Euclid, OH 
Sims Park Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #18 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Tee (tee sign labeled as hole #18)



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
could be a very good course but...

2-4    7/11/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: jlangr
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 31.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice mix of holes: a few tight, wooded, short-distance, a couple with good views of Lake Erie, and a number of good distance (350') holes across nice green expanses with a few trees.

Two extra holes (A and B) are nice additions. However...
Cons: Baskets on a couple holes are a little too hard to spot, where tees start in the park area but the baskets are positioned in small concaves in the trees. I tossed toward the wrong "inlet" on hole 3 and went for basket #5 (I think) mistakenly--and this after my third visit.

The first two times I played, two months ago, hole two was a muddy pit and near-unplayable if you ended up in the muck. Since there was a heavy thunderstorm the prior evening, I didn't bother this time. My shoes still got soaked. In the wide, flat grass expanses, there managed to be a lot of slushy footing, and too many wide little "ponds" that were at least 3"-4" deep.

The hole 7 tee was completely under water, too deep to go into (even though my shoes were already soaked by that time), so I threw from about 5 yards to the right.

Hole B is a bit too close to the playground, always frequented by families and young children. I watched with amusement one outing when a couple players had to urge a kid to stop climbing all over the basket so they could throw.

Generally the discs are easy to spot, but with the significant rains, the grass is a little higher than it probably should be.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/22/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: BrianLyons
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/28/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some nice long holes.
Challenging terrain.
Good place to play when sunny as there are plenty of big tree's for shade.
Not a far walk from the parking lot.
Cons: Confusing layout.
Hard to see the basket on more then a few holes.
Plenty of walkers and projects dwellers through the playing area.
I thought the one hole was dangerously close to a playground that is usually very full of little kids.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing sims,Overall I liked it but if I played by myself and not with a few people who already been there it would have been confusing to find the basket on some shots or even to find the next hole.
There are many,Many tree's that stand in your way from that long beautiful drive,At first I really liked the challenge then after hitting the tree's so many times it started pissing me off.
Overall I think it is a pretty good course,shady for the most part and plenty of long holes. I will be going back to play again,but not crazy about the surroundings.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Don't believe the hype

1    10/29/2011   10/29/2011
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous views of the Lake
Great Park, lots of trash cans, clean, mowed, and maintained.
Extra Holes
Not a lot of variety in the land available but they were able to make the most of the subtle changes, and use the land well
Front nine has a high fun factor
Cons: Back nine is thoughtless and repetitive
Can get swampy
Not a lot of variety
Maybe a little problems with navigating if you don't know your way around
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course that I would recommend for anyone living nearby but it wasn't near as good as I expected. It had a pretty high score from this site.

The course itself is located on a very nice Lakefront Park. It has plenty of trash cans and porta-jons, and it is well kept and mowed. It was beyond soggy when I was there. it was an odd experience because even when the ground looked dry I still found myself sinking into it. I won't let that have an impact on my rating because I don't know if that's typical or not. Just a heads up

The front 9 is pretty fun, it weaves in and out of a small pocket of woods and along some really beautiful views of the lake. A lot of creativity went into designing this part of the course. It is fairly short and technical. I had a good time playing it

The back 9 I didn't enjoy as much, it was a seris of longer very repetitive holes as it zig zags across an open field. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy testing my arm and seeing if I could launch a few bombs but after 6-7 in a row that are all pretty much the same the fun had worn off and my arm was tired.

If you live in the Cleveland area hit this place up. It's a good time. Grab a grilled Cheese Sandwich from the Melt Bar and Grilled while your there (I did and it was great!) But I wouldn't make this one a priority for a road trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Scenery

1    7/15/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: lilniners
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful views of Lake Erie on several holes.

The layout is pretty easy to follow with the exception of a couple holes.

There is a good mix between short and long distances.
Cons: The back 9 holes are in open fields with very little thought put into them.

The first two holes do not have concrete tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the front 9 on this course. Having Lake Erie as a backdrop helped the rating on this course. I would have rated this course lower had it been situated in a normal park. However, this course is a must play if you are in the area.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Play on a Dry Day

1    6/20/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 110  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
New Tee Pads
Great Views of Lake Erie
Great Variety
Good Layout
Bulletin Board With Map
Bag HOlders at Most Tee Pads
Practice Basket W/Distance Markers
Tee Signs/Post with Distance and Par
Cons:
Can Get Flooded and Stay Swampy for A While
Can Be Hard to Navigate
Back Nine Can Be Monotonous
Other Thoughts:
This is a decent course located on the shores of Lake Erie. The course has a great variety of distances and shot types. Front 9 are shorter and much more techincal, where the back 9 offers more open shots, with more distance. The back 9 also features some nice mature trees that require you to shoot around them in order to get to the basket.

There were some issues with litter on the couse while we were there. There aren't a lot of trash cans throught out the course, so be sure to take all your trash with you. Along with trash cans this course could really use some work with the drainage issue. More than one hole was completely surrounded by nasty muddy water, and we weren't able to putt on them. Many of the fairways also had standing water on them as well. I don't know if there is anything they could do to correct it but but my advice is don't play this one if it has rained within the last week or so.

Once you enter the park, you will see that the road curves around to the left, go straight past the building into the parking lot on the right. The first hole is on the other side of the fence that is between the parking lot and the woods. There is a bulletin board near the fence with a map of the course.

The first hole is the only one left that does not have a new tee pad installed. I would imagine this is because there is a blacktop path right beside it, and we just threw off that. After that, all the holes have new concrete tees installed.

Holes 1 and 2 are pretty easy to navigate, although both are blind shots, both go to the right, 2 being a really hard right around the trees. After 2 getting to three can be a bit difficult. When you get up the hill you can see a teepad at the top, that is actually 4. To get to 3, follow the path back up towards the parking lot, and the tee pad is near the round about. The rest of the tees are pretty easy to find and get to, but there are still plenty of blind holes, so a map would be your best bet.

Overall the course was pretty good. I hope to get back sometime soon when it isn't so flooded, and be able to play out all the holes. As you can imagine on the first couple of holes on the lake can get extrememly windy, so be prepared for that. There is also bathrooms, picnic areas, and a playground at the park.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Lot to Like

2-4    7/24/2008   7/25/2008
Review By: kcbrez009
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine is really great. I especially enjoyed the holes along the lake. Playing these holes early in the morning or later in the evening is simply the best.

Some of the wildlife is gorgeous. My nephew pointed out two bald eagles and one time we saw a freakin' HUGE hawk pounce on a squirrel less than 50 feet away. Awesome!

The signage is excellent and simple. Most holes have posts to hang your bag on.

GREAT tiebreaker hole is hidden back in the woods near the first tee. You've got to play it. Tight fairway down into a gully and back up a hill to a pin closely guarded by trees on all sides. Not a really fair hole if it was 1-18, but if your match is tied, it's a really fun playoff hole. The winner will be the one that gets the luckiest breaks with his or her throws.
Cons: Back nine felt kinda tacked on. It basically zig-zags across an open field. Not much to it. Pretty bland.
Other Thoughts: A lot to do in the area. Good food in the neighborhood.

Muldoon's at 1020 East 185th in Euclid/Cleveland has a fantastic selection of beer and excellent food. I've heard good things about their prime rib, but I've never tasted it because I can't stop eating the Irish Egg Rolls. Imagine a reuben sandwich in an egg roll shell. Add beer. Die a very happy man right there on the spot.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.