Deer Park, TX 
Bayou Bend DGC Share
Uploaded By: c_a_miller Hole #7 (Taken 8/2013)
-- / --   3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Really Nice Niner!

2-4    9/24/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 59  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Pros:

1. New course with fresh baskets.

2. Park is well maintained

3. Obstacles and O.B. paths are easy to follow and navigate.

4. Course plays from beginning to end in the same area. That means that you end where you started with little to no extra walking back to the vehicle.

5. Multiple pins locations is always a nice addition.

6. Easy to navigate even without signage.

7.Numbered Cement Blocks By Each tee
Cons: The Cons:

1. Gravel tee pads that will route really fast.

2. No signage anywhere.

3. Holes 1 & 8 play very close to fenced off yards.

4. Holes 1, 2, 3, 4, 7 play near walking paths. You can use these as O.B. lines effectively.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great warm up for Jenkins DGC in Baytown. Its perfect for beginners. This course has a lot to offer even though its located in a small park. Hole 1 can offer the look at a big hyzer. Hole 2 forces a tight shot down the fairway. Hole 3 is wide open with a bayou playing on the left side of the fairway with an appropriate nickname of "DANGER DITCH" HOLE 4 was/is the most memorable for me. A careful selection of path through the trees while trying not to go past the sidewalk was really fun. holes 5-6 play pretty similar very typical shots. hole 7's green is surrounded by O.B. (walking path). Hole 8 is another hyzer for RHBH or LHFH players. But beware of the fenced off yard. And Nine plays back to the parking lot with many shot selections available. This course is not a destination, but a must if in the area. Suited mostly for beginners, but has a fun factor for all.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun but needs work

1    8/25/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: spaceguy87
Played: 70  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful brand new baskets.

Clean, quiet, safe park.

Medium growth trees provide lots of obstacles and good shade.

about 6 out of 9 holes are genuinely enjoyable shots that make you work on control.

Playing 9 holes you know you can hit in 2 is fun.

Walking path provides out-of-bounds that turns some ho-hum holes into moderate challenges. Holes 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 all require a good "throttle" on your throw, to stay away from the OB, if you choose to play the path that way (which you should).

Hole 1 starts right next to parking lot and Hole 9 finishes right on the other side - pretty good flow.

Covered picnic area between holes 6 and 7 is a nice place to sit between holes or after your round.
Cons: Small tee pads that look like they can get slippery, since it is just dirt and gravel.

No tee signs, no course map, no clear indication or markings directing you to the next tee pad.

Dangerous layout:

Holes 1 and 8 play far too close to residential properties along the park. Both residential areas are clearly in the RHBH errant hyzer line. There are no signs telling lefties not to throw out over the fences, which they shouldn't.

Hole 9 plays too close to a playground and basketball court.

The tee for hole 2 is essentially in the fairway for hole 1, 50 feet towards the hole 1 tee. There were very few people playing today so it wasn't a problem, but someone that can throw over 300 feet on hole 1 would put players on Hole 2 in danger.

Poor design:

Hole 1 looks like it is supposed to encourage a low technical shot between the trees, keeping it 20 feet of the ground to reach the pin. But all the trees at this park are medium growth so not that tall. Lots of players are just going to go for the hyzer bomb over the top and errant shots are going to end up over the fence. The just-go-over-the-top line is there on a few holes on this course.

Holes 3, 4, and 8 felt particularly uninspired to me. Hole 8 is a terrible hole. It is a 260 foot blind dog leg left hyzer shot - blind because of the residential fence you have to shoot around. The hole is a simple ace run for a RHBH but is a frustrating shot for a LHBH or a righty flick. Too easy to be fun for RHBH and not balanced at all.

All the baskets are about a foot too low. It's too bad because they are nice baskets and are well secured to the ground. Whoever installed them didn't look up proper specs and has probably not played DG before. Don't come here to practice your putting.

I have no idea how busy this park gets on different days or times of year, but even just the one runner who was in the park today had me waiting on the tee on several holes. If this park gets any frequent use by non-golfers it will be slow, frustrating, and possibly dangerous.
Other Thoughts: I played this course twice through in one visit. Weather was cloudy with a light breeze. The conditions were nice and I had a good time. The course is a quick play at only 2400 feet so you can get a quick round in no problem. This is probably a great addition for disc golfers in Pasadena and will be a home course to many locals, and may even get a lot of new players into the sport.

I want to give this course a higher rating, but the low baskets alone knock off a whole point. There's not a whole lot you can do with the layout here, because the park is so small, but the baskets definitely need to be raised to a proper height, the tee boxes need to be bigger, and they need some kind of rudimentary tee signs so you can see each tee pad from across the park.

Basket for hole 1 needs to move, tee pad for hole 2 needs to move, and basket for holes 8 and 9 should probably move.

If the above changes are made, this is definitely a 3/5 course, or better.

This is a fun course to come play to work on your controlled fairway approaches, since that's the length of all the holes except a couple. On my first round I easily shot a 50 for 18 holes. Might be fun to come back and see if I can get into the 30s for 18, which is certainly do-able. Otherwise, this course is not worth making a trip from elsewhere in the city to try. If you live on the Southeast side of Houston, give it a try and you might be pleased with this fun little course. Everyone else should at least wait until the course improves a bit to bother making a trip.

Unless someone ran an ace race here, then it would be fun and worth the drive.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: johnselby
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A fun, short course, for us true 'rec' players. Has enough challenges to be interesting, but not so hard you can't play it well.
Cons: The ditch on #3 is a killer!
Other Thoughts: I lost an orange Mamba 8/18 in the ditch, and found another disc with no name. Tell me what it is, and it's yours!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Close to Home

5+    8/10/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: dockrebs
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close to the house with some shaded tees. A couple of challenges at Hole 3 "Danger Ditch" and Hole 8 the "Backyard Jungle of Hell." The City still does not have it posted on their website, but a map is available. I love the smell o'the pines.
Cons: No drinking water or restroom facilities available. Mushy tee boxes when wet. Hole 3-carry a rescue rope and harness to repel into the bayou brush. Lookout for ticks and chiggers here. Hole 8, though a nice
challenge, can put your disc in an elderly person's backyard. Hole 9-can be a target rich environment for kids playing on the equipment nearby.

14AUG13: Lost a disc to Danger Ditch!
Other Thoughts: It's a nice quickie course for the beginner. This course is best played during early morning and late afternoon (after 6pm). The rec center has after school programs and the walkers from the 2 adjacent subdivisions keep the walking trail full.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not bad little course

2-4    8/7/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: Kursk
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Update: My view of the course has improved. We noticed (pictured) that every single hold has at least 1 permanent alternate pin placement. I'd say all but 1 make the course a good bit more challenging. #8 would qualify as vicious with the alt placement. The city has some really well thought out anchors for the baskets. Very well done. /Update
Well taken care of since it's around around the walking track, basketball court, and playground at the Burgess Rec Center. Surprisingly challenging little 9 hole course.
The 1st hole tee box is to the left of the park near the water tower. Took me a while to find. After that, it was pretty easy to find the next tee. DO NOT shank your shot on 1 since it will end up over the fence in the trailer park.
2, 5, and 6 are effectively tunnel shots. The chain location really forces you to either shape your shots, have a good backhand, or throw laser straight.
8 as mentioned is a blind hole. But, it is aceable. Again, I think those people on the corner house may get the occasional disc in the backyard but there is no chance of jumping that freakishly high fence.
9 has a tree dead spot in the middle of the fairway. I like it but it's a bit insidious. The final basket is covered with trees pretty much any approach you take.
Overall, a really good lesson in basic course management but it's still a really beginner friendly course. Very impressed overall.
Cons: Update In the rain, the tee boxes do turn to mush after the 1st person plays from them. Just play to the side and you're golden. /Update
Kinda hidden.
Holy crap is it hot with no relief.
No clear posts for the tee boxes.
No course map or guidance.
The last three will fix themselves over time. I can't wait to see the course once the trees get really grown.
The tee boxes are filled with a gravel/hay/sand mix. Not super conducive to monster run ups unless you're willing to risk spraining your ankles.
Other Thoughts: Due to a mistake, I ended up by the park over by City Hall. I walked around and went into city hall to ask where the DG park was. They looked at me like I was from Mars. So, it's a genuinely hidden gem.
The chains are absolutely brand new and in perfect virgin shape. I love them.
Short enough that I played 3 rounds pretty quickly but challenging enough to make me work for par.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/2/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 118  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 2.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a short fun course that is right off of the Deer Park Recreation Center with brand new Mach 2 baskets and a well kept up lawn.

This course is not a typical neighborhood course as it demands line shaping off of the tee in order to get a 2. Hole 2 is a great example of this as you need to flick or throw an anny at a chance for a bird.

Hole 8 is a blind shot off of the tee. It adds a little bit of variety.

There are slight changes in elevation. Hole 6 has a tee on a hill and also has the basket on another hill.

The course is easy to follow. The dirt tee pads are easy to spot an not more than 40 feet away from the previous basket. You could play this course quickly in about 25-30 minutes.
Cons: The tee pads are bad. They are an inch thick of a sand/dirt type mixture that you could easily roll an ankle in and they are very small which makes run ups impossible. Honestly, teeing off from the grass next to the tee or behind the tee is probably a safer and easier way to approach the hole.

On Hole 9 you are throwing towards a basket right in front of a playground. It would be hard to overshoot the basket on your drive but it can easily hurt someone.

This is just your average neighborhood course when it boils down to it. There are little trees to block shot but not enough to intimidate the average disc golfer. Almost all of the holes are straight forward and most involve little imagination off the tee.
Other Thoughts: Like most neighborhood courses, this course is designed with the newer and casual players in mind. It is cool that the Deer Park Park and Recreations Dept. decided to install a disc golf course. I hope it gets use by the people nearby and it helps grow the sport.

This course has it's purpose. It's purpose is not to attract to the established golfer but to introduce new players. Frankly, it does that job perfectly.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.