Johnston, IA 
Walnut Ridge Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 384ft. Par / Distance:
Hole # 6 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Yes! PLAY!

1    10/12/2011   4/19/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 127  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: AWESOME! This course had it huge park lots of space. Holes for everything. At 500ft hole in the woods with a 50ft fairway dead straight. Teepads great, signs great, you new where to go except for 3-4 but i figured it out. Amazing course design.
Cons: The walk from 3-4. Sometimes park was closed but your a disc golfer so figure it out.
Other Thoughts: I played course with the con in action and i was by myself huge park, i fell in love with disc golf all over again. This course is great!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A little over hyped in my opinion

1    9/25/2010   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good baskets and tee pads, nice mix of shot types, pro level 18 hole course,
Cons: Some of the layout is a little goofy, I've only played once but I was glad I was with people who knew where they were going.
Other Thoughts: Based on what I was hearing about this course and it's own self righteous description as the "country club of disc golf" I had high expectations, overall this is just you're average 18 hole course that has enough long shots and challenging hole layouts to be considered a "pro" course, I guess to me it didn't really live up to the hype but it is a solid course overall

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great holes crappy layout

1    8/20/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 138  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great holes. Up down, left right, ba start :)

Seriously though, the only thing this course doesn't have is a water hazard, you will use every shot in your bag (some of them like the right turn you will use a lot).

Nice teepads, great signs. Multiple placements for holes.
Cons: Layout is horseshit. There are like 3 spots where you are walking for 5 minutes between holes. That right there takes a star off for me, that much separation takes you out of the mindset of playing, it really is a buzzkill.

While waiting for the rest of my group I saw multiple groups of people just skip the first 3 holes and start on hole 4 because the first 3 are nothing really special, and there is a long walk between 3 and 4.

Overly punishing rough. If you are less than 10 feet from the fairway you should be able to get it back there with a shot. The super dense rough puts a huge premium on accuracy, but is overly punishing in that if you get in there is no way to save a 3. You cannot get out in one shot even just straight out and hope to hole an approach.

Nothing on the signs to tell you where the pin is. Frustrating to have to go look for the pin when everything else was so well done. This seems to be an Iowa thing as 3 of the courses we played this weekend did the same thing, and it was hellla frustrating.
Other Thoughts: A better layout that didn't have so much extra walking and this is a 4 star course no question. A water hazard of some kind and something on the signs showing what the pin positions are. 5 stars. This was a fun course to play despite the flaws, but I would not make a special trip back to play here.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/18/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: safg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots, some long and some short with a mix of wooded and open areas. Very challenging in some spots, but the challenge is just enough to make it fun and keep you coming back. I played while it was raining, but even before it started raining, traffic on the course was low.
Cons: Can be confusing if you haven't played the course before, signage is not the greatest.
Other Thoughts: Some of the wooded areas can be unforgiving so do your best to stay on the fairway or you could spend quite a bit of time looking for discs. Steep cliff of the right side of #3. Not much elevation change on most holes, which can be bad or good, however you want to look at it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good mix

1    3/14/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great park, with large tee pads. baskets were mach 4s. long pads as well as shorts. for the des moines courses go this one had a good mix of open and wooded holes. thumbers could be used of the tee to place a reachable 2nd shot. had a local guide from the desmoines club show me the course which was very helpful
Cons: it was muddy, not many trashcans, and it was closed...not really aproblem if you know where to park and walk in.....with out a guide or a map this course could be confusing in some spots
Other Thoughts: i really enjoyed the course, the scenery, and the fact that i had the whole park to myself the day i played...also saw a bald eagle flying around , which was pretty cool

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Walnut Ridge

1    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 92  Reviewed: 30
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -very nice long tee pads and nice baskets
-has alot of longer holes but also some shorter ones
-good mix of open and wooded holes
-the woods here did not seem to have as much underbrush as places like Pickard Park so it was a little easier to find discs.
-there was not alot of repeat holes so the course did not get repedative to play
-it was a small park away from everything, a really nice place to play
Cons: -It is not well marked at all, when we played we often had to look for the next hole (especially between 3 and 4)

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great, just not my type

1    6/26/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 364  Reviewed: 357  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice huge tees with dual tees on most holes
-Signage is excellant with distances for both pin locations. Signs at both short and long tees as well.
-Nice baskets.
-Bathrooms/drinking fountains at beginning of course
-Practice basket
-Huge parking lot
-Lots of shelters and picnic tables for eating and relaxing.
-Good mix of wooded and open holes.
-Great variation of distances, could use a few more shorter ace runs though.
-A very challenging championship type course. You need all your tricks to be successful here. It also can beat you up mentally if you're not careful.
-Good locals that can help you out when you're lost.
-The park is right on a lake and has some interesting trails/walks between holes.
-Trash cans here and there, course was well maintained and clean.
Cons: -Can be wet after rain as I experienced.
-Can lose a disc in the woods as I experienced
-Hard to find next hole sometimes, also long walking distances between some. My buddy and I had trouble finding holes and a party later had trouble as well. At least tee could have been aimed at multiple baskets. The tee on 5 was missing its sign and is confusing.
-A course of this quality could use some scorecards at the start.
Other Thoughts: This course didn't recieve a 4.5 or 5 due to my own personal preferences. I like shorter courses with more ace runs and not a lot of holes over 400 feet. This course was excellent but just isn't my favorite type of course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent, Nature Course

1    5/3/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: chelseahawk3
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Set in a nice park. Good mixture of longer and shorter holes. Has nice pads and tees.
Cons: Some holes are not mapped well. Some holes have no signs. There are a few very tight and challenging holes where losing a disc is very possible. Course needs to be mowed more.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice course. If the course were maintained better it could be much nicer. It is very confusing when you don't know which pin is being used.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play

2-4    6/6/2009   5/6/2010
Review By: Caligolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Its in great shape, and is worth your time to play it. It is one of the top ten courses in Iowa.
Cons: Lots of trees, and could lose discs. Can be challenging for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Wasn't very busy, was fast to play.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not for Noobs

1    8/29/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: THansenite
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Makes you chose your shots carefully
- Very challenging for better players
- Nice restroom facilities and places to fill your water bottles
- Good use of elevation
Cons: - Very confusing hole layout
- Grass was pretty long when I was there
- Lots of places to lose discs
- Some overgrown trees could use a trim
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely not for new players. There are some really long holes and VERY tight fairways. Your first time playing, be sure to go with someone that has played before. The hole layouts are very confusing.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.