Springfield, MO 
McBride Park Share
Uploaded By: GTrotter  



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Cool Course Close to Home.

2-4    5/18/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: Canfield1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has some fun technical spots with some tricky options on your approach. Good elevation changes. The course was mowed and looked to be well maintained!
Cons: A few things that sucked were the extremely small tee pads on only a few holes (thanks) and hole 1 wasn't marked, with a lucky guess I found it, It's literally just a white pole.
Other Thoughts: Overall I'm slightly biased on this course because its so close to my relatives place that I often visit. So when everyone is winding down I can go out and throw some discs before then sun goes down. It's a fun 10 hole course. The End.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Don't eat my discs!

1    8/13/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: random2006
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of difficulty.
Large variety of shots.
Very shady.
Cons: Construction going on near a couple of the holes. One of the tees is missing due to it.
Trees will eat discs.
Most tees are off of a walking trail. No one was walking when we were there but I imagine walkers and disc golfers don't get along too well.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Really Good If You Can Avoid the Trees

5+    8/7/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: DaddyD
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The terrain is hilly, so you can use that to our advantage on gaining distance. There is a good variety of hole-types, but most are in the 300-foot range, so I think a shorter hole or two would he helpful.

Since it is on the backside of an elementary school the grass is maintained pretty good.
Cons: The CEDARS will eat your discs, so be prepared to get scratched up retrieving them. Holes 1 and 4 are surrounded by cedars with only one or two approaches, which limits your choices of strategy.

The dirt tee pads aren't the best, and have been wallowed out from use.

The odd number of holes (10) is a bit strange, so I'd like to see them add 8 more and make it a full course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Oasis

1    7/19/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: FriedOkra
Played: 145  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course located in a nice park setting with decent tee markers and directional arrows on the baskets pointing to the next tee. Wide fairways littered with thick cedar trees and a nice variety of protected and wide open baskets.
Cons: The tee pads are not ideal.
Other Thoughts: A fantastic course. We had a great time and will play this one again and again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 McBride Park...

2-4    6/13/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has really nice, green fairways. Rolling hills throughout the park. Pins are very protected in the trees creating a few blind shots. Baskets are nice. Tee signs have all necessary info (distance, alt. tee location, pin placement, and a map of the hole.) Nice variety in hole distance.
Cons: Tee pads are tiny, but still have the old dirt pad before and after them. Alternate tees can be harder to find if you don't look at the sign. (they're marked with two circular, blue and red stones or two lines on the cart path). Hole one is hard to find (it's right next to a bench on the cart path). Hole 10 doesn't have a sign, but there is a concrete pad and a post to mark it.
Other Thoughts: There are lots of weird church parties that go on all the time. Cedar trees are very unforgiving if you throw into them (I think they cause hives). The woods near hole 8 and 9 is filled with ticks...bring bug spray.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    10/15/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: beaker
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice length course with several interesting/challenging shots. The various trees and terrain changes make it fun.
Cons: Some of the maps are misleading, making it hard to judge how to throw from the tee. There seems to be no consistency on pointing to the next tee, though the course still flowed pretty well. The evergreens will eat your disc, which forces you to play a little reserved.
Other Thoughts: WARNING: Do not play this course soon after a rainstorm. Several of the holes lie right in a drainage ravine and turn into huge water traps.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center