Layout Extinct

Naperville, IL 
Knoch Knolls Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Jakjedi Hole #6 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 194ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Knock Knolls

5+    7/15/2010   4/13/2011
Review By: Au Gratin O'Brien
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the course I learned how to play on, back in the day when it was still dirt tees and you'd maybe see one other group out there. They've really done a good job taking care of the course since I started playing. Why shouldn't they though it's run by the Naperville Park District.
Cons: 9 holes and extremely crowded!!!! I would probably give this place a better rating if there wasn't so many people playing it all the time, but not much. Almost every hole favors side arm throwers, which provides for little shoot creativity. Bugs are an issue, and a lot of beginners or people who just don't care play here all the time. It's a shame because the course could be a real nice quaint little nine hole charm, but it's not.
Other Thoughts: Good if you've never played just to get out there and learn the game. Although, I highly recommend traveling outside of Naperville for disc. There's a lot of better course that are not that far of a drive away.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/16/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Knoch Knolls is a passable suburban course with a little shot variety and good use of a hill that runs along the majority of the course.

I wouldn't quite call this a beginner course as numerous holes have some moderately challenging angles and trees as obstacles, but intermediate level players and above will not have too much difficulty here.

The concrete teepads with built in signs are pretty unique and are especially nice given this course's propensity to take on water.

The course is in a DG-only area, which is always nice.

With the exception of #3 which has a large area of tall grass to the right of the fairway, there are no areas to lose a disc.
Cons: My biggest issue with this course is the land used. Although it's located along the Dupage River you are unable to see the river from any point on the course. I mountain bike the trails on the other side of the river and some of the elevation and views are among the most scenic in the area, but this course incorporates none of that. Instead you get a great view of some McMansions and the street for most of the couse.

As mentioned above, any intermediate level player will not find much challenge here, and other than #3, you will not need your driver.

Due to it's location in the heart of one Chicago's most populous suburbs and the fact that there are no other courses in Naperville this place can get packed.

Because of the hill that many shots play up and down, there is almost always mud present on many holes.
Other Thoughts: Due to the traffic it gets, Knoch Knolls is one of the better known courses in the area, but unless you live nearby I would recommend skipping it.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ok place for a quick round

1    8/4/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through an area of the park that is used only for disc golf. There is one hill, though a number of the holes make good use of the little bit of elevation, playing up and down to add a little interest. There are two open areas, with a strip of woods in between. Most of the holes play into or out of the woods, with no holes that felt completely open and boring.

There was an ok mix of left and right turning holes, so that a variety of shots is called for. Most of the holes were aceable, with one longer hole with a little room to air it out. There are nice concrete tees on every hole, with a small hole sign set into the back corner. The signs are accurate, with a hole picture and distance, and the course is easy to navigate overall.
Cons: This is another fairly easy 9 hole course without any really stellar holes, pretty similar to most of the Chicago area courses. The holes weren't necessarily bad, there just weren't any that have anything special or exciting. The course was crowded, though most of the people playing seemed friendly and willing to follow course etiquette.

There were a couple spots that were pretty muddy with no recent rain, it seemed like the lower part of the course could be pretty bad when wet. There were a ton of bugs, make sure you bring some spray. There was also some tall grass on one of the holes that made it easy to lose a disc on an errant drive, even one that barely missed the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This course is an ok place to take beginners, with only one hole that isn't reachable even for shorter throwers. There are a couple places where lost discs are possible though, which might frustrate some new players. More experienced players won't find a lot of challenge here, other than a couple holes that make good spots to practice your approach game.

Don't go out of your way to play this one, it isn't anything all that special. It did seem to have lots of local kids playing, it was cool to see so many young players taking up the sport, and this is a fine course to learn on.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some work

1    9/25/2008   9/30/2008
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the little hole markers on the concrete tees. The distance isn't a killer, which is nice. Very nice area, and decently maintained. There was someone out cutting the grass when I played my round. Not very crowded, either.
Cons: Biggest con is the missing basket at seven, which was a bummer. Very mucky and muddy, even two weeks after the big rain...guess it takes a long while to recover from rain. Course doesn't have a ton of space, so lots of holes zig-zag back and forth, especially on the later holes. Doesn't provide a lot of skill...at least make a course more challenging if it is short.
Other Thoughts: I decided to make a quick drive here when I was in the area, and I was pretty disappointed with the course. I know there is only so much space to work with, but that's no excuse for having a course that requires little skill. St. Charles is a good example that if you can provide a challenging course, then distance doesn't matter. The missing basket brings the score down from a 2.0 to a 1.5...this course needs some work before it becomes any good.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Crowded Course

5/1/2008   5/1/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course itself is pretty simple but fun. It's pretty well maintained and has nice teepads. The signs are located on the teepads themselves and are helpful. Knoch Knolls is very short with most holes under 300'. There's only one longer hole that is about 400'. Most of the shots are either throwing from the field into the woods or from the woods back into the field. There's some nice use of elevation here as well (which is rare around here).
Cons: I've played this course twice and both times it was VERY crowded. I even went during the day on a weekday hoping that it would be better, but it was still super crowded. It's not a very challenging course. There's some technical shots, but for the most part it's just pitch and putt.
Other Thoughts: Even though this is the closest course to me, I'd much rather drive the extra miles to Oswego or Jericho Lake. Knoch Knolls doesn't even compare to those.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.