Disc Golf Center
Escanaba, MI 
Ludington Links Share
Uploaded By: dagwood112 Hole #6 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 337ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Glad we found the last four... kinda saved the round.

1    6/23/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays through a largeish city park on the lake(bay) shore, wraps around the bay and finishes on a small island. Hole 7 plays very close to a road.

Teesigns-- very nice teesigns. I would suggest that maybe next tee signs would be helpful where it's not so obvious. 5 to 6 is a good example.

Baskets-- DisCatchers in great shape. nice and visible.

Basket placement-- creative. The holes that finish very close to the bay are really quite nicely placed. #2 and #8 are very well placed for example.

Variety-- #6-9 are probably the best holes on the course. The island holes hole the vast majority of the variety here. Hole 6 plays over a small channel. the water is deep here so don't get wet. Hole 7 plays across an open field to under a tree, Hole 8 plays through THICK beach grass and trees to a well protected pin and hole 9 literally throws from the edge of the beach back to the field by 7... great!
Cons: Tees-- natural. a bit rutted out of the grass. This course would benefit from either rubber tees or concrete (though I'm sure this isn't going to happen)

Walkback-- the walk back to your car after hole 9 is a bit ridiculous. Truly a "links" style course. If you're local and playing in a group, parking in the lot by 7 as well as by 1 might be beneficial.

Uncontrollables-- I'm sure the wind here can be rediculous. When we played there was very little wind which I'm sure is not the normal.

Only 9-- this could be freakin sweet with another 9 holes to loop back to the parking lot.

Variety--1-5 are fairly meh holes playing through a wide open field with light trees. The basket placements do add to the excitement.
Other Thoughts: This course, along with many in the UP are improving constantly. Excited to see what happens with this park.

 The Course is Complete

5+    9/14/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: beatenpath906
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun 9 hole course at our local park located on Little Bay de Noc (Lake Michigan). The course wraps around the shoreline and hole #6 is a shot over the water to Arnson Island. The last 4 holes are all located on the island which is very unique. The park has bathrooms and plenty of water fountains. A nice place to spend an afternoon with the family!
Cons: It's not the most challenging course because it is mainly flat with few trees. When the wind is whipping it will knock you putts out of the baskets and if your drives reach the jet stream they are for sure going for a swim on holes 2, 5, 6, 7, and 8. You do have to walk back threw the course to hole 1 when finished.
Other Thoughts: All the tee boxes and signage are finally installed! Hole #1 is located right after the volleyball courts on the lake side behind the parking lot. If you have any questions stop by The Beaten Path 1015 Ludington St or give us a call 906 789-6220 and I'll be happy to answer any questions. -Jon

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

It's an island

1    8/28/2013   8/28/2013
Review By: ricklev
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 7, 8, and 9 are on a small attractive island in the park. Not many courses can say that. The water views are very nice.
Cons: I'm from out of town, and I couldn't find hole #1, so I drove until I found basket #7. I played 7, 8, and 9 on the island, but didn't have time to find #1-6.
Other Thoughts: Driving through town, the course was a real surprise. Wish I would have had time to find #1-6, but I thought #7,#8, and #9 were fun and it was neat to play on an island in the park.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Escanaba gets Disc Golf

1    8/7/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: Shuie
Played: 627  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course has nice visible DISCatchers
- Has Orange pavers in the ground with number on to mark teepad(some have post next to them, where i assume tee signs will go.)
- Course has a few holes that bring water into play. If you charge that basket on two or get a nasty tree hit you could end up in the water.
- Course flows fairly well after you start playing it.
Cons: -Course is mainly wide open on a few holes have trees really in play.
- Hard to find the first tee as it doesn't have a post by it
- Course basically plays along the shoreline and then have to walk all the way back to your car.
- a bad drive from 8 could easily hit anyone tee off on 9.
Other Thoughts: i found this course rather bland and repetitive for the most part with the exception on 2 and 6. Plus having to play one way out and then walk back at 9 was rather frustrating. I am under the impression that they are going to turn this into an 18 hole course and will be back to check out the course again. If you in the area check out Pioneer Trails just miles away 4.1 miles away combined with this course it made for a fun afternoon

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.