Disc Golf Store
Johnston (Des Moines), IA 
Walnut Ridge Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #18 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 268ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Yes! PLAY!

1    10/12/2011   4/19/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 113  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: AWESOME! This course had it huge park lots of space. Holes for everything. At 500ft hole in the woods with a 50ft fairway dead straight. Teepads great, signs great, you new where to go except for 3-4 but i figured it out. Amazing course design.
Cons: The walk from 3-4. Sometimes park was closed but your a disc golfer so figure it out.
Other Thoughts: I played course with the con in action and i was by myself huge park, i fell in love with disc golf all over again. This course is great!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Arguably one of Iowa's finest

5+    6/15/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a nice out in the country feel to it, while still having the manicured aspect of a city course. Dual tees on most of the holes which can give lesser skilled players some relief of an otherwise long layout. I like how the flow transitions from open to wooden, back to open and then wooded again. Lots of parking available and actual restrooms at the first tee. Advanced/Pro level players will really enjoy the challenge from the nearly 8000' course from long tees.
Cons: Can be frustrating trying to find your way around if you're not familiar with the layout. At my last visit there was no map at the kiosk by hole #1. Some spots where the walk between holes is ridiculously long and you can get steered off course easily. Closed for part of the year. Undergrowth in the woods can be thick if you end up in there (hint: try not to end up in there). Woods can be dangerous, particularly if you get deep into them, as there are some steep drop offs. Poison ivy too. Couldn't get to Hole 9's long tee due to flooding. (The short tee is challenging enough though).
Other Thoughts: Quite possibly my favorite Des Moines area course, if not Iowa course. A trip to DSM simply isn't complete without a trip to "the Nut". Some locals might put Ewing Park above WR as their favorite, but I've found the placid nature of this very challenging course to be much more addicting, as I enjoy trying to keep my disc out of the various trouble spots. The wooded holes on the back nine can be esspecially brutal and punishing on you if you're not precise. I almost call the wooded areas here 'roach motels' for discs, as you can get into them very easily, but it may be hell getting them out. For all its challenge, there's very little elevation here and no water hazards. You can see the reservoir off to the right of Hole 3, but if you can put one in the drink, you're playing the wrong game.

This isn't a course you go to on your lunch break (although you could play around the first 3 holes if you wanted). Bring yourself some water or Gatorade and some snacks for this one as its going to take awhile, and unless you have someone spotting, expect some time looking for errant throws into the woods or tall grass. If its humid or there's been recent rain, bring the bug spray and long pants. Not far off of I-80/35 if you're passing through during the open months (May through September) and definitely worth the stop.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the best

5+    3/5/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 63  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all.
- Cement tee pads
- Multiple tee pads
- Long holes
- Short holes
- Par 3's, 4's & 5's
- Open holes
- Wooded holes
- Water does kind of come into play on one hole.
- Restrooms
- Vending Machines
- Practice Basket
- Plenty of parking
Cons: Close for 3-4 months of the year. You can walk into this course if you want while it is closed. Signage could be a little bit better.
Other Thoughts: Walnut and Pickard are the two best courses in the Des Moines Metro area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The nut

2-4    3/1/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: arowan21
Played: 48  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging, Lots a different shots required, Woods and more open holes, Decently taken care of.
Cons: Can be confusing at first. Closed for a good chunk of the year. A couple of blind pins and missing tee signs make for a lot of guessing.
Other Thoughts: The tunnel shot is one of the best holes in all of disc golf.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.