Lebanon, PA 
South Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #2 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 325ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee (Yellow)



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Very Solid Park-Style Course

1    7/4/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 62  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: South Hills is a very nicely maintained park-style course filled with rolling hills and trees. The park is huge and offers many activities including volleyball, a driving range, playgrounds, pavilions, a variety of sports fields, and a walking path that weaves throughout the park. Amidst all of these activities, the course remains a top priority as the grass was freshly mowed throughout and the course was beautifully landscaped.

Tee signs are fantastic and do a great job showing you both pin positions, lengths, pars, and lines offered. The tees were in great shape and allowed for a comfortable run-up, while the baskets were also in great shape and color-coded in yellow or red.

The design was very well done given the lack of extreme elevation changes or any water. This course is more than meets the eye and I enjoyed the variety of shots that it required given the rather straight-forward land that it plays on. There is a nice distribution of FH and BH lines, and combining with the constant rolling hills adds to a nice variety of looks, especially on the front 9. Elevation is a constant variable, as minor as it may be. Whether it's making a putt on top of a hill, playing through a fairway littered with rolling hills, or throwing on one of the constantly sloping down or uphill holes, the elevation added to the fun factor for me.

One of the main reasons I enjoyed this course is that it often offered numerous lines from the tee. The many line options made it interesting and add to the course's replay factor. I am a player that likes to have different options to be creative from the tee, rather than simply throwing through a very specific alley. This course is great in that regard.

Contrary to other reviews, I actually thought that the different pin positions added to the course's replay ability. It's awesome that they permanently keep both baskets in, and the reds did a fine job of changing the scoring for a player at my mid 800's level. There were a few times where one basket offered a FH line and the other offered a BH line, drastically changing the hole's look. The pin positions for holes 4, 10, 12, 14, and 15 do the best job of offering different looks and lengths.

This is one of the best maintained courses that I have played on. Because of the limited rough, I feel that this is a great course to bring a new player to.

The course is very easy to navigate and there are numerous signs pointing you to the next tee and to the respective pin position.
Cons: -While the course offers a solid variety of shots from hole to hole, its biggest drawback is that it has a similar feel from start to finish. There aren't too many distinctly memorable holes here and many left me with describing them simply as "solid". You can never shake off the feeling of playing in a park here, if that is something that bothers you. Because of this, I agree with other reviewers that the course does start to get repetitive on the back 9. I do appreciate the effort to offer a variety in hole lengths, but the longer holes don't add much to the shorter ones.
-There is a path that plays close to many holes, especially on the back 9. You even throw over it on hole 13. This park seems to get a lot of traffic, so be attentive to that.
-There is some backtracking to the next tee from the red baskets and it seems that navigation is more geared around the yellow baskets.
-The course is incredibly well maintained for the most part, but the rough is thick near holes 3-6.
-The last three holes are a definite drop-off from the rest of the course and seem to have been designed solely in order to take you back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely one of my favorite park-style courses that I have played. As a disclaimer, I should mention that I really enjoy this kind of course when I want to play a casual round, playing through constantly rolling hills and having multiple lines on many holes, limited chances of losing discs, and the ever-present two pin positions. I feel that I would enjoy playing here often because it fits my taste, but I could see this course getting old for people that have played a wealth of other courses and do not find park-style all that interesting.

When this course came out, I was very curious to see if it deserved its high rating among PA courses. While it initially seemed to be overrated, I think its rating is now starting to better fit the bill. The extreme east and west parts of the state still remain the best areas to play, but South Hills offers a fun, light-hearted experience for the center of the state.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Country Club Course

1    6/28/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: lvdiscgolfloser
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautifully maintained fairways with very little rough or disc-eating material.
-Enough trees to challenge new and recreational players, but enough space to allow for scoring and par shots.
-This is a great place to practice or introduce others to the sport.
-The path that runs through the course has little or no effect on playing - at least on the Saturday I was there. I waited on one tee for pedestrians to pass, and that's only because I'm poor enough of a player to mis-throw.
-Yellow and Red Pins are easily identifiable, and in most cases make a true difference in scoring.
Cons: -I have no complaints - I loved this course!
-For Pros or Expert amateurs, I can see some of the complaints in the previous reviews being accurate - the lines are open enough to allow great players to score every hole and not challenge them enough. However, there is enough space to set up some killer holes for tournament purposes.
-Bathrooms are on the far side of the course (at the N. Lincoln entrance). Bring your own water.
-There is no 'signature' hole or water or epic-ness.
Other Thoughts: This is course is probably over-rated due to it's newness and playable nature. For PA residents, this is NOT Nocki or Tyler - it's far more open and relaxed. But it's beautiful and a pleasure to play. If you're a Pro or can shape accurate long shots, then you probably won't like this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Country Club

2-4    6/14/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The course is set in part of a very fine looking, public, multi-purpose park. The grass is green and short, many of the baskets are surrounded by mulch, and the scattered hardwoods are, for the most part, quite tall, with no low hanging branches. Add some elevation change via a couple of sloping areas, and insert a bit of slightly wilder area (smaller trees supported by bushes/groundcover), and you have all the ingredients for a fine, landscaped/groomed look-n-feel course.

Fantastic tee areas: 4'x10' level concrete tees, teesigns, and several with benches. Two baskets per hole, red or yellow bands across the top, so two course layouts.
Cons:
A popular paved walkway runs the length of the course, splitting it in half, potentially brining non-players into play (only one hole has you throwing across the path, but it parallels a number of fairways).
Other Thoughts:
The bulk of the course plays in the mostly-open grassy areas on either side of the walking path, with scattered tall hardwoods to miss. These hardwoods create several different lines to the basket, but for the most part, long-and=straight-and-true off the tee will serve you well, and even if you miss your line on these holes, you'll usually have an easy recovery.

Holes 4-10 play into, out-of, within, and alongside the denser area, so while the majority of these holes are a bit shorter, more shot-shaping is needed, and errors cause more difficult recoveries.

For the most part, approaches to the baskets are not overly harsh, the most difficult ones being, not surprisingly, to the longer position of the earlier holes (near thicker brush/smaller trees).

While very long number-13 (up-n-over a rise, then steadily downslope to baskets guarded by several trees along the way) and number-14 (second-narrowest throwing lane on course, upslope, straight to short, left-at-end-too-long) offer interesting challenges, the majority of the back nine consists of throw-as-far-as-you-can,-as-long-as-you-miss-the-most-obvious-tree-you-ll-be-OK basket-hardly-guarded holes.

Favourite hole: #3 long. Straight initially, needing to miss a few more trees along the way than most of the holes, you then have a difficult left-turning approach to the basket at the end of a small loop. The surrounding trees force the approach shot to be neither too high nor too wide.

This is a very attractive and solid course, which should appeal to a fairly broad audience, but not necessarily all players (i.e. those who prefer tighter courses, and punishment for missing the optimum lines.)


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Inflated Hills

1    6/11/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Overall the course is what I call park style golf. Multiple possible paths due to sparse trees in mostly grass and no real ground vegetation except in a few areas. Every hole has one pad and two permanent pin positions. The long pins were never much longer than the shorts but usually tucked in a tight gap or put at more of an angle that made them hard to reach off the tee.

Most of the holes are based on hitting gaps. One thing I did like about the course is that they did try to place the pins in spots that weren't just straight throws. They'd give you a more open gap that maybe made you use more of an angle and go farther around, or you could try some more direct paths on holes but those usually had much smaller gaps.

There's a bit of elevation change at the beginning of the course based on a hill that flows away from the parking lot. After that the course is mostly flat.

The course does offer some fun shots and let you really try different shots and throw some big throws. Overall the course isn't very technical except in a few shorter shots around some of the thicker vegetation pockets.

Equipment - Concrete tees and pretty new baskets that are color coded based on long or short pin. The teesigns were informative and gave you a pretty good idea of where you were going.

Atmosphere - The course flows through a part of the park that doesn't seem to be used for anything but the course; however as I said it's not all that secluded from anything. It's a decently nice little area but nothing that wows or makes it interesting.

Cons: Layout - The biggest problem with the course is that many times one or the other pin positions weren't all that great. A lot of the longs were tweener holes that it was real easy to get to pretty close to the pin for an easy par but it took an amazing throw to get a bird, I don't imagine there would be a ton of scoring separation here. Especially since even bad drives could be easily saved due to the open nature of the entire park.

Due to most of the park looking exactly alike the holes really started to get repetitive once you hit the back 9. The front 9 was much more enjoyable actually because it did give you more shule to worry about and some more technical shots. The back 9 was mostly just drive and pitch up or if you had a great drive you'd have a putt.

Another problem I had with the course is despite the fact it is so open there's a ton of blind shots and other possible baskets you can see from the pad. The teesigns do a good job of showing the route but still it got a little old.

Atmosphere - The course plays near and over a path in the park multiple times, I don't know what the traffic is like and with the open nature I don't think it's that big of a safety concern. However personally I prefer to be kept more away from stuff like that on a course.
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts: We had high hopes going in to this course due to it's rating and I think that is most of the reason I had such a negative reaction to it, once we hit the back 9 we were pretty much ready to leave and it's not because it's a bad course but just because it's kind of the same thing over and over and we expected more. So basically I think the course is highly overrated at present though that's not to say you shouldn't stop here if in the area. If you like more open lanes and options it's probably a good course to play and if I were a local I'd play here every now and then.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Worth the drive

2-4    1/12/2014   1/28/2014
Review By: 21111
Played: 80  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 17.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Manicured park setting.
Tee signs on every hole including concrete tee boxes as well as a long and short pin locations on every hole.
Fun layout, easy walk, next tee arrows pointing you to the next tee make navigating the course simple.
Big majestic trees throughout the property also enhance the park's beauty.
You can use a myriad of shots to try and tame the design. There are a good mix of lefty vs righty holes ensureing that you will not get bored. Nice use of the slight elevation changes are also prevalent throughout causing fast greens scenarios and wayward upshots to roll away causing tricky comebackers.
Cons: The back nine routing gets a little bunched up on the back side. Many baskets can be seen at any one point. I think if the disc golf course could spread out a little bit it would be even better. There is also a walking path that runs through the course so extra attention to others using the park should be taken into consideration while playing. A couple of the (red) longer basket locations seemed to be added just to use the available space or make the hole longer not better the design.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing both layouts however i think mixing up the layout playing some long and some short is the best of both worlds. I really enjoyed the course and look forward to getting back to play there soon. Sweet new course in central Pa.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Picturesque DG

1    1/9/2014   1/9/2014
Review By: Bleeder973
Played: 23  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large concrete tee pads greeted me well. I'm not a fair weather player by any means but teeing off on a nice level tee pad is pretty nice. I'm sure some of my competitors find the rough and tumble dirt tees are what makes the gritty side better but I like a tee box I can flex in without mud and tree roots. Signage was nice and clear. I really like the sponsored signs and baskets. It's very cool that the community gets behind an activity. Arrow signs on every basket pointing me in the right direction and that's awesome because the last thing I want to is navigate like Magellan instead of throwing another hole. Dual baskets!!! Ummm, HECK YEAH!!! The park as well as the course is beautiful. As a previous reviewer stated, it's impeccable. Layout is perfect. Start and stop right where it needs to be. I appreciated the fact that there were obstacles but nothing that seemed overly impassable. For instance, Basket 17 plants the shot either left or right off the tee. There is elevation changes but not much.
Cons: I didn't notice anything that separated this course from others, aside from not having flaws. That's actually a good thing but, nothing signature about the course. Only one small spot where water is in play. As grateful as my wallet and my scorecard are, some water hazards always add a nice mental aspect I sort of missed.
Other Thoughts: An earlier reviewer stated playing either the gold or red baskets was not to their liking? I find that playing some red and some gold during a single round is a nice way to mix it up. This course is truly top notch. I thought it was awesome and extremely fun. If someone comes here and doesn't have a fun time, they should definitely check their ego!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Park but Lacks Diversity

1    11/29/2013   11/29/2013
Review By: vslaugh
Played: 44  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic setting in a beautiful park with well-maintained grass and mature trees. Great tee pads, signage, and baskets. Some interesting holes with lanes through the trees and minor elevation changes. A few precariously placed yellow baskets to make for exciting greens. Hardly any underbrush. Holes 1 is 400' down a ridge with multiple lanes through trees. Hole 13 is a long downhill Par 5 with an opportunity to launch a drive and approach shot and watch them weave through trees down towards the basket.
Cons: The course could benefit from more diversity in terms of hole length. I don't think the two basket system works well here, as choosing red baskets or yellow baskets means that you play 18 long holes or 18 short holes rather than a fun mix of short and long.

Many of the long baskets are effectively around ~400'-450' long and lightly wooded, which means that it's very tough to put your drive in the circle, but there's also not a lot that can go wrong off the tee. So, you're left with a relatively easy drive and an easy ~50-100' up-and-down for a par 3. For example, holes 15-18 are like this, as it's hard to imagine advanced players and many pros getting anything other than a 3. I could play ten rounds and I don't think my worst score would be more than 3-4 throws worse than my best score.
Other Thoughts: In terms of park courses, I prefer a course like Buchmiller where the hole length varies from 200' to 500' so that there is more diversity off the tee. South Hills starts out strong but loses momentum as the holes start blending together. There are lots of fun chances to throw drivers off tees and try to hit a nice lane through big trees, but the course does not demand the strategic play commonly required by other courses in Pennsylvania.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dunkle Does It Again!

1    10/17/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 Holes with DIScatchers in phenomenal shape. Good mix of mostly open holes with some trees. Lines for drives and approaches are quite fair with errant shots punished. Signage is top notch. Great variety of holes and shots to keep it from getting boring.
Cons: If you're looking for ace runs you will have to hit your lines to be rewarded, but there is hardly any to be found, especially if you are a rec player. Otherwise, that is not so much a con but it is not a pro.
Other Thoughts: I met Dunkle at a tourney he runs in a nearby town and his passion for good disc golf is unmatched by a lot. Once again he, along with others, have planted a challenging and fair disc golf course in an area that needs it. This is well done and a must play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pennsylvania Does It Again

1    10/14/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new 18 hole course in a beautifully maintained and picturesque park. Two Innova Disc Catcher baskets per hole- a yellow (short position) and a red (long position). Oversized concrete tee pads. Nice directional arrows underneath each basket make navigation simple. Quality signage at each hole and a scorecard box at hole 1. Well conceived layout; hole 3 in particular is excellent, with the short basket perched on a rock ledge and the longer one tucked 100 feet further back around a bend. Good use of elevation here. Varied distances and very fair.
Cons: This course has no glaring deficiencies. There are some holes that play somewhat near each other which requires common sense and an occasional "head's up". One minor layout issue I saw was that hole 10's basket is relatively close to the hole 2 tee, and more than once people were distracted by incoming shots. One must be mindful of pedestrians traveling a walking path that goes through the course.
Other Thoughts: The beauty of this park, the plush grass and the obvious effort that went into the course make this a wonderful playing experience. South Hills has wooded holes, open holes and holes with mature trees spread around the fairway. It seems like every time I come to PA, another quality course has been built, and South Hills is no exception.

This course is not as challenging for the pro player as a Nockamixon, Jordan Creek, Camp Sankanac or Quaker's Challenge- even in the long positions. But that is not a knock, nor does it suggest it isn't challenging for most disc golfers, because it is. One will not regret their playing experience here. The level of care and attention to detail warrant an extra half-disc added to the rating. Great job to all that built South Hills!


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Manicured and lovely

1    10/9/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: Adventureortiz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Considering this is in a pretty wide open park... they utilized the trees and lay of the land remarkably well. The course meanders through one side of this beautiful park. I can't even imagine the amount of gasoline that is used to keep this park in such beautiful grassy loveliness.
Baskets are easy to see and I love the idea of having only one tee but having 2 baskets. It makes it easy to play with people who have different abilities and all start off the same tee box... but play to different baskets. The course was hopping for a Wednesday late afternoon. Nice mix of right and left swinging holes... I played Red so they were a bit tougher placements and made for good challenges... the yellow baskets seemed pretty straight out and basic but that is the idea right. Nice concrete tee pads and nice signage that was really clear. They jammed a beautiful course into a small space.
The Par for this course seems generous which was much appreciated. I think they took into account the holes that are prone to tree smacking and gave you some grace.
The course stays nice and dry it seems and the park is very well maintained and clean.
Cons: Because it is such a tight space... it is possible to play to the wrong basket the first time through this course. I was playing 15 and shooting at the red 11 basket till i looked left and saw the red 15. There was one tough wall of trees whole which I personally dislike but this one was actually not bad at all... you pop out of it pretty quickly and then the baskets are right there. It seemed like someone has flagged the 2 trees that are ideal to shoot between... it was like goal posts.
Be careful of the nuts all over the ground this time of year... brush them away from your shot so you don't turn an ankle. It was like giant had spilled his marbles out there. Not a con as much as a be aware.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. I love the look of these big tree groves with beautifully manicured lawns. You would have to work hard to loose a disc here.
NOTE: whoever can edit the directions to the course... please do. The address on STATE DRIVE is correct and plug that into your GPS.... small sign at the driveway which leads you right to the 1st tee pad. The written directions below that take you over to another parking lot on the far side of the park on N. Lincoln. While you could get over to the course by walking across the park... this is not where you should direct people trying to find the park... I went to both the N. Lincoln parking lot and the main entrance in the neighborhoods before I saw someone and asked where the course was... they directed me out onto STATE DRIVE... and I found it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center