Naperville, IL 
Knoch Knolls Park Share
Uploaded By: Jakjedi Hole #2 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Meh

5+    6/6/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: phildafunk1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: For a quick 9er, it's not too bad.
I play here a lot. It's only 12 mins from home and doesn't usually require too much digging out of the bush like Oswego
Cons: Too crowded. Too many blind shots for the unfamiliar players. Also, it can be hard to see if people are done with a hole, since it's so crowded, it is an issue
Other Thoughts: Meh.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Knock Knolls

5+    7/15/2010   4/13/2011
Review By: Au Gratin O'Brien
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the course I learned how to play on, back in the day when it was still dirt tees and you'd maybe see one other group out there. They've really done a good job taking care of the course since I started playing. Why shouldn't they though it's run by the Naperville Park District.
Cons: 9 holes and extremely crowded!!!! I would probably give this place a better rating if there wasn't so many people playing it all the time, but not much. Almost every hole favors side arm throwers, which provides for little shoot creativity. Bugs are an issue, and a lot of beginners or people who just don't care play here all the time. It's a shame because the course could be a real nice quaint little nine hole charm, but it's not.
Other Thoughts: Good if you've never played just to get out there and learn the game. Although, I highly recommend traveling outside of Naperville for disc. There's a lot of better course that are not that far of a drive away.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home Town

1    3/9/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: flashniggs3000
Played: 103  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is the first disc golf course that I played. Although the course is very limited, it does offer a veriety of challenges.
Hole 3 is by far the best hole on the course.
Cons: For a town such as Naperville, one would expect a little more.
Everyone keeps asking for another 9 holes on the course.
They definitely have enough room for another 18 at least.
Little challenge on open holes
Too crowded on the weekends
Other Thoughts: Naperville, lets go!
I thought you always wanted to be the best?
Guess not.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/16/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Knoch Knolls is a passable suburban course with a little shot variety and good use of a hill that runs along the majority of the course.

I wouldn't quite call this a beginner course as numerous holes have some moderately challenging angles and trees as obstacles, but intermediate level players and above will not have too much difficulty here.

The concrete teepads with built in signs are pretty unique and are especially nice given this course's propensity to take on water.

The course is in a DG-only area, which is always nice.

With the exception of #3 which has a large area of tall grass to the right of the fairway, there are no areas to lose a disc.
Cons: My biggest issue with this course is the land used. Although it's located along the Dupage River you are unable to see the river from any point on the course. I mountain bike the trails on the other side of the river and some of the elevation and views are among the most scenic in the area, but this course incorporates none of that. Instead you get a great view of some McMansions and the street for most of the couse.

As mentioned above, any intermediate level player will not find much challenge here, and other than #3, you will not need your driver.

Due to it's location in the heart of one Chicago's most populous suburbs and the fact that there are no other courses in Naperville this place can get packed.

Because of the hill that many shots play up and down, there is almost always mud present on many holes.
Other Thoughts: Due to the traffic it gets, Knoch Knolls is one of the better known courses in the area, but unless you live nearby I would recommend skipping it.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 No Knoching

2-4    1/30/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: Jakjedi
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course has history. Some trees have scars older then most discgo players.
Also has a few short fun technical holes.
Cons: Good practice course cause its short and sweet.
Other Thoughts: Could use another 9 holes and it would be great.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ok place for a quick round

1    8/4/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through an area of the park that is used only for disc golf. There is one hill, though a number of the holes make good use of the little bit of elevation, playing up and down to add a little interest. There are two open areas, with a strip of woods in between. Most of the holes play into or out of the woods, with no holes that felt completely open and boring.

There was an ok mix of left and right turning holes, so that a variety of shots is called for. Most of the holes were aceable, with one longer hole with a little room to air it out. There are nice concrete tees on every hole, with a small hole sign set into the back corner. The signs are accurate, with a hole picture and distance, and the course is easy to navigate overall.
Cons: This is another fairly easy 9 hole course without any really stellar holes, pretty similar to most of the Chicago area courses. The holes weren't necessarily bad, there just weren't any that have anything special or exciting. The course was crowded, though most of the people playing seemed friendly and willing to follow course etiquette.

There were a couple spots that were pretty muddy with no recent rain, it seemed like the lower part of the course could be pretty bad when wet. There were a ton of bugs, make sure you bring some spray. There was also some tall grass on one of the holes that made it easy to lose a disc on an errant drive, even one that barely missed the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This course is an ok place to take beginners, with only one hole that isn't reachable even for shorter throwers. There are a couple places where lost discs are possible though, which might frustrate some new players. More experienced players won't find a lot of challenge here, other than a couple holes that make good spots to practice your approach game.

Don't go out of your way to play this one, it isn't anything all that special. It did seem to have lots of local kids playing, it was cool to see so many young players taking up the sport, and this is a fine course to learn on.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/24/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: Evan
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good for starters, first course i have ever played, if you dont have a lot of time and you want to get a quick 9 in this is the place to come. scenery is nice and it is very easy to find your way from hole to hole.
Cons: too short, some holes arent laid out very well and you always run into other people
Other Thoughts: come here if your new or need a quick game

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 C- = a little below average for a 9 holer

1    7/15/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9-hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C (The holes are so short that even a bad drive will never result in a 4)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C- (Only one hole is remotely rewarding to get a deuce on)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B (Good variety and good use of terrain and woods. This is the best aspect of this course design)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C+ (No feeling of seclusion. The beauty is maybe slighty above average)

5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Home, semi-sweet Home

5+    6/25/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: Adam Bigott
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hilly for the area
Has a nice flow from hole to hole
Even amount of hole that turn right and left
Sort of shaded in some parts
Empty in the early mornings
Cons: Hole 3 eats discs like none other
Short
Scores for everyone fluctuate on this course
Locals are less than nice and have stolen a disc or two of mine
Can be incredibly crowded at some times
Other Thoughts: As my "home" course I would love to tell you that I love it, but I don't. It is a good course to go to if you are close but if you aren't then you are probably wasting your time or trying to play as many possible courses as you can. It is a beginners course and trust me there are plenty of beginners there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Low Skill, Short Length

2-4    6/4/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: kizzle54
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained park.
Good for beginners.
Nice Cement Tees w/ hole layouts
Very Quick, played all nine by myself in 35-40 minutes even with the course crowded
Cons: Very Quick
Always seems to be crowded
More of practice course really...
Very easy course, 3 is a 415 ft par 5?
Other Thoughts: I just play every hole as a par 3 because the course doesn't have many challenging holes. Hole 5 is a pretty neat one, shooting into the woods, and 3 is a good one to crank out a drive on. Try it once or twice, but it really isn't worth a regular trip.

One last thought... I play Whitehall, MI course regularly, and I just don't see how this Knoch Knolls park can justify its par 4s...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.