Naperville, IL 
Knoch Knolls Park Share
Uploaded By: Jakjedi Hole #6 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 194ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Beginner Friendly

5+    5/26/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 37  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Older baskets in decent shape for the most part.
- Variety. I know I am going against some of the reviews posted here but this course does have some semblance of variety given the space used.
- Concrete tee pads. I've played this course off and on over the years and these pads are a very welcome improvement.
- Well maintained park setting.
- Some folks don't like this but I appreciate that many of the holes have wood mulch around the baskets. The mulch seems to grab puts and keep them from rolling away.
- One of the criticisms of this course is it's up and down the single hill there. Personally, I'm glad they made use of this very small hill in an attempt to make it as interesting as possible. I'm really not sure what else the course designer could have done with this land.
- For whatever reason, the play seems to flow nicely here. I have played many times on holiday weekends and while there seems to be a lot of people waits on each hole are rather minimal. Not sure if this is something with the design or just the fact it is only nine holes.
Cons: - Signage is poor and in some cases non existent. I see someone has gone through a lot of trouble to mount signs in the concrete tee pads but for whatever reason many of them have worn off or popped out altogether - not sure which. Either way they were unreadable. Unfortunately, other than the signs on the concrete pads there is nothing here to indicate where the next tee is - at least not that I noticed.
- Tall grass next to the fairways of #2, #3 and #4. This is prairie disc golf at it's worse. Almost as bad as a water hazard. Discs that land in these areas are very difficult to find. Keep this in mind when playing here and maybe brightly colored discs are a good option.
Other Thoughts: This is the kind of course that is great for introducing someone to disc golf. Sure some of the holes are similar to each other but really, it is challenging enough to be interesting but easy enough not to discourage the first timer. Although, loosing a disc in the knee high prairie grass is a little aggravating. I could easily come here and play numerous rounds and use this course to work on a variety of shots. If you are in the neighborhood swing on by for a short round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

It's a Hard Knoch Life

1    11/24/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Situated on a small wooded knoll, Knoch Knolls weaves in and out of the wooded knoll and the open areas on either side. The open shots have grass fairways with tall grass roughs. The woods have some bushy schule in a few places but well-worn paths minimize the chance of losing discs.
- Good use of the wooded knoll. Most holes play up or down the knoll. Several holes play into or out of the woods with a loss or gain of elevation. The holes incorporating the woods force players to hit specific lines to the basket. Punishment exists, but most recovery shots should still result in a par.
- Decent concrete pads ensure good footing while teeing off. Signs, where present and readable, are above average. The signage is set into the tee pads themselves.
- A decent mix of distances adds a bit of variety.
Cons: - Several missing tee signs.
- The tall grasses will make finding errant throws an unpleasant task at certain times of year.
- Players with any sort of overhand or tomahawk sort of throw should be able to avoid most of trees by simply going over them. The best elements of design on this course force players to go through the trees. While going over the trees is certainly a viable tactic, it exposes a weakness in the design's
attempted difficulty.
Other Thoughts: - The course feels almost the the beginning of an okay 18-hole course, but quickly becomes a study in "variations on a theme" as the course works back and forth over the same relatively small patch of ground. Nothing to avoid, with several decent shots, but also nothing to write home about.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

We keep spending most our lives living in the Chuckers Paradise

1    11/24/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Knoch Knolls is a pretty OK-ish nine-hole recreational course. It basically is one wooded hillside that you throw around and back-and-forth on. Other than hole #3 the distances are pretty short, but there are the woods to navigate that keep things interesting. It has a variety of hyzer, anhyzer and tunnel shots that help mix up the round. The tees are concrete and the tee signs were inlaid in them; a cool idea but most of the tee signs are washed out. For the Chicago 'burbs, it has good elevation. It will rate high for "fun factor" for most recreational golfers.
Cons: Once you come around the corner on hole #4, the tees and baskets are too close together. You can easily hit the tees on the adjoining holes, and the woods often make these blind throws where you don't know anyone is there.

Most of the shots are fairly short and not terribly challenging, so if you are looking for a challenge this is not going to be your kind of course.
Other Thoughts: While I can't rate this course very highly, I also don't have a lot of bad things to say about it. It is what it is, and that is a pretty OK-ish nine-hole recreational course. It has a loyal following of recreational players and gets tons of use. For that it should be commended. It's not going to host a PDGA event or be a top-rated course on DGCR, but it is providing a spot for a lot of people in the Chicago 'burbs to develop a passion for disc golf. If every town had a Knoch Knolls, disc golf would be better for it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 At least you wont lose any discs..

2-4    5/1/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: JadosStalin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The most positive thing I can muster is that this is a good warm-up course if you're to embark on a multi-park day of playing. Everyone has already stated that this course is good for beginners, so I can skip that misnomer. The slight elevation makes a few shots tricky and the path is tight, weaves well, and allows even large groups to move rather quickly throughout. There is also zero chance of losing your disc save a well-timed throw to Knoch Knolls Road and a passing car.
Cons: There really is no incentive to strategize your shots, as you can simply whip your discs with a Hulk arm and even the mightiest of wind gusts wont put you too far off course. Again, this may be a positive for beginners and while I am nowhere near calling myself adept at this sport I never felt that even my worst throws landed me anywhere off-track. I'm no glutton for punishment but I at least like to see a good approach as something I achieved instead of something that would have happened even blindfolded.
Other Thoughts: While I've only gone on cloudy weekday afternoons, I did not experience the overcrowding everyone else seems to have encountered. But I do see the potential for a theme park-like queue forming at the tees on weekends or early evenings. Bottom line: I'll only be going to Knoch Knolls again if its the start of kicking around the handfull of nine-holes in the area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ok suburban course

1    4/2/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: Bltsandwich1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Elevation
-Tunnel shots
-Variety of distance
-Clean park
-No risk of hitting other park goers (there is a bike path but no risk of hitting anyone unless you have an ungodly long drive that goes awry)
-No problems with drainage
Cons: -Busy due to the large # of Naperville players
-Not punishing enough of bad shots especially for a course that favors accuracy
-Easy to lose discs (I haven't but I found one on the first day out, and have passed many groups looking in the brush off the hole 3 fairway. If you keep your eye on your disc you should be okay.)
-Fairly boring especially after 6-7 rounds (this is my home course)
Other Thoughts: Not worth a drive if you are going out of your way, however if you play this make a trip out to Castaldo Park for a good combined experience.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Field

5+    11/22/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: earth2sean
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation change, plenty of trees and brush to punish inaccurate throws.
Cons: not much length to really let things air out. Gets SUPER crowded at times. When there are kids soccer games going on, the bored siblings will often get in the way on hole 1. If there's no one else on the course, this isn't that big of a deal cause you can just jump to hole 2, but on a busy day, it is pretty annoying.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, but I feel like the lack of length and the tight, encroaching brush and trees really make it unfriendly to a newb needing to let things air out a little bit and make some mistakes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

2-4    9/11/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 418  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a small portion of the park, wrapped through and around a wooded, hilly area. There are some soccer fields by hole #1 that can get some use, and some holes are by a bike path, but there shouldn't be too much interference.
- A lot of the holes here play into or out of the forsted area, with some sort of slope involved. Hole #2 is a sharp RHBH anhyzer (or super duper tight hyzer) downhill, #5 is a slight downhill shot with a hyzer finish, #6 is a blind RHFH shot uphill out of the woods, #7 is a blind downhill straight shot, and #8 is a blind straight shot coming back up. These holes are fun and pretty interesting because of the elevation changes, as well as some of the different lines.
- Other holes play next to the forest, such as a blind anny with the woods on the right, or two holes that start in the open field with the basket located slightly in the woods. #1 has enough trees to force a RHFH hyzer line, and #9 has a rollaway potential into the trees. #3 is probably the toughest hole, a long blind anny in a mowed fairway with a slightly sloped green at the end.
- The variety of lines here help to keep things interesting, hyzer, straight and anhyzer are definitely key to stay out of trouble. A few holes are long enough to break it up as well.
- Good teepads and baskets, the teepad inlaid signs are getting rubbed blank on a few holes. Navigation is easy, though, as the hole numbers can be easily read.
Cons: - Biggest problem here are some extremely short hole lengths. Half of the holes are under 250' and three are under 205'. Not a lot of space to work with here, the holes are crammed together in a small space, and the lengths do suffer.
- Almost every hole has one and only one path to the basket, not much creativity needed. Point and shoot.
Other Thoughts: - This course has some cool features, with some fairly steep elevation changes and tighter lines on some holes. Complemented well by some longer holes out of the woods, including a 419' blind RHBH anny with thick schule off the fairway. On the whole, probably a beginner's course, but there are some spots with tough punishment for a newbie. Worth checking out for some fun holes, but experienced players won't be blown away.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Town

1    3/9/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: flashniggs3000
Played: 103  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is the first disc golf course that I played. Although the course is very limited, it does offer a veriety of challenges.
Hole 3 is by far the best hole on the course.
Cons: For a town such as Naperville, one would expect a little more.
Everyone keeps asking for another 9 holes on the course.
They definitely have enough room for another 18 at least.
Little challenge on open holes
Too crowded on the weekends
Other Thoughts: Naperville, lets go!
I thought you always wanted to be the best?
Guess not.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Low Skill, Short Length

2-4    6/4/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: kizzle54
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained park.
Good for beginners.
Nice Cement Tees w/ hole layouts
Very Quick, played all nine by myself in 35-40 minutes even with the course crowded
Cons: Very Quick
Always seems to be crowded
More of practice course really...
Very easy course, 3 is a 415 ft par 5?
Other Thoughts: I just play every hole as a par 3 because the course doesn't have many challenging holes. Hole 5 is a pretty neat one, shooting into the woods, and 3 is a good one to crank out a drive on. Try it once or twice, but it really isn't worth a regular trip.

One last thought... I play Whitehall, MI course regularly, and I just don't see how this Knoch Knolls park can justify its par 4s...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    11/4/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: krupicka
Played: 60  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the course I cut my teeth on as it was the closest one to my house. There are an equal number of lefty/righty holes. For the space available, the design maximizes the use of foliage and elevation. If one resists the urge to throw thumbers/tomahawks, the challenge is there for some accurate placement.
Cons: The course is in a flood plain and so expansion has been held up due to limited parking. It also can take some time to dry out on holes 3 and 7.
Other Thoughts: Hole 7 has been replaced. All baskets are in place.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.