Middletown, MD 
Middletown Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 247ft.   3 / 434ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Middletown Park

2-4    9/26/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: paul_dgcr
Played: 53  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 20.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All holes are par 3. Recommend using the blue tees.

On front 9, only holes 1, 8, and 9 have tree obstacles. Other holes on front 9 are straight shots. Good opportunity to throw hard on the straight holes.

Most holes on back 9 have obstacles.

Holes are shorter on back 9. Hole 16 is a realistic chance for an ace.

Almost no chance of losing discs on this course.

Course was very clean. Scenic with Maryland mountains and local farms in the background.

Recommend having a map for first time players. Tees can be a little hard to find.
Cons: Don't quite understand why there aren't more obstacles on front 9. Field must have multi-purpose use.

Wear bug spray. A lot of gnats.

Front 9 has some pedestrian traffic due to adjacent recreation fields and pond.
Other Thoughts: Judging this course on its own merits, and not comparing it to other established courses, it is very good for what it is. A course in a multi-purpose rural park. A park that was probably corn fields 20 years ago.

It's definitely worth playing, but would not make a lengthy trip just for this course.

I tied it in with a hike at a local State Park. Made for a good day of outdoor activities.

Plan to play course again when I visit the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Practice Course

5+    9/25/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: writtenkits
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good practice for driving.

- Always some sort of wind, which can suck, but hey: we all need our practice with that.

- Pretty on the back nine.
Cons: - While you should be able to finish the front nine in twenty minutes, it is doubtful you ever will. The pedestrian traffic along with cross country events, park goings on and car traffic will have you waiting time and time again.

- Most of the holes are just plain straight shots. This gets very boring.

- End of Summer and Fall seasons there are tons of stink bugs. I actually had one upset a putt the other day. Now my disc stinks and my putt stank even more.
Other Thoughts: Do not travel long distances for this course; you will be disappointed. I only go there as much as I do because it's on my way home from work and it really is good for daily practice. If you're looking for a challenge, this is the wrong place.

The park itself seems to be located on a route that leads to a heavily populated neighborhood. This can be good and bad. Good because it allows more people to become curious about our sport and hopefully try it out. Bad because there will be young teens who honk, yell and just raise hell to make you screw up. Nice, right?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Waste Of A Trip

1    9/3/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: LeftyChris
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Couldn't find too many good things about this place...
Cons: Very high grass

Poorly maintained

Insects were horrible

No maps what-so-ever to show you where each basket was

Lots of confusion
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend this course to anyone outside a 15 minute drive. I drove about an hour to play this course. Total waste of time and the traffic is absolutely awful in this area. Any throw short of perfect ended up turning into a 15 minute hunt in the insanely high grass. The 27 hole disaster was cut short to only 9 for me. I couldn't stand to play that course any more after the first loop.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Windy

1    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: Mr Mojo Risin
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was fairly decent. About a third of the holes provided somewhat of a challenge with a couple tree hazards on holes 11 and 12. There were a couple 400 and 500 foot holes which were nice.
Cons: Most holes were either straight on to the basket or had a slight dogleg to the left. So my under stable discs didn't get much use. Some of the other reviewers had mentioned poison ivy, that was a bit of an understatement. Any disc landing in the woodline was sitting in thick poison ivy.
Would have had a he'll of a time navigating the course in the 98 degree heat if I didn't bring a map. A lot of holes zig zag and you even have to back track on a few.
Other Thoughts: Not sure if it is always windy there or if it was my lucky day but the wind was dominating most of my throws and made putting an adventure.
This course is a nice change of pace from heritage farms and the woodsboro courses, but I wouldn't say better.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 cute course, but lacks wow.

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 229  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park with isolated from other activities
2 tee pads for each basket
Nice variety of distances 218-540 ft.
Warnings about where poison ivy was the worst.
Restrooms up by baseball diamond (hole 15)
Map and Score card available at Kiosk.
Course is beginner friendly (assuming they stay away from the poison ivy)
Park is attractive with water fountain in lake, flowers, and manicured lawns.
Cons: Poison ivy is really bad, but Dave Becker was out spraying trying to keep it undercontrol.
No tee pads, just 2 posts with numbers.
No tee signs.
A lot of straight open shots.

Other Thoughts: Hole 15 pro tee is overgrown and the only shot left is a tomahawk or a thumber.
Water is intimidating on hole 10, but not necessarily in play.
Course is nice, but not exciting to play. I would love to have a course like this nearby, but I would still sneak out to play near by Heritage and Woodsboro.

It was difficult to think of many pros or cons for this course, it was a nice 18, but not anything very memorable to set it apart from other courses. 2.5 is "decent and typical" which describes this course well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome

5+    4/9/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: Smmdolph13
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Great course, great place to meet other disc golfers! Tuesday night singles are great. come out and have some fun!
Cons: None, excellent course
Other Thoughts: check out the secret 19th hole, right down from the 18th pen. wooden post in ground marks tee. Shot over the pond to the practice tee. good luck!

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Has gradually improved

5+    10/14/2008   8/7/2009
Review By: GroundHog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Served me well during my early years playing the sport. Good course for introducing friends to the pursuit. Positive changes made a few holes more challenging. Scenic.
Cons: Out-growable, but still worth a play now & then.
Baskets could be further upgraded.
Other Thoughts: Thanks Dan!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course

5+    9/16/2008   1/29/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 184  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hey baskets are a good thing, no matter where they are!!
This course is great for exposure purposes - offering a not too difficult course into an area where course density is fairly low (until recently). It's an easy walk, with little chance of losing a disc. Also has some good local folks always willing to lend a hand, or offer some instruction. Location is in a nice neighborhood park - always a plus.
Cons: Natural tees, and a lack of good signs make the course a little difficult to find the first time - and a little difficult to "discover" for the newbie, just due to lack of information.
Other Thoughts: This course in Frederick County, MD served as a spring board for other local parks to install their own DG courses. And now there are 2 more that have gone in in the last 3 years within about 10 miles.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners

1    1/1/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is excellent for beginners. While visiting my parents in Boonsboro over the holidays, I picked a cold and windy morning to check out this course.

The wide open holes will allow the beginner to get a feel of the game and not worry about losing a disc.

Several holes on the back nine, especially #17, offer a nice obstacle challenge.

The park is beautiful -- very picturesque and set in a nice neighborhood.
Cons: Holes 1-6 are boring -- grip it and rip it.

The location of the "tees" and the proper basket are tough to figure out the first time through.

The "tees" are grass.

Several of the baskets are bent and in mediocre shape.
Other Thoughts: If you're an experienced disc golf player, skip holes #1 through #6. The course gets more interesting starting with hole #7.

However, I will definitely come back to this course next time I'm in Maryland to introduce my father and brother to the great game of disc golf.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Relaxed Fun

2-4    11/8/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: swatso
Played: 392  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Two tee locations per hole.
Beautiful location.
Map/scorecard available online was very useful.
Minimal chance to lose a disc.
Cons: No tee pads. Baskets in mediocre condition.
With so may baskets "intertwined", easy to see large numbers on the top of each basket would be very useful.
Other Thoughts: Most holes on the front nine, and a few on the back nine, are pretty much straight, no obstacle throws, The other holes require some hyzers, or "threading a needle", so to speak.

From the short tees, the average disatnce is about 275'; from the long tees, 325'.

No too far from Heritage and Woodsboro.

Favourite hole: #5, but I'm biased. My opening drive hit the top of the basket!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.