Euclid, OH 
Sims Park Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Sims

5+    2/27/2013   3/1/2013
Review By: Rowdy216
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of short technical/wooded holes and open/long-ish holes.
Beautiful views of Lake Erie.
Rest rooms.
Good course for disc golfers of almost any level.
Nice play ground for kids.
Concrete tee pads on almost every hole.
Cons: Course gets super muddy after a good bit of rain.
Winds coming off the lake can wreak havoc on your game. (note:wind is not always an issue)
The apartment complex that runs along holes 9, 10, and 11 is unsightly, and can be rather loud at times.
Other Thoughts: I really like the way the first 11 holes play.The first 4 holes have great views of the lake. Holes 5, 6, and 7 go through a wooded area, and reward players that can hit the lines with ace runs and birdies. While holes 8 through 11 are great low celing shots. After that, the holes open up more and get longer for players that like to grip and rip. This is one of the better courses in the Cleveland area, and is a must play if you are near by.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/5/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: trumpetman330
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great variety of holes
-Woods shots are clear, yet still have enough tree obstacles
-A few great "grip it and rip it" holes
-Various Par 4's mixed in.
-Well maintained
Cons: -Navigating from hole to hole is difficult
-No general hole layout
-The newly added Hole 19 is unrealistic.
-Pedestrians will sometimes get in the way
-Easy to lose disc on Hole 2 if you choose to go around to the right near the beach.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I felt that this course is very nicely designed and maintained. The only true con I have is that if you're playing this course for the first time and don't have someone with you who has played it before, some hole to hole navigation can get irksome. In addition, finding the baskets from the tee box can be a little annoying as well.
Overall though, if you can get through the course at least once, it is more than worth playing again.
I would drive at least an hour and a half to two hours to play this course!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A nice course

5+    9/2/2011   9/8/2011
Review By: bajinabass
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Location - This course is located right off the lake. The first 4 holes allow you to see the lake. Even secret hole #19.
-Layout - Now some people have complained but I like it. Challenging and technical front 9 with long, still slightly challenging, back 11.
-People - Everyone that plays there is very nice. I've only seen one instance with a group of *insert nasty name here* who where acting out of hand.
-Mondays - Scramble tourneys at 6. I've only played it once but it was a great time. And they put "A" players with "B" players to make it competitive.
-Crowd - This deals with non-golfers. Park is usually decently busy but it seems like they all know where the holes are and they pay attention while in the areas. Kids still tend to ride their bikes through 5, 6, and 7. Hell, I used to when I was a kid, but that was 16 years ago and there was no course.
Cons: -Drainage - If it rains heavily, and it has in 2011, holes 1, 2, 5, 7, and 19 can become almost unplayable.
-Safety - Alternate hole "B", that's what I call it. It's the hole from the entrance off of Lakeshore to the basket by the playground. And that's my concern, a very good throw can hit a kid who is running around over there. The bike trail by 12 and 13 don't really come into play in my opinion as you need to throw way to the right of it. That, and I never see anyone use the path anyway.
-Poison Oak - This is just basically a warning for anyone playing the course. The pine looking trees by the 4th tee have poison oak in them. A bad drive from #3 can put you in them. Buddy of mine had a bad experience and that's how we found out.
-Next tee signs - from #2 to #3 and #4 to #5 can cause people some confusion.
Other Thoughts: UPDATE 8-30-12: They are changing hole locations for the following holes: 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18. Should be done in the next week or two. If you play before the move, you can see where the new holes will be. They are marked by pink squares.

This is my local course and I do play it all the time. It is the best in the area in my opinion. I'm not a great golfer by any means. My personal best score is +1. I would recommend this course for beginners up to seasoned veterans. I also find it's perfect to go early in the morning as it is very quiet and peaceful.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful course

1    4/20/2007   4/24/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: this course is set up right along the banks of beautiful Lake Erie. i love the lay out of the course and the course is very nicely marked
Cons: being next to the lake there is alot of wind. it sometimes makes it fun. the course is also in a very bad neighborhood

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sims Park "Secret Hole"

2-4    8/16/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: JoseCafe704
Played: 29  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation changes and topography through the front nine. Hole 1 starts with an elevated tee that doglegs right into a valley that leads to the lake. Heck of a way to start a course (beware the fairway at 1 though, as it's often a mud trap). The back 9 tend to allow the player to really put something on their drives while still posing a challenge with several natural obstructions lurking along fairways and approaches. "Secret" extra hole is a fun one (near practice cage). Reminiscent of something you would find in a Tiger Woods game as the "impossible fantasy hole" or something of the sort. Strongly recommend trying it out, but definitely use bright discs, or you may lose one.
Cons: Course could use pin flags or some sort of bright indicator as to where cages are as some of them are still within sight, but camouflaged within tree clumps or bushes, especially on the back 9. Even in later summer, the first hole's fairway is muddy. I can only imagine what the course must be like as far as dampness in the Spring.
Other Thoughts: Great variety on one of the better Cleveland area courses! Strongly recommend this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sims Park Fun

5+    6/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Brillo Mick
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A great course,with a great club .I have played quite a few times.Most holes are fairly tough and great view of Lake Erie from a Few.Holes 4,5,and 6 are three of my favorites and 9 and 10 get me every time.A great Putt practice hole and a hole 19 to get you started off.Enjoy the people there ,most are very friendly! Bathrooms in the warmer months.
Cons: Holes 1 and 2 can be a swamp when it has rained.No cold weather Bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: I love playing here.It is by far the best course in the Greater Cleveland Area,a must play if you are in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 An excellent, challenging course

5+    7/3/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Conect11
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of technical and bomber holes
Beautiful scenery
Practice tee
Well thought out course and hole design
Concrete pads
Full 19 hole course in the process of becoming a 21 hole course
Cons: On a hot day this course will test your conditioning (ok, not a con on the course, but one on me!)
Other Thoughts: Sims Park in Euclid is so far my favorite Disc Golf course near Cleveland. The scenery is beautiful, (hole 3 is right on Lake Erie) and the front nine are great technical holes, while the back nine are all bombers. It appears that they are in the process of adding a couple of new holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    11/10/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: charkboy
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course, great variety of holes and distances. The scenery is wonderful along the lake and there is quite a bit of wildlife to see as well. (Last time out on hole #1 we had to play through about 5 deer who didn't seem to care at all.)

As has been said, the front 9 are challenging holes with lots of woods and elevation changes. The back 11 are mostly open, longer holes that let you air out your drives but still have some well placed trees to make them interesting.

Hole #21 (or old #19) is fun to play and a good tie breaker for sure.

We play mostly on weekdays so the course is virtually empty, but it can get a little crowded on the weekends.
Cons: The new #18 and #19 holes have dirt tees still but that will hopefully change soon.

The first tee can be a little difficult to find on your first time out. And a little better signage between holes pointing to the next tees would help as well.
Other Thoughts: I may be a little bias as this is my home course, but in comparison to other courses I've played, it is one of the best that NE Ohio has to offer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/17/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great view of the lake starting with the first hole. Then you go through the park and even have a bonus hole if you need any tie breakers. I see the pics do not show the really nice tee pads they have in now. Nice and wide to throw from. I would rate these tee pads as the best I have played from so far.
Cons: There is a bike trail right through one of the holes. Its a throw and hope you do not hit some one. As long as you have another person to watch out for the kids you should be ok.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for every kind of golfer it will greatly test your skills.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/21/2008   4/21/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful view of the lake. Front is mostly short and technical. Back is mostly grip and rip. It has a practice hole with distance markers surrounding it. Tee pads are concrete , but tee signage.
Cons: No amenities. Has a pavilion but no grilles. Bathrooms are gross

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.