Euclid, OH 
Sims Park Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 378ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Great course

5+    11/10/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: charkboy
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course, great variety of holes and distances. The scenery is wonderful along the lake and there is quite a bit of wildlife to see as well. (Last time out on hole #1 we had to play through about 5 deer who didn't seem to care at all.)

As has been said, the front 9 are challenging holes with lots of woods and elevation changes. The back 11 are mostly open, longer holes that let you air out your drives but still have some well placed trees to make them interesting.

Hole #21 (or old #19) is fun to play and a good tie breaker for sure.

We play mostly on weekdays so the course is virtually empty, but it can get a little crowded on the weekends.
Cons: The new #18 and #19 holes have dirt tees still but that will hopefully change soon.

The first tee can be a little difficult to find on your first time out. And a little better signage between holes pointing to the next tees would help as well.
Other Thoughts: I may be a little bias as this is my home course, but in comparison to other courses I've played, it is one of the best that NE Ohio has to offer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Play on a Dry Day

1    6/20/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 110  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
New Tee Pads
Great Views of Lake Erie
Great Variety
Good Layout
Bulletin Board With Map
Bag HOlders at Most Tee Pads
Practice Basket W/Distance Markers
Tee Signs/Post with Distance and Par
Cons:
Can Get Flooded and Stay Swampy for A While
Can Be Hard to Navigate
Back Nine Can Be Monotonous
Other Thoughts:
This is a decent course located on the shores of Lake Erie. The course has a great variety of distances and shot types. Front 9 are shorter and much more techincal, where the back 9 offers more open shots, with more distance. The back 9 also features some nice mature trees that require you to shoot around them in order to get to the basket.

There were some issues with litter on the couse while we were there. There aren't a lot of trash cans throught out the course, so be sure to take all your trash with you. Along with trash cans this course could really use some work with the drainage issue. More than one hole was completely surrounded by nasty muddy water, and we weren't able to putt on them. Many of the fairways also had standing water on them as well. I don't know if there is anything they could do to correct it but but my advice is don't play this one if it has rained within the last week or so.

Once you enter the park, you will see that the road curves around to the left, go straight past the building into the parking lot on the right. The first hole is on the other side of the fence that is between the parking lot and the woods. There is a bulletin board near the fence with a map of the course.

The first hole is the only one left that does not have a new tee pad installed. I would imagine this is because there is a blacktop path right beside it, and we just threw off that. After that, all the holes have new concrete tees installed.

Holes 1 and 2 are pretty easy to navigate, although both are blind shots, both go to the right, 2 being a really hard right around the trees. After 2 getting to three can be a bit difficult. When you get up the hill you can see a teepad at the top, that is actually 4. To get to 3, follow the path back up towards the parking lot, and the tee pad is near the round about. The rest of the tees are pretty easy to find and get to, but there are still plenty of blind holes, so a map would be your best bet.

Overall the course was pretty good. I hope to get back sometime soon when it isn't so flooded, and be able to play out all the holes. As you can imagine on the first couple of holes on the lake can get extrememly windy, so be prepared for that. There is also bathrooms, picnic areas, and a playground at the park.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/17/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great view of the lake starting with the first hole. Then you go through the park and even have a bonus hole if you need any tie breakers. I see the pics do not show the really nice tee pads they have in now. Nice and wide to throw from. I would rate these tee pads as the best I have played from so far.
Cons: There is a bike trail right through one of the holes. Its a throw and hope you do not hit some one. As long as you have another person to watch out for the kids you should be ok.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for every kind of golfer it will greatly test your skills.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/21/2008   4/21/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful view of the lake. Front is mostly short and technical. Back is mostly grip and rip. It has a practice hole with distance markers surrounding it. Tee pads are concrete , but tee signage.
Cons: No amenities. Has a pavilion but no grilles. Bathrooms are gross

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great balance on this course

1    12/27/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Decent size, good condition concrete tee pads. Highly visible tee signs. Double chain baskets in good shape. Course flows well. Excellent balance of shorter, technical holes and longer, bomber holes... going so far as to put all the short stuff on the first nine allowing you to get your arm warmed up before cranking those 360' drives. Even the long holes make good use of the existing trees to keep them from being wide open shots. Great pin positions. Also a good balance of leftie vs. rightie holes. Course flows well for the traditional 18 holes starting and ending at the parking lot. Restrooms on site.
Cons:
The 19th hole is a bit out of place in the normal flow of the course in that it plays mostly parallel to hole #1 again. A couple holes have some minor elevation changes, but generally the course is flat.

The course does not drain well after rain and pools of water collect in many of the fairways and most of the baskets are surrounded by mud. The cons are hard to come by on this course; if I'd played on a dry day this course might have rated 4.5.
Other Thoughts:
Most of the photos currently uploaded to DGCR are from before the concrete tee pads were installed.

Collect your birdies on the front nine because most of the last nine will require some 350+ ft accurate drives to put you in position to putt for those 2's. I think the back nine has gotten somewhat of a bad rap: if you're playing them for 3's they might not be that interesting, but if you're driving to put yourself in position for a 2 they're a good challenge.

Note that per the map at the info board holes #2 and #14 have mandos that require you to throw left of the first tree off the tee box, i.e. anyhzers for RHBH throwers. The concrete tee for hole #1 is marked with red paint on the service road behind the tee sign.

The map on the info board shows 21 holes. But based on other reviews and postings I've read it looks like two baskets for "new #18 & #19" are sometimes pulled. Their tee boxes are marked by a 4x4" flat in the ground, not vertical posts like the other holes. When those baskets are installed they occur between "old #17 & #18", which then turns "old #18 & #19" into "new #20 & #21". The tee sign for old-18/new-20 says "#18", but the basket says "#20". If all this sounds confusing... it is. But bottom line is look for the baskets between old #17 and #18, if they're installed you can play 21 holes, otherwise you get 19 holes.

#19 is an interesting hole in that it invites you to throw your upshot first to lay up before the ravine, then throw a "drive" across the ravine to the basket.

Worth mentioning again: great pin positions. Many of the holes will have you thinking: "wow, that's cool". Hole #4 is a particularly treacherous basket with slopes on two sides that will cost you rolls on missed putts. #2 is a cool 90 degree turn from the fairway in a valley. Actually all of the first nine, except #3, are pretty cool pin locations.

If this course were in your back yard you would develop almost all the skills you need to be a well rounded disc golfer! I'd come back to this course again anytime I'm in the area.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Ego boost to ego crush

8/2/2008   8/5/2008
Review By: cdeane
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting in a nice park right on lake Erie. Some cool holes right off the bat with a 90 degree dogleg right down a narrow alley on # 2 # 4 plays across the field and into the woods. Tee Pads were well marked with wooden posts (most with pegs to hang your bag) that gave distance and par (all 18 are par 3s)
You get to try out your accuracy and technical prowress on the front 9 and then let 'er rip on the back 9, so bring all your game or prepared to be crushed on one or the other. I came out at 1 over on the front 9 but lost it on the back with a dismal 6 over.
Cons: Goose poop......... There was a beautiful map of the course at the first tee but the map on the online scorecard is about as dismal as they come. The first basket was missing and my initial thought was Uh-oh but the rest panned out just fine. Get the posted map online in a pdf so we can down load and bring along. A mando marked on the nice map was not evident when playing the hole (on # 2) There may have been other mandos later but if they were on that map I missed them. The transition from # 4 to # 5 was rough but otherwise it flowed pretty well.
Other Thoughts: Played this early in the morning (6 AM) so I got no sense of wether the park is normally busy or not. That might be an issue as it is not a huge space. This course is relatively short, but don't mistake short for easy. I had a great time playing this course and even feel I could par it on a good day.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cleveland's Premier Course

5+    8/3/2008   8/3/2008
Review By: Dave
Played: 110  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic setting on Lake Erie Most every type of shot: Short, long, left, right, downhill, uphill (if you miss the fairway on #4).

Cons: Tthe most interesting and senic holes are all in the first 10. A couple faiways, by the lake, take all summer to dry out.
Other Thoughts: The back nine let you work on distance, but you still need to be accurate. Holes one & two become wind tunnels in the winter. Part of the challenge.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Lot to Like

2-4    7/24/2008   7/25/2008
Review By: kcbrez009
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine is really great. I especially enjoyed the holes along the lake. Playing these holes early in the morning or later in the evening is simply the best.

Some of the wildlife is gorgeous. My nephew pointed out two bald eagles and one time we saw a freakin' HUGE hawk pounce on a squirrel less than 50 feet away. Awesome!

The signage is excellent and simple. Most holes have posts to hang your bag on.

GREAT tiebreaker hole is hidden back in the woods near the first tee. You've got to play it. Tight fairway down into a gully and back up a hill to a pin closely guarded by trees on all sides. Not a really fair hole if it was 1-18, but if your match is tied, it's a really fun playoff hole. The winner will be the one that gets the luckiest breaks with his or her throws.
Cons: Back nine felt kinda tacked on. It basically zig-zags across an open field. Not much to it. Pretty bland.
Other Thoughts: A lot to do in the area. Good food in the neighborhood.

Muldoon's at 1020 East 185th in Euclid/Cleveland has a fantastic selection of beer and excellent food. I've heard good things about their prime rib, but I've never tasted it because I can't stop eating the Irish Egg Rolls. Imagine a reuben sandwich in an egg roll shell. Add beer. Die a very happy man right there on the spot.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun front nine, back nine so-so

5+    6/22/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes along Lake Erie on the front nine, some nice technical wooded shots.

Excellent long concrete tees, all in great shape.

Crowds have been non-existent when I have played there.

Course is well-maintained. Nice flow of holes and the course will bring you back to the parking area.

No fairway overlap, and minimal overlap with other parkgoers/activity areas (primarily on holes 3 & 4).
Cons: Back nine is primarily up and down a large flat grassy area, with some minor tree obstacles. Back nine is also on a busy main street (Lakeshore Blvd.). Last few holes not so interesting. Back nine can also get a bit confusing.

No tee maps.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good, fun course -- but the back nine feels tacked-on compared to the well thought out front nine.
---
I am editing my short review here since I have gotten the chance to play this one a few more times this summer. I've updated my score from 3 to 3.5 as I have come to appreciate this course much more after having visited a lot more courses this summer.

The last few front nine holes and the first few back nine have a lot of personality, but I sometimes forget that when I get back home. And to be fair, the up-and-down nature of the back nine (the back 11 now actually) is really only from holes 14 and up - the first few on the back nine might be some of the best holes on the course; they wind through some nice wooded areas that are challenging enough but not frustratingly so.

I always liked Sims Park, but I appreciate it more now that I have additional course experience under my belt.

--

Multi-use park, but for the most part the course is out of the way of the other activity areas.

Course loops around to the parking lot, but small walk back to hole #1. However, if you play hole 19, you're back at hole #1.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Cleveland!

12/11/2007   5/15/2008
Review By: jsalyers1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained park. Great scenic views, as it sits right on the shore of Lake Erie. Concrete pads, well signed, fairly busy - but not overcrowded. Mainly a bit longer course, though there is a nice variety of technical holes as the course criss-crosses through woods.
Other Thoughts: The back 9 are longer and more open. You can really get off some nice shots! The front 9 are more on the technical side - though several of these are a bit open as well.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.