Euclid, OH 
Sims Park Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Euclidean Disc Golf - way more fun than Geometry!

1    5/28/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plays around a simple, well-groomed city park next to Lake Eerie.
Plays like two completely different courses: The holes towards the back of the park (1-8 and 21) are short, technical holes, well treed for the most part, with some moderate elevation changes. Some are fairly straight forward, with a few that could be a bit tricky, perhaps benefitting from some local knowledge. Holes 9- 20 play quite a bit longer, very flat and open, with just a smattering of trees to avoid. Wooded holes offer limited lines, whereas the open holes present many options to reach the circle.
Provides some nice views of the lake and beach: the walk from 1 to 2, as well as the basket for 2, is essentially along the beach, and the lake is clearly visible from fairways 3 and 4.
Appropriate for beginners.
Many tee pads lie in the shade of a large tree - nice on hot days.
Tall tee posts show hole #, distance, direction, and aid in finding the next tee.
Park and course was clean, well-maintained, pleasant to look at and play through.
Right next to beach if you (or non-playing company) want to take a dip or sunbathe.
Cons: Potential safety concerns are always my #1 con. Seems like this park gets a decent amount of dog walkers, people chilling, and other non-DG traffic; certainly not optimal. Nonetheless, DG can co-exist with other park activities if people exercise caution and courtesy. Other park patrons have every right to not be part of your round.
Despite the contrast from short/tech to medium/open fairways, Sims lacks variety: Wooded holes range from 190' - 285'. Open holes range from 260'-395'. Except for a few holes (1, 2, 8, 21), there's really no need for well-rounded shot making repertoire. A putter or mid on a hyzer line will work well for about half of the first eight, and while you can play several lines on the open holes, 250-350 thrown flat and fairly straight with some fade at the end is all you really need. Master that, and you can score well here.
21st hole seems like a crammed in afterthought and an invitation to lose a disc if you're playing solo.
Feels repetitive pretty quickly.
Could benefit from a few benches scattered about near some of the tees.
Other Thoughts: Wind off the lake can make for an interesting round.
Course flows pretty well, but first timers would be well advised to print the map.
Not bad, but not worth going out of your way for. If I draw some fire for saying this, so be it: I don't see how this course had a 3.65 rating after 24 reviews.
I realize the orig 18 were already installed, and 19-21 came later, but to keep things from feeling so repetitive, instead of adding three new baskets, it would have been better if they extended a few of the open holes longer, and wrapped some of the long holes around a stand of trees so you had to throw a big hyzer or annie. In other words, quality over quantity.
Located near the heart of town, minutes (if not seconds) from food, drink, and anything else you could need (doesn't seem like the greatest town, but didn't seem sketchy, either).
My faves: 1, 2, 8, and 19 (2nd optional hole).

I hit Sims Park on my way back from Pittsburgh - not bad, but not worth going out of your way for. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed my round, but that alone doesn't mean it's a good course. Disc golf (like certain other recreational activities ;-) doesn't have to be incredible to be fun.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Letdown

1    11/11/2011   11/16/2011
Review By: Discobedience
Played: 81  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front 9 of this course if very beautiful and moderately well laid out. I had a great time winding my way through trees, bushes, and forced shots. They were not incredibly original but offered some interesting lanes. There were some very picturesque holes and a great photo opportunity on holes 1's basket, set right on the beach with the waves crashing in the background. The front 9 had a great left/right fade balance, making this competitive for both backhand and forehand players. The canopy overhead on all 18 holes made you consider your shot from multiple angles, forcing you low and accurate quite a bit. You shouldn't require much more than a putter and a mid on the front. But do keep those drivers in there for the back 9. The back 9 really gives you a chance to open up and get those discs flying longer distances.

The standout holes for me on the course were holes numbers 4, 6, & 7.
Cons: There were quite a few things that I did not necessarily like about the park also. First off, the wind was so strong that it almost made the course unplayable. Having a course directly on Lake Eerie will probably do that though and this should be taken into consideration before visiting. I only played the course once but I believe the weather conditions were rather standard. Approaching the back 9 after playing the front was very disappointing. It offered very little diversity and the scenery was sub-par. The entire back 9 is long driver shots without many obstacles to get in your way, very forgiving. You play back in forth in a field that runs along a road with a dingy strip mall and a housing development. After the front 9 on the water, the back 9 was a letdown. Don't forget to bring extra footwear because this course also has a lot of very swampy and wet land.
Other Thoughts: After turning into Sims Park you want to park and head to the right-hand side of the central building, its back there you will find the first hole and the Sims Park Disc Golf board. I would recommend that you take a quick picture of the layout, without having done that I would have gotten rather lost trying to find some of the holes. I think this course is rated much higher than it should be. I would give this course about a 2.5 and not recommend it unless you had the excess free time.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

worth a lil trip

1    2/5/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 55  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -awesome view over the lake
-nice tee-pads
-flow was smooth
-signage not fancy but sufficient (large lumber with hole number, distance and par)
-practice basket
-mix of open and short technical shots
-21 holes
-mature old trees
-good use of what woods are present (not much)
-nice bathrooms
Cons: -fairly flat, no drastic changes in elevation
-confusing last 4 holes as a couple holes do not have signs or tee-pads just a muddy spot
-no alternate tee-pads
-average difficulty
-back nine sometimes repetitive
Other Thoughts: -no water hazards
-all par three holes (some rather long)
-could of had sweet beach hole

check it out

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.