Alliance, NE 
Laing Lake Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #6 (Taken 10/2012)
-- / 347ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bombs away!

5+    7/14/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: Zedrijan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open course that's honestly not good for much more than launching your disc as far as you can. Usually well manicured.
Cons: Very few obstacles. One of the few obstacle trees on the entire course, hole 3 was just cut down. RIP poor tree, local disc golfers will miss you.
Other Thoughts: Windy conditions can make this course unplayable.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Laing Lake is Gross

1    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 341  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple tees per hole. Since it is open they don't really offer a different point of view as much as they offer a different length.
-There were other players out there so the course isn't being entirely neglected. There was also a sign for an upcoming tournament.
-The signage was more than adequate since it is so open. The pro tees just have distance on it and the regular tees have a map too. Navigation isn't too bad.
-There is a map at the start of the course that is worth a look just in case.
-The baskets were nice enough.
Cons: -Very flat
-Not many trees
-Didn't use the water hardly. There is a neat little peninsula that could have been incorporated.
-Laing Lake is Gross. It is drying up and smelly and the area around it is not maintained well. There is garbage around the lake.
-This park is attached to another nicer part of the park which I would have much rather played disc golf in. The grass there literally was greener as it is probably watered or irrigated. There were also more trees there.
-Can be very windy in this area.
Other Thoughts: This course is among my least favorite kinds of courses. It is really open so they add length to make it somewhat more challenging. I don't really find that fun at all. This land isn't good in the first place and they didn't use the available land all that well. I wouldn't go out of your way to play at this course. If you live in the area you really don't have many options as the courses in Chadron are worse and Scottsbluff is a full hour away.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another course thats an after thought

1    7/23/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: Jroc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 sets of tees for each hole. Hole 4 and 9 are kind of fun to play.
Cons: Not well marked...we had a hard time figuring out the flow of the course after hole 2. Very flat and wide open (though theres not much to work with on the design in the first place).
Other Thoughts: Looks like this course was an after thought. The other side of the park has better grass, more trees...could at least support part of a 9 hole course. I've played worse courses, but not many. It just wasnt fun.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 panhandle disc golf

7/16/2008   7/23/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Laing Lake course is your standard nine hole park course with a little bit more length than standard. The course has four tee areas per hole, two with maps, two more closer to the hole without maps, which provides a lot of options. The course is mostly very open for bombs and finding the tees is no trouble because of the openness. The course runs counter clockwise around a lake and you get to walk a nice bridge after playing nine. Number four which has you throwing over the side of a Laing Lake to a tree guarded pin is the only hole under 300 feet. Mostly this course is great for long arms, from the long tees the next shortest hole is 351 and seven and eight play 685 and 500.
Cons: Laing is one of the more murky lakes I've seen, I wouldn't go in there is you paid me. The kiosk had a lone flyer for a tournament in 05 and I get the feeling that could have been the last time the course got any proper attention. I found a website for the course once, and it too was not updated in a few years.
Other Thoughts: Considering your options, the Alliance course isn't that bad. There is a new (so far) unlisted nine hole course in Scottsbluff which is a slightly more scenic.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.