Johnston, IA 
Walnut Ridge Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #16 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 455ft.   4 / 541ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

2-4    7/6/2016   7/11/2016
Review By: corngolfer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Pros: Good baskets and tee pads, nice mix of shot types, pro level 18 hole course,
Cons: Some of the layout is a little goofy, I've only played once but I was glad I was with people who knew where they were going.
Other Thoughts: Based on what I was hearing about this course and it's own self righteous description as the "country club of disc golf" I had high expectations, overall this is just you're average 18 hole course that has enough long shots and challenging hole layouts to be considered a "pro" course, I guess to me it didn't really live up to the hype but it is a solid course overall

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/10/2008   9/9/2008
Review By: maeittreim
Played: 43  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2009
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is a fun course with lots of obstacles for players. Some open holes with some back through the challenging woods. Make sure to keep an eye on the disc so you do not loose them. Must play course.
Cons: Its Iowa, so in the winter time like most Mid-west states its a tough one to play.
Other Thoughts: Definitely put it on the must do list.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course

3/25/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: garublador
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challening course with all types of shots required, very good amenities, pop machines on site, well groomed, exellent mix of wooded and "park setting" holes.
Cons: Thick brush off the fairways, closes early in fall and opens late in spring.
Other Thoughts: It's a "must play" during a visit to Des Moines.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Times

7/31/2007   8/16/2007
Review By: ACurry916
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beutifaly laid out course! great eleavation changes and a combonation of Lefts and Rights along with tight holes and open holes!
Cons: nothing really to complain about
Other Thoughts: Play it!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 best course in Des Moines

6/13/2007   6/13/2007
Review By: gdl17921
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, multiple pins, elevation changes, lots of lefty dream holes--but not too many to deter our righty buds from disliking this gem.
Cons: Park gate closes during winter months. You can still park at the gate and walk into the park, (maybe 1/4 mile) best to start on hole 8, the first hole you'll see. walking in.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play if you're traveling through Iowa.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.