Disc Golf Store
Euclid, OH 
Sims Park Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Play hole 21!

1    6/4/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: Petercules
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Allot of long open holes that allow for you to grip it and rip it.
Well cut grass and a few large trees make for a beautiful course that is pleasant to play.
Easy to find discs.
Some good views of Lake Erie to enjoy.
Cons: Not the easiest to find your way around the course.
The course is flat but I hate putting that as a con since there is nothing you can do about the land.
Other Thoughts: I suggest playing hole 21 both because it is a unique hole and once you get to the basket there is a beautiful view off a cliff out over Lake Erie. We thought this would be pretty cool to drive as far as possible out into the lake. And we were right my Surge flew forever!!! So I recommend bringing a couple cheap old discs and litter.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/9/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: dkoz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great views from Lake Erie! Sims park has a variety of holes.....#1 Is a nice elevation drop with woods to your left and right, but watch out for the 5 trees scattered in the middle of the fairway " but there is a flight line". #2 has a elevation drop dog leg right hole, follow the path and make the turn and your looking at a birdie. #3 Is almost a straight shot, but watch out for the BIG TREE. #4 Very tricky hole...play the path and hope you stay up or play looking up at the basket! even with a bad drive you can still make par. #5 and # 6 and #7 are the makable ace holes, but you got to be able to throw on a str line. #8 keep it low and straight past the big tree and you could be looking at a birdie! anything else and you could be in the brush. #9 Keep it on the fairway...to far left or right and your in heavy brush and its very easy to lose a disc. #10 and #11 keep it low and straight and your in good shape! #12-20 are mostly the big arm holes, but some holes you still have to watch out for trees, but not as tough as the first 8. # 21 ....the hole is right behind #1 teepad very very tough hole but there is a line. If you decide to play it 2 things...1. walk the hole first and #2 have a spotter!
Cons: Course does not drain well! heavy day or two of rain some holes will be under water! Also on both sides of the course are apartments so you got to stop once in awhile " people walking across the course".
Other Thoughts: Course is actually a fun course to play, great views from the lake and a playground for the kids!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful course

1    4/20/2007   4/24/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: this course is set up right along the banks of beautiful Lake Erie. i love the lay out of the course and the course is very nicely marked
Cons: being next to the lake there is alot of wind. it sometimes makes it fun. the course is also in a very bad neighborhood

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New Trees!

5+    1/18/2011   1/25/2011
Review By: yenhe2002
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery, especially on the front 9
Nice tee pads
Nice mix of shots to the right and left
Nice mix of technical and bomber drives
Nice use of limited elevation changes on the property
New trees on 12, 15, 16, and 17...tightening the lines on these holes.
Cons: No tee pads on new 18 or 19...yet
Some of the holes stay wet late into the spring and sometimes early summer (especially 1 and 2)
Lots of non players on the weekends. Sometimes passers through from the apartments next door or kids on bikes can create a surprise obstacle
Other Thoughts: As my home course, I'm pretty partial to this place...but it really has everything for the casual/intermediate player. It's one of best courses in the greater Cleveland area, and a must play if you're nearby.
The new trees were obviously designed to improve the course and tighten those big bomber lines on the back nine, adding more interest to the course. They're still young and little, but in the way none the less. :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sims Park "Secret Hole"

2-4    8/16/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: JoseCafe704
Played: 29  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation changes and topography through the front nine. Hole 1 starts with an elevated tee that doglegs right into a valley that leads to the lake. Heck of a way to start a course (beware the fairway at 1 though, as it's often a mud trap). The back 9 tend to allow the player to really put something on their drives while still posing a challenge with several natural obstructions lurking along fairways and approaches. "Secret" extra hole is a fun one (near practice cage). Reminiscent of something you would find in a Tiger Woods game as the "impossible fantasy hole" or something of the sort. Strongly recommend trying it out, but definitely use bright discs, or you may lose one.
Cons: Course could use pin flags or some sort of bright indicator as to where cages are as some of them are still within sight, but camouflaged within tree clumps or bushes, especially on the back 9. Even in later summer, the first hole's fairway is muddy. I can only imagine what the course must be like as far as dampness in the Spring.
Other Thoughts: Great variety on one of the better Cleveland area courses! Strongly recommend this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Interesting enough.

2-4    8/5/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: Hyorin no yaiba
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -18 holes.
- A little variety. Some holes in the woods, others you can just let loose on.
- Pretty, right by the lake.
- For the most part taken care of.
Cons: - People everywhere. Some bad kids tried to fight one of my friends over something stupid.
- Hole 1 is kind of a blind shot which can eat discs, especially on a windy day. (I'm left-handed)
Other Thoughts: I'm sort of new to this game, so I'm not the best reviewer. This was a fun course and I enjoyed that it had more than 9 holes. Just there are a lot of non disc golfers around and that can be a hassle to maneuver around.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Scenery

1    7/15/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: lilniners
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful views of Lake Erie on several holes.

The layout is pretty easy to follow with the exception of a couple holes.

There is a good mix between short and long distances.
Cons: The back 9 holes are in open fields with very little thought put into them.

The first two holes do not have concrete tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the front 9 on this course. Having Lake Erie as a backdrop helped the rating on this course. I would have rated this course lower had it been situated in a normal park. However, this course is a must play if you are in the area.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sims Park Fun

5+    6/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Brillo Mick
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A great course,with a great club .I have played quite a few times.Most holes are fairly tough and great view of Lake Erie from a Few.Holes 4,5,and 6 are three of my favorites and 9 and 10 get me every time.A great Putt practice hole and a hole 19 to get you started off.Enjoy the people there ,most are very friendly! Bathrooms in the warmer months.
Cons: Holes 1 and 2 can be a swamp when it has rained.No cold weather Bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: I love playing here.It is by far the best course in the Greater Cleveland Area,a must play if you are in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 An excellent, challenging course

5+    7/3/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Conect11
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of technical and bomber holes
Beautiful scenery
Practice tee
Well thought out course and hole design
Concrete pads
Full 19 hole course in the process of becoming a 21 hole course
Cons: On a hot day this course will test your conditioning (ok, not a con on the course, but one on me!)
Other Thoughts: Sims Park in Euclid is so far my favorite Disc Golf course near Cleveland. The scenery is beautiful, (hole 3 is right on Lake Erie) and the front nine are great technical holes, while the back nine are all bombers. It appears that they are in the process of adding a couple of new holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

worth a lil trip

1    2/5/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 55  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -awesome view over the lake
-nice tee-pads
-flow was smooth
-signage not fancy but sufficient (large lumber with hole number, distance and par)
-practice basket
-mix of open and short technical shots
-21 holes
-mature old trees
-good use of what woods are present (not much)
-nice bathrooms
Cons: -fairly flat, no drastic changes in elevation
-confusing last 4 holes as a couple holes do not have signs or tee-pads just a muddy spot
-no alternate tee-pads
-average difficulty
-back nine sometimes repetitive
Other Thoughts: -no water hazards
-all par three holes (some rather long)
-could of had sweet beach hole

check it out

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.