Johnston (Des Moines), IA 
Walnut Ridge Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #2 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 266ft.   3 / 326ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Long Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Walnut Ridge

1    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 56  Reviewed: 30
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -very nice long tee pads and nice baskets
-has alot of longer holes but also some shorter ones
-good mix of open and wooded holes
-the woods here did not seem to have as much underbrush as places like Pickard Park so it was a little easier to find discs.
-there was not alot of repeat holes so the course did not get repedative to play
-it was a small park away from everything, a really nice place to play
Cons: -It is not well marked at all, when we played we often had to look for the next hole (especially between 3 and 4)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great, just not my type

1    6/26/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice huge tees with dual tees on most holes
-Signage is excellant with distances for both pin locations. Signs at both short and long tees as well.
-Nice baskets.
-Bathrooms/drinking fountains at beginning of course
-Practice basket
-Huge parking lot
-Lots of shelters and picnic tables for eating and relaxing.
-Good mix of wooded and open holes.
-Great variation of distances, could use a few more shorter ace runs though.
-A very challenging championship type course. You need all your tricks to be successful here. It also can beat you up mentally if you're not careful.
-Good locals that can help you out when you're lost.
-The park is right on a lake and has some interesting trails/walks between holes.
-Trash cans here and there, course was well maintained and clean.
Cons: -Can be wet after rain as I experienced.
-Can lose a disc in the woods as I experienced
-Hard to find next hole sometimes, also long walking distances between some. My buddy and I had trouble finding holes and a party later had trouble as well. At least tee could have been aimed at multiple baskets. The tee on 5 was missing its sign and is confusing.
-A course of this quality could use some scorecards at the start.
Other Thoughts: This course didn't recieve a 4.5 or 5 due to my own personal preferences. I like shorter courses with more ace runs and not a lot of holes over 400 feet. This course was excellent but just isn't my favorite type of course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent, Nature Course

1    5/3/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: chelseahawk3
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Set in a nice park. Good mixture of longer and shorter holes. Has nice pads and tees.
Cons: Some holes are not mapped well. Some holes have no signs. There are a few very tight and challenging holes where losing a disc is very possible. Course needs to be mowed more.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice course. If the course were maintained better it could be much nicer. It is very confusing when you don't know which pin is being used.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play

2-4    6/6/2009   5/6/2010
Review By: Caligolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Its in great shape, and is worth your time to play it. It is one of the top ten courses in Iowa.
Cons: Lots of trees, and could lose discs. Can be challenging for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Wasn't very busy, was fast to play.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not for Noobs

1    8/29/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: THansenite
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Makes you chose your shots carefully
- Very challenging for better players
- Nice restroom facilities and places to fill your water bottles
- Good use of elevation
Cons: - Very confusing hole layout
- Grass was pretty long when I was there
- Lots of places to lose discs
- Some overgrown trees could use a trim
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely not for new players. There are some really long holes and VERY tight fairways. Your first time playing, be sure to go with someone that has played before. The hole layouts are very confusing.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Spice of Life

1    6/24/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is lots of variety here. This course has woods, open, multiple pathways, long, short, and creeks. They have nice long tee pads and some tee signs. There seems to be some real pride in keeping this course in good shape. Restrooms and trashcans are available. They do have a practice basket near the first hole. Basket placement on some of the holes is quite challenging. This course has some really fun holes to play. The course actually plays quite differently from the short tee pads compared to the long tee pads which is always the goal of this (however some places never really accomplish it).
Cons: There are some long walks between some holes and you may even have to walk to different parts of the park (crossing streets and so forth). You will need a map for the first couple of times as navigation is tough. This is not a place to play after a heavy rain. Some of the tee signs are missing. You only come in contact with a playground (just barley) once and you do tee off next some private motor home spot once during the round.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor for this course is pretty good. There are enough great holes to make the entire round a real treat! #18 is a great finishing hole since the chance of you getting a 2 or a 5 can swing a round so easily. I would most certainly play this course again in a heartbeat.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great diversity and play value

1    7/1/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: tolson
Played: 132  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 39.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The "Nut" is a well-designed challenge that is appropriate for all levels of disc golfers, except perhaps for the weak-armed beginner for whom the course could be a frustrating marathon. There is a short tee option on each hole, but the layout is still plenty challenging from the front cement pads as well. As I note below (in the "Cons" section), if I were to rate the course on its design alone - especially since I would rate 15 of the 18 holes as being well above average to excellent - it would be a "4.5" caliber course.

After a similar "look" and feel to the first three holes - a chance to warm up your arm and feel for the plastic -- holes 4 through 18 all offer something a bit different. The great diversity of holes require your full arsenal of discs and throwing techniques. To be more specific, the holes lend variety on the following spectrums:
-- Open parkland vs. Tight woods: #1, #2, #7, #13 and #16 are fairly open holes on grassy public park space with plenty of large, leafy hardwoods, with still some hazards and obstacles to either or both sides of the target driving areas as well as closer to the basket. #4, #9, #10, #11, #12, #14, #15, and #18 are all tight enough to trigger forearm tension at the tee - that is, they require a great deal of control right from the first throw.
-- Turns, Fades and Doglegs - "Left" vs. "Right" veering flight paths. Every hole requires some pre-thought at the tee about how you want to angle the disc at the point of release. The ease of your second throw (approach) or putt will depend primarily on how successfully you execute that intended flight path. None of the holes are entirely straight away in nature, and 10 have moderate to severe dogleg/fade requirements. Rewinding my mental video clip, I recall an equal number of holes - five each -- that are primarily right-to-left in orientation (10, 11, 14, end of 15, and 16) and left-to-right in orientation (2, 5, 9, 12, 17). And most of the remaining holes allow you a choice - left, right, straight, or S-curve -- in how you want to navigate tee-to-basket.

Great courses all need signature holes. At Walnut Ridge, I was particularly impressed with these holes that required a combination of length and precision: #4, #5, #9, #10, #15 and #17 (B-pin position). More details of these holes are shared in Other Comments.

Hole #18 is a great finishing hole -- especially for tournament play because there can easily be a two-stroke swing in the score between you and your competitor; a birdie is very possible (an ace not impossible), but equally possible is an errant disc that gets tree-deflected deep into the woods, leading to a bogey or even worse.

Other positives: Cement pads. The signs - when they are present (see also "Cons") - are attractive and a good basic guide to each hole's layout.

Cons: If based only on the individual design of holes 4 through 18, I would rate Walnut Ridge a solid 4.5. What notches it down for me to a 4.1 or 4.2 rating (rounded down to a 4-star) are these nit-picky areas for improvement.

-- Missing signs! Inconsequential for repeat players who know the course, but definitely annoying to the first-time player going at it alone without a local player / guide. On the day I played, signs were missing from a few of the back tees. As noted in the "Pros," the signs that do exist are attractive and give a pretty good sense of the hole layouts.

-- Some course flow issues, especially these two long and confusing intervals (two long walks of 200 to 300 yards): from hole #3 to tee #4; hole #15 to tee #16. Getting lost is not a problem for repeat players or those tagging along with locals Either way, the length of the intervals is a bit of a negative unless, that is, you need those three or four minutes of walking to get over a poor score on the previous hole.

-- The first three holes, design-wise, are somewhat redundant (open space to left, heavy wooded area to the right) and, as a result, forgettable if you stay out of trouble. On the other hand, if you do pull it right (for RHBH throwers) into the trees or, worse yet, all the way over the ledge and down by the shores of Saylorville Lake on #3, then you will not forget these opening homes. I suppose one could argue that these three holes serve the important function of allowing your arm to warm up in time for the real test that begins in the woods on #4.

Other Thoughts: As noted above, the following would be my vote for "signature holes." I also loved holes 11, 12, 13 and 14 and 18, so I could well imagine other players suggesting one or two of these as "signature" quality as well. Any time a DG course can claim this many memorable holes, it is deserving of its high ranking in the 4.0 to 4.5 range. Here are a few comments about the holes I rate most highly:

#4 - after a rather "open" un-shaded start on holes 1 to 3, you head into the woods on this hole; there is a distinct fairway with trees scattered along the way, particularly from around two-thirds of the way there (try to avoid the ricochets as far down the tree-lined fairway as possible)
#5 - the drive can be rather open if you choose, but if you are looking to get the first throw as close as possible, the location of the pin over the hill and down beyond a cluster of trees forces you to throw the disc in close proximity to the "Christmas tree" evergreen (typically to the right of it, unless you are a leftie with a big hyzer); a very precise "S" curve drive is required to get you within range of the well-protected basket
#9 - what a hole this is! It was unfortunate that the back tee was flooded on the day I played; long tee was flooded; but the hole was still interesting from the regular tees as you throw down a fairway well-defined by brush and trees on either side; this requires a well-controlled drive, hopefully to the left center of the fairway so that you have an open throw to the pin at the end of the long, dogleg-right fairway
#10 - the large branch overhanging the fairway (visually appealing) gives you little option but to throw a low, fast screamer off the tee; if you can get past the opening under the branch without ricochets, your 2nd to the hole is made much easier; playing for the first time, I had no idea what trouble awaited to the area on either side of the approach to the hole from around 40 yards out; the overgrown brush and leafy trees hide the fact that there is a steep drop off down into a creek bed that circles around, in a horseshoe fashion, around each side and behind the hole - beware of the discs that roll down deep into these gullies!
#15 - this is a marathon corridor hole; if you manage to not hit any trees on your first two throws, congratulations (you've experienced a minor miracle); any ricochet to the left or right on your first, second or even third throw automatically adds one stroke to your score
#17 - one of the best holes on the course I think; a unique dogleg that requires distance control off the tee; the amateur should aim for a straight throw of between 65 to 80 yards from the long tees; this will set you up to take the right-hand turn through a thick of trees to the hole. If you try to annie it (RHBH) into the opening. Good luck! Any miscalculation - short or long - means you may be adding an automatic stroke to your score.




6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Arguably one of Iowa's finest

5+    6/15/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a nice out in the country feel to it, while still having the manicured aspect of a city course. Dual tees on most of the holes which can give lesser skilled players some relief of an otherwise long layout. I like how the flow transitions from open to wooden, back to open and then wooded again. Lots of parking available and actual restrooms at the first tee. Advanced/Pro level players will really enjoy the challenge from the nearly 8000' course from long tees.
Cons: Can be frustrating trying to find your way around if you're not familiar with the layout. At my last visit there was no map at the kiosk by hole #1. Some spots where the walk between holes is ridiculously long and you can get steered off course easily. Closed for part of the year. Undergrowth in the woods can be thick if you end up in there (hint: try not to end up in there). Woods can be dangerous, particularly if you get deep into them, as there are some steep drop offs. Poison ivy too. Couldn't get to Hole 9's long tee due to flooding. (The short tee is challenging enough though).
Other Thoughts: Quite possibly my favorite Des Moines area course, if not Iowa course. A trip to DSM simply isn't complete without a trip to "the Nut". Some locals might put Ewing Park above WR as their favorite, but I've found the placid nature of this very challenging course to be much more addicting, as I enjoy trying to keep my disc out of the various trouble spots. The wooded holes on the back nine can be esspecially brutal and punishing on you if you're not precise. I almost call the wooded areas here 'roach motels' for discs, as you can get into them very easily, but it may be hell getting them out. For all its challenge, there's very little elevation here and no water hazards. You can see the reservoir off to the right of Hole 3, but if you can put one in the drink, you're playing the wrong game.

This isn't a course you go to on your lunch break (although you could play around the first 3 holes if you wanted). Bring yourself some water or Gatorade and some snacks for this one as its going to take awhile, and unless you have someone spotting, expect some time looking for errant throws into the woods or tall grass. If its humid or there's been recent rain, bring the bug spray and long pants. Not far off of I-80/35 if you're passing through during the open months (May through September) and definitely worth the stop.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

5+    4/20/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: jdggna
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A wide variety of shots. Everything from short to long, left to right, open to narrow.
All quality holes; no simple 200 foot, wide open, straight shots.
This course will challenge most disc golfers to hit par, but if played safe there isn't too much risk for new players.
Much less traffic on the course than other metro courses.
There are restrooms on the course as well.
It has been well maintained every time that I have been there.
Cons: Poison Ivy: I've never gotten it here, but I always wear jeans just in case.
The location of the next pin isn't always obvious, even to people who have played the course once or twice.
Other Thoughts: The time it takes to play could be a concern to some, but it isn't to overwhelming (about 2.5 hours if you're off the fairway a lot)
Try to find a map as the next tee is a several hundred feet away is some cases.
Make sure you follow the small path towards the lake after hole 3. Its truly a great view.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the best

5+    3/5/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 63  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all.
- Cement tee pads
- Multiple tee pads
- Long holes
- Short holes
- Par 3's, 4's & 5's
- Open holes
- Wooded holes
- Water does kind of come into play on one hole.
- Restrooms
- Vending Machines
- Practice Basket
- Plenty of parking
Cons: Close for 3-4 months of the year. You can walk into this course if you want while it is closed. Signage could be a little bit better.
Other Thoughts: Walnut and Pickard are the two best courses in the Des Moines Metro area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.