Johnston (Des Moines), IA 
Walnut Ridge Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #18 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 268ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
WORTH THE DRIVE

1    8/31/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: OldGymRat
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy parking, well mowed, free course maps, clean toilets (not porta-johns, but real facilities). Easy walking. Decent signage. Great variety of shots from the first 3 (they were warm ups really with nothing too interesting) to wooded "tunnel" shots, both short and very long drives. Pro and recreational pads are always nice. The last hole and the parking lot for the first are very close so it keeps the walk back to the car short.
Cons: Better scout the nets before you throw on some holes. The baskets are not labeled (I see this elsewhere too). Why not label the baskets with large numbers? It would lessen the time it takes to play if we could see them. There should be more "next hole, this way" signs since there is such a long walk between some of the baskets and the following tee pad.
Other Thoughts: Someone could coach the cross country athletes not to throw their clothes all over the warm up net and area. We played anyway just standing over their equipment and clothing that was tossed over the ground like the rapture had just occurred and they got the idea. Generally they were pretty respectful folks after that.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun variety

1    9/15/2012   11/16/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 814  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park with a mixture of open and wooded areas. There are a handful of open holes that include some chances to air out longer drives and put a premium on shot placement. The rest of the course is wooded, with a nice mix of more open and very tight fairways.

There is enough rough in the woods that you'll pay for missing your line, though not so thick that we had any trouble finding wayward shots. You'll need a pretty strong set of line shaping skills to be successful here, there's a mix of hole shapes and lengths that keeps you on your toes.

There are two tees per hole, and they're well designed to add a different look at many of the holes. There are different angles and pinch points from many of the long tees and they add length as well. The signage is decent if inconsistent. The park is groomed nicely, all the open areas were mowed and the wooded fairways were well kept.
Cons: Some of the open holes felt a little like filler shots, no real obstacles and no interesting elevation changes. Navigation is a bit messy here, especially with some missing signs. There are some long walks and areas where several trails cross in the woods with no indicator of the correct path to the next hole. Make sure to print a map or pull it up on your phone. We found lots of poison ivy even late in the season, in the late spring or summer I'm guessing it gets pretty thick out there.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the long tees here, they add challenge and length without feeling like they're just added on behind the shorts. Experienced players will find a nice balance of different tests here. Beginners will find the shorts approachable, the rough can be a bit daunting but it's not as thick as it initially looks. A few of the longer holes are still long from the short tees, but not frustratingly so. I highly recommend a stop here if you're in the area.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mix

1    5/25/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Design - The course design, other than the flow, makes great use of the elevation and includes hyzer shots, anny shots, long holes, short holes, wooded, open, tunnel shots... you name it it has it.

Signs, tees - the signs are the same type used at Grandview, very informative and aesthetically pleasing. There are two tees per hole and they are in great shape.

Amenities - the park has nice restrooms that are spaced around the park, as well as plentiful parking. A large shelter works great for a tournament central.

Cons: Flow - the biggest drawback to this course is its flow. It is almost as if the course operates in chunks and you have to do quite a bit of walking and back-tracking between holes. It would be very difficult to find your way around the course without a map or a guide.

Location - The course is located outside of town and is kind of far away from food,drink etc. Just a minor inconvenience.

Other Thoughts: The park is beautiful as it is located next to a giant lake and has cliffs, ravines, and some water that you have to deal with. Walnut Ridge is a very complete course and will test golfers of all skill levels.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Yes! PLAY!

1    10/12/2011   4/19/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 108  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: AWESOME! This course had it huge park lots of space. Holes for everything. At 500ft hole in the woods with a 50ft fairway dead straight. Teepads great, signs great, you new where to go except for 3-4 but i figured it out. Amazing course design.
Cons: The walk from 3-4. Sometimes park was closed but your a disc golfer so figure it out.
Other Thoughts: I played course with the con in action and i was by myself huge park, i fell in love with disc golf all over again. This course is great!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A little over hyped in my opinion

1    9/25/2010   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good baskets and tee pads, nice mix of shot types, pro level 18 hole course,
Cons: Some of the layout is a little goofy, I've only played once but I was glad I was with people who knew where they were going.
Other Thoughts: Based on what I was hearing about this course and it's own self righteous description as the "country club of disc golf" I had high expectations, overall this is just you're average 18 hole course that has enough long shots and challenging hole layouts to be considered a "pro" course, I guess to me it didn't really live up to the hype but it is a solid course overall

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great holes crappy layout

1    8/20/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 95  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great holes. Up down, left right, ba start :)

Seriously though, the only thing this course doesn't have is a water hazard, you will use every shot in your bag (some of them like the right turn you will use a lot).

Nice teepads, great signs. Multiple placements for holes.
Cons: Layout is horseshit. There are like 3 spots where you are walking for 5 minutes between holes. That right there takes a star off for me, that much separation takes you out of the mindset of playing, it really is a buzzkill.

While waiting for the rest of my group I saw multiple groups of people just skip the first 3 holes and start on hole 4 because the first 3 are nothing really special, and there is a long walk between 3 and 4.

Overly punishing rough. If you are less than 10 feet from the fairway you should be able to get it back there with a shot. The super dense rough puts a huge premium on accuracy, but is overly punishing in that if you get in there is no way to save a 3. You cannot get out in one shot even just straight out and hope to hole an approach.

Nothing on the signs to tell you where the pin is. Frustrating to have to go look for the pin when everything else was so well done. This seems to be an Iowa thing as 3 of the courses we played this weekend did the same thing, and it was hellla frustrating.
Other Thoughts: A better layout that didn't have so much extra walking and this is a 4 star course no question. A water hazard of some kind and something on the signs showing what the pin positions are. 5 stars. This was a fun course to play despite the flaws, but I would not make a special trip back to play here.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/18/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: safg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots, some long and some short with a mix of wooded and open areas. Very challenging in some spots, but the challenge is just enough to make it fun and keep you coming back. I played while it was raining, but even before it started raining, traffic on the course was low.
Cons: Can be confusing if you haven't played the course before, signage is not the greatest.
Other Thoughts: Some of the wooded areas can be unforgiving so do your best to stay on the fairway or you could spend quite a bit of time looking for discs. Steep cliff of the right side of #3. Not much elevation change on most holes, which can be bad or good, however you want to look at it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good mix

1    3/14/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 95  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great park, with large tee pads. baskets were mach 4s. long pads as well as shorts. for the des moines courses go this one had a good mix of open and wooded holes. thumbers could be used of the tee to place a reachable 2nd shot. had a local guide from the desmoines club show me the course which was very helpful
Cons: it was muddy, not many trashcans, and it was closed...not really aproblem if you know where to park and walk in.....with out a guide or a map this course could be confusing in some spots
Other Thoughts: i really enjoyed the course, the scenery, and the fact that i had the whole park to myself the day i played...also saw a bald eagle flying around , which was pretty cool

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Walnut Ridge

1    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 50  Reviewed: 30
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -very nice long tee pads and nice baskets
-has alot of longer holes but also some shorter ones
-good mix of open and wooded holes
-the woods here did not seem to have as much underbrush as places like Pickard Park so it was a little easier to find discs.
-there was not alot of repeat holes so the course did not get repedative to play
-it was a small park away from everything, a really nice place to play
Cons: -It is not well marked at all, when we played we often had to look for the next hole (especially between 3 and 4)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great, just not my type

1    6/26/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 331  Reviewed: 329  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice huge tees with dual tees on most holes
-Signage is excellant with distances for both pin locations. Signs at both short and long tees as well.
-Nice baskets.
-Bathrooms/drinking fountains at beginning of course
-Practice basket
-Huge parking lot
-Lots of shelters and picnic tables for eating and relaxing.
-Good mix of wooded and open holes.
-Great variation of distances, could use a few more shorter ace runs though.
-A very challenging championship type course. You need all your tricks to be successful here. It also can beat you up mentally if you're not careful.
-Good locals that can help you out when you're lost.
-The park is right on a lake and has some interesting trails/walks between holes.
-Trash cans here and there, course was well maintained and clean.
Cons: -Can be wet after rain as I experienced.
-Can lose a disc in the woods as I experienced
-Hard to find next hole sometimes, also long walking distances between some. My buddy and I had trouble finding holes and a party later had trouble as well. At least tee could have been aimed at multiple baskets. The tee on 5 was missing its sign and is confusing.
-A course of this quality could use some scorecards at the start.
Other Thoughts: This course didn't recieve a 4.5 or 5 due to my own personal preferences. I like shorter courses with more ace runs and not a lot of holes over 400 feet. This course was excellent but just isn't my favorite type of course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.