Tulsa, OK 
McClure Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice find in Tulsa

1    5/14/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros: I love how easily accessible this course is from key parts of the city (airport for me), and the fact that you can play it quickly, and with little chance of losing a disc.

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape. The course has Mach baskets in very good condition. Facilities are nice, and there are baseball, basketball, and tennis facilities in the park as well if you are so inclined.

This was a somewhat short, fun course, with a variety of shots to test your accuracy skills. The course actually makes very good use of a very limited amount of space it has to work with.

My memorable holes:
1 - Throwing out from a stand of trees, up a hill and over the path to a downslope to the creek that flows through the park, great design and a tough shot!
3 - I really like shots from an elevated position, and into a stand of trees, and this one is just that. Almost got that deuce!
5 - Tough shot. The ground slopes down from right to left, with the right being tee level, then at the bottom of the slope is the outfield of the baseball field, just left of the fairway. Basket is then on the far slope of the hill about 350+ feet from the tee. Took an OB penalty on this one and had to retrieve a disc from the ball field (should have thrown FH).
8 - Throw over the winding creek, but make sure you don't fade out early or you'll be in knee deep water searching for it.
11 - Don't turn it over! Or you will again be searching in the creek. This hole forces you to stay in a narrow fairway between the walking path and the creek, placement is critical for even a par.
15 - Playing over the big creek again, deceptively simple-looking hole. Just stay right (with FH or anhyzer) and you'll be parked for a deuce. But watch out for the trees in the way which can knock you OB onto the road or into the creek.
17 - Break out the big-arm! This is a wide long hole to test your distance, but a reasonably narrow fairway forcing you to stay somewhat accurate.
18 - Another long hole, but you have to either go over or under a couple trees about 100 feet from the tee, than another 400 or so past that to a basket on a downsloping hill. This hole ate my lunch. Then burped in my face. It looked so easy from the tee but I ended up taking a 6 on it.

Cons: Cons: No map available (that I could find)? Very few tee signs, and in bad condition at that. I was very fortunate to have a local throw the round with me and therefore didn't have much trouble getting around the course. I can't imagine what kind of confusion you'd be in if you have to go at this alone.
There was a LOT of other traffic in the park, as it seems to be used by a large population of people. I only list this as a con since you have to wait a lot of times to make your shot so you don't hit the people that just meander without purpose across the fairways or around baskets.

Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts: My rating of a 3.5 is based on the fact that the course is very fun, and is well laid out. What it needs is mapping! Please someone in the Tulsa area get a PDF map on here (the pictures on the TDS website help but not great with course navigation) and it will make this course a wonderful experience for someone traveling through. I did not consider the non-DG traffic in my rating as this cannot really be helped in a public park in the middle of a city.

If you are in Tulsa and want a challenge, I suggest Blackhawk and Redhawk primarily, but if you have time or want a quick, really fun round, PLEASE check this course out, you will not be disappointed!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    7/4/2008   2/17/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 15.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course with lots of different shots. Not a whole lot of shade but theres some. The baskets are good as well. The course has a good mix of short and long and shots. Kind of trashy in the middle, whn we played there were a bunch of homeless on the course. All in all good course though.
Cons: Some of the tee signs are missing and the tee pads are step up pads which is a little difficult for long run ups. Lots of people so get ready for a long round.
Other Thoughts: The creek looks like it could get up high after a rain. Thie is pretty close to Dovillio.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/15/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: ericjones
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good course to learn on. hole 10 and 12 have good open areas to throw and not worry too much about hitting anybody. bery fun to play any time of the year
Cons: there are lots of people here occasionally
a few water hazs but that part of the challange

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    11/29/2006   11/29/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 40.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a classic course.1st i've played in Tulsa,I think it was 85?
Anyway one you wouldn't regret taking the time to play.Very challenging and a well maintained park.
Cons: Can't get there enough LOL.The only thing that bothers me is the T Pads,Step up to concrete.
Other Thoughts: Of course you'll have people flooding this place on the weekends, It's not that bad really.Just be careful.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/24/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: phatrinks
Played: 68  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of my fav's in Tulsa. Good park right in the middle of town with plenty of length and variety. Can get quite windy which adds a whole new challenge to the opening holes where deuces should be easy.
Cons: Multiple activities can be going on in the park so it can get busy with people not discing.
Other Thoughts: Make a special trip to play this course if you can. It won't disappoint.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Looks fun, be ready to go fishin'

1    8/31/2008   9/7/2008
Review By: anoncow
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course, easily found for out of towners like me, friendly folk around for guidance. Creek through middle adds various challenges
Cons: Not well signed (many have been vandalized or stolen), some tees in poor condition (dirt tees). This park is a flood control zone.
Other Thoughts: Park looks busy at times - you may have to play around some holes if families set up picnic in the middle of the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course (during the day)

6/14/2008   6/14/2008
Review By: Jmac21
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes long straight, and obstructed.
Cons: Not the greatest area, not very well lite.
Other Thoughts: Play early in the day

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Most often played course

5/12/2008   5/19/2008
Review By: Highryder
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a variety of shot possibilitys for every hole. With different winds the course plays very differently.
Good pads and baskets.
Cons: Don't try to play on Sunday afternoon and expect to play all holes. There are pedestrians, soccer fields, and picnickers
Other Thoughts: I play here most often because it has some big shots, some skill shots, and plenty of alternate lines.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 mcclures allure

4/23/2008   4/24/2008
Review By: jfraosu
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good lengthy park, variety of shots forced by the layout of the course and one or two holes that you can just let go and really hurl the disc, the signs that could be read had nice pictures of the holes and marked the distance
Cons: Some Kids shot up alot of the signs with paintballs and the signs cannot be read, the ones that could be read did not list the pars.
Other Thoughts: playing along the river was a good challenge the course was well designed and is now one of my favorites

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 McClure Park

4/23/2008   4/23/2008
Review By: ixcptmorganxi
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course. There are a wide variety of shots and several tee boxes on top of hills which makes for some really fun drives. Nice park as well.
Cons: Grass could use some mowing but it was okay anyway's. The creek is a nice hazard but take some shorts in case you drop one in the water. Signs could use some repair.
Other Thoughts: Course is extremely long. Lots of walking is required including up and down hills. Easy to navigate and a nice challenge. Really enjoy this course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.