Redding, CA 
Edgewater DGC Share
Uploaded By: lion Hole #12 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 261ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The course to play in Redding

5+    3/25/2014   3/26/2014
Review By: VersitileArm
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun, rugged course in the heart of Redding. Located on the Sacramento river giving it gorgeous scenery. A nice mix of shots and no identical/ duplicate holes. The fun water obstacles are an epic trademark of the course. Plenty of parking is available. Low amounts of traffic on the course, few other golfers/ few walkers/joggers. Pet friendly. Shopping is nearby.
Cons: Fairly overgrown, that mixed with all the cool water obstacles will help lose your discs. Poison Oak definitely spotted on the course. Probably not the course to only bring sandals and your favorite disc. It seems hotter than Buckeye despite having more shade and being close to the river. I've seen several bums/ homeless people camping, I've never been bothered but err on the side of caution if you are young or petite. Plenty of litter around and the course needs more trash cans. I don't think there are any bathrooms there, although a shopping center is nearby. On this course and others in Redding only holes 1&18 are near the parking lot while 10&9 are pretty far out, making it inconvenient to play on the first or last nine.
Other Thoughts: If the course had more trash cans and less bums it would have been a 4. Permanent signs and restrooms could put it up to a 5. Despite low traffic the course does not play super quick so if you only have a half hour to kill you wont see much of the course. If you are just passing thru Redding and want to play one course make this one it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Will Challenge You!

5+    2/3/2014   2/6/2014
Review By: westcoastnate
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A challenging course with a variety of shots!
Awesome wooden tee pads. Not an OPEN course like Lava creek, that being said, accuracy is key!
Water is in play on quite a few holes.
Wear pants if u can.
Cons: None. I love this course. Yea, im a little biased.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

1    10/29/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: tomjohnson59
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great nature. Very quiet and private feeling for being in the heart of Redding. Lots of shade, should be cool in the summer, the river will cool it down as well. The trees make the course pretty technical, nice tight windows. Lots of LHBH shots, I'm RH and threw a lot of forehands. Quite a few blind shots, but a short walk was all I needed to spot the basket. The baskets were nice. I liked the creative locations for the baskets, lots of fun, lots of strategy, death putts with water behind etc. Water hazards were super fun and visually intimidating. The thing that really made me love this course was the amazing nature. The ponds, the river, the shady trails, the privacy, it was really an awesome walk with a super legit course built it. The course didn't have any bad holes, it flowed really well. The signs were really good and the wood tees were also totally adequate. Drop zones made sense, OB well marked and thought out. Tons of maintenance that really shows, very well cared for.
Cons: Lots of LHBH, perhaps a little biased, B locations could balance it out, but not a big deal. I'm having to think really hard to come up with a con, but the way I see it, it will only get better.

Oh yeah, you might lose a disc in the water. I played with three other guys today and nobody lost one. There's lots of long sticks near hazards, I also heard that the course designer retrieves discs and is good about getting them back to owners.
Other Thoughts: There's an amazing little beach spot next to my favorite hole on the back nine (14 I think) I will be taking a dip in the summer time. Today was awesome watching Canadian geese fly all around the river, salmon spawning, just great nature.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/27/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: grimdelanoche
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2013
Pros: Challenging, good mix of left and right shots, have to bring your A game. Water hazards.
Cons: Needs to be cleaned up a bit, trash and piles of dead brush (fire hazard). Lots of cats, and homeless condos (hole 5).
Other Thoughts: Glad baskets and redwood tees were installed. This is probably the most challenging course in the area. Updated signs just put in and the course has been cleaned up alot!!! Thanks for all the hard work guys!!! Love hole # 15 and #17!!!

Interesting

1    9/13/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: JDurfee
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Neat Area
Super Long
No Crowd!
Cons: Seriously overgrown
Had trouble finding tees even with a map
Homeless
TRASH
Other Thoughts: This could be incredible! I'm not very good, so I spent most of my time looking for my discs. You could loose a bunch of disc if you are not in control. It left me with the feeling that whoever built it wants it to themselves!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/3/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: eric83
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: a lot of nice shots all over. hoe more people play this one. it is very nicely laid out. nice work who ever has been putting the time in.
Other Thoughts: the tee pad for #1 is one of the coolest I have seen. its really cool. should name it the concrete jungle!

Disappointed

1    8/27/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: madmax88
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -uncrowded (not one person on the course)
-long holes (unlike many of the nearby courses)
Cons: -hard to find baskets (even with the map and signs)
-natural tees have turned to powered dirt
-missing signs (existing signs are poor quality)
-unmaintained (lots of vegetation, even in the fairways)
-thrash
-wild cats running around everywhere
Other Thoughts: This course has real potential. Beautiful area, and room for a nice long course. Unfortunately, it looks like it has been built and then forgotten. I appreciate the hard work of the volunteers who helped build this place, but it is not a one time thing. The course is in need of heavy maintenance, trash cans overflow, blackberries regrowing everywhere, many tees in poor condition and missing signs. I did enjoy throwing some long shots, but it wasn't an enjoyable round of disc golf. Way too much looking for tees, baskets, and discs.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.