Naperville, IL 
Knoch Knolls Park Share
Uploaded By: Jakjedi Hole #6 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 194ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

1    5/20/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: davidwebb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation for the Chicago suburbs, like other reviewers have said there this course can be fun and challenging if you resist the urge to tomahawk holes 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8. Very well maintained. Very picturesque and relaxing if you come at the right time of day. Some nice technical holes (5 is one of my favorites).
Cons: It's short. Both in time it takes to play and course distance. Hole 3 is the only one you can really rip a drive on (maybe hole 4). If you want to have the course to yourself you need to go during the day in the week, otherwise you will have groups in front and behind you. Holes 2 and 3 can be muddy after rains. Sometime you get people walking through the course as there is a nature walk on the other side of the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Careful with your drive on hole 3 or you could be sans a disc, there is long grass lining either side and it can get wet and muddy on the right. Definitely give it a run through if you are around, but don't expect to be dazzled.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/14/2009   4/10/2009
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 119  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Has some nice blind holes due to elevation changes
-Cement Tee Pads built in tee signs
-Good mix of long/open holes and short/tight ones
-Usually well maintained and litter-free
Cons: -Course was packed with kids last time I was there
-Some of the holes are in a wide open field where the wind howls through
-Tee signs are under plexiglass, and set into the left rear of the tee pad, they are slippery and can be a problem if you like to start from that corner
Other Thoughts: -Course favors LHBH or RHFH players
-Drive a little farther and go to one of the fine courses that the Joliet area has to offer.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    11/4/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: krupicka
Played: 58  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the course I cut my teeth on as it was the closest one to my house. There are an equal number of lefty/righty holes. For the space available, the design maximizes the use of foliage and elevation. If one resists the urge to throw thumbers/tomahawks, the challenge is there for some accurate placement.
Cons: The course is in a flood plain and so expansion has been held up due to limited parking. It also can take some time to dry out on holes 3 and 7.
Other Thoughts: Hole 7 has been replaced. All baskets are in place.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some work

1    9/25/2008   9/30/2008
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the little hole markers on the concrete tees. The distance isn't a killer, which is nice. Very nice area, and decently maintained. There was someone out cutting the grass when I played my round. Not very crowded, either.
Cons: Biggest con is the missing basket at seven, which was a bummer. Very mucky and muddy, even two weeks after the big rain...guess it takes a long while to recover from rain. Course doesn't have a ton of space, so lots of holes zig-zag back and forth, especially on the later holes. Doesn't provide a lot of skill...at least make a course more challenging if it is short.
Other Thoughts: I decided to make a quick drive here when I was in the area, and I was pretty disappointed with the course. I know there is only so much space to work with, but that's no excuse for having a course that requires little skill. St. Charles is a good example that if you can provide a challenging course, then distance doesn't matter. The missing basket brings the score down from a 2.0 to a 1.5...this course needs some work before it becomes any good.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short but OK

5+    7/19/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A compact course that goes into, out of, and around a small patch of hilly woods.

Nice tee pads with signs built into them.

Baskets were fine with a good practice basket space.

Requires some shot variety and the elevation has been used nicely to add challenge to the shorter holes.
Cons: Can be crowded at night.

Very short course.

Not challenging enough for intermediate to experienced players.

Other Thoughts: It was a fun time playing it for a round or two. The elevation offers some practice for people in the area. Hills are hard to come by in these parts. It's nothing special, but its not the worst thing I have ever seen.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Crowded Course

5/1/2008   5/1/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course itself is pretty simple but fun. It's pretty well maintained and has nice teepads. The signs are located on the teepads themselves and are helpful. Knoch Knolls is very short with most holes under 300'. There's only one longer hole that is about 400'. Most of the shots are either throwing from the field into the woods or from the woods back into the field. There's some nice use of elevation here as well (which is rare around here).
Cons: I've played this course twice and both times it was VERY crowded. I even went during the day on a weekday hoping that it would be better, but it was still super crowded. It's not a very challenging course. There's some technical shots, but for the most part it's just pitch and putt.
Other Thoughts: Even though this is the closest course to me, I'd much rather drive the extra miles to Oswego or Jericho Lake. Knoch Knolls doesn't even compare to those.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.