Mountain Top, PA 
American Legion DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #12 (Taken 9/2013)
-- / 330ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tough congested course

2-4    8/10/2014   9/4/2014
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course was challenging, left me feeling satisfied, great mix of tight woods, open-ness, obstacles, baseball fields haha, and very very fine line shots to be made. Baskets were in excellent condition, signage was good enough to figure things out, luckily i went with someone who played the course before.
Cons: Course is challenging as hell, there are about 4-5 holes where there is no line.... just throw.... hit trees.... hopefully bounce somewhere so that you do have a line. Not sure where they were going with those holes, absolutely no where to throw but into trees and hope for the best. I played when it rained.... place was a mess.


Legion people can be pretty pissy with people parking in the parking lot. You must park off to the left before you get in the lot, the workers at the Legion were VERY quick to tell me if im playing disc golf they will tow my car as soon as we started playing. Thanks bud, hope you have an awesome day too.... there were 40 open spots, but your were concerned with the one i was parked in.
Other Thoughts: Overall I cant complain, I would go back, I WILL PARK in the area NOT in front of the Legion haha.

Cool place... i enjoyed myself, nice mix of shots, flick, backhand, tomahawk, if you play par golf here, you had a decent day.

Played +5 my first round, played +1 my 2nd round.... was soaked so i went home.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Am Legion is a go

1    7/25/2014   7/27/2014
Review By: garman2112
Played: 70  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent tee signs and easy to follow. Mowed and really fun. Wood and fields.
Cons: 1/4 mile walk from 18th hole to parking. course is fairly long to begin with.
Other Thoughts: 1st tee is just right of the main hall near the playground/swing set

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A nice Club course

1    4/19/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: jrawk
Played: 81  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Update: 4/23/14 - I received a message from one of the designers and he confirmed that restrictions were placed on removing foliage to find tune fairways and the trailors we're put on 7's fairway without warning. They are currently pursuing a revision to hole 7. I have to give the course designers some praise here because given their restrictions, they really identified the best parts of the land for holes which is the hardest part of course design especially when you can't cut foliage.
-----------

I rated this course a "2.0 - Reasonable" because "reasonable" is how i'd describe the course to others who have not yet played it. I feel my review below supports that rating.

The most notable thing I took away from this course was the Designers' obvious intimacy with the land used for almost every hole. Some other reviews state there are some lengthy walks between holes. Nothing was huge (other than 18 to 1), it is obvious the guys building this course knew the best parts of the woods with unique features to drop in a challenging hole. There are some unique rock formations (natural and/or handmade) that come into play, as well as the elevation changes. It is unfortunate that many holes (4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11) are designed near or sometimes on top of areas used for other activities.

The wood burned tee signs are beautiful and effective. Bravo to whomever took the time to create them all.

As of April 2014, seemed like all holes had direction arrows pointed the way to the next tee pad, however, we didn't find a definitive tee pad or tee sign for hole 11.
Cons: Very plug and play. Unfortunately this course has an overwhelming feeling that the designers said "plug the tee pad here, plug the basket there, ready? let's play". Perhaps I didn't look hard enough, but I did not notice many stumps or tree limbs removed to facilitate a refined/tweaked fairway. At least the places where they put those tees and baskets were chosen wisely for the most part.

I feel like widening/defining a few of the front 9 wooded fairways would go a long way on improving the course. The poke-and-hope method takes over early, as me and my friend traded exchanges 3's and 6's every other hole. When I'd get a 3, they'd get a 6. When they'd get a 6, I'd get a 3.. on 280ft par 3's. We both got frustrated quickly. And I knew I better wait a few days before writing a review.

Balance and Bias - The majority of the course is RHBH biased with most baskets finishing on the left side of the fairway from the center of the fairway. There are some dog leg rights on the back 9 that add a little diversity, but even those have a basket positioned on the left side of the fairway. I usually don't pay any heed to this when reviewing courses, however for how heavily wooded these fairways are, basket-position balance should be considered when most holes have very limited recovery options. Sometimes even an overhand shot was not a recovery option for a lie 5 feet off the "fairway".

Hole 7 basket was hard to find because it was behind some trailers. This hole has an extra alternate tee location that is to be used when the grass/gravel parking lot it plays over is being used. The day we played the parking lot was without cars, however the top side of the lot ( the side closest to the basket) had 4 semi-permanent trailers parked end forming a square (each trailer was a side of the square). From either tee pad, we didn't feel comfortable throwing at the basket tucked behind those trailers so we skipped it and went on to hole 8.

Hole 11 tee is not easy to find, and I still question if we played from the correct spot. We ended up playing from what appeared to be a toe board in the middle of the gravel roadway that runs between the woods and the baseball back-stop. There were no markings or orange cones nearby as others have mentioned in their reviews.

Hole 18 finishes very far away from the cars, and even farther away from hole 1 tee. This, too me, is only a big deal if the course will host shot-gun start events when players would not be starting on hole 1.
Other Thoughts: While it's a nice Club course, it is not a tournament friendly course. The long walk from hole 18 to hole 1 doubles back across many other fairways. Too many delays would be needed to allow the players to walk from one end to the other so they can continue play. The property would have to specifically halt many other activities such as organized baseball, skeet shooting, anything that requires overflow parking.
As an out of towner without knowing the current conditions at the property (ie. Will a baseball game prevent me from playing a hole or two) I don't think I will come back the next time I'm passing through visiting family. I will likely continue on to a different course I have not yet played.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

OK

2-4    3/30/2013   11/2/2013
Review By: TMF2
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Maintained well. Decent mix of holes. A couple of memorable holes. Liked the tee signs on the first few holes. Nice locals. Pub on premises, gotta dig that.
Cons: 18 finishes in a different zip code. Holes 6 and 11 seem kind of stuck there to glue the rest of the course together. Hole 5 needs a fairway.
Other Thoughts: Ran into a couple of very helpful locals. Helped me get about.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Long walks and tight fairways

1    10/15/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: nstraz
Played: 56  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free to play
Tight technical course
Good signage at tee boxes
Lots of "Next Tee" signs on first 7 holes
Cons: Long walks between many holes
"Next Tee" signs drop off after hole 10
Some fairways are huck-and-hope.
Hole 18 finishes far away from hole 1's tee.
Other Thoughts: I stopped here as a rest stop while traveling across PA on I-80. I played at noon on a week day and there was no one else playing. There were police officers using the hill below hole 8's basket as backing for target practice so we didn't play from hole 7 to 9.

There is plenty of room between some of these holes for additional holes to be cut.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

a welcome addition

5+    9/14/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: Gerry
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many of the holes have very nice tee signs, and all but 2 of the tee boxes are in great shape There is good balance here, about a third of the holes are mostly open, the remaining 2/3 have varying degrees of tightness.

Very well maintained, they even shovel the snow off the tees! Friendly group of of club members were very welcoming.

No one throwing style has a big advantage here. Those who play it right to left ( rhbh,lhfh) have it a little easier with 7 of the holes favoring them. However, flickers have their chances, too, with 4 holes that clearly favor them. The rest are more or less neutral.

This is still a relatively new track, and, judging from what I've seen, it will only get better.

Cons: As mentioned, number 11. 18 finishes a long way off. Hole 5 could use a bit more fairway definition. Just a bit though, because it is close to being a great hole. Number seven shares a parking lot and sometimes has to be played from a an alternate tee. The trailers parked off the fairway and the nearby debris show a sharp contrast to the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: A nice addition to the growing number of courses in Northeast PA. Geographically, this is a perfect fit, as a couple of nearby population centers needed a closer course.

The course requires a number of specific shots. Execution, rather than creativity, is needed here.

You start off with a wooded downhill tee shot at just under 300 feet. This sets the stage for much of the course. It's tight, but playable. Number two is a fine hole. Shorter than the first, but a little uphill to a neatly guarded basket. Three is longer and level, with plenty of trees on either side. One thin tree right off the tee has to be contended with if you throw rhfh. Hole 4 is a downhill right to left, open and ob on the right, and trees if you fade it too much. Number 5, 288, slightly uphill, very, very hard to get through. Hole 6, ob right, heavy trees left. At 400, it still manages to play as a par 4, as the basket is tucked well in on the left and is tough to get at. Hole 7 is a straight shot with a few trees standing guard across the fairway. The alternate tee is a shorter sharply right to left shot. Hole 8 is a fun and challenging hole. Uphill to a very open fairway, followed by a tight approach to the basket. If you land in the trees, getting out is not easy. Hole 9, another favorite, downhill right to left to another neatly guarded green.

10, short, narrow right to left with a low canopy. Matter of fact, much of the back nine has a low canopy. 11 is longer, wide open, across the field. 12 requires a very precise, low right to left tee shot. Missing the fairway is costly. 13, a good flick hole....straight at first with a left to right bend at the end. Woods on both sides and a couple of trees along the way. 14 a couple different routes along the wide downhill fairway. Trees if you miss it. 15 is a tough, but doable par 3. Like most of the back nine, you have to keep it in the fairway. A mid-range flick or turnover around the corner will set up your second shot through more woods. 16 is another that rhfh will like, birdie chance if you can avoid the lumber. 17 is a fun downhill drive with trouble left and right, but a good amount of room. A few fairway trees for you to go around. 18 is slightly uphill, trees on the right and in the fairway, open green.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Legion

2-4    8/20/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: vicious
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short distance between most tees
Good variety of holes
Good opportunities for various throws
Excellent signs with diagrams for each hole
Cons: Hole 11 is difficult to figure out if its your first or second time
Other Thoughts: This course is a great deal of fun. I love the first holes and especially holes 9 and 17. The course is a good walk through the woods too. Many good holes for righty forehand and turn over shots.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    8/31/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: trexarms
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked---next tee signs on every hole
Great mix of shots---fully wooded/wide open/mix of both.
Great facility---spend the day playing with lunch in between at the Legion (join your local Legion--it's worth it)
Well kept---very clean
Good layout---course flows well. Long walk back to the parking lot, but if that's the worst...
Cons: The ONLY con, as expressed in another review, is the lack of a box on 11. We finally figured out that the orange cone (see pics) is where you throw from across the field to the right of the broken baseball fence. And with that, I'm going to try to contact someone to see if I can help build one with some buds.
Other Thoughts: This course took us by surprise. Just the fact that a course was built on the property of an American Legion is encouraging. Every hole is marked by a hand-carved wooden placard that gives you the feel for each hole (except 11--but that'll change). Lots of parking. Opportunity to bring food/cooler and eat under the pavilion. If this course was within 15 minutes of me, it'd be my home course and I'd play it 3x/week. Bring bug spray and be ready for a really good day of disc golf.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hidden gem

2-4    8/8/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: wmjar
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great signage, good mix of open and technical holes. For the most part easy to find next tee. Not too easy for advanced players and not overly difficult for novice players. Played after rain when most courses would have standing water, not the case here. Baskets are new and in great shape.
Cons: Tees... Most are not on level ground and placement could have been better. Some are just markers. Probably not the easiest place to get to unless you know the area Other than that, I have no complaints.
Other Thoughts: Of the courses in the area, I'd have to say this is the best. With very little chance of losing a disc, a good variety of shots, and mainly the fact that it was more fun than expected made for a great day of disc golf at a course that many do not know about. I will look forward to making the hour trek to mountain Top in the near future. Should bring more exposure to the sport from the Wilkes Barre/Scranton area as well.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 First Review

1    8/5/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: RCarey2
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very surprised by the quality of this new course. Many wooded holes, but not too wooded. Allows for technical shots without too much tree interference. Mix of gravel and natural tees. Really liked the hand-carved tee markers.
Cons: Very few cons other than hole #11 was difficult to find. Other than that, pretty easy to follow.
Other Thoughts: Really like this course. I'd consider it one of the top courses in the area despite its young age. I'd like to see some tournament play here!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.