Tulsa, OK 
McClure Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Flowing Course

1    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 48  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As the title says, this course flows very well, especially the longer you play it. The rolling hills of McClure are a great change of pace from most of the flat courses in Tulsa. Playing alongside the creek makes a lot of shots very risk/reward with the added benefit that the creek is very shallow and easy to retrieve discs from. There is nice hole distance variety, even though all the holes are par 3's.
Cons: This course is a bit overrated in my mind. After playing Redhawk, Blackhawk, Hunter, and Haikey, I don't think this is better than them all, as the overall rating indicates (other than Blackhawk). Hunter and Blackhawk are superior to this course. This course does not offer enough variety. I am a RHFH player, but there are too many flick holes in my opinion, at least relative to backhand holes. There is a big gap in length of holes, but a lot of the holes are all about 320. This course doesn't play through as many trees as one would like to see a shorter course play through.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun hole, but not one of the best in Tulsa. I believe this is about a 3.35, but I will still round it up to a 3.5 because is was quick and fun to play. If you have to choose 2 courses to play, go and play Blackhawk and Hunter, then come and consider McClure.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The classic

5+    6/10/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice variety of distance and technical, with some technical AND long holes. Creek through makes it tough on a lot of holes. Nice use of elevation available.
Cons: Shallow creek is in play on a lot of holes. Not in the nicest part of town. Can run across some crowded times with a walking trail and picnic tables scattered through the park.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the classic DG courses in Tulsa. If you come into town, you must play. Everyone has.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not too tough, but fun

1    4/9/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a well kept multi-use park. A creek comes into play on several holes, adding some nice risk/reward. A few baskets have some roll away potential down to the creek, and a few other shots make you throw over or along it. There is some minor elevation in the park, and it's used pretty well. There are a few downhill holes that are fun, and a few trickier uphill holes.

There is decent variety here, especially for an older course. There are a couple longer holes that let you open up and drive, and lots of shorter holes that are a mix of fairly open and a little tighter. There isn't much rough, but several holes have enough mature trees to make you hit your line. The concrete tees and the baskets are all in pretty good shape, and the course seems nicely maintained.
Cons: Several holes bring walking paths and roads into play, and the shots are open enough that there isn't much stopping errant shots from potentially ending up in dangerous spots. The course plays fairly open, offering simple hyzer lines on many of the holes and there isn't much punishment for errant shots. The signage is in bad shape, and navigation is a little funky in a few spots.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that's fairly beginner friendly. Other than the creek shots, inaccurate throws are easily recovered from, and the lengths aren't anything huge. More experienced players will enjoy some of the more interesting shots, but it doesn't provide a real test for better throwers. I would recommend a stop here if you're in the area, though the Blackhawk/Redhawk combo are a little more interesting and challenging if that's what you're looking for.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun Course

1    8/30/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: Mind Expansi0n
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained, wonderful rolling hills and elevation changes, teesigns are accurate and easy to follow, concrete tees, requires a variety of shots, easy to play in a fairly short amount of time, discs can be retrieved from OB water.
Cons: Some teepads are cracking, some non-DG foot traffic, a couple of holes that play close to a street.
Other Thoughts: Difficulty: Noob - Pro. Thx to a local I met named Nick who let me get in on his round and showed me the course. I was really impressed with this course - it's beautiful, well laid out, and just really fun to play. It isn't a huge course, nor will you lose many discs - a good mix of distance and precision. I threw three discs in the shallow creek that runs through the park and easily retrieved all 3. Really attractive land with rolling hills and mature trees. Well worth a stop if you are in the Tulsa area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/4/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: Spackler
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park setting with a good mixture of trees, a bit of water and some open shots. Some elevation changes but nothing drastic. A few holes are pretty long and will be difficult pars for anyone throwing under 325' but they are still fun and give you sothing to aspire to. Overall a very nice course for just about any skill level.
Cons: With better signs and multiple tees or pin locations I would have given this course a 4
Other Thoughts: Liked the course and I will play here again when I'm in town. Pay attention to the tee sign as there are several holes with sidewalks that are OB. Make sure you have a retreiver of some kind. A disc in the creek is very likely.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old school, but still lots of fun

2-4    11/3/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very popular and well established course. Good for beginner to intermediate level players. Still has some holes that advanced players will like. Not the easiest in town (I'd give that nod to Chandler or Riverside) but this would probably be the next step up when a player is ready to incorporate some water threat. Elevation changes are moderate and are used well. The best holes here are the ones that go over or straddle the creek. Hole 8 is particularly fun because its hard to see where the creek is from the teebox. Community center onsite. Plenty of parking. Pairs up well with Dovillio which is less than a mile to the east.
Cons: The usual problems that come with a multi use park. Lots of people, not all of them DG'ers here on weekends and evenings. A number of fairways that come dangerously close to a walking path or busy street. Be esspecially careful on 6, 15 and 17. Some of the course signage is derelict and unreadable. Knowing which way to tee off can be confusing to people not familiar with the layout. Erosion in some spots.
Other Thoughts: For a 30 year old course, McClure has kept up with the times. It was the first Tulsa course I ever played. It also is the only place that I've ever experienced a tournament player's meeting in an empty swimming pool. Fairly close to I-44 if you're passing through and while not the most challenging course in town, one I would definitely give a go.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Lot of Variety

2-4    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: BCOChris
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: - Nice tee pads and baskets. Everything seems to be in pretty good shape.
- Plenty of variety and challenges. The creek comes into play many times through the round, but usually is not a problem even if a disc does end up there.
- Good combination of birdie opportunities as well as hard to get pars.
Cons: - No signs at all!
- It would be hard to find your way around the first time out without someone who hasn't played it. The first time I played, wound up spending half an hour looking for the 3rd hole. Finally got behind some locals and they led us through the course.
- Park can be very crowded. Most people are oblivious to the fact that they are having a picnic right in the middle of a hole. Kind of frustrating.
Other Thoughts: - Fun course that needs some maintenance in regards to the signs. Other than that, it is a fun and challenging course.

 Nice find in Tulsa

1    5/14/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros: I love how easily accessible this course is from key parts of the city (airport for me), and the fact that you can play it quickly, and with little chance of losing a disc.

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape. The course has Mach baskets in very good condition. Facilities are nice, and there are baseball, basketball, and tennis facilities in the park as well if you are so inclined.

This was a somewhat short, fun course, with a variety of shots to test your accuracy skills. The course actually makes very good use of a very limited amount of space it has to work with.

My memorable holes:
1 - Throwing out from a stand of trees, up a hill and over the path to a downslope to the creek that flows through the park, great design and a tough shot!
3 - I really like shots from an elevated position, and into a stand of trees, and this one is just that. Almost got that deuce!
5 - Tough shot. The ground slopes down from right to left, with the right being tee level, then at the bottom of the slope is the outfield of the baseball field, just left of the fairway. Basket is then on the far slope of the hill about 350+ feet from the tee. Took an OB penalty on this one and had to retrieve a disc from the ball field (should have thrown FH).
8 - Throw over the winding creek, but make sure you don't fade out early or you'll be in knee deep water searching for it.
11 - Don't turn it over! Or you will again be searching in the creek. This hole forces you to stay in a narrow fairway between the walking path and the creek, placement is critical for even a par.
15 - Playing over the big creek again, deceptively simple-looking hole. Just stay right (with FH or anhyzer) and you'll be parked for a deuce. But watch out for the trees in the way which can knock you OB onto the road or into the creek.
17 - Break out the big-arm! This is a wide long hole to test your distance, but a reasonably narrow fairway forcing you to stay somewhat accurate.
18 - Another long hole, but you have to either go over or under a couple trees about 100 feet from the tee, than another 400 or so past that to a basket on a downsloping hill. This hole ate my lunch. Then burped in my face. It looked so easy from the tee but I ended up taking a 6 on it.

Cons: Cons: No map available (that I could find)? Very few tee signs, and in bad condition at that. I was very fortunate to have a local throw the round with me and therefore didn't have much trouble getting around the course. I can't imagine what kind of confusion you'd be in if you have to go at this alone.
There was a LOT of other traffic in the park, as it seems to be used by a large population of people. I only list this as a con since you have to wait a lot of times to make your shot so you don't hit the people that just meander without purpose across the fairways or around baskets.


Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts: My rating of a 3.5 is based on the fact that the course is very fun, and is well laid out. What it needs is mapping! Please someone in the Tulsa area get a PDF map on here (the pictures on the TDS website help but not great with course navigation) and it will make this course a wonderful experience for someone traveling through. I did not consider the non-DG traffic in my rating as this cannot really be helped in a public park in the middle of a city.

If you are in Tulsa and want a challenge, I suggest Blackhawk and Redhawk primarily, but if you have time or want a quick, really fun round, PLEASE check this course out, you will not be disappointed!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    7/4/2008   2/17/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course with lots of different shots. Not a whole lot of shade but theres some. The baskets are good as well. The course has a good mix of short and long and shots. Kind of trashy in the middle, whn we played there were a bunch of homeless on the course. All in all good course though.
Cons: Some of the tee signs are missing and the tee pads are step up pads which is a little difficult for long run ups. Lots of people so get ready for a long round.
Other Thoughts: The creek looks like it could get up high after a rain. Thie is pretty close to Dovillio.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/29/2006   11/29/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 38.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a classic course.1st i've played in Tulsa,I think it was 85?
Anyway one you wouldn't regret taking the time to play.Very challenging and a well maintained park.
Cons: Can't get there enough LOL.The only thing that bothers me is the T Pads,Step up to concrete.
Other Thoughts: Of course you'll have people flooding this place on the weekends, It's not that bad really.Just be careful.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.