Lakewood, NJ 
Ocean County Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cubby Hole #3 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 393ft.   3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Panorama



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Open Bomber's Paradise

5+    3/28/2015   3/28/2015
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a few standout holes that require thoughtful course management through good risk-reward opportunities. Holes 3 and 18 both have tradeoffs for distance and accuracy with OB to punish errant drives. I wish there were more of these challenges on the course. There are also a few interesting elements in other spots on the course. Hole 2 has many small trees surrounding the basket to challenge easy putts. Hole 6 is an interesting shot over a group of tall bushes. Hole 9 has a hanging basket to mess with your putting game.
Cons: Overall the course has too many holes that lack a strong risk-reward factor and play the same. Many shots are nearly wide open and require 350+ of distance with little danger. I am not really forced to throw many complicated shots on the course either. I think I throw one hyzer-flip on hole 16's drive, but other than that there are few areas where an unusual line is necessary. I threw a rhbh hyzer on holes 1,2,6,9,10,14,15 with little worry about recording a bogey.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 is the standout here, and I wish there were more like it. I really respect the designers for all they have done for disc golf in the region, and for getting this course in the ground, but I think the course can see some great improvements with emphasis towards creative shot making and risk-reward on the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Newer Course in Lakewood

2-4    12/17/2014   2/26/2015
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 43  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Some new features & improvements include one hanging basket and one elevated basket
- Also, great mix of dog leg left and rights with variations of open and wooded holes. Several holes tee off in the open and finish wooded.
- Awesome use of property and pretty sections of woods with big pine trees and pine needles
- Holes are fairly long with alternate tees.
- Smart course design
- Enjoyable & fun course to play. Park is also nice.
- Course and baskets in great condition.
- Plenty of bathrooms and water
- Very nice tee signs with "Next Tee" signs at every hole. Big homemade log benches at every tee.
- Great mix of shots - straight, left, right, mandos, Hole 3 sports a small brook running along side from tee to hole, with basket planted just before lake. Beautiful!
- Practice basket that is clearly labeled
- Course terrain is mostly flat, with a couple of slight slopes.
- Large course map on post sign at Hole 1. Also printed hard copy maps to take along. Lost disc box available as well.
Cons: For people who like short and tight, there might be a problem with not many holes at all in the woods. Also, there really isn't enough or not specific enough signs to locate the parking lot for Disc Golf. The first post of signs has a sign that says "Disc Golf", but no arrows. Also you won't see another sign until you go far enough along the left road to get to the correct parking lot. A big con is that there are the loose gravel tee boxes. While they are better then teeing off at a line in the sand/ground they can cause bad drives due to slipping or running into/onto the frame if the gravel is low.
Other Thoughts: This is by far my favorite course in New Jersey. I didn't get a chance to play the 9 hole course, but once I played the 2013 Ocean County Ice Bowl, I was hooked on this course. There is a great variety of long par 4's and short par 3's. I wish this was my home course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice relaxed course

2-4    7/19/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: bobalooey
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *More "open" field type holes then not.
*Well groomed course/park (when I went, mid July).
*Tee signs that are there from the original 9 look like they are made to last and withstand tampering (look forward to update/installation of new signs).
*Well made benches utilizing a solid base with a chunk of tree to sit on.
*Variety of length as well as left and right turn holes.
*Tee's located close enough to the basket/"next tee" sign that they're easy to find (tee 16 from basket 15 is an exception to this rule, it's a bit of a walk), but not so close you have to worry about the group behind you hitting you while you're wait to tee off.
Cons: *More "open" field type holes then not (yes it can be a pro and a con).
*Not enough or not specific enough signs to locate the parking lot for Disc Golf. The first post of signs has a sign that says "Disc Golf", but no arrows. So you have a 50/50 chance of picking the correct direction, or ending up back on the main road. Also you won't see another sign until you go far enough along the left road to get to the correct parking lot.
*My biggest con is the loose gravel tee boxes. While they are better then teeing off at a line in the sand/ground they can cause bad drives due to slipping or running into/onto the frame if the gravel is low. I'm assuming they are a temporary solution until the course designers can afford to put down rubber/cement/paver style tee boxes, but until then it is annoying for those of us who have angled approaches to our tee shots.
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable course, especially if you are looking for a course which won't punish you for every throw which is a little off the mark (although there are a few little water run-offs which could cost you a stroke on some holes, but they are small). The majority of open field type holes were refreshing, especially since they were all well cut, although that could be annoying to a disc golfer looking for more challenging throws. The course designers worked in some holes that include tricky tree's initially or at the end to make use of what they have available. Also there are a couple of the newly installed 18 that are 100% wood holes with a tight fairway and trees/bushes to punish you in the rough. Overall a very nice, well maintained course that has room for improvement. I would definitely recommend this course to everyone I know.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Expansion to 18 holes

5+    6/19/2014   6/19/2014
Review By: LaserShow
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 7/26/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After the course expanded to 18 holes, the course offers a lot more variety. The original 9 was mostly wide open and forgiving with the exception of hole 3 and hole 9. However, the alternate tee boxes incorporate a lot of trees and offer much more challenges. The new nine include a lot of distance, short technical shots, tight windows, a hanging basket, and an elevated basket. Overall, it is a very fun course to play.
Cons: Sometimes the park gets crowded and you have to share the fields with large groups and wait for pedestrians. Some holes could be more challenging since you can get away with bad shots with big fields to throw in to.
Other Thoughts: I am excited for the last of the 18 tee boxes to be installed and alternate tees to be placed. I think the course has potential to be even better. Come out and try out this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course!

2-4    4/2/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: superk1035
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of long holes for huge drives.
Interesting pin placements.
Gorgeous views during your walk.
Holes not crowded with trees for me to bounce off.
Cons: None for me.
Other Thoughts: I would love to see more holes as this is a huge area with tons of room for more. I didn't see the extra "woods" holes others talked about, but I wish I had. I also wish I had more time to stay and play this course over and over!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ocean County DCG

5+    3/8/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: Fishfood
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Finally a course near the shore. This was a long awaited addition to Ocean County/Monmouth County area. I'm not going to rehash what others have said about the amenities.
This DGC is typical park course, wide open grass fairways, not much in the way of challenges to avoid when you let it rip. Holes #3 and #9 are the two signature holes on the course and offer the most challenge to par/birdie. The rest of the holes are basically grip and rip, set up for your put. The course plays in a clockwise direction, start at the end of the parking lot and finish at the entrance to the parking lot. Most fairways are straight open grass with a pit placement either straight ahead or faded to the left. Hole #9 is the only exception, pin plays to the right of the fairway, tucked in the trees, OB (street) to the left, creek to avoid on your drive....best designed hole on the course! Need more of these!
Cons: I think this is a typical open park type course, Nothing is above avg at this course, as most of the raters have been rating this course. It's basically ripping drives in a field. With all the woods around, it kills me to be driving in open fields. Give me a couple woods run par 3's and I'd rate this one higher.
Other Thoughts: First off, I totally appreciate the work and effort to get this course put in, thanks to the course designers and workers who made it happen.
Update: Looks like another 9 holes will be added in the upcoming months. Played the two woods holes between 8 and 9. EXCELLENT ! I understand there will be more "woods" holes in the new course design...Bravo!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic! Now Phenomenal with New 9 Holes!

5+    1/16/2014   1/17/2014
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Updates after playing the brand new 9 ADDITIONAL holes on December 30, 2014
- Simply put, the new additional 9 holes are amazing!
- Some new features & improvements include one hanging basket and one elevated basket, new recycled rubber tee pads, etc.
- Also, great mix of dog leg left and rights with variations of open and wooded holes. Several holes tee off in the open and finish wooded. A few of the new holes also offer some power grip and rip crushes.
- Awesome use of property and pretty sections of woods with big pine trees and pine needles offering "Nature's Carpet" which is comforting on legs, knees, back and feet.
- Holes are fairly long with alternate tees.
- Beautiful peaceful setting (Winter)
- Smart course design
- Enjoyable & fun course to play. Park is also nice.
- Course and baskets in great condition.
- Plenty of bathrooms and water
- Easy to get to (right off the Garden State Parkway).
- Very nice tee signs with "Next Tee" signs at every hole. Big homemade log benches at every tee.
- Great mix of shots - straight, left, right, mandos, Hole 3 sports a small brook running along side from tee to hole, with basket planted just before lake. Beautiful!
- Practice basket.
- Course terrain is mostly flat, with a couple of slight slopes.
- Once in the park, there are plenty of "disc golf course" signs directing you to the correct parking lot, which has plenty of parking and very short walk to 1st tee and practice basket.
- Large course map on post sign at Hole 1. Also printed hard copy maps to take along. Lost disc box available as well.
Cons: - Having a difficult time finding anything wrong with this course at this time. Update: With the addition of the new 9 holes, I STILL cannot find anything wrong here. Except that I would like to see some of the old tee boxes updated to the new ones that were installed for the new additional holes.

Other Thoughts: - New Additional Holes Update:
- The original 9 hole course was fantastic, but the addition of the new 9 holes makes this course the BEST in NJ (according to my own personal taste).
- This course is awesome as is, but I can see the designers having fun with altering the course with variety in the future. (Not that it needs it at all).
- New 9 still shows smart and fun hole design. And fairways are fair and leaves room to work. Only bad drives are punished.
- One of my faves, Hole #16 is wooded with ample fairway width, sporting a long S-shape drive to hole.
- I originally played the 9 holer a year ago on a Wednesday and couldn't wait to go back the next day to play another round. And both days were just as enjoyable as I have experienced at any other course. Hats off to all those who put the hard work into making this a great course...and more hard work on the additional 9 to make this a Class A Course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ocean county disc

5+    11/30/2013   12/9/2013
Review By: chlpper85
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very well maintained with challenging holes for everyone. Two sets of tees with signs at the main tees. Both sets of tees have the same par (28) but the alternates are more difficult. This is a 9 hole course but not your standard 9 hole course with few birdie opportunities. Log benches are at all main tees. At hole 1 the scorecard and lost disc box are nice.
Cons: Holes are friendly to the RHBH player.
Course lacks technical and tight holes.
Other Thoughts: The potential for this course is unbelievable. There is so much space in this park that can be used and look forward to seeing this course expand to 18

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Finally!

5+    10/15/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 74  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finally a quality disc golf course in Ocean County! In this area even a mediocre course would be welcomed but this place has the potential to be much more. The park itself is well kept with clean amenities but most importantly is the land. There is plenty of room for long drives, tight wooded fairways and water hazards.

As it stands now the course offers a good challenge for a range of skill levels. Overall it is a fun course that is approachable to beginners with the distance to encourage development.

I especially enjoyed holes 3 and 9.

Hole 3 offers a great risk/reward shot. Long arms can reach the basket for a potential 2, however you have to hit your line perfectly. Too far right and you are in the trees, short. Too far left and you are in the murky pond directly left of the basket.

Hole 9 is another gem. Playing the cement and beyond as OB you are forced to place a drive straight but with enough distance to clear the creek. The thick woods to the right can be punishing, even the right side of the fairway leaves you little to no look at the basket. The combination of water, woods and OB make this a very fun and tough 3.
Cons: It is important to point out that I view this course as a work in progress and I only have 2 major areas for improvement.

1. It gets a bit repetitive. With the exception of holes 3 and 9 you can throw a wide open RHBH hyzer shot on every hole. Wide open fairway and fade into the woods towards the basket.

2. The tee pads. They can easily become lumpy and mess with your footing. I know that the club comes around and smoothes them out. However as the course becomes more popular (which it will) they are going to become lumpier more quickly. Please tell me that there are plans to upgrade tees in the future, when funds are there and the layout is permanent.
Other Thoughts: Please be respectful of other park users when playing here. Most people will have no idea what disc golf is and a positive first impression can go a long way. It only takes a few incidents to ruin a new course. So when in doubt please wait until it is clear, and when some little kid picks up your disc, before you yell remember: this is the only course you've got.

It is sad to say that I grew up in ocean county and did not discover disc golf until I left NJ. Thank you to the guys that put in all the work to get this course in the ground. I am looking forward to seeing what this course becomes as I come back to visit in the future.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course

1    8/11/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: weencycle
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course, with a nice flowing layout. It's got several challenging holes, with some having long distances, others having water hazards, and tricky basket placement. The surrounding landscape is really nice, too.
Cons: It's only 9 holes. Hopefully the good people who made this course, can expand it in the future. Until then, I'll just play it twice, or three times.
Other Thoughts: Now I'm off to work on getting more distance from my drive. See you out there.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.