Tulsa, OK 
McClure Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 440ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very Fun Course

1    8/30/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: Mind Expansi0n
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained, wonderful rolling hills and elevation changes, teesigns are accurate and easy to follow, concrete tees, requires a variety of shots, easy to play in a fairly short amount of time, discs can be retrieved from OB water.
Cons: Some teepads are cracking, some non-DG foot traffic, a couple of holes that play close to a street.
Other Thoughts: Difficulty: Noob - Pro. Thx to a local I met named Nick who let me get in on his round and showed me the course. I was really impressed with this course - it's beautiful, well laid out, and just really fun to play. It isn't a huge course, nor will you lose many discs - a good mix of distance and precision. I threw three discs in the shallow creek that runs through the park and easily retrieved all 3. Really attractive land with rolling hills and mature trees. Well worth a stop if you are in the Tulsa area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/3/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: beans
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice long shots lots of challenges and finess test you greatly here course is well kept and moderatley shaded for those sunny oklahoma days
Cons: gotta watch oout for pedistrians very popular park with alot going on which is great for tulsa but not so good for dgers
Other Thoughts: great course fun to play good challenge

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite

5+    6/27/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: shyflyguy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes, wide open, wooded, water. Some holes can be a little long, Any discs lost are usually easily retrieved. Course is simple to follow, and spread out enough to provide adequate play.
Cons: An occasional long hole. Not an area to be caught in at sunset. Stay out of the water, who's knows what chemicals are in it (I've seen it bright blue).
Other Thoughts: Holes 17 & 18 seem overly long, and since 18 plays past the parking lot is usually skipped. A favorite course among our weekly group, which is varied between new players and experienced throwers.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/4/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: Spackler
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park setting with a good mixture of trees, a bit of water and some open shots. Some elevation changes but nothing drastic. A few holes are pretty long and will be difficult pars for anyone throwing under 325' but they are still fun and give you sothing to aspire to. Overall a very nice course for just about any skill level.
Cons: With better signs and multiple tees or pin locations I would have given this course a 4
Other Thoughts: Liked the course and I will play here again when I'm in town. Pay attention to the tee sign as there are several holes with sidewalks that are OB. Make sure you have a retreiver of some kind. A disc in the creek is very likely.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old school, but still lots of fun

2-4    11/3/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very popular and well established course. Good for beginner to intermediate level players. Still has some holes that advanced players will like. Not the easiest in town (I'd give that nod to Chandler or Riverside) but this would probably be the next step up when a player is ready to incorporate some water threat. Elevation changes are moderate and are used well. The best holes here are the ones that go over or straddle the creek. Hole 8 is particularly fun because its hard to see where the creek is from the teebox. Community center onsite. Plenty of parking. Pairs up well with Dovillio which is less than a mile to the east.
Cons: The usual problems that come with a multi use park. Lots of people, not all of them DG'ers here on weekends and evenings. A number of fairways that come dangerously close to a walking path or busy street. Be esspecially careful on 6, 15 and 17. Some of the course signage is derelict and unreadable. Knowing which way to tee off can be confusing to people not familiar with the layout. Erosion in some spots.
Other Thoughts: For a 30 year old course, McClure has kept up with the times. It was the first Tulsa course I ever played. It also is the only place that I've ever experienced a tournament player's meeting in an empty swimming pool. Fairly close to I-44 if you're passing through and while not the most challenging course in town, one I would definitely give a go.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/26/2007   12/12/2009
Review By: Janbobbo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Most holes are well designed and will offer the casual players some nice challenges.
- The elevation changes, the creek and the nice park setting really makes this a pleasant place for disc golf.
- The baskets are in good shape and the teepads also, although they could be more level with the ground.
- Helpful locals! I've never had an for me unknown person essentially dive into a creek to fetch my disc for me back home in Sweden, but here I did!
Cons: - The park is a busy place and they're not all disc golfers which means you sometimes will have to wait in order to play.
- A parking lot is in play on hole #11, you never want stand by the tee and feel like your shot might cause damage to a car.
- The course could use some tools for fetching your disc from the creek because it's definitely in play.
- Could use some more longer holes.
Other Thoughts: The fact that so many other activities interact with your play keeps my rating of this course down at 3. However, I see a higher potential of this course with some modifications if that could lead to keeping other activities seperated from the disc golf course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Paradise

2-4    10/11/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: MarkFLTRI
Played: 71  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course for this novice.
Nice elevation changes from the tees.
I'm a little under 300 off the tee, so this course was just about the right length.
Cons: Holes 16, 17 and 18 are simply long and straight, not much character.
Not much else negative to say about McClure.
Other Thoughts: I drove from Dallas Texas to play this course and I wasn't disappointed. This is probably not a favorite of those who prefer heavily wooded, 500 plus foot holes. If you live within a day's travel, by all means take the time to enjoy this one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lot of Variety

2-4    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: BCOChris
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: - Nice tee pads and baskets. Everything seems to be in pretty good shape.
- Plenty of variety and challenges. The creek comes into play many times through the round, but usually is not a problem even if a disc does end up there.
- Good combination of birdie opportunities as well as hard to get pars.
Cons: - No signs at all!
- It would be hard to find your way around the first time out without someone who hasn't played it. The first time I played, wound up spending half an hour looking for the 3rd hole. Finally got behind some locals and they led us through the course.
- Park can be very crowded. Most people are oblivious to the fact that they are having a picnic right in the middle of a hole. Kind of frustrating.
Other Thoughts: - Fun course that needs some maintenance in regards to the signs. Other than that, it is a fun and challenging course.

 Nice find in Tulsa

1    5/14/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros: I love how easily accessible this course is from key parts of the city (airport for me), and the fact that you can play it quickly, and with little chance of losing a disc.

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape. The course has Mach baskets in very good condition. Facilities are nice, and there are baseball, basketball, and tennis facilities in the park as well if you are so inclined.

This was a somewhat short, fun course, with a variety of shots to test your accuracy skills. The course actually makes very good use of a very limited amount of space it has to work with.

My memorable holes:
1 - Throwing out from a stand of trees, up a hill and over the path to a downslope to the creek that flows through the park, great design and a tough shot!
3 - I really like shots from an elevated position, and into a stand of trees, and this one is just that. Almost got that deuce!
5 - Tough shot. The ground slopes down from right to left, with the right being tee level, then at the bottom of the slope is the outfield of the baseball field, just left of the fairway. Basket is then on the far slope of the hill about 350+ feet from the tee. Took an OB penalty on this one and had to retrieve a disc from the ball field (should have thrown FH).
8 - Throw over the winding creek, but make sure you don't fade out early or you'll be in knee deep water searching for it.
11 - Don't turn it over! Or you will again be searching in the creek. This hole forces you to stay in a narrow fairway between the walking path and the creek, placement is critical for even a par.
15 - Playing over the big creek again, deceptively simple-looking hole. Just stay right (with FH or anhyzer) and you'll be parked for a deuce. But watch out for the trees in the way which can knock you OB onto the road or into the creek.
17 - Break out the big-arm! This is a wide long hole to test your distance, but a reasonably narrow fairway forcing you to stay somewhat accurate.
18 - Another long hole, but you have to either go over or under a couple trees about 100 feet from the tee, than another 400 or so past that to a basket on a downsloping hill. This hole ate my lunch. Then burped in my face. It looked so easy from the tee but I ended up taking a 6 on it.

Cons: Cons: No map available (that I could find)? Very few tee signs, and in bad condition at that. I was very fortunate to have a local throw the round with me and therefore didn't have much trouble getting around the course. I can't imagine what kind of confusion you'd be in if you have to go at this alone.
There was a LOT of other traffic in the park, as it seems to be used by a large population of people. I only list this as a con since you have to wait a lot of times to make your shot so you don't hit the people that just meander without purpose across the fairways or around baskets.


Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts: My rating of a 3.5 is based on the fact that the course is very fun, and is well laid out. What it needs is mapping! Please someone in the Tulsa area get a PDF map on here (the pictures on the TDS website help but not great with course navigation) and it will make this course a wonderful experience for someone traveling through. I did not consider the non-DG traffic in my rating as this cannot really be helped in a public park in the middle of a city.

If you are in Tulsa and want a challenge, I suggest Blackhawk and Redhawk primarily, but if you have time or want a quick, really fun round, PLEASE check this course out, you will not be disappointed!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    7/4/2008   2/17/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course with lots of different shots. Not a whole lot of shade but theres some. The baskets are good as well. The course has a good mix of short and long and shots. Kind of trashy in the middle, whn we played there were a bunch of homeless on the course. All in all good course though.
Cons: Some of the tee signs are missing and the tee pads are step up pads which is a little difficult for long run ups. Lots of people so get ready for a long round.
Other Thoughts: The creek looks like it could get up high after a rain. Thie is pretty close to Dovillio.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.