Clay, AL 
Clay DGC Share
Uploaded By: broncofan99 Hole #11 (Taken 7/2013)
-- / 234ft.   -- / 293ft.   -- / 363ft.   -- / 424ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Course

1    9/8/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: Refuse to lose
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1 -The Course plays to every skill level, you will be able to throw different setups each time you play and work different parts of your game. You'll use every shot in your bag,long,short,open,wooded,left,right,uphill,downhill.
2-The Fairways are fair and if your inside of 30' you've got a putting chance.
3- There's a bulletin board with a large map and map handouts.
4-There's a Driving range at hole one with orange markers every 50' starting at 250' to over 800'.
5-Two practice baskets.
6- Large Tee Pads 14' long 8' wide in back and 6' wide in the front.
7-There's 21 holes with multiple tee pads and baskets. And Multiple pin positions.
8- Tee Signs on all AM and Pro pads with orange pins marking what position the baskets are in.
9- A third of the course has two baskets.
10- Each basket has an arrow pointing to the next hole and there are also next tee signs pointing the way.
11- Bench's on all holes, both Am and Pro pads.
12- Where most Courses may have one signature hole this one has multiple signature holes such as Mini Me, Bamboo Beast, Down and Out and Double Decker Putter Wrecker.
13- All New 28 Chain DISCatcher Pro Baskets
14- And Beautiful Scenery to boot.
Cons: No Cons if your a player that loves to be out doors.
Other Thoughts: The Course is looking Great. To only be a year old and have this much done to it already is fantastic. I have never seen a New Course be this complete right out of the gate. If you are in the area or passing through this is a must to play. Like most Courses that are put in you have to work with the lay of the land and this one gives you everything. Once you start you'll have all 21 holes ahead of you so carry water. The City of Clay has a true Gem on there hands with this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best!

1    8/1/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: Indy21
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice variety of shots to be played.

Will challenge every shot in your bag.

Beautiful scenery while playing, very quiet and easy to immerse yourself in nature and your surroundings.

Many "Fun" holes mixed with very challenging holes as well.
Cons: Will wear you out if you are out of shape!
Other Thoughts: My 9 year old son and I played this course today and had a very good time together. One of THE best in the Birmingham surrounding area. Can see this becoming a top level pro course in the coming years. For only being around almost 1 year though, this course is very nice. Big props to the course designer and caretaker.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Worth the Time

1    4/26/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 62  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: This course offers plenty of holes with both open and wooded terrain. This course has both long and short holes, so bring your whole arsenal. Most holes have two tee pads and two pin locations. Some holes have baskets placed in both pin locations. Overall, the best part of this course is the time and effort put into it, including: tee pads, signs, man-made wood/bamboo obstacles, clearing woods for fairways, a double over/under basket(s), practice baskets (2) and a driving range that is part of the first hole with orange distance markers on the ground.
Cons: Unfortunately, the fun factor of this course does not match up with the energy you must expend to play it. This course's layout and originality are a bit lacking, which is revealed in the redundancy of most holes. For a first time experience this course is a little tough due to many baskets are blind (even though they are not long in distance). The types of throws on this course lend themselves more to a left-hander or a RH forehand thrower. The pro tees are more like intermediate in difficulty. My biggest gripe was that the huge potential of the area wasn't exploited to produce everything that it could be, especially in the downhill portion of the course (longer distance and more elevation for tees would have been appreciated).
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very good course that gives you ample opportunity to work on your game on a moderate difficulty level. This is a great course for the area locals and worth playing at least once if you don't live nearby. I live in Birmingham and would not go out of my way to play this course, since Indigo and George Ward offer more.

Great Amenities!

1    12/14/2013   12/14/2013
Review By: zrxchris
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great design utilizing the park terrain.
The distance markers on 1 are fantastic!
2 putting baskets and 2 pins.
The BEAST!!!
Cons: For me a 4.5 or 5 has tight windows, all elevation types, water and or natural OB (rock formations etc)
The infrastructure is 5.0, only a couple if open holes are my drawback.
Other Thoughts: Danny Self and the city of Clay have outdone themselves with this course. What a great location for a big tourney with distanced contests, multiple baskets and the Beast!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

WOW!!!

1    10/18/2013   11/22/2013
Review By: AUfantastic
Played: 88  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Loved it. Almost died climbing the hill on hole 5 but once at the top and playing along the ridge...it was wonderful. Please take more pics and post here. I tended to think this course was a bit more manmade because of the bamboo wall pic. I tend to gravitate away from some of that stuff. The views and play were awesome. Benches and signage were good. Great "get in shape" course.
Cons: Not much bad. Need some climbing boots to get up the mountain... almost.
Other Thoughts: Warn pregnant women, people afraid of heights, those short of breath, elderly people that just WALKING this course could be dangerous to their health...too funny. Loved it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great New Course

5+    9/13/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: DGADavid
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course was well designed using all the available land from the City. Cousre has a lot of specialty things incorperated such as the Driving range on Hole 1 (Orange Distance Markers included), the small wall (Mini Me) on hole 3, and the Bamboo wall on hole 4. This course was put in the right way.... Multiple holes have multiple baskets and there is no shortage of benches. Every hole has a tee sign and direction arrows are in all the right places to keep you from getting lost. There are Trash Cans scattered around the course to help keep it clean. right beside hole one there are 2 practice baskets and a huge board with maps of the course and any local disc golf information posted. This course offer two pads on most holes and two baskets on a lot of holes as well. the course is great for new and old players.
Cons: no real issues with course....... sometimes the grass is longer and sometimes the sun is out and hot but that is part of being outside.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend going to this course if you are in the birmingham area, you won't regret it. Top Notch Course, Great Design, and Great addition to local disc golf!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Course with a lot of dedication

1    9/15/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: The Drake
Played: 90  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a course which has had a lot of work poured into it and it shows. There are nice benches on every hole with two sets of tees clearly marked with color coded tee signs. The signs appear to be quite accurate in terms of distances and indication of expected routes to the pin. The tees themselves are a perfect size and on nearly every hole flush with the ground where possible.
Fairways on the wooded section are fair with no random trees dotting the middle of fairways to punish good shots.

There is a lot of elevation change, some dramatic, some more subtle adding to variety in shots and landing zones.

The course encircles a baseball complex and as such there is access to bathrooms (I'm not sure if these are open when not in use by baseballers as I did not attempt to access them during my round. Would be something to investigate).

Some of the wooded holes make for some spectacular views of the landscape as you are higher up the mountain.
Cons: There can be some redundancy in the wooded sections of the course. Especially once you get towards the end of the course, holes 15 through 19 are all the same hole with only slightly varying elevation.

The first 5 and last 6 holes provide no shelter from the sun so be sure to bring lots of water, wear a hat, etc. during summer rounds.

Aside from the open holes there is not much distance, especially with the last few holes. One or two of the wooded ones are over 300 ft from the longs, but most shorter than this.
Other Thoughts: This is a course which has had a lot of work put into it to try and make it a top class course and in terms of clearing fairways, providing excellent tee pads and signage it has done that. I shot a -15 the first time I played this course completely blind from the long tees which to me indicates a lack of difficulty for more advanced players most likely because of the lack of distance outside the first hole. With that said the course will definitely help your short game in the woods and is going to benefit the local crew. If you have the option of only playing one course in the area though I would probably not pick this one as there are other strong courses around.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic property

1    9/13/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: Bencybul
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is outstanding with benches on just about every hole. I have played other courses that navigate up and down mountains but this course gets you up and down with minimal effort. The elevation change is great! There are a wide variety of shots and I was never lost in the woods ( excellent directional signs and paths already!) The 21 holes really give you an opportunity to let them fly.
I love the distance markers on the first hole!
Cons: Noise could be an issue during tournaments, because of just how close some of the holes are to one another. ( great for course navigation but could be an issue for putting) I just played a recreational round so it was not an issue.
Other Thoughts: Got to play it with the man responsible for the course. Hospitality and a phenomenal course cant beat it!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Would not go out of my way again

1    9/1/2013   9/6/2013
Review By: jcburton24
Played: 61  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 22.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice teepads, benches and signage. Good variety of holes.Some of the woods holes were pretty nice. Good elevation shots.
Cons: Too long of a hole #1 and a disappointing finishing hole. Some of the walks from basket to the next tee were very long and I was pretty disappointed on what kind of hole those long walks lead to. First five holes were in the blistering sun and did not provide much challenge. May be better in cooler weather.
Other Thoughts: I can see kudzoo being a major problem in the future because the woods are already invaded with it. They will have to stay on top of it or it will take over a few holes. Also there was brush laying near some of the baskets but I am sure this will be removed eventually as the course in very new.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Tremendous course and only getting better

1    9/2/2013   9/6/2013
Review By: captain_d
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Intuitive layout, concrete teepads for pro and am, multiple baskets for (almost) every hole, well maintained grass, nice elevation changes, course progresses in difficulty as holes increase, a number of signature holes, 21 holes.
Cons: It is still extremely new, so some teepads aren't concrete yet, the bamboo is only partially finished, some brush in certain areas needs to be removed.
Other Thoughts: This is probably one of the finer courses I've ever played. The City of Clay and Danny Self have really outdone themselves here and provided a great courses for players of all skill levels to enjoy. Danny was out there when I played recently and was all too willing to help out and talk shop prior to teeing off, very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend anyone in the Birmingham area or anyone passing through that loves disc golf to check this course out. If they can keep it well manicured and clean, this will be a top course for years to come.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.