Disc Golf Store
Lebanon, PA
South Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: Jwillier Hole #17 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 335ft.   3 / 440ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Worth the drive

2-4    1/12/2014   1/28/2014
Review By: 21111
Played: 78  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Manicured park setting.
Tee signs on every hole including concrete tee boxes as well as a long and short pin locations on every hole.
Fun layout, easy walk, next tee arrows pointing you to the next tee make navigating the course simple.
Big majestic trees throughout the property also enhance the park's beauty.
You can use a myriad of shots to try and tame the design. There are a good mix of lefty vs righty holes ensureing that you will not get bored. Nice use of the slight elevation changes are also prevalent throughout causing fast greens scenarios and wayward upshots to roll away causing tricky comebackers.
Cons: The back nine routing gets a little bunched up on the back side. Many baskets can be seen at any one point. I think if the disc golf course could spread out a little bit it would be even better. There is also a walking path that runs through the course so extra attention to others using the park should be taken into consideration while playing. A couple of the (red) longer basket locations seemed to be added just to use the available space or make the hole longer not better the design.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing both layouts however i think mixing up the layout playing some long and some short is the best of both worlds. I really enjoyed the course and look forward to getting back to play there soon. Sweet new course in central Pa.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Picturesque DG

1    1/9/2014   1/9/2014
Review By: Bleeder973
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large concrete tee pads greeted me well. I'm not a fair weather player by any means but teeing off on a nice level tee pad is pretty nice. I'm sure some of my competitors find the rough and tumble dirt tees are what makes the gritty side better but I like a tee box I can flex in without mud and tree roots. Signage was nice and clear. I really like the sponsored signs and baskets. It's very cool that the community gets behind an activity. Arrow signs on every basket pointing me in the right direction and that's awesome because the last thing I want to is navigate like Magellan instead of throwing another hole. Dual baskets!!! Ummm, HECK YEAH!!! The park as well as the course is beautiful. As a previous reviewer stated, it's impeccable. Layout is perfect. Start and stop right where it needs to be. I appreciated the fact that there were obstacles but nothing that seemed overly impassable. For instance, Basket 17 plants the shot either left or right off the tee. There is elevation changes but not much.
Cons: I didn't notice anything that separated this course from others, aside from not having flaws. That's actually a good thing but, nothing signature about the course. Only one small spot where water is in play. As grateful as my wallet and my scorecard are, some water hazards always add a nice mental aspect I sort of missed.
Other Thoughts: An earlier reviewer stated playing either the gold or red baskets was not to their liking? I find that playing some red and some gold during a single round is a nice way to mix it up. This course is truly top notch. I thought it was awesome and extremely fun. If someone comes here and doesn't have a fun time, they should definitely check their ego!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Park but Lacks Diversity

1    11/29/2013   11/29/2013
Review By: vslaugh
Played: 44  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 17.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic setting in a beautiful park with well-maintained grass and mature trees. Great tee pads, signage, and baskets. Some interesting holes with lanes through the trees and minor elevation changes. A few precariously placed yellow baskets to make for exciting greens. Hardly any underbrush. Holes 1 is 400' down a ridge with multiple lanes through trees. Hole 13 is a long downhill Par 5 with an opportunity to launch a drive and approach shot and watch them weave through trees down towards the basket.
Cons: The course could benefit from more diversity in terms of hole length. I don't think the two basket system works well here, as choosing red baskets or yellow baskets means that you play 18 long holes or 18 short holes rather than a fun mix of short and long.

Many of the long baskets are effectively around ~400'-450' long and lightly wooded, which means that it's very tough to put your drive in the circle, but there's also not a lot that can go wrong off the tee. So, you're left with a relatively easy drive and an easy ~50-100' up-and-down for a par 3. For example, holes 15-18 are like this, as it's hard to imagine advanced players and many pros getting anything other than a 3. I could play ten rounds and I don't think my worst score would be more than 3-4 throws worse than my best score.
Other Thoughts: In terms of park courses, I prefer a course like Buchmiller where the hole length varies from 200' to 500' so that there is more diversity off the tee. South Hills starts out strong but loses momentum as the holes start blending together. There are lots of fun chances to throw drivers off tees and try to hit a nice lane through big trees, but the course does not demand the strategic play commonly required by other courses in Pennsylvania.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dunkle Does It Again!

1    10/17/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: adlacro
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 7.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 Holes with DIScatchers in phenomenal shape. Good mix of mostly open holes with some trees. Lines for drives and approaches are quite fair with errant shots punished. Signage is top notch. Great variety of holes and shots to keep it from getting boring.
Cons: If you're looking for ace runs you will have to hit your lines to be rewarded, but there is hardly any to be found, especially if you are a rec player. Otherwise, that is not so much a con but it is not a pro.
Other Thoughts: I met Dunkle at a tourney he runs in a nearby town and his passion for good disc golf is unmatched by a lot. Once again he, along with others, have planted a challenging and fair disc golf course in an area that needs it. This is well done and a must play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pennsylvania Does It Again

1    10/14/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new 18 hole course in a beautifully maintained and picturesque park. Two Innova Disc Catcher baskets per hole- a yellow (short position) and a red (long position). Oversized concrete tee pads. Nice directional arrows underneath each basket make navigation simple. Quality signage at each hole and a scorecard box at hole 1. Well conceived layout; hole 3 in particular is excellent, with the short basket perched on a rock ledge and the longer one tucked 100 feet further back around a bend. Good use of elevation here. Varied distances and very fair.
Cons: This course has no glaring deficiencies. There are some holes that play somewhat near each other which requires common sense and an occasional "head's up". One minor layout issue I saw was that hole 10's basket is relatively close to the hole 2 tee, and more than once people were distracted by incoming shots. One must be mindful of pedestrians traveling a walking path that goes through the course.
Other Thoughts: The beauty of this park, the plush grass and the obvious effort that went into the course make this a wonderful playing experience. South Hills has wooded holes, open holes and holes with mature trees spread around the fairway. It seems like every time I come to PA, another quality course has been built, and South Hills is no exception.

This course is not as challenging for the pro player as a Nockamixon, Jordan Creek, Camp Sankanac or Quaker's Challenge- even in the long positions. But that is not a knock, nor does it suggest it isn't challenging for most disc golfers, because it is. One will not regret their playing experience here. The level of care and attention to detail warrant an extra half-disc added to the rating. Great job to all that built South Hills!


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Manicured and lovely

1    10/9/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: Adventureortiz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Considering this is in a pretty wide open park... they utilized the trees and lay of the land remarkably well. The course meanders through one side of this beautiful park. I can't even imagine the amount of gasoline that is used to keep this park in such beautiful grassy loveliness.
Baskets are easy to see and I love the idea of having only one tee but having 2 baskets. It makes it easy to play with people who have different abilities and all start off the same tee box... but play to different baskets. The course was hopping for a Wednesday late afternoon. Nice mix of right and left swinging holes... I played Red so they were a bit tougher placements and made for good challenges... the yellow baskets seemed pretty straight out and basic but that is the idea right. Nice concrete tee pads and nice signage that was really clear. They jammed a beautiful course into a small space.
The Par for this course seems generous which was much appreciated. I think they took into account the holes that are prone to tree smacking and gave you some grace.
The course stays nice and dry it seems and the park is very well maintained and clean.
Cons: Because it is such a tight space... it is possible to play to the wrong basket the first time through this course. I was playing 15 and shooting at the red 11 basket till i looked left and saw the red 15. There was one tough wall of trees whole which I personally dislike but this one was actually not bad at all... you pop out of it pretty quickly and then the baskets are right there. It seemed like someone has flagged the 2 trees that are ideal to shoot between... it was like goal posts.
Be careful of the nuts all over the ground this time of year... brush them away from your shot so you don't turn an ankle. It was like giant had spilled his marbles out there. Not a con as much as a be aware.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. I love the look of these big tree groves with beautifully manicured lawns. You would have to work hard to loose a disc here.
NOTE: whoever can edit the directions to the course... please do. The address on STATE DRIVE is correct and plug that into your GPS.... small sign at the driveway which leads you right to the 1st tee pad. The written directions below that take you over to another parking lot on the far side of the park on N. Lincoln. While you could get over to the course by walking across the park... this is not where you should direct people trying to find the park... I went to both the N. Lincoln parking lot and the main entrance in the neighborhoods before I saw someone and asked where the course was... they directed me out onto STATE DRIVE... and I found it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Wonderful Find

1    10/2/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: MQTdiscgolfer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Incredible setting! Beautiful little park and the leaves changing colors and falling all around were a real treat
- Good mixture of shots/use of the terrain. Some elevation changes, good use of trees, etc.
- Signage was very clear. Layout could have been confusing, but it was well marked and I didn't get lost once.
Cons: Very few here

- A bit confusing to find it at first. I ended up in the hospital parking lot trying to find directions to no avail and ended up driving around for a while trying to find the start of the course. A sign by the road would be nice, but that's being pretty picky.

- This may be temporary, but it looks like they are trying to create a stream through the course around holes #4 and #5. This has resulted in a bit of flooding in front of #5 tee box and made for a sloshy next couple of holes. Hopefully they'll fix that soon.
Other Thoughts: Seriously, one of the more picturesque courses I've ever played. I enjoyed every single shot on this course, except of course the ones I shanked. They have some space, I hope they think about adding a few more holes. I think they could even squeeze in another 18 if they wanted.

Side note: There is only one tee box per hole. They make up for this by having two baskets. Interesting set-up that I had never seen before.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!

2-4    9/22/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: Junkman510
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well thought out course. Beautiful setting. Thoroughly enjoyable experience. One of my favorites now.
Cons: A bit tight of a layout. Would difficult to find tees if they didn't have next tee arrows on the baskets.
Other Thoughts: Another great course close to me! .. doing the happy dance at the moment...

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good course

1    9/21/2013   9/21/2013
Review By: Shamis
Played: 35  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained. Brand new baskets. Good signs. Roomy concrete tees. The really did a nice job om the tees. A lot of new courses have been putting in smaller tees that suck, not so here.

Would be tough to lose a disc here.
Cons: A little cramped. Many baskets are near other baskets or tees...could cause trouble on a busy day or during a tournament.

Not much variety. Every hole is sparsely wooded. No water, no tunnels, no serious elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Better than most, but not a top tier course

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Fun

2-4    8/15/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: Caleb Z
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has everything I look for in a course. The two baskets per hole give you the option of how difficult a round you want. I was able to shoot the yellow (easier) baskets with my wife and children and still have the option of shooting the red (more difficult) baskets with my friends who play more seriously. Almost the entire course is shaded without the trees being so low that they interfere with every shot. The course was very well maintained every time that I have played it.

The park surrounding the course is also great. Playgrounds, tennis courts, basketball courts, pavilions, walking/biking trails, baseball fields, golf driving range. The park is ideal for family get togethers. After you convince your family and friends to enjoy the park for a day just make sure you have enough discs along to convince those in your group who might be resistant to disc golf to take a short walk and give it a try.
Cons: There was nothing missing from this course that I would have wanted.
Other Thoughts: I am new to the sport and have only tried out a limited number of courses. However, I have no doubt that this course will continue to be one of my favorite courses to revisit regularly. I am very grateful to the people responsible for bringing such a nice course close to my home.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.