Kansas City, MO 
Hidden Valley Park Share
Uploaded By: bigreddog Hole #2 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 211ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Really Has Potential To Be A Solid Little Nine Hole Course!

1    10/20/2015   10/20/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Instead it's kind of an enigma to me. What target audience were the course designers aiming for? What's going on with these tee signs? And finally why, WHY would they put the DGA emblem on the top of the basket instead of the hole number?

The terrain is really a pretty choice piece of land for disc golf. The lovely rolling hills are fun to throw off. Granted, a few more trees would be a great addition. I was mostly underwhelmed by my experience here at Hidden Valley Park DGC. The baskets are fine. The concrete tee pads could be a little longer. The tee signs have no information yet do have a nice big number welded on them.

I did enjoy playing # 4. It was the only hole that actually required a skillful shot off the tee.

My other most enjoyable part of my experience here today was watching this black dude zip around the walking path on this little miniature motorcycle. Obviously, he thinks he's Evel Kneviel. The walking path has the perfect curves and banks and this guy was tearing it up. He wasn't overly concerned with the posted signs stating that the path was for pedestrian use only. He was having a lot more fun than I was.
Cons: I was really perplexed about these tee signs? After reading the other reviews, I take it that they are a work in progress and the information is forthcoming. OK.

Putting the DGA logo on the baskets instead of the hole number is such a silly mistake. There's no reason for the logo but having the number on the plate actually helps players navigate the course. I think I've seen this on one other course somewhere.

So many boring holes, open holes.

The grass was just long enough that I didn't enjoy walking through. Freshly mowed and it would be really nice.

Confusion at the beginning as to which basket is # 1.

# 6 basket sits in middle of field. ZZZZZZZZ!

# 7 is 386' over a hill and it also induces sleep.

Other Thoughts: And the wind. I'm from Washington (the state, up there by Canada). I'm not used to playing in winds such as this. This is like, my 12th straight course where the winds are blowing gale force, and really destroying my already sad game and consequently, my enjoyment factor as well. I guess it makes you Mid-Westerners better players and tougher men. Kind of like those goofy Canadians who play in the snow. Myself, I don't like to play if it rains just a little.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    11/17/2013   11/17/2013
Review By: astomps
Played: 58  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: +new baskets
+concrete pads
+hole 4
Cons: -short
-no trees
-some slanted pads
Other Thoughts: Land is most similar to Swope. Could be something if they spaced out the holes, made use of the backside of the property and then planted 50 pine trees. only value this course has is pads and baskets for practice. This is not an actual course

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Waste of potential

2-4    8/8/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.8 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Navigation between holes is not a problem. All tee posts can be seen from the previous basket and the numbers on top help make sure you're at the right one. 10/10

Baskets are brand new and looking great. Tees are concrete and just a tad small. 9/10

Finding discs is very easy on seven of the holes. If you do throw it in the woods on 4 and 5 (the only ones with any obstacles) the brush is pretty thick, but it's only really in play on 4. 9/10

Navigation on the holes themselves is good after you get past the first hole. Holes 4 and 7 are blind but aren't bad to find. The tees do a pretty good job pointing to the basket, but there are a couple of weird ones, especially hole 6. 7/10 and will improve to 9 or 10 when hole maps and numbers at the tops of baskets are added.

There are no severe elevation changes on the course but there is some variety. Hole 1 is a valley, 2 slopes from left to right. Holes 3, 6, and 7 are slightly uphill, while 5 and 9 are slightly down. 6/10

I'm on the fence a little about course maintenance. I'm going to hesitantly give it a 6/10 in expectation of upcoming improvements. The grass is mowed and there are tee signs that will eventually have maps in them. It looks like a couple of benches will be added along the walking trail.
Cons: With the exception of a huge hyzer route on hole 4, this course does not force a variety of shot paths. 1/10

There is almost no variety of openness on shots. Hole 4's drive is the only tee shot with obstacles and hole 5's basket kinda has obstacles if you miss to one side or the other. 1/10

There is no decisionmaking required at all except on hole 5, where you can choose to lay up and pretty much guarantee a 3 or go for the basket knowing that if you miss to one side or the other you're in the woods. 1/10

The use of obstacles here is terrible. There are a few newly planted trees that could maybe have an impact on the shots in about ten years but for now only holes 4 and 5 have any obstacles. 2/10

No running water or bathrooms, no shade, and currently no benches, but some may be added along the walking trail somewhat close to the course. It's pretty short and only nine holes so that helps but still 2/10 on comfort during the round

This course will offer almost no challenge to players with any experience at all, I would reserve this solely for new players and juniors. Challenging all levels 2/10

There is very little variety in distance here. There is one long hole (7) and one short hole (2) but most play somewhere between 270 and 300. 2/10

There are some alternate hole positions. I have only seen the pins in one setting, but I did see an alternate location in the ground on two holes. The two I saw did not change the hole much because the holes were still completely wide open, and didn't change the distance by more than 30 or 40ft. I'm hoping the rest are better, so I am going to give them the benefit of the doubt and say 3/10. This is the best I think they could possibly be, and it may really be a 2 or a 1.
Other Thoughts: Overall challenge 2/10, it reminds me a lot of Bluejacket DGC in Eudora, KS for those who have played there.

This land has potential to be a good nine hole course, but the designers did not utilize it at all. The most guarded pin here other than hole 5 is the practice basket. The opposite side of the park provides more severe elevation changes and more obstacles but they instead just built the whole course out in the open. Hole 4 has the opportunity for an awesome shot if the tee were ten feet to the right and the basket 50ft to the left. I was very disappointed after seeing the possibility for some cool holes that this course was almost completely wide open.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Brand New

1    8/2/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: kcnickster
Played: 65  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide open, nice baskets and nice tee pads, very easy to navigate for the most part.
Cons: The group I played voted that the course, maybe the one of the most boring in KC. Just wide open throws for the most part. The baskets were not numbered and #1 and #2 were not quite obvious which was which. Several of the tee-pads were sloped with the hill which was not optimal.
Other Thoughts: Maybe when some trees get planted and some of the small ones there grow larger the course might be OK.
Number 4 and number 6 tee's were not pointed at the pins.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.