Middletown, MD 
Middletown Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 167ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great Course for Biginner

1    10/7/2014   10/7/2014
Review By: chasfowler
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As a beginner, the plus for this course it is open land. You will not loose your disc.
Other Thoughts: I found this course as a good place to begin learning the game. The course very forgiving... as for me. A great learning course to start from.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Walk in the Park - Literally

1    7/6/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: unsmith
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.6 Years
Pros: A picturesque course in the middle (heh) of Middletown, with homes on one side, mountains on the other, and a nice big pond in the middle. Course is mostly open, so it's a good place to try out new discs to see how they fly or work on your rollers.

If you play legit, there are some creative OB areas that will make you at least think a bit about overcooking a hyzer.

Baskets all contain a "next tee" hanger which is reasonably accurate and helpful for a first-time player.
Cons: Bugs! Bug spray should be mandatory here.

Baskets are old and a bit rusty, but all upright and serviceable.

Some of the more inconsiderate people with dogs (you know the type) don't pick up their dog poop, so watch for that.

Not a lot of shot variety required.
Other Thoughts: 14 and 16 share tee areas.

If you get unlucky and huck it into the enclosed trash corral on 6 (I think), fear not, there's space in the back of the corral to squeeze in and retrieve your disc.

 Niceties Added Recently

1    10/21/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: HawaiiJack
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
Other Thoughts: Next tee directional signs and hole layout signs have been added since my last visit and I want to clap for the volunteers who did that. At most courses hole layout signs are posted on or near the rearmost tee but here they are on the forward tees without exception. That seems humorous until you realize that here on most every trek from last-basket to next-tee you will come upon the forward tee first. The "Next Tee" directional arrow clipped to basket #1 is comically wrong but after that they are spot on until basket #11. The tees are so widely separated on #13 there is no effective way to point you in a general direction to both. The tees here are marked only by a wooden post. I once heard righties should play from right of the post and lefties from left of the post but the new hole maps say nothing about that and I've not seen it documented anywhere. As a rightie that adds about the only challenge here, otherwise it is mostly grip it and rip it x 18.

 Not too shabby

1    8/19/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: jgonzale2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty simple course with few bells and whistles. Its a free course, and has some minor elevation change. We played all the holes as Par 3 and finished even par. When the wind kicks up though it could get a little interesting.

It did have a couple of interesting holes though like hole 17. Its tucked back in a little cove. It has a tunnel about 80 feet long and about 15 feet wide. with a hard sharp left hand turn.

Cons: Overall a plain jane course. There are not many gimmicks to it, but still a pretty fun course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

5+    6/15/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: zubeala
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park in a beautiful valley. This is not a very difficult course by any means, but there is some variety on 11-18. It is well maintained (new signage as of 5-2012) Park in the lot near the lake and you will see the practice basket and 1st tee. Two tees for each hole. Great course for run and shoot. About 2 miles of running involved.
Cons: Virtually no change in elevation. Holes 2 - 6 are mostly wide open and can be subject to some pretty strong winds. There are no T pads, but the ground is very level and it really probably doesn't need them. Sometimes the grass is too high.
Lot's of poison ivy along holes15-17...still scratching.
Other Thoughts: This is a GREAT course to learn on, and to introduce new golfers to the sport. There are few really tricky obstacles so new golfers are less likely to get frustrated. Even if you are an experienced DG'er, this is a good course to build a little confidence and air it out!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  First time at course

1    5/23/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: mrbubbles0311
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Once you figure out where you start at it is a pretty easy to figure out course layout. The wooden posts point in the direction of the pin. At least 98% of the time. The holes are fairly easy for the most part and is a great course for all skill levels. The first 6 holes are pretty easy straight holes. They are good for testing new drivers or if you just want to rip it. Luckily there was another golfer there to explain how the tees worked. Otherwise i would have been lost. It seemed like the course was well maintained.
Cons: There is no sign or anything telling where the course starts. I almost missed hole 17...actually i did at first. It was hidden in the forest.
Other Thoughts: Don't go near the bird house on holes 8/9. There is an angry, dive-bombing bird in it. Hole 4, just to the left of the pin, out-of-bounds....if you find a green cheetah, enjoy it. I couldn't find it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  If it's on your way?

1    4/5/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: Che9
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I guess you can say course is fairly well maintained.

It's free so there's a plus
Cons: Portions of the front nine are basically a swamp if it has rained recently. So bring your boots.

Virtually no obstacles on the front nine.

Front nine is basically an open field so I can imagine it would be kinda annoying to play with just a couple groups. They are also not labeled at all so it is hard to determine where you are throwing on a couple holes or where the next tee is.

A few of the baskets are not in the best condition.
Other Thoughts: It is a good place to test your drive without any fear of loosing a disc.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Middletown Park

2-4    9/26/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: paul_dgcr
Played: 53  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All holes are par 3. Recommend using the blue tees.

On front 9, only holes 1, 8, and 9 have tree obstacles. Other holes on front 9 are straight shots. Good opportunity to throw hard on the straight holes.

Most holes on back 9 have obstacles.

Holes are shorter on back 9. Hole 16 is a realistic chance for an ace.

Almost no chance of losing discs on this course.

Course was very clean. Scenic with Maryland mountains and local farms in the background.

Recommend having a map for first time players. Tees can be a little hard to find.
Cons: Don't quite understand why there aren't more obstacles on front 9. Field must have multi-purpose use.

Wear bug spray. A lot of gnats.

Front 9 has some pedestrian traffic due to adjacent recreation fields and pond.
Other Thoughts: Judging this course on its own merits, and not comparing it to other established courses, it is very good for what it is. A course in a multi-purpose rural park. A park that was probably corn fields 20 years ago.

It's definitely worth playing, but would not make a lengthy trip just for this course.

I tied it in with a hike at a local State Park. Made for a good day of outdoor activities.

Plan to play course again when I visit the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Practice Course

5+    9/25/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: writtenkits
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good practice for driving.

- Always some sort of wind, which can suck, but hey: we all need our practice with that.

- Pretty on the back nine.
Cons: - While you should be able to finish the front nine in twenty minutes, it is doubtful you ever will. The pedestrian traffic along with cross country events, park goings on and car traffic will have you waiting time and time again.

- Most of the holes are just plain straight shots. This gets very boring.

- End of Summer and Fall seasons there are tons of stink bugs. I actually had one upset a putt the other day. Now my disc stinks and my putt stank even more.
Other Thoughts: Do not travel long distances for this course; you will be disappointed. I only go there as much as I do because it's on my way home from work and it really is good for daily practice. If you're looking for a challenge, this is the wrong place.

The park itself seems to be located on a route that leads to a heavily populated neighborhood. This can be good and bad. Good because it allows more people to become curious about our sport and hopefully try it out. Bad because there will be young teens who honk, yell and just raise hell to make you screw up. Nice, right?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Waste Of A Trip

1    9/3/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: LeftyChris
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Couldn't find too many good things about this place...
Cons: Very high grass

Poorly maintained

Insects were horrible

No maps what-so-ever to show you where each basket was

Lots of confusion
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend this course to anyone outside a 15 minute drive. I drove about an hour to play this course. Total waste of time and the traffic is absolutely awful in this area. Any throw short of perfect ended up turning into a 15 minute hunt in the insanely high grass. The 27 hole disaster was cut short to only 9 for me. I couldn't stand to play that course any more after the first loop.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center