Deer Park, TX 
Bayou Bend DGC Share
Uploaded By: c_a_miller Hole #1 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Really Nice Niner!

2-4    9/24/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 77  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Pros:

1. New course with fresh baskets.

2. Park is well maintained

3. Obstacles and O.B. paths are easy to follow and navigate.

4. Course plays from beginning to end in the same area. That means that you end where you started with little to no extra walking back to the vehicle.

5. Multiple pins locations is always a nice addition.

6. Easy to navigate even without signage.

7.Numbered Cement Blocks By Each tee
Cons: The Cons:

1. Gravel tee pads that will route really fast.

2. No signage anywhere.

3. Holes 1 & 8 play very close to fenced off yards.

4. Holes 1, 2, 3, 4, 7 play near walking paths. You can use these as O.B. lines effectively.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great warm up for Jenkins DGC in Baytown. Its perfect for beginners. This course has a lot to offer even though its located in a small park. Hole 1 can offer the look at a big hyzer. Hole 2 forces a tight shot down the fairway. Hole 3 is wide open with a bayou playing on the left side of the fairway with an appropriate nickname of "DANGER DITCH" HOLE 4 was/is the most memorable for me. A careful selection of path through the trees while trying not to go past the sidewalk was really fun. holes 5-6 play pretty similar very typical shots. hole 7's green is surrounded by O.B. (walking path). Hole 8 is another hyzer for RHBH or LHFH players. But beware of the fenced off yard. And Nine plays back to the parking lot with many shot selections available. This course is not a destination, but a must if in the area. Suited mostly for beginners, but has a fun factor for all.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A nice pleasant park

5+    8/16/2014   8/26/2013
Review By: spaceguy87
Played: 77  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful brand new baskets.

Clean, quiet, safe park.

Tee signs and concrete tees now installed.

Medium growth trees provide lots of obstacles and good shade.

Walking path provides out-of-bounds that turns some ho-hum holes into moderate challenges. Holes 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 all require a good "throttle" on your throw, to stay away from the OB, if you choose to play the path that way (which you should).

Hole 1 starts right next to parking lot and Hole 9 finishes right on the other side - pretty good flow.

Covered picnic area between holes 6 and 7 is a nice place to sit between holes or after your round.
Cons: Dangerous layout:

Holes 1 and 8 play far too close to residential properties along the park. Both residential areas are clearly in the RHBH errant hyzer line. There are no signs telling lefties not to throw out over the fences, which they shouldn't.

Hole 9 plays too close to a playground and basketball court.

The tee for hole 2 is essentially in the fairway for hole 1, 50 feet towards the hole 1 tee. Probably could have been designed better but if they put in a sign that says to wait for players on hole 2 to tee before playing hole 1, maybe it won't be a problem.

Poor design:

Hole 1 looks like it is supposed to encourage a low technical shot between the trees, keeping it 20 feet off of the ground to reach the pin. But all the trees at this park are medium growth so not that tall. Lots of players are just going to go for the hyzer bomb over the top and errant shots are going to end up over the fence. The just-go-over-the-top line is there on a few holes on this course.

I had previously written that hole 3, 4, and 8 were poorly designed. However, the basket placement on 8 has been adjusted and the hole 4 fairway has been improved. So my issue with the design is much less now. I think hole 3 is a much better hole in the long position, but otherwise most of the holes are well placed and I have much less of an issue with the layout.

Other cons:

The baskets feel low to me but I also don't putt on this kind of DGA baskets very often. The course designer says that he followed the specs when setting their height off of the ground. I believe him, but they still feel a bit low - maybe because they have deeper pans than the Innova baskets I am used to. That said, the baskets are in great condition.

Lastly, this course would be dangerous if the walking/running path was used more. Even with the park's current low traffic you have to be careful when teeing off. I think some signage about pedestrian right-of-way is warranted.
Other Thoughts: The course is a quick play at only 2400 feet so you can get a quick round in no problem. This is probably a great addition for disc golfers in Pasadena and will be a home course to many locals, and may even get a lot of new players into the sport.

The fact that the course now has tee signs and concrete tee pads (yay!) makes this a decent course. A solid 3 stars for me. I can't really see it ever being considered better than that.

This is a fun course to come play to work on your controlled fairway approaches, since that's the length of all the holes except a couple. On my first round I easily shot a 50 for 18 holes. If you live on the Southeast side of Houston, give it a try and you might be pleased with this fun little course. I wouldn't drive to far to play just this course, but if you want to come play a few courses in a day on this side of town, Bayou Bend might be worth a stop.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: johnselby
Played: 51  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A fun, short course, for us true 'rec' players. Has enough challenges to be interesting, but not so hard you can't play it well.
Cons: The ditch on #3 is a killer!
Other Thoughts: I lost an orange Mamba 8/18 in the ditch, and found another disc with no name. Tell me what it is, and it's yours!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Close to Home

5+    8/10/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: dockrebs
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close to the house with some shaded tees. A couple of challenges at Hole 3 "Danger Ditch" and Hole 8 the "Backyard Jungle of Hell." The City still does not have it posted on their website, but a map is available. I love the smell o'the pines.
Cons: No drinking water or restroom facilities available. Mushy tee boxes when wet. Hole 3-carry a rescue rope and harness to repel into the bayou brush. Lookout for ticks and chiggers here. Hole 8, though a nice
challenge, can put your disc in an elderly person's backyard. Hole 9-can be a target rich environment for kids playing on the equipment nearby.

14AUG13: Lost a disc to Danger Ditch!
Other Thoughts: It's a nice quickie course for the beginner. This course is best played during early morning and late afternoon (after 6pm). The rec center has after school programs and the walkers from the 2 adjacent subdivisions keep the walking trail full.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not bad little course

2-4    8/7/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: Kursk
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Update: My view of the course has improved. We noticed (pictured) that every single hold has at least 1 permanent alternate pin placement. I'd say all but 1 make the course a good bit more challenging. #8 would qualify as vicious with the alt placement. The city has some really well thought out anchors for the baskets. Very well done. /Update
Well taken care of since it's around around the walking track, basketball court, and playground at the Burgess Rec Center. Surprisingly challenging little 9 hole course.
The 1st hole tee box is to the left of the park near the water tower. Took me a while to find. After that, it was pretty easy to find the next tee. DO NOT shank your shot on 1 since it will end up over the fence in the trailer park.
2, 5, and 6 are effectively tunnel shots. The chain location really forces you to either shape your shots, have a good backhand, or throw laser straight.
8 as mentioned is a blind hole. But, it is aceable. Again, I think those people on the corner house may get the occasional disc in the backyard but there is no chance of jumping that freakishly high fence.
9 has a tree dead spot in the middle of the fairway. I like it but it's a bit insidious. The final basket is covered with trees pretty much any approach you take.
Overall, a really good lesson in basic course management but it's still a really beginner friendly course. Very impressed overall.
Cons: Update In the rain, the tee boxes do turn to mush after the 1st person plays from them. Just play to the side and you're golden. /Update
Kinda hidden.
Holy crap is it hot with no relief.
No clear posts for the tee boxes.
No course map or guidance.
The last three will fix themselves over time. I can't wait to see the course once the trees get really grown.
The tee boxes are filled with a gravel/hay/sand mix. Not super conducive to monster run ups unless you're willing to risk spraining your ankles.
Other Thoughts: Due to a mistake, I ended up by the park over by City Hall. I walked around and went into city hall to ask where the DG park was. They looked at me like I was from Mars. So, it's a genuinely hidden gem.
The chains are absolutely brand new and in perfect virgin shape. I love them.
Short enough that I played 3 rounds pretty quickly but challenging enough to make me work for par.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/2/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 2.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a short fun course that is right off of the Deer Park Recreation Center with brand new Mach 2 baskets and a well kept up lawn.

This course is not a typical neighborhood course as it demands line shaping off of the tee in order to get a 2. Hole 2 is a great example of this as you need to flick or throw an anny at a chance for a bird.

Hole 8 is a blind shot off of the tee. It adds a little bit of variety.

There are slight changes in elevation. Hole 6 has a tee on a hill and also has the basket on another hill.

The course is easy to follow. The dirt tee pads are easy to spot an not more than 40 feet away from the previous basket. You could play this course quickly in about 25-30 minutes.
Cons: The tee pads are bad. They are an inch thick of a sand/dirt type mixture that you could easily roll an ankle in and they are very small which makes run ups impossible. Honestly, teeing off from the grass next to the tee or behind the tee is probably a safer and easier way to approach the hole.

On Hole 9 you are throwing towards a basket right in front of a playground. It would be hard to overshoot the basket on your drive but it can easily hurt someone.

This is just your average neighborhood course when it boils down to it. There are little trees to block shot but not enough to intimidate the average disc golfer. Almost all of the holes are straight forward and most involve little imagination off the tee.
Other Thoughts: Like most neighborhood courses, this course is designed with the newer and casual players in mind. It is cool that the Deer Park Park and Recreations Dept. decided to install a disc golf course. I hope it gets use by the people nearby and it helps grow the sport.

This course has it's purpose. It's purpose is not to attract to the established golfer but to introduce new players. Frankly, it does that job perfectly.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.