Lebanon, PA 
South Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #1 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 340ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
South Hills Steak and Potato

1    5/25/2015   5/28/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 131  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees, signs and dual Yellow and Red DisCatcher baskets on all 18 holes. Decent use of the available elevation and mix of shaping shots straight or left or right. Easy to navigate. The maintenance is top notch as there's essentially no underbrush to lose a disc in and the grass is mowed like a golf course. You can safari a lot of holes here. Benches at every hole.
Cons: The long baskets are mostly NAG(not a golf shot) easy 60-120' approach shot with a great tee shot. Hard to reach the putting circle from the tee and easy to recover for the three if you mess up the tee shot, so there's not much punishment for messing up and not much advantage to great shots. It felt a little repetitive due to that and the spacing of the trees are fairly consistent. The short baskets provide a little better variety. There's a couple spots with poison ivy. There's no seclusion on the course from other holes or other park users. Park path goes right through the middle of the course and could create some conflicts. I don't recall any bathrooms or portapotty in the park.
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a good time playing South Hills. I agree there's no real wow factor on the holes other than the nice tees and signs, but there's nothing really wrong with that. It's a fun play, but not technically all that challenging. You can air out some bombs on the long baskets and work on your shorter game with the short baskets. The local players were nice, I was teeing off the wrong direction on hole 10(I think) and the guys on the tee for that basket were very patient and knew I hadn't played the course before and gave a couple tips about playing the course. If you are looking for the most challenging courses in the area I'd recommend Roland Park and Quaker's Challenge. If you are in the area and looking for a more relaxing time playing I'd recommend here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

South HIlls Kiltlifter

2-4    4/4/2015   4/6/2015
Review By: Afropirg
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros: Went to the Kiltlifter (TD'ed by Mike Solt) at South Hills. Cause of schedule I couldn't get out to the course to see it beforehand. The pictures on here don't give it justice.

This is a beautiful course. After playing a warm up round I can see why one of my friends speaks so highly of it.

Two baskets for every hole. You have some technical shots you needs to weave through tree's with some tight lines and you have open holes that let you just bomb it out. Course has some nice elevation changes and couple of really nice peninsula greens.

Nice tee signs at every hole, concrete pads and a direction arrow to the next tee box at the bottom of every basket made navigation a breeze.

Course is in a park, but the park is huge. Only a couple times did we come across walkers or bikers but they stayed on the path. Park looks to also have a golf driving range, multiple baseball fields, soccer/football field, tennis courts, exercise area and a nice playground. But these are all far enough away for the most part so they shouldn't really be an issue for the DG course.

No dogs permitted in the park, not an issue for me but just be aware if you like to play a casual round with your pup.


Cons: Most tee boxes have benches but not all of them is the only thing I can think of.
Other Thoughts: If one of my friends suggested to play South HIlls on a weekend for our regular weekend round I would be all for it. Really fun course to play at. The few locals I ran into at the Kiltlifter where really friendly.

Well worth the drive from the Lehigh Valley to play.

worth the trip

1    8/30/2014   8/31/2014
Review By: blazerico
Played: 202  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great feel to it. It is kinda secluded and well manicured. I am very jealous of the concrete tees, dual baskets and great signage on every hole; since we don't have the same at established courses in Bucks county. They did many things right at this course... sponsorship is a great way to get things done(meaning they can afford dual baskets and great signage, etc).
Cons: There is no real wow factor here and no signature hole to make me say this place is awesome. Also missing are hazards. There is no real danger factor from water or ob to add a level of excitement.
Other Thoughts: I drove 1.5 hours to play here and it was definitely worth the trip. I'm sure local bias is inflating the rating here, but it's okay because most people won't be disappointed with this place.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Solid Park-Style Course

1    7/4/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 103  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: South Hills is a very nicely maintained park-style course filled with rolling hills and trees. The park is huge and offers many activities including volleyball, a driving range, playgrounds, pavilions, a variety of sports fields, and a walking path that weaves throughout the park. Amidst all of these activities, the course remains a top priority as the grass was freshly mowed throughout and the course was beautifully landscaped.

Tee signs are fantastic and do a great job showing you both pin positions, lengths, pars, and lines offered. The tees were in great shape and allowed for a comfortable run-up, while the baskets were also in great shape and color-coded in yellow or red.

The design was very well done given the lack of extreme elevation changes or any water. This course is more than meets the eye and I enjoyed the variety of shots that it required given the rather straight-forward land that it plays on. There is a nice distribution of FH and BH lines, and combining with the constant rolling hills adds to a nice variety of looks, especially on the front 9. Elevation is a constant variable, as minor as it may be. Whether it's making a putt on top of a hill, playing through a fairway littered with rolling hills, or throwing on one of the constantly sloping down or uphill holes, the elevation added to the fun factor for me.

One of the main reasons I enjoyed this course is that it often offered numerous lines from the tee. The many line options made it interesting and add to the course's replay factor. I am a player that likes to have different options to be creative from the tee, rather than simply throwing through a very specific alley. This course is great in that regard.

Contrary to other reviews, I actually thought that the different pin positions added to the course's replay ability. It's awesome that they permanently keep both baskets in, and the reds did a fine job of changing the scoring for a player at my mid 800's level. There were a few times where one basket offered a FH line and the other offered a BH line, drastically changing the hole's look. The pin positions for holes 4, 10, 12, 14, and 15 do the best job of offering different looks and lengths.

This is one of the best maintained courses that I have played on. Because of the limited rough, I feel that this is a great course to bring a new player to.

The course is very easy to navigate and there are numerous signs pointing you to the next tee and to the respective pin position.
Cons: -While the course offers a solid variety of shots from hole to hole, its biggest drawback is that it has a similar feel from start to finish. There aren't too many distinctly memorable holes here and many left me with describing them simply as "solid". You can never shake off the feeling of playing in a park here, if that is something that bothers you. Because of this, I agree with other reviewers that the course does start to get repetitive on the back 9. I do appreciate the effort to offer a variety in hole lengths, but the longer holes don't add much to the shorter ones.
-There is a path that plays close to many holes, especially on the back 9. You even throw over it on hole 13. This park seems to get a lot of traffic, so be attentive to that.
-There is some backtracking to the next tee from the red baskets and it seems that navigation is more geared around the yellow baskets.
-The course is incredibly well maintained for the most part, but the rough is thick near holes 3-6.
-The last three holes are a definite drop-off from the rest of the course and seem to have been designed solely in order to take you back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely one of my favorite park-style courses that I have played. As a disclaimer, I should mention that I really enjoy this kind of course when I want to play a casual round, playing through constantly rolling hills and having multiple lines on many holes, limited chances of losing discs, and the ever-present two pin positions. I feel that I would enjoy playing here often because it fits my taste, but I could see this course getting old for people that have played a wealth of other courses and do not find park-style all that interesting.

When this course came out, I was very curious to see if it deserved its high rating among PA courses. While it initially seemed to be overrated, I think its rating is now starting to better fit the bill. The extreme east and west parts of the state still remain the best areas to play, but South Hills offers a fun, light-hearted experience for the center of the state.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Country Club Course

1    6/28/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: DiscLoser
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautifully maintained fairways with very little rough or disc-eating material.
-Enough trees to challenge new and recreational players, but enough space to allow for scoring and par shots.
-This is a great place to practice or introduce others to the sport.
-The path that runs through the course has little or no effect on playing - at least on the Saturday I was there. I waited on one tee for pedestrians to pass, and that's only because I'm poor enough of a player to mis-throw.
-Yellow and Red Pins are easily identifiable, and in most cases make a true difference in scoring.
Cons: -I have no complaints - I loved this course!
-For Pros or Expert amateurs, I can see some of the complaints in the previous reviews being accurate - the lines are open enough to allow great players to score every hole and not challenge them enough. However, there is enough space to set up some killer holes for tournament purposes.
-Bathrooms are on the far side of the course (at the N. Lincoln entrance). Bring your own water.
-There is no 'signature' hole or water or epic-ness.
Other Thoughts: This is course is probably over-rated due to it's newness and playable nature. For PA residents, this is NOT Nocki or Tyler - it's far more open and relaxed. But it's beautiful and a pleasure to play. If you're a Pro or can shape accurate long shots, then you probably won't like this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Country Club

2-4    6/14/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 392  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The course is set in part of a very fine looking, public, multi-purpose park. The grass is green and short, many of the baskets are surrounded by mulch, and the scattered hardwoods are, for the most part, quite tall, with no low hanging branches. Add some elevation change via a couple of sloping areas, and insert a bit of slightly wilder area (smaller trees supported by bushes/groundcover), and you have all the ingredients for a fine, landscaped/groomed look-n-feel course.

Fantastic tee areas: 4'x10' level concrete tees, teesigns, and several with benches. Two baskets per hole, red or yellow bands across the top, so two course layouts.
Cons:
A popular paved walkway runs the length of the course, splitting it in half, potentially brining non-players into play (only one hole has you throwing across the path, but it parallels a number of fairways).
Other Thoughts:
The bulk of the course plays in the mostly-open grassy areas on either side of the walking path, with scattered tall hardwoods to miss. These hardwoods create several different lines to the basket, but for the most part, long-and=straight-and-true off the tee will serve you well, and even if you miss your line on these holes, you'll usually have an easy recovery.

Holes 4-10 play into, out-of, within, and alongside the denser area, so while the majority of these holes are a bit shorter, more shot-shaping is needed, and errors cause more difficult recoveries.

For the most part, approaches to the baskets are not overly harsh, the most difficult ones being, not surprisingly, to the longer position of the earlier holes (near thicker brush/smaller trees).

While very long number-13 (up-n-over a rise, then steadily downslope to baskets guarded by several trees along the way) and number-14 (second-narrowest throwing lane on course, upslope, straight to short, left-at-end-too-long) offer interesting challenges, the majority of the back nine consists of throw-as-far-as-you-can,-as-long-as-you-miss-the-most-obvious-tree-you-ll-be-OK basket-hardly-guarded holes.

Favourite hole: #3 long. Straight initially, needing to miss a few more trees along the way than most of the holes, you then have a difficult left-turning approach to the basket at the end of a small loop. The surrounding trees force the approach shot to be neither too high nor too wide.

This is a very attractive and solid course, which should appeal to a fairly broad audience, but not necessarily all players (i.e. those who prefer tighter courses, and punishment for missing the optimum lines.)


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Inflated Hills

1    6/11/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Overall the course is what I call park style golf. Multiple possible paths due to sparse trees in mostly grass and no real ground vegetation except in a few areas. Every hole has one pad and two permanent pin positions. The long pins were never much longer than the shorts but usually tucked in a tight gap or put at more of an angle that made them hard to reach off the tee.

Most of the holes are based on hitting gaps. One thing I did like about the course is that they did try to place the pins in spots that weren't just straight throws. They'd give you a more open gap that maybe made you use more of an angle and go farther around, or you could try some more direct paths on holes but those usually had much smaller gaps.

There's a bit of elevation change at the beginning of the course based on a hill that flows away from the parking lot. After that the course is mostly flat.

The course does offer some fun shots and let you really try different shots and throw some big throws. Overall the course isn't very technical except in a few shorter shots around some of the thicker vegetation pockets.

Equipment - Concrete tees and pretty new baskets that are color coded based on long or short pin. The teesigns were informative and gave you a pretty good idea of where you were going.

Atmosphere - The course flows through a part of the park that doesn't seem to be used for anything but the course; however as I said it's not all that secluded from anything. It's a decently nice little area but nothing that wows or makes it interesting.

Cons: Layout - The biggest problem with the course is that many times one or the other pin positions weren't all that great. A lot of the longs were tweener holes that it was real easy to get to pretty close to the pin for an easy par but it took an amazing throw to get a bird, I don't imagine there would be a ton of scoring separation here. Especially since even bad drives could be easily saved due to the open nature of the entire park.

Due to most of the park looking exactly alike the holes really started to get repetitive once you hit the back 9. The front 9 was much more enjoyable actually because it did give you more shule to worry about and some more technical shots. The back 9 was mostly just drive and pitch up or if you had a great drive you'd have a putt.

Another problem I had with the course is despite the fact it is so open there's a ton of blind shots and other possible baskets you can see from the pad. The teesigns do a good job of showing the route but still it got a little old.

Atmosphere - The course plays near and over a path in the park multiple times, I don't know what the traffic is like and with the open nature I don't think it's that big of a safety concern. However personally I prefer to be kept more away from stuff like that on a course.
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts: We had high hopes going in to this course due to it's rating and I think that is most of the reason I had such a negative reaction to it, once we hit the back 9 we were pretty much ready to leave and it's not because it's a bad course but just because it's kind of the same thing over and over and we expected more. So basically I think the course is highly overrated at present though that's not to say you shouldn't stop here if in the area. If you like more open lanes and options it's probably a good course to play and if I were a local I'd play here every now and then.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Worth the drive

2-4    1/12/2014   1/28/2014
Review By: 21111
Played: 88  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Manicured park setting.
Tee signs on every hole including concrete tee boxes as well as a long and short pin locations on every hole.
Fun layout, easy walk, next tee arrows pointing you to the next tee make navigating the course simple.
Big majestic trees throughout the property also enhance the park's beauty.
You can use a myriad of shots to try and tame the design. There are a good mix of lefty vs righty holes ensureing that you will not get bored. Nice use of the slight elevation changes are also prevalent throughout causing fast greens scenarios and wayward upshots to roll away causing tricky comebackers.
Cons: The back nine routing gets a little bunched up on the back side. Many baskets can be seen at any one point. I think if the disc golf course could spread out a little bit it would be even better. There is also a walking path that runs through the course so extra attention to others using the park should be taken into consideration while playing. A couple of the (red) longer basket locations seemed to be added just to use the available space or make the hole longer not better the design.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing both layouts however i think mixing up the layout playing some long and some short is the best of both worlds. I really enjoyed the course and look forward to getting back to play there soon. Sweet new course in central Pa.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Picturesque DG

1    1/9/2014   1/9/2014
Review By: Bleeder973
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large concrete tee pads greeted me well. I'm not a fair weather player by any means but teeing off on a nice level tee pad is pretty nice. I'm sure some of my competitors find the rough and tumble dirt tees are what makes the gritty side better but I like a tee box I can flex in without mud and tree roots. Signage was nice and clear. I really like the sponsored signs and baskets. It's very cool that the community gets behind an activity. Arrow signs on every basket pointing me in the right direction and that's awesome because the last thing I want to is navigate like Magellan instead of throwing another hole. Dual baskets!!! Ummm, HECK YEAH!!! The park as well as the course is beautiful. As a previous reviewer stated, it's impeccable. Layout is perfect. Start and stop right where it needs to be. I appreciated the fact that there were obstacles but nothing that seemed overly impassable. For instance, Basket 17 plants the shot either left or right off the tee. There is elevation changes but not much.
Cons: I didn't notice anything that separated this course from others, aside from not having flaws. That's actually a good thing but, nothing signature about the course. Only one small spot where water is in play. As grateful as my wallet and my scorecard are, some water hazards always add a nice mental aspect I sort of missed.
Other Thoughts: An earlier reviewer stated playing either the gold or red baskets was not to their liking? I find that playing some red and some gold during a single round is a nice way to mix it up. This course is truly top notch. I thought it was awesome and extremely fun. If someone comes here and doesn't have a fun time, they should definitely check their ego!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Park but Lacks Diversity

1    11/29/2013   11/29/2013
Review By: vslaugh
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic setting in a beautiful park with well-maintained grass and mature trees. Great tee pads, signage, and baskets. Some interesting holes with lanes through the trees and minor elevation changes. A few precariously placed yellow baskets to make for exciting greens. Hardly any underbrush. Holes 1 is 400' down a ridge with multiple lanes through trees. Hole 13 is a long downhill Par 5 with an opportunity to launch a drive and approach shot and watch them weave through trees down towards the basket.
Cons: The course could benefit from more diversity in terms of hole length. I don't think the two basket system works well here, as choosing red baskets or yellow baskets means that you play 18 long holes or 18 short holes rather than a fun mix of short and long.

Many of the long baskets are effectively around ~400'-450' long and lightly wooded, which means that it's very tough to put your drive in the circle, but there's also not a lot that can go wrong off the tee. So, you're left with a relatively easy drive and an easy ~50-100' up-and-down for a par 3. For example, holes 15-18 are like this, as it's hard to imagine advanced players and many pros getting anything other than a 3. I could play ten rounds and I don't think my worst score would be more than 3-4 throws worse than my best score.
Other Thoughts: In terms of park courses, I prefer a course like Buchmiller where the hole length varies from 200' to 500' so that there is more diversity off the tee. South Hills starts out strong but loses momentum as the holes start blending together. There are lots of fun chances to throw drivers off tees and try to hit a nice lane through big trees, but the course does not demand the strategic play commonly required by other courses in Pennsylvania.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.