Escanaba, MI 
Ludington Links Share
Uploaded By: dagwood112 Hole #1 (Taken 8/2013)
4 / 413ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fun, Short, Scenic, Open Course

5+    12/3/2016   12/6/2016
Review By: XC_Eddy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ludington Park is BEAUTIFUL. Not just the disc golf course, but the park as a whole. The city of Escanaba has something special in this mile long lakeside park that easily could have been turned into expensive private lakeshore housing. Instead, this beautiful area is open to the public! When my wife and I first moved to Escanaba this summer, the wonderful park was the first thing we noticed.

This course is mostly open, which is a nice change of pace from other courses in the heavily wooded UP. Due to this openess and the reasonable length of the holes, Ludington Links stands as a great course for beginners. I've tried to take my novice wife to several courses, but she usually gets extremely frustrated and quits when she throws 5 feet into tree throw after throw. However, she'll play Ludington because it's only 9 holes and open.

The water is a challenging obstacle and comes into play, especially on Hole #6, which crosses over the water onto Aronson Island. Having 3 and 1/2 holes on an island is pretty unique and fun.

The cement tee pads are in good shape and are the appropriate length. Example: On 350 ft hole #4 the tee pad is long enough for a good run up.

Most people in the area are good about returning discs from this course. Half the discs I've lost here have been returned to me, and the other ones are probably still at the bottom of the lake. People generally return discs to The Beaten Path, a local store that sells disc golf equipment.

Though some of the holes are under 300ft, I wouldn't call this a pitch and putt course. The shorter holes generally make good use of the environment in order to keep them interesting. #3 stays interesting by throwing towards the lake, and #8, though short requires a hard left turn.

The course flows intuitively other than the jaunt between #6 and #7. I could see players new to the course not knowing where to go between these two holes.
Cons: The wind out on the bay can get ridiculous, to the point that sometimes the course becomes unplayable. The wind in conjunction with the course being along the lakeshore leads to many a lost disc. Fortunately, the water is shallow along most of the course, so with some effort discs can be retrieved. Hole #7, however, is a disc eater. The water gets deep in a hurry on that side. The only two discs I've put in the water without me or someone else finding them were on #7.

More trash cans would be nice as well, especially given that the course is on the scenic Little Bay de Noc. I hate how much trash I've seen blowing around in this beautiful park, only for it end up in the lake.

#9 ends a good distance away from #1. I advise parking near the tee pad of #4 or the basket of #5 near the bridge. If playing in a group, leaving a car in the lot behind the beach house makes a lot of sense.

I know some of the other local players have begun playing the course in reverse after hole #9, which is a creative way to add some new shots to an otherwise repetitive course and to make the walk back to the car less tedious.
Other Thoughts: The park gets a fair amount of traffic, so please represent the disc golf community well by being mindful of pedestrians and cars.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Glad we found the last four... kinda saved the round.

1    6/23/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 292  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays through a largeish city park on the lake(bay) shore, wraps around the bay and finishes on a small island. Hole 7 plays very close to a road.

Teesigns-- very nice teesigns. I would suggest that maybe next tee signs would be helpful where it's not so obvious. 5 to 6 is a good example.

Baskets-- DisCatchers in great shape. nice and visible.

Basket placement-- creative. The holes that finish very close to the bay are really quite nicely placed. #2 and #8 are very well placed for example.

Variety-- #6-9 are probably the best holes on the course. The island holes hole the vast majority of the variety here. Hole 6 plays over a small channel. the water is deep here so don't get wet. Hole 7 plays across an open field to under a tree, Hole 8 plays through THICK beach grass and trees to a well protected pin and hole 9 literally throws from the edge of the beach back to the field by 7... great!
Cons: Tees-- natural. a bit rutted out of the grass. This course would benefit from either rubber tees or concrete (though I'm sure this isn't going to happen)

Walkback-- the walk back to your car after hole 9 is a bit ridiculous. Truly a "links" style course. If you're local and playing in a group, parking in the lot by 7 as well as by 1 might be beneficial.

Uncontrollables-- I'm sure the wind here can be rediculous. When we played there was very little wind which I'm sure is not the normal.

Only 9-- this could be freakin sweet with another 9 holes to loop back to the parking lot.

Variety--1-5 are fairly meh holes playing through a wide open field with light trees. The basket placements do add to the excitement.
Other Thoughts: This course, along with many in the UP are improving constantly. Excited to see what happens with this park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  The Course is Complete

5+    9/14/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: beatenpath906
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun 9 hole course at our local park located on Little Bay de Noc (Lake Michigan). The course wraps around the shoreline and hole #6 is a shot over the water to Arnson Island. The last 4 holes are all located on the island which is very unique. The park has bathrooms and plenty of water fountains. A nice place to spend an afternoon with the family!
Cons: It's not the most challenging course because it is mainly flat with few trees. When the wind is whipping it will knock you putts out of the baskets and if your drives reach the jet stream they are for sure going for a swim on holes 2, 5, 6, 7, and 8. You do have to walk back threw the course to hole 1 when finished.
Other Thoughts: All the tee boxes and signage are finally installed! Hole #1 is located right after the volleyball courts on the lake side behind the parking lot. If you have any questions stop by The Beaten Path 1015 Ludington St or give us a call 906 789-6220 and I'll be happy to answer any questions. -Jon

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It's an island

1    8/28/2013   8/28/2013
Review By: ricklev
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 7, 8, and 9 are on a small attractive island in the park. Not many courses can say that. The water views are very nice.
Cons: I'm from out of town, and I couldn't find hole #1, so I drove until I found basket #7. I played 7, 8, and 9 on the island, but didn't have time to find #1-6.
Other Thoughts: Driving through town, the course was a real surprise. Wish I would have had time to find #1-6, but I thought #7,#8, and #9 were fun and it was neat to play on an island in the park.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Escanaba gets Disc Golf

1    8/7/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: Shuie
Played: 751  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 14.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course has nice visible DISCatchers
- Has Orange pavers in the ground with number on to mark teepad(some have post next to them, where i assume tee signs will go.)
- Course has a few holes that bring water into play. If you charge that basket on two or get a nasty tree hit you could end up in the water.
- Course flows fairly well after you start playing it.
Cons: -Course is mainly wide open on a few holes have trees really in play.
- Hard to find the first tee as it doesn't have a post by it
- Course basically plays along the shoreline and then have to walk all the way back to your car.
- a bad drive from 8 could easily hit anyone tee off on 9.
Other Thoughts: i found this course rather bland and repetitive for the most part with the exception on 2 and 6. Plus having to play one way out and then walk back at 9 was rather frustrating. I am under the impression that they are going to turn this into an 18 hole course and will be back to check out the course again. If you in the area check out Pioneer Trails just miles away 4.1 miles away combined with this course it made for a fun afternoon

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.