart course design
- Enjoyable course to play. Also enjoyable park.
- Course and baskets in great condition.
- Plenty of bathrooms and water
- Easy to get to (right off the Garden State Parkway).
- Plenty of land with potential for another 9 or more holes.
- Hole 3 plays along a small brook with basket perched before lake....very nice!
- Very nice tee signs with "Next Tee" signs at every hole. Big homemade log benches at every tee.
- Great mix of shots - straight, left, right, mandos
- Once in the park, there are plenty of "disc golf course" signs directing you to the correct parking lot.
- Practice basket..
Cons: - Having a difficult time finding anything wrong with this course at this time.
Other Thoughts: - I played on a Wednesday and couldn't wait to go back the next day to play another round. And both days were just as enjoyable as I have experienced at any other course. Hats off to all those who put the hard work into making this a great course! Looking forward to seeing more holes put in for the near future!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ocean county disc

5+    11/30/2013   12/9/2013
Review By: chlpper85
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very well maintained with challenging holes for everyone. Two sets of tees with signs at the main tees. Both sets of tees have the same par (28) but the alternates are more difficult. This is a 9 hole course but not your standard 9 hole course with few birdie opportunities. Log benches are at all main tees. At hole 1 the scorecard and lost disc box are nice.
Cons: Holes are friendly to the RHBH player.
Course lacks technical and tight holes.
Other Thoughts: The potential for this course is unbelievable. There is so much space in this park that can be used and look forward to seeing this course expand to 18

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Finally!

5+    10/15/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 71  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finally a quality disc golf course in Ocean County! In this area even a mediocre course would be welcomed but this place has the potential to be much more. The park itself is well kept with clean amenities but most importantly is the land. There is plenty of room for long drives, tight wooded fairways and water hazards.

As it stands now the course offers a good challenge for a range of skill levels. Overall it is a fun course that is approachable to beginners with the distance to encourage development.

I especially enjoyed holes 3 and 9.

Hole 3 offers a great risk/reward shot. Long arms can reach the basket for a potential 2, however you have to hit your line perfectly. Too far right and you are in the trees, short. Too far left and you are in the murky pond directly left of the basket.

Hole 9 is another gem. Playing the cement and beyond as OB you are forced to place a drive straight but with enough distance to clear the creek. The thick woods to the right can be punishing, even the right side of the fairway leaves you little to no look at the basket. The combination of water, woods and OB make this a very fun and tough 3.
Cons: It is important to point out that I view this course as a work in progress and I only have 2 major areas for improvement.

1. It gets a bit repetitive. With the exception of holes 3 and 9 you can throw a wide open RHBH hyzer shot on every hole. Wide open fairway and fade into the woods towards the basket.

2. The tee pads. They can easily become lumpy and mess with your footing. I know that the club comes around and smoothes them out. However as the course becomes more popular (which it will) they are going to become lumpier more quickly. Please tell me that there are plans to upgrade tees in the future, when funds are there and the layout is permanent.
Other Thoughts: Please be respectful of other park users when playing here. Most people will have no idea what disc golf is and a positive first impression can go a long way. It only takes a few incidents to ruin a new course. So when in doubt please wait until it is clear, and when some little kid picks up your disc, before you yell remember: this is the only course you've got.

It is sad to say that I grew up in ocean county and did not discover disc golf until I left NJ. Thank you to the guys that put in all the work to get this course in the ground. I am looking forward to seeing what this course becomes as I come back to visit in the future.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course

1    8/11/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: weencycle
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course, with a nice flowing layout. It's got several challenging holes, with some having long distances, others having water hazards, and tricky basket placement. The surrounding landscape is really nice, too.
Cons: It's only 9 holes. Hopefully the good people who made this course, can expand it in the future. Until then, I'll just play it twice, or three times.
Other Thoughts: Now I'm off to work on getting more distance from my drive. See you out there.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1st course in ocean county

2-4    7/28/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: oceancountydg
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New course with brand new baskets and tee pads. Park is very well maintained with all amenities. 2 ace runs and a few nice distance holes. Log pathways have been added and the course is shaping up beautifully. Tons of space for more holes, short and long tee pads and pin positions. New next tee signs and mando signs look good and help with navigation
Cons: No wooded/tight technical holes but hopefully the back 9 brings that added challenge and variety to the course. No tee signs... Yet.
Other Thoughts: The best course around thus far. Hopefully more to come. Excited for the back nine and growth of the sport in this area. This course is what the area needs to gain interest. Every time I have played people at the park are asking what we are doing and we gladly try to get them involved.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Shore Course

1    7/29/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: Wook1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun quick course, easy to navigate, very convienient to make a quick stop off 195 on the way to the shore. First thing I noticed at Ocean county park was the potential this course has. With a few years, a dedicated club & positive PR/reputation I could see this couse grow into a pro level venue. As it sits now I give it a strong 3. Brand new pins, and throwing into a fresh chains is always a plus. Wooden frames around the tee pads keep the gravel where it should be and instaling the concrete that much easier. This course is good for all skill levels and would be great for introducing new players into the game. Lots of room for improvements/additional tees pins/ and plenty of room to add more holes (pond after 3 cough cough) This course is in a "dead zone" for courses so hopefully this is just the first step in the right direction of bringing our sport into the local parks.
Cons: Needs more variety off the tee and for approach shots, too many dog leg left style shots into open fields at this point. Plenty of beautiful wooded areas surround this park and 2 ponds that could easily be incorporated for a signature hole or two, hopefully they get utilized more in the course improvement/addition phase. Also needs more variety in hole distance everything's in the 175-350 range. Walking & car paths sometimes run along or through a section of fairway. Be careful! especially on the mando/tennis court hole, bad shots could be trouble on that one.
Other Thoughts: Definitiely worth the stop if your crossing NJ via 195 or at the shore for the weekend. Im excited to see this course grow over the next few years, it's always nice looking back on how much a course evolves since first being installed. signage on the road would be nice once entering the park

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The First Course in Ocean County

1    7/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Newly constructed 9 hole course with dual tee pads at each hole in beautiful Ocean County Park in Lakewood, NJ. Primarily open course with a few peeks into the woods and mature trees scattered throughout. Brand new Innova Disc Catcher baskets. Good sized, 5 x 10 stone dust tee pads. Good distance variety which should appeal to all skill levels. Water and pavement OB areas come into play and challenge players on several holes. Navigation is pretty easy with very visible "next tee" signs near each basket. Professional grade new tee signs exist at all primary tees along with large log benches. Amenities like bathrooms, picnic areas and water fountains are on the premises. Much room for expansion to 18 holes. Park grounds are impeccably maintained.
Cons: Despite the vast woods, not many real technical shots in the current layout. Pedestrians and park travelers will be a factor from time to time when playing. Area high schools use part of the grounds for Cross Country. Not much elevation- welcome to the Jersey Shore. Geese droppings can a bit of a nuisance.Though playable and presentable, elements of the course still a work in progress.
Other Thoughts: Ocean County Park represents years of hard work and commitment in providing a sorely needed, quality course in the Jersey Shore area for disc golfers. This is a really nice playing experience here, and a welcome kiosk will be installed in the coming months by hole 1. The level of care that has gone into the course is tremendous, and park officials are easy to work with and have been amenable to suggestions about the course. What you see- and it's already pretty good- only scratches the surface of the potential OCP holds as a future tournament course. Approval for another 9 holes is in the works!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.