Tulsa, OK 
McClure Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 280ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Among the best

1    6/19/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: vancraft
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety and safe conditions. Manicured lawns and a lot of variety. Several distance holes and a few short challenges.
Cons: I can't think of any, other than that I miss some of the old holes, before the park was reorganized.
Other Thoughts: This was the 1985 World Championship final round course, I walked with champion, Harold Duvall (cofounder of Innova) that day. His discs were the top in the game.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Flowing Course

1    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As the title says, this course flows very well, especially the longer you play it. The rolling hills of McClure are a great change of pace from most of the flat courses in Tulsa. Playing alongside the creek makes a lot of shots very risk/reward with the added benefit that the creek is very shallow and easy to retrieve discs from. There is nice hole distance variety, even though all the holes are par 3's.
Cons: This course is a bit overrated in my mind. After playing Redhawk, Blackhawk, Hunter, and Haikey, I don't think this is better than them all, as the overall rating indicates (other than Blackhawk). Hunter and Blackhawk are superior to this course. This course does not offer enough variety. I am a RHFH player, but there are too many flick holes in my opinion, at least relative to backhand holes. There is a big gap in length of holes, but a lot of the holes are all about 320. This course doesn't play through as many trees as one would like to see a shorter course play through.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun hole, but not one of the best in Tulsa. I believe this is about a 3.35, but I will still round it up to a 3.5 because is was quick and fun to play. If you have to choose 2 courses to play, go and play Blackhawk and Hunter, then come and consider McClure.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites

5+    7/7/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: homeskule87
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Frequently mowed.
Concrete tee pads.
Alternate tee pads are labeled on sidewalk (you just have to look for them).
Good mixture of long and short holes.
Risk/Reward holes all along the creek.
It is possible, but it's hard to lose a disc out here.
This course usually dries out pretty quick after a rain.
Putting basket / warm up area.
Cons: Signs are either faded out or missing.
There can be quite a bit of trash blowing around from lazy picknickers.
Not the nicest part of Tulsa.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course that'll always be a challenge for me.

*Memorable holes*

Hole #2 is an ace run with OB on all sides.

Hole #5 is a 500+ft bomb from an elevated tee.

Hole #8 has a creek running right across the fairway.

Hole #15 Shoots across a giant part of the creek and depending on the pin placement can be a nightmare for righties.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

An oldie but a goodie

2-4    12/22/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has an excellent variety, and it is very attractive for every skill level. There is really not a rough, so bad shots are not terribly hard to recover from. Beginners can probably enjoy this course, because it's not too punishing. However, intermediate players will find some challenge and even pros would probably enjoy a round here.

The trees are used very well. Also, the creek is in play on several holes and adds some extra challenge.

Baskets and tee pads are in fine condition. There are restrooms, water fountains, discs(?), and a course map (?) in the gym. I didn't check that myself, but that's what I understood. A walking trail, along with the gym and tennis courts give a variety of other activities. There is plenty of parking.
Cons: Several signs are missing or damaged. Navigation is pretty easy on most holes, but could be made easier with a few well placed signs.

I don't like playing by a busy road and a couple of holes play along a road. Also pedestrians on the walking path could occasionally interfere.
Other Thoughts: All in all, McClure is a very enjoyable course. It offers several challenges with no severe punishment and makes for an enjoyable round. A big arm would have several birdie opportunities, but very few easy ones.

Tulsa is an incredible disc golf city. McClure is one of the best courses in town. Definitely a good choice!

PS If you have time for two rounds, play here twice. Don't waste your time driving to Dovillio.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Little Gem in Tulsa

1    12/22/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete tees
Good baskets
Good tee signs
Great flow/navigation
Great use of the elevation
Well kept
Love the use of the water hazards
Creek is well taken care of (not a muddy mess)
Great variety of shots
Uphill, downhill, across water, beside water, open, technical, short, long
Benches/ trashcans
Very little trash
Bridges in good shape
Bathrooms/vending machines
Nice walking path
Great use of OB to improve the challenge
A few multiple pin locations
Good for beginners to advanced
Good risk/ reward

Favorite Hole(s): #2, #5, #11
Cons: A few tee signs need work
A few erosion proplems that they are currently working on
Could use a few more benches/trash cans
Maybe a couple more bridges
Walking path and street comes into play on a few holes
A few well placed trees would take the challenge up a notch
Other Thoughts: Tulsa and the disc golfers of the are should be proud of this little gem. While it may not be the best in the area it is place to go and relax and work on all your shots. We went in the dead of winter with 25mph winds and loved it. I can imagine how nice this place must be in the Spring/Summer. Great place to take your family and have a lot of fun right in the middle of Tulsa.

I will be back without a doubt. If in Tulsa this is a stop that should be made.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The classic

5+    6/10/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice variety of distance and technical, with some technical AND long holes. Creek through makes it tough on a lot of holes. Nice use of elevation available.
Cons: Shallow creek is in play on a lot of holes. Not in the nicest part of town. Can run across some crowded times with a walking trail and picnic tables scattered through the park.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the classic DG courses in Tulsa. If you come into town, you must play. Everyone has.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 McClure

5+    7/4/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I play this course a lot, probably at least once a week. I think its one of the best in Tulsa. Great mix of slightly technical shots to bombers. Excellent use of the creek that runs through the park, it comes into play on about half the course. Holes 5, 10, and 12 are some great crusher holes, they provide a decent amount of elevation change as well.
Cons: Discs can get lost in the silty creek if you play after it rains. 18th hole really sux, its just long flat and straight.
Other Thoughts: McClure is a great course. Its a decent challenge with some really interesting holes - hole #9 is a really tricky hole with some high risk/reward. Its largely a pretty open course, but the trees/obstacles that are there are very thoughtfully used. Good for everyone from beginners to advanced players.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid choice for a course

2-4    6/22/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: RJDunkman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mixture of holes, with some shorter holes with trees in the way, some longer more open holes to let it fly, and a creek that comes into play on a few holes.

The course itself is in good shape, excellent concrete tee pads and baskets, and the grass is generally mowed well.

The course is playable for less experienced players but still offers enough variety to keep skilled players interested.

It is pretty hard to lose a disc out there. It's not even that hard to retrieve a disc from the creek in most places and there is not much other rough areas where it's hopeless trying to find a disc.

I didn't find it very difficult to navigate the course, a couple weird spots where two tee pads are in the same area.
Cons: The course has a walking path through some of it and there can be a decent amount of pedestrians walking through, but not too bad. I did have a little kid start to walk off with my disc one time after throwing it and had to chase him down to get it back.

Not much elevation change, but better than most courses in eastern Oklahoma.

Not the best area of town, I don't know that I'd come out on my own around dark but it doesn't seem to be much of a concern.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course overall. A good mixture of different types of holes, and a pretty good variety of shots required.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not too tough, but fun

1    4/9/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a well kept multi-use park. A creek comes into play on several holes, adding some nice risk/reward. A few baskets have some roll away potential down to the creek, and a few other shots make you throw over or along it. There is some minor elevation in the park, and it's used pretty well. There are a few downhill holes that are fun, and a few trickier uphill holes.

There is decent variety here, especially for an older course. There are a couple longer holes that let you open up and drive, and lots of shorter holes that are a mix of fairly open and a little tighter. There isn't much rough, but several holes have enough mature trees to make you hit your line. The concrete tees and the baskets are all in pretty good shape, and the course seems nicely maintained.
Cons: Several holes bring walking paths and roads into play, and the shots are open enough that there isn't much stopping errant shots from potentially ending up in dangerous spots. The course plays fairly open, offering simple hyzer lines on many of the holes and there isn't much punishment for errant shots. The signage is in bad shape, and navigation is a little funky in a few spots.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that's fairly beginner friendly. Other than the creek shots, inaccurate throws are easily recovered from, and the lengths aren't anything huge. More experienced players will enjoy some of the more interesting shots, but it doesn't provide a real test for better throwers. I would recommend a stop here if you're in the area, though the Blackhawk/Redhawk combo are a little more interesting and challenging if that's what you're looking for.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Place to Play

1    11/27/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: KCVinnie
Played: 51  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of the creek in the design which provides for plenty of risk/reward shot options on the course.
Good use of the walking path on hole 6 to make the short hole more demanding.
Good mix of open holes, left to right, right to left...felt like I used my entire bag.
Although it helps on a few holes, a big arm is not necessary for the majority of the course.
Cons: Some of the tee signs did not show the multiple tee positions.
The course was pretty crowded on the day I played, resulting in a 2 hour round.
As others have stated, lots of non-disc traffic, just be aware when playing.
Other Thoughts: The course reminded me a lot of Vista Del Camino in Scottsdale. Very similar in that most holes were along a creek with walking paths near with OB. Definitely a good stop on my travels from Kansas City to Texas.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.