Tulsa, OK 
McClure Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Not too tough, but fun

1    4/9/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a well kept multi-use park. A creek comes into play on several holes, adding some nice risk/reward. A few baskets have some roll away potential down to the creek, and a few other shots make you throw over or along it. There is some minor elevation in the park, and it's used pretty well. There are a few downhill holes that are fun, and a few trickier uphill holes.

There is decent variety here, especially for an older course. There are a couple longer holes that let you open up and drive, and lots of shorter holes that are a mix of fairly open and a little tighter. There isn't much rough, but several holes have enough mature trees to make you hit your line. The concrete tees and the baskets are all in pretty good shape, and the course seems nicely maintained.
Cons: Several holes bring walking paths and roads into play, and the shots are open enough that there isn't much stopping errant shots from potentially ending up in dangerous spots. The course plays fairly open, offering simple hyzer lines on many of the holes and there isn't much punishment for errant shots. The signage is in bad shape, and navigation is a little funky in a few spots.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that's fairly beginner friendly. Other than the creek shots, inaccurate throws are easily recovered from, and the lengths aren't anything huge. More experienced players will enjoy some of the more interesting shots, but it doesn't provide a real test for better throwers. I would recommend a stop here if you're in the area, though the Blackhawk/Redhawk combo are a little more interesting and challenging if that's what you're looking for.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Place to Play

1    11/27/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: KCVinnie
Played: 52  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of the creek in the design which provides for plenty of risk/reward shot options on the course.
Good use of the walking path on hole 6 to make the short hole more demanding.
Good mix of open holes, left to right, right to left...felt like I used my entire bag.
Although it helps on a few holes, a big arm is not necessary for the majority of the course.
Cons: Some of the tee signs did not show the multiple tee positions.
The course was pretty crowded on the day I played, resulting in a 2 hour round.
As others have stated, lots of non-disc traffic, just be aware when playing.
Other Thoughts: The course reminded me a lot of Vista Del Camino in Scottsdale. Very similar in that most holes were along a creek with walking paths near with OB. Definitely a good stop on my travels from Kansas City to Texas.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun Course

1    8/30/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: Mind Expansi0n
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained, wonderful rolling hills and elevation changes, teesigns are accurate and easy to follow, concrete tees, requires a variety of shots, easy to play in a fairly short amount of time, discs can be retrieved from OB water.
Cons: Some teepads are cracking, some non-DG foot traffic, a couple of holes that play close to a street.
Other Thoughts: Difficulty: Noob - Pro. Thx to a local I met named Nick who let me get in on his round and showed me the course. I was really impressed with this course - it's beautiful, well laid out, and just really fun to play. It isn't a huge course, nor will you lose many discs - a good mix of distance and precision. I threw three discs in the shallow creek that runs through the park and easily retrieved all 3. Really attractive land with rolling hills and mature trees. Well worth a stop if you are in the Tulsa area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/3/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: beans
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice long shots lots of challenges and finess test you greatly here course is well kept and moderatley shaded for those sunny oklahoma days
Cons: gotta watch oout for pedistrians very popular park with alot going on which is great for tulsa but not so good for dgers
Other Thoughts: great course fun to play good challenge

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite

5+    6/27/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: shyflyguy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes, wide open, wooded, water. Some holes can be a little long, Any discs lost are usually easily retrieved. Course is simple to follow, and spread out enough to provide adequate play.
Cons: An occasional long hole. Not an area to be caught in at sunset. Stay out of the water, who's knows what chemicals are in it (I've seen it bright blue).
Other Thoughts: Holes 17 & 18 seem overly long, and since 18 plays past the parking lot is usually skipped. A favorite course among our weekly group, which is varied between new players and experienced throwers.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/4/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: Spackler
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park setting with a good mixture of trees, a bit of water and some open shots. Some elevation changes but nothing drastic. A few holes are pretty long and will be difficult pars for anyone throwing under 325' but they are still fun and give you sothing to aspire to. Overall a very nice course for just about any skill level.
Cons: With better signs and multiple tees or pin locations I would have given this course a 4
Other Thoughts: Liked the course and I will play here again when I'm in town. Pay attention to the tee sign as there are several holes with sidewalks that are OB. Make sure you have a retreiver of some kind. A disc in the creek is very likely.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old school, but still lots of fun

2-4    11/3/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 342  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 13.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very popular and well established course. Good for beginner to intermediate level players. Still has some holes that advanced players will like. Not the easiest in town (I'd give that nod to Chandler or Riverside) but this would probably be the next step up when a player is ready to incorporate some water threat. Elevation changes are moderate and are used well. The best holes here are the ones that go over or straddle the creek. Hole 8 is particularly fun because its hard to see where the creek is from the teebox. Community center onsite. Plenty of parking. Pairs up well with Dovillio which is less than a mile to the east.
Cons: The usual problems that come with a multi use park. Lots of people, not all of them DG'ers here on weekends and evenings. A number of fairways that come dangerously close to a walking path or busy street. Be esspecially careful on 6, 15 and 17. Some of the course signage is derelict and unreadable. Knowing which way to tee off can be confusing to people not familiar with the layout. Erosion in some spots.
Other Thoughts: For a 30 year old course, McClure has kept up with the times. It was the first Tulsa course I ever played. It also is the only place that I've ever experienced a tournament player's meeting in an empty swimming pool. Fairly close to I-44 if you're passing through and while not the most challenging course in town, one I would definitely give a go.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/26/2007   12/12/2009
Review By: Janbobbo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Most holes are well designed and will offer the casual players some nice challenges.
- The elevation changes, the creek and the nice park setting really makes this a pleasant place for disc golf.
- The baskets are in good shape and the teepads also, although they could be more level with the ground.
- Helpful locals! I've never had an for me unknown person essentially dive into a creek to fetch my disc for me back home in Sweden, but here I did!
Cons: - The park is a busy place and they're not all disc golfers which means you sometimes will have to wait in order to play.
- A parking lot is in play on hole #11, you never want stand by the tee and feel like your shot might cause damage to a car.
- The course could use some tools for fetching your disc from the creek because it's definitely in play.
- Could use some more longer holes.
Other Thoughts: The fact that so many other activities interact with your play keeps my rating of this course down at 3. However, I see a higher potential of this course with some modifications if that could lead to keeping other activities seperated from the disc golf course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Paradise

2-4    10/11/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: MarkFLTRI
Played: 73  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course for this novice.
Nice elevation changes from the tees.
I'm a little under 300 off the tee, so this course was just about the right length.
Cons: Holes 16, 17 and 18 are simply long and straight, not much character.
Not much else negative to say about McClure.
Other Thoughts: I drove from Dallas Texas to play this course and I wasn't disappointed. This is probably not a favorite of those who prefer heavily wooded, 500 plus foot holes. If you live within a day's travel, by all means take the time to enjoy this one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lot of Variety

2-4    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: BCOChris
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.6 Years
Pros: - Nice tee pads and baskets. Everything seems to be in pretty good shape.
- Plenty of variety and challenges. The creek comes into play many times through the round, but usually is not a problem even if a disc does end up there.
- Good combination of birdie opportunities as well as hard to get pars.
Cons: - No signs at all!
- It would be hard to find your way around the first time out without someone who hasn't played it. The first time I played, wound up spending half an hour looking for the 3rd hole. Finally got behind some locals and they led us through the course.
- Park can be very crowded. Most people are oblivious to the fact that they are having a picnic right in the middle of a hole. Kind of frustrating.
Other Thoughts: - Fun course that needs some maintenance in regards to the signs. Other than that, it is a fun and challenging course.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.