Euclid, OH
Sims Park Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #15 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Sims Park

1    10/12/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: Sbartlebaugh
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - variety of holes, tight, turns, open, trees, windy, calm
- good mix of shorter and longer holes
- good concrete tee pads
- lake views
Cons: - signing is poor to next tee but can be figured out
- could use one or two very long holes
- not much elevation change
Other Thoughts: - ruts from cyclocross bikes on the course, so it's a double bonus if you're there on race day. CX racers are nuts to start with so they probably won't mind flying disc hazards. Poses a moving obstacle for the golfers.
- nice course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but flooded!

2-4    9/10/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - There are a few different parking areas that are small to choose from
- Play area for the kids
- Bathrooms located in between Hole #1 Tee and Hole #18 Basket
- Nice Kiosk
- Trash cans at the start and finish of the course (could use one or two more for sure mid way through the course)
- Practice basket near the Kiosk
- The map is very accurate and helpful
- 17 of the 21 Tees are concrete and in great condition
- High quality Posts with bag holders by 18 of the 21 Tees labeling hole number, distance & direction to the Basket
- Next Tee tape on the bottom of some of the baskets
- The baskets are in excellent condition
- The course is mostly open but it does have some very nice wooded obstacles to get around, over & under. You start out at Hole #1 with small trees to get over in a tight fairway that ends with the basket on the right. Great overhand opportunity here. #2 is a very tight, short, sharp right-hand turn. #4 starts out open but enters the woods in a small spot 220' out from the tee so bring your accuracy. #4 is a lot of fun! After that you play the next few holes in the woods which are beautiful in the summer. The wooded holes can be technical and have both right and left turns and a lot of overhangs to get under.
- Plenty of obstacles but a low chance of losing a disc
- The scenery and landscape is mix of pretty woods, well manicured lawn & a nice beach view of Lake Erie. Certainly a pretty course that would have good-looking views any time of the year.
- Good upkeep. Well mowed and clean.
- The course did not seem busy by park goers or disc golfers, however, I most likely got lucky both times I was there.
- The front nine are very short, no holes over 300', but the back holes open up and there are 7 holes over 300'. Overall the distance is average or a bit short and there are certainly some ace opportunities here.
Cons: - The distances on the Tee Signs/Posts are not always in agreement with actual distances
- This course can be very muddy and will flood in many places. Holes 5-7 can quickly become unplayable (my group was forced to skip those) and Baskets 9, 11 & 15 can be surrounded by water pretty quickly.
- Hole #11 Basket is very close to the road but is labeled as a temping 260' so I'm sure many risk going for the ace and I'm sure many have landed in the road (and that road has very heavy traffic)
Other Thoughts: - Nice beach but it's small and there is no swimming or grilling allowed
- To play the 21 hole layout you play normally until Hole #17. At that point you play Hole #18 which has no Tee Post/Sign, just a kickboard on a natural Tee. The Basket is labeled 'A'. Next is Hole #19 which also isn't marked and you are aiming at the Basket labeled 'B'. After that is Hole #20 which has Hole #18's Post/Sign at it's concrete tee. Then last is Hole #21 which is passed Hole #1 and also aims at the lake.
- Unfortunately I completely forgot to play Hole #21 so I can't say anything about that. I'll play it next year.
- Do not set your equipment down and venture too far from it by Holes #9-11. They play along a housing development in a neighborhood that is listed as having a higher crime rate than surrounding areas.
- The overall flow has it's Pro's and Con's so I won't count it against the rating. It makes more sense to park at Hole #20 so that when you are done you don't have a long walk back to the car. After parking at Hole #20's Basket, it flows better if you start at Hole #21, then move onto Hole #1 and play it from there. There is a short walk on the beach from Hole #1's Basket to Hole #2's Tee. A longer walk up the hill from #2 to #3. The map becomes handy to get from #4 to #5 because there are a few defined trails to choose from. The flow greatly improves from that point on and the designers made excellent use of the available land.
- Sims does have some elevation changes on Holes #1 & 2 but not really anywhere else. Fairly flat and open for the most part.
- A few benches would add a lot to this course.
- I would not label this course as one of the more challenging courses around but it is a fun course to play and bring a few beginners with you while still having a few technical and longer holes to challenge the better player.
- The most challenging hole for me was Hole #2. I need to work on my forehand and this extremely short and insanely sharp right turning fairway (which is also paper-thin) gave me some trouble. Easy hole to play safely but this can backfire if you go for the ace. A safe 3 can become a 5 because of the rough here.
- There are no real signature holes but I do enjoy Hole #5. It's technical in the summer when the woods are in full growth leaving a small area to penetrate the deeper woods and once inside the woods there are a few small hills to get by before you get to the basket which is in a small, clear, sunken area. Very pretty putting circle here.
- I do not label this course as a destination course to travel long distances to play but I really like this course a lot and I will try to make the trip here once a year since it is close. It's a very beautiful course and not a bad place to bring the family.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Play hole 21!

1    6/4/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: Petercules
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Allot of long open holes that allow for you to grip it and rip it.
Well cut grass and a few large trees make for a beautiful course that is pleasant to play.
Easy to find discs.
Some good views of Lake Erie to enjoy.
Cons: Not the easiest to find your way around the course.
The course is flat but I hate putting that as a con since there is nothing you can do about the land.
Other Thoughts: I suggest playing hole 21 both because it is a unique hole and once you get to the basket there is a beautiful view off a cliff out over Lake Erie. We thought this would be pretty cool to drive as far as possible out into the lake. And we were right my Surge flew forever!!! So I recommend bringing a couple cheap old discs and litter.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/9/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: dkoz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great views from Lake Erie! Sims park has a variety of holes.....#1 Is a nice elevation drop with woods to your left and right, but watch out for the 5 trees scattered in the middle of the fairway " but there is a flight line". #2 has a elevation drop dog leg right hole, follow the path and make the turn and your looking at a birdie. #3 Is almost a straight shot, but watch out for the BIG TREE. #4 Very tricky hole...play the path and hope you stay up or play looking up at the basket! even with a bad drive you can still make par. #5 and # 6 and #7 are the makable ace holes, but you got to be able to throw on a str line. #8 keep it low and straight past the big tree and you could be looking at a birdie! anything else and you could be in the brush. #9 Keep it on the fairway...to far left or right and your in heavy brush and its very easy to lose a disc. #10 and #11 keep it low and straight and your in good shape! #12-20 are mostly the big arm holes, but some holes you still have to watch out for trees, but not as tough as the first 8. # 21 ....the hole is right behind #1 teepad very very tough hole but there is a line. If you decide to play it 2 things...1. walk the hole first and #2 have a spotter!
Cons: Course does not drain well! heavy day or two of rain some holes will be under water! Also on both sides of the course are apartments so you got to stop once in awhile " people walking across the course".
Other Thoughts: Course is actually a fun course to play, great views from the lake and a playground for the kids!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New Trees!

5+    1/18/2011   1/25/2011
Review By: yenhe2002
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery, especially on the front 9
Nice tee pads
Nice mix of shots to the right and left
Nice mix of technical and bomber drives
Nice use of limited elevation changes on the property
New trees on 12, 15, 16, and 17...tightening the lines on these holes.
Cons: No tee pads on new 18 or 19...yet
Some of the holes stay wet late into the spring and sometimes early summer (especially 1 and 2)
Lots of non players on the weekends. Sometimes passers through from the apartments next door or kids on bikes can create a surprise obstacle
Other Thoughts: As my home course, I'm pretty partial to this place...but it really has everything for the casual/intermediate player. It's one of best courses in the greater Cleveland area, and a must play if you're nearby.
The new trees were obviously designed to improve the course and tighten those big bomber lines on the back nine, adding more interest to the course. They're still young and little, but in the way none the less. :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Interesting enough.

2-4    8/5/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: Hyorin no yaiba
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -18 holes.
- A little variety. Some holes in the woods, others you can just let loose on.
- Pretty, right by the lake.
- For the most part taken care of.
Cons: - People everywhere. Some bad kids tried to fight one of my friends over something stupid.
- Hole 1 is kind of a blind shot which can eat discs, especially on a windy day. (I'm left-handed)
Other Thoughts: I'm sort of new to this game, so I'm not the best reviewer. This was a fun course and I enjoyed that it had more than 9 holes. Just there are a lot of non disc golfers around and that can be a hassle to maneuver around.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun front nine, back nine so-so

5+    6/22/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 45  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes along Lake Erie on the front nine, some nice technical wooded shots.

Excellent long concrete tees, all in great shape.

Crowds have been non-existent when I have played there.

Course is well-maintained. Nice flow of holes and the course will bring you back to the parking area.

No fairway overlap, and minimal overlap with other parkgoers/activity areas (primarily on holes 3 & 4).
Cons: Back nine is primarily up and down a large flat grassy area, with some minor tree obstacles. Back nine is also on a busy main street (Lakeshore Blvd.). Last few holes not so interesting. Back nine can also get a bit confusing.

No tee maps.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good, fun course -- but the back nine feels tacked-on compared to the well thought out front nine.
---
I am editing my short review here since I have gotten the chance to play this one a few more times this summer. I've updated my score from 3 to 3.5 as I have come to appreciate this course much more after having visited a lot more courses this summer.

The last few front nine holes and the first few back nine have a lot of personality, but I sometimes forget that when I get back home. And to be fair, the up-and-down nature of the back nine (the back 11 now actually) is really only from holes 14 and up - the first few on the back nine might be some of the best holes on the course; they wind through some nice wooded areas that are challenging enough but not frustratingly so.

I always liked Sims Park, but I appreciate it more now that I have additional course experience under my belt.

--

Multi-use park, but for the most part the course is out of the way of the other activity areas.

Course loops around to the parking lot, but small walk back to hole #1. However, if you play hole 19, you're back at hole #1.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Cleveland!

12/11/2007   5/15/2008
Review By: jsalyers1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained park. Great scenic views, as it sits right on the shore of Lake Erie. Concrete pads, well signed, fairly busy - but not overcrowded. Mainly a bit longer course, though there is a nice variety of technical holes as the course criss-crosses through woods.
Other Thoughts: The back 9 are longer and more open. You can really get off some nice shots! The front 9 are more on the technical side - though several of these are a bit open as well.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.