Tulsa, OK 
McClure Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 480ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Among the best

1    6/19/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: vancraft
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety and safe conditions. Manicured lawns and a lot of variety. Several distance holes and a few short challenges.
Cons: I can't think of any, other than that I miss some of the old holes, before the park was reorganized.
Other Thoughts: This was the 1985 World Championship final round course, I walked with champion, Harold Duvall (cofounder of Innova) that day. His discs were the top in the game.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites

5+    7/7/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: homeskule87
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Frequently mowed.
Concrete tee pads.
Alternate tee pads are labeled on sidewalk (you just have to look for them).
Good mixture of long and short holes.
Risk/Reward holes all along the creek.
It is possible, but it's hard to lose a disc out here.
This course usually dries out pretty quick after a rain.
Putting basket / warm up area.
Cons: Signs are either faded out or missing.
There can be quite a bit of trash blowing around from lazy picknickers.
Not the nicest part of Tulsa.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course that'll always be a challenge for me.

*Memorable holes*

Hole #2 is an ace run with OB on all sides.

Hole #5 is a 500+ft bomb from an elevated tee.

Hole #8 has a creek running right across the fairway.

Hole #15 Shoots across a giant part of the creek and depending on the pin placement can be a nightmare for righties.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

An oldie but a goodie

2-4    12/22/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has an excellent variety, and it is very attractive for every skill level. There is really not a rough, so bad shots are not terribly hard to recover from. Beginners can probably enjoy this course, because it's not too punishing. However, intermediate players will find some challenge and even pros would probably enjoy a round here.

The trees are used very well. Also, the creek is in play on several holes and adds some extra challenge.

Baskets and tee pads are in fine condition. There are restrooms, water fountains, discs(?), and a course map (?) in the gym. I didn't check that myself, but that's what I understood. A walking trail, along with the gym and tennis courts give a variety of other activities. There is plenty of parking.
Cons: Several signs are missing or damaged. Navigation is pretty easy on most holes, but could be made easier with a few well placed signs.

I don't like playing by a busy road and a couple of holes play along a road. Also pedestrians on the walking path could occasionally interfere.
Other Thoughts: All in all, McClure is a very enjoyable course. It offers several challenges with no severe punishment and makes for an enjoyable round. A big arm would have several birdie opportunities, but very few easy ones.

Tulsa is an incredible disc golf city. McClure is one of the best courses in town. Definitely a good choice!

PS If you have time for two rounds, play here twice. Don't waste your time driving to Dovillio.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Little Gem in Tulsa

1    12/22/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete tees
Good baskets
Good tee signs
Great flow/navigation
Great use of the elevation
Well kept
Love the use of the water hazards
Creek is well taken care of (not a muddy mess)
Great variety of shots
Uphill, downhill, across water, beside water, open, technical, short, long
Benches/ trashcans
Very little trash
Bridges in good shape
Bathrooms/vending machines
Nice walking path
Great use of OB to improve the challenge
A few multiple pin locations
Good for beginners to advanced
Good risk/ reward

Favorite Hole(s): #2, #5, #11
Cons: A few tee signs need work
A few erosion proplems that they are currently working on
Could use a few more benches/trash cans
Maybe a couple more bridges
Walking path and street comes into play on a few holes
A few well placed trees would take the challenge up a notch
Other Thoughts: Tulsa and the disc golfers of the are should be proud of this little gem. While it may not be the best in the area it is place to go and relax and work on all your shots. We went in the dead of winter with 25mph winds and loved it. I can imagine how nice this place must be in the Spring/Summer. Great place to take your family and have a lot of fun right in the middle of Tulsa.

I will be back without a doubt. If in Tulsa this is a stop that should be made.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

McClure

5+    7/4/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I play this course a lot, probably at least once a week. I think its one of the best in Tulsa. Great mix of slightly technical shots to bombers. Excellent use of the creek that runs through the park, it comes into play on about half the course. Holes 5, 10, and 12 are some great crusher holes, they provide a decent amount of elevation change as well.
Cons: Discs can get lost in the silty creek if you play after it rains. 18th hole really sux, its just long flat and straight.
Other Thoughts: McClure is a great course. Its a decent challenge with some really interesting holes - hole #9 is a really tricky hole with some high risk/reward. Its largely a pretty open course, but the trees/obstacles that are there are very thoughtfully used. Good for everyone from beginners to advanced players.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Solid choice for a course

2-4    6/22/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: RJDunkman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mixture of holes, with some shorter holes with trees in the way, some longer more open holes to let it fly, and a creek that comes into play on a few holes.

The course itself is in good shape, excellent concrete tee pads and baskets, and the grass is generally mowed well.

The course is playable for less experienced players but still offers enough variety to keep skilled players interested.

It is pretty hard to lose a disc out there. It's not even that hard to retrieve a disc from the creek in most places and there is not much other rough areas where it's hopeless trying to find a disc.

I didn't find it very difficult to navigate the course, a couple weird spots where two tee pads are in the same area.
Cons: The course has a walking path through some of it and there can be a decent amount of pedestrians walking through, but not too bad. I did have a little kid start to walk off with my disc one time after throwing it and had to chase him down to get it back.

Not much elevation change, but better than most courses in eastern Oklahoma.

Not the best area of town, I don't know that I'd come out on my own around dark but it doesn't seem to be much of a concern.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course overall. A good mixture of different types of holes, and a pretty good variety of shots required.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Place to Play

1    11/27/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: KCVinnie
Played: 50  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of the creek in the design which provides for plenty of risk/reward shot options on the course.
Good use of the walking path on hole 6 to make the short hole more demanding.
Good mix of open holes, left to right, right to left...felt like I used my entire bag.
Although it helps on a few holes, a big arm is not necessary for the majority of the course.
Cons: Some of the tee signs did not show the multiple tee positions.
The course was pretty crowded on the day I played, resulting in a 2 hour round.
As others have stated, lots of non-disc traffic, just be aware when playing.
Other Thoughts: The course reminded me a lot of Vista Del Camino in Scottsdale. Very similar in that most holes were along a creek with walking paths near with OB. Definitely a good stop on my travels from Kansas City to Texas.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/3/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: beans
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice long shots lots of challenges and finess test you greatly here course is well kept and moderatley shaded for those sunny oklahoma days
Cons: gotta watch oout for pedistrians very popular park with alot going on which is great for tulsa but not so good for dgers
Other Thoughts: great course fun to play good challenge

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Paradise

2-4    10/11/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: MarkFLTRI
Played: 71  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course for this novice.
Nice elevation changes from the tees.
I'm a little under 300 off the tee, so this course was just about the right length.
Cons: Holes 16, 17 and 18 are simply long and straight, not much character.
Not much else negative to say about McClure.
Other Thoughts: I drove from Dallas Texas to play this course and I wasn't disappointed. This is probably not a favorite of those who prefer heavily wooded, 500 plus foot holes. If you live within a day's travel, by all means take the time to enjoy this one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/15/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: ericjones
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good course to learn on. hole 10 and 12 have good open areas to throw and not worry too much about hitting anybody. bery fun to play any time of the year
Cons: there are lots of people here occasionally
a few water hazs but that part of the challange

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.