Springfield, MO 
McBride Park Share
Uploaded By: birdman101 Hole #3 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 344ft.   3 / 359ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
awkard challenge

2-4    2/3/2014   2/28/2014
Review By: ag_hittman
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging was the only thing I could say to myself that I liked about this course
Cons: Crossing fairways, awkward pin placements, was hard to navigate even with the signs, kinda sketchy overall... Perhaps if I'm in that area again for something boring I need to skip out on

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Has potential

5+    6/15/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: Schlazz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is built on a nice piece of rolling ground. Holes are fairly short and good for beginners. Is usually well maintained as it shares space with an elementary school.
Cons: The evergreen trees make this course no fun. There is literally no path to the basket on several holes. If the city would trim the trees it would be a much better course.
Other Thoughts: Earlier in the summer when we played the course there was a group of players who were attempting to reconfigure the course. This might be promising.

Only worth a visit if you live nearby.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course Close to Home.

2-4    5/18/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: Canfield1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has some fun technical spots with some tricky options on your approach. Good elevation changes. The course was mowed and looked to be well maintained!
Cons: A few things that sucked were the extremely small tee pads on only a few holes (thanks) and hole 1 wasn't marked, with a lucky guess I found it, It's literally just a white pole.
Other Thoughts: Overall I'm slightly biased on this course because its so close to my relatives place that I often visit. So when everyone is winding down I can go out and throw some discs before then sun goes down. It's a fun 10 hole course. The End.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Passable at best.

5+    12/29/2012   2/17/2013
Review By: Dubbel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1.Good elevation change.
2.Has a variety of holes: hyzers, anhyzers, short, and long.
3.Only a few holes that you are in danger of putting it in someone's yard.
Cons: 1.On many of the holes the cedar trees around the baskets are so over grown that there is no fairway. You throw, and hope it breaks through.
2.The tee pads are so short that they are more of an obstacle than a benefit.
3.On the weekends the course is very crowded.
4.Many of the holes are so close to each other that if another group is playing a hole you have to wait for them to get done before you can throw.
5.The walking path is regularly used, and runs through the middle of the course.
6.The course is almost always missing at least one basket.
Other Thoughts: It's tempting to rate this course lower to bring the average down to a rating that more accurately reflects the condition of this course, but I won't. It is my opinion that in its' current condition it is only passable. It should also be mentioned that in the summer the course is covered in insects, and after a rainstorm it turns into a swamp.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent at best

1    5/26/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: CThomp85
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, varying challenges, plenty of trees for obstacles. The arrows on each basket points you in the right direction to the next tee box
Cons: Pine trees swallow discs, tee box missing on one hole, difficult to figure out sometimes.
not a complete course.
some tee boxes hard to find/decide where to start at
Other Thoughts: This course is a good little course if you just want to go wing a disc or two. Varying difficulty on each hole due to different lengths, obstacles and pin placement.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Its a course.

5+    9/7/2011   1/22/2012
Review By: Bender
Played: 68  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a disc golf course. There is elevation change, some long and some short holes. The walking path that runs thru the course never has much traffic on it so you never have to wait on people.
Cons: New tee boxes are a joke. You end up teeing off next to them or behind them so it won't mess up your approach. A majority of the hole are out in the open with the basket tucked into some cedars. You can pinpoint your shots but it basically comes down to luck weather or not you will break thru the barrier of cedars. There are only ten holes if they are all there. Some idiots out there think it is fun to steal baskets from this course. There are three baskets down or missing at this time that I know of.
Other Thoughts: Course could be redesigned to make it much more fun to play. There is an alternate course out there but I don't recall what the website was that had it posted. It's ok if you have no where else to play and just need to get out of the house and throw.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Don't eat my discs!

1    8/13/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: random2006
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of difficulty.
Large variety of shots.
Very shady.
Cons: Construction going on near a couple of the holes. One of the tees is missing due to it.
Trees will eat discs.
Most tees are off of a walking trail. No one was walking when we were there but I imagine walkers and disc golfers don't get along too well.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Best in Springfield

1    7/3/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: rogers101
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most challenging course in Springfield, a lot more distance and trees to play around.
Cons: Got to watch out for the cedar trees, they eat discs! Aldo the woods by Holes 8 and 9 are loaded with ticks. Needs to be mowed a little more often as well. Current construction is messing with holes 3,4, and 5.
Other Thoughts: Only 10 holes but still a great course that is usually not too busy. Considering what is in Springfield, this should be the go to place.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: birdman101
Played: 49  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: difficult but not too difficult plays on rolling hills for small elevation change. The trees are the biggest obstacles to deal with and make it challenging which to me is a plus considering most of the courses down here are wide open.
Cons: the trees that make it challenging are cedar trees which eat discs and reduce your options for reaching the baskets. They cause several holes to be blind shots. this does help you learn new lines though but can make it a frustrating round
the fact it is 10 holes is kind of odd, but doesn't bother me too much
Other Thoughts: as of 10/16/2010 3's basket is missing in action and based on how long 9's basket was missing from tom watkins it may be gone awhile but hopefully it will be replaced shortly.

located basically on school grounds so you have to watch what time of day you are there

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Really Good If You Can Avoid the Trees

5+    8/7/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: DaddyD
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The terrain is hilly, so you can use that to our advantage on gaining distance. There is a good variety of hole-types, but most are in the 300-foot range, so I think a shorter hole or two would he helpful.

Since it is on the backside of an elementary school the grass is maintained pretty good.
Cons: The CEDARS will eat your discs, so be prepared to get scratched up retrieving them. Holes 1 and 4 are surrounded by cedars with only one or two approaches, which limits your choices of strategy.

The dirt tee pads aren't the best, and have been wallowed out from use.

The odd number of holes (10) is a bit strange, so I'd like to see them add 8 more and make it a full course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.