O'Fallon, MO 
Fort Zumwalt Park Share
Uploaded By: Broll Hole #16
3 / 237ft.   3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Fun Beginner/Intermediate Course

1    8/1/2015   8/2/2015
Review By: renaudski
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course yesterday and had a lot of fun.

Overall this course will be challenging for newer players and a nice easy course for more experience players. All holes reviewed as RHBH

Hole 1 - Short par three. Used a DX Leopard to fade left to right. Cleared the trees (luckily) and was able to drop in for a birdie. Nice hole.

Hole 2 - Par 3. One of the more open holes. Need a nice drive and low to get past the trees. Can't remember what disc I used, but I did hit the tree and had to pitch and putt in for par.

Hole 3 - Short par 3 again. Need to either fade in left to right (DX Leopard again) or a side arm. Easily birdie with a good drive.

Hole 4 - Par 3... Here's your chance for a long bomb. Open and hole position in a pretty good spot. Echostar driver put me nice and close.

Hole 5 - Par 3 - Pretty annoying.... A lot of trees... Good luck Threw Discmania Fever low and skipper

Hole 6 - Par 3 - Short and wooded on a hill... Innova Roc hit a tree. Threw it again and got lucky on a bounce. Dropped in for par.

Hole 7 - Can't remember anything about this hole except it is wooded.

Hole 8 - Side arm hole... Used my trusty Champion Boss and chucked it down the hill. Fun hole. Technical but managable.

Hole 9 - Hyzer time! Used my Echostar Destroyer for a nice drive.

Hole 10/11 - Parallel to one another. Long with trees intermixed with the fairway. Destroyer again.

Hole 12 - My least favorite. Filler to round off the course. Slight turn to the left. Sidearm or fade... Chose the fade with the Leopard but I don't have that kind of range with that disc. Ended up with a pitch and putt for par.

Hole 13 - Got really lucky. Wooded and long. Destroyer flew through the trees and gave me a nice putt for bird opportunity.

Hole 14 - Short and technical. Very nasty with the trees. Used my Roc on a gentle flip to get some nice glide right to left. Overshot the hole though.

Hole 15 - Side arm and up hill through the tree. Very fun if you can get out of the woods

Hole 16 - Long hole that turns left. Side armers will be able to get down into the hole w/ little difficulty.

Hole 17 - Throwing from the open into the trees. Players have to try to thread through again.

Hole 18. Technical and tight with alleys for both RHBH to throw backhand or sidearm. I elected sidearm as there seems to be a larger window. Short enough that if you hit a tree you can recover
Cons: There are some holes, the very wooded ones, that require exceptionally technical holes that almost all players will run the risk of hitting a tree.

It can be frustrating as these holes seem 'unfair' and require mostly luck...
Other Thoughts: Almost all of these holes are forgiving in the fact that if you hit a tree on the drive you can recover. Fun course that's not too long that it wears out your arm and not so wooded you feel like you are always frustrated.

This course is pretty good for the area and with the exception of some unreasonable wooded holes, a very fun and relaxing course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    5/12/2015   5/12/2015
Review By: Lazerface
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I waited several months to see if the holes that have virtually no fairway would be cleaned up a bit - well it has been in for a long while, and I think what you see is what you get with this one. I want to give less than 3.0, but in reality this course is about 5 or 6 holes away from a great course, so I'm giving it a 3, which = Good - per the rating scale.
Most of this course is GREAT. Excellent use of the land and some really great holes.
It is a typical Gateway/Dave Mac design requiring good placement shots and some good risk/reward - with the exception of the holes I list below.
Cons: If it were not for the handful of TERRIBLE gimmicky holes that have a gauntlet of trees and good shots are about 90% dependent on good luck we would have a true gem.
All off the comments below reflect the long tees. I have not played the shorts, so please take that into consideration.

Hole 2 - Tee Pad is positioned behind a group of old growth trees. There are several gaps to hit - all of which are not a true shot shape and are too small to consider fair. After that it is wide open and the basket is tucked into the tree line on the right. This may have been an attempt at Risk/Reward but was a failed attempt. When it comes to competition this is the kind of hole that players dread because skill is not the key factor here. I have resorted to throwing a little forehand roller off the tee, then a putter upshot, and treat it like a 300 FT PAR 4. Yes, I have aired out a perfect backhand and parked the hole - but the idea of Risk/Reward is conceptually about a player having to decide - any experience player knows you don't go for this type of hole in competition because the risk is just silly. The gaps that you actually have to hit to shape a true shot shape become about 3 feet wide or less (when factoring in the trees closer/farther).

Hole 7 - Another PAR 3 distance hole that is best treated as a PAR 4 if you don't want to deal with the 40 or so 4 inch diameter trees spread throughout the fairway. There is a legit side arm gap that you can hit on the left side of the fairway, but because of the curve of the left tree line and numerous trees that eventually interrupt the line, a lay up is best. Once again - this shot can be parked - but it is completely dependent on luck and going for it means risking hitting a small tree and shooting into the rough. Remove some trees and create a fairway here and this hole is great - it has a really cool shape and green down toward a pond. As it is right now - TRASH

Hole 8 B - OK, hole 8 A is a great tunnel shot - tight but fair - more recently I noticed they put in another position up to the right - so you have a clean tunnel for 200 feet, then just a bunch of skinny trees before you reach the basket - for this position - best shot is a straight up the middle and then try to make a 50 footer. There is a clean gap, but it's a 90 degree turn at the end of the short tunnel so...... - STUPID

Hole 11 - Again, more huge trees just off the tee pad and an EXTREMELY LOW ceiling. Problem is, if you hit the first gap, you are heading right for more giant trees. Once again, it is really close to an excellent hole with moving the tee pad over and creating a tight and risky line to go for it, or lay up. Not sure what they were thinking here. Great green, I especially like the long position. For me RHBH - I throw a low skip hyzer towards 10s fairway - typically hit a tree and land somewhere in the middle and putter up shot.

Hole 14 - No comment - this is simply a waste of life and makes me want to puke. Everyone try to hit the little S turn 150ft side arm gap that turns out to be about 3 foot side when you factor in the early/late trees.

Hole 15 - Dear God, who did this???? What really gets me is this should be the best hole on the course. I guess they figured they could make it a PAR 5 by delegitimizing the fairway - from the long pad you have a low ceiling and your aiming point is a large tree directly in the middle of the fairway about 200 FT away (first mistake). The landing area given is small, but worst of all - ITS NOT A GOOD PLACE TO LAND. If you throw a nice touch shot about 100 feet in front of the am pad (this is the only shot that negates throwing through the woods and crossing your fingers) and land dead center of the mulch - well, you have no good 2nd shot. The shape of the first fairway - s turn through the woods, does not allow for a 2nd shot to at least get you out to the open - this means you are actually better off when your tee shot lands off the fairway and you may have a chance to get out and maybe get an Eagle putt pending everything lines up OK. I hate to play lucky golf so I throw the touch shot off the tee, then a gimmicky little forehand or putter back hand another 150 feet up the fairway or so, and then try to nut my 3rd shot on the really cool sloping and guarded green. What I hate most is that with the removal of some trees, this could be one of those memorable holes, but as it stands, it is just a gimmick one again based on luck rather than skill.

Hole 17 - this hole is not as bad as the ones above - but I'm adding it because 90% of the golfers are going to throw straight up the gut - and when the long position is in, this is pretty much a poke and hope halfway there . I throw a huge spike hyzer up and around, but this is a big shot and the majority of casual players cannot execute this.
Other Thoughts: I love challenging holes. I especially love Risk/Reward. What I am describing above is challenging by gimmickry, not by good design. When I first played, I just assumed it was a work in progress, then pads went in, tape came off trees, and it's going to take 10 or 15 years to make fairways via tree smacks.
So far, it is the worst Gateway design I've played - and I consider Dave to be a premier designer.
**Keep in mind there are a lot of politics in course design and every removal of a tree requires permission - for all I know, this was not the final plan, but ended up being so. I don't have those details, so I'm giving an honest review as is. **
I sincerely appreciate all the hard work that went into it, and this area has been begging for a disc golf course for many years.
I have 7 holes listed above, but one is jus a pin placement and the other is really not that bad. Meaning there are only 5 throw away holes and 13 really good ones.
My 3 rating is being nice because 5 holes is a lot, and this is perhaps one of the worst courses for tournament play due to the high luck factor on some of these holes. I assure you many high level players echo my thoughts here.
I know there are golfers out there that like this type of gold - it certainly does level the playing field and allow average Joes to out shoot above average Joes with a couple of bad breaks.
All the holes are fixable by creating true fairways and removing some trees.
Make no mistake, I'm not all about cutting down the forest - but if you cannot create a reasonable fairway, then don't put in a permanent tee pad - bottom line.

The most frustrating part about it is that my scoring spread here is always based on if I get shafted on one of the above mentioned holes or note. I think 54 is really solid here.

I look forward to seeing the course in another 10 years or so.....

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice course, very pretty landscape

1    10/12/2014   10/14/2014
Review By: maxburn
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I (had) to play 'the fort' before it closed for the holiday season. I plan to visit next spring, for sure!
All 18 holes are short-ish. Very fair, lots of righty shots, threading of needles, down hill, uphill.
All set in a beautiful chunk of woods.
There is nicely maintained turf, great woods and a clean lake. (not in play except for a few holes at most).
Tee pads are concrete.
baskets are perfect
Laid back atmosphere, can feel secluded in spots.
Cons: Take a map first outing. I was lucky and buddied up with a few regulars. It helped navigate, but the course flows well. (Only a few tees are across a street or out of view from the last basket).
A little muddy the day I played, I could imagine that in summer it would offer some great skips.
Not much wrong here, be ready to throw short, accurate shots. And avoid tree trunks. There is a lot more air than there is tree trunks, so it should be easy, right? ;>
Other Thoughts: I can certainly see how game management is important here. You may want to lay up to stay out of the woods, or avoid hitting a tree squarely, and to get into putting range with minimal throws. Easy to park, seems like the other park goers are aware of flying discs and the course, generally. Nice and clean grounds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1    8/20/2014   8/20/2014
Review By: StLZep
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2015
Pros: Really pretty park. Excellent tees and baskets. Forced to throw different types of shots(one of my fav parts of disc golf).
Cons: Layout was a bit confusing, even with a black and white map. Print a color one. The wooded holes are too a bit to tight for my liking. We played the short tees on most of them cuz the likelihood of getting through the lines wasn't worth the risk of plinking a tree from the pro tee and not making it to the short tree.
Update from a year later...between my improvement and more of the brush and small trees being cleared, I found this a much more fun and manageable course. Looking forward to playing it again.
Other Thoughts: I really liked about half the holes of the course. The park is great and if you know the layout, it's a nice walk.
A very fun course when you execute your shots.

Decent, But Needs Work

5+    7/20/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: stlstretch2
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very tidy course
Good mix of long and short tees
Bright, easy to find baskets
Tees are constructed well
Cons: Not well laid out
No bridges over some creeks
Practice basket in bad location
Other Thoughts: Pretty good for a new course. I've been playing disc golf for about 4 years now, and I find this course tough because it's overgrown and worn out. Once it's more well known, I think the course will get a lot better.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun for beginners

1    7/13/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: cronek
Played: 45  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park setting. Holes were placed nicely away from other park goers. Lot's of shade. Two tee placements made this course beginner friendly. Looks like it would be a challenge from long tees, too. We had a large group of kids age 6 to 12 and it was very playable from the short tees.
Cons: A couple holes were too risky around water and pit hazards, especially for beginners. Hole 10 seemed to have wrong distance on sign, seemed to be marked about 100 feet too short.
Other Thoughts: Two nice restrooms near the course. Great variety of open field and tight wooded shots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

"Fort" -titude

1    6/11/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: thrillthrower
Played: 51  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight, technical shots
Left to right and right to left
Elevation Changes
Woods, and a few open holes
Textured tee pads - very classy -
Professionally looking tee signage
Multiple tee pads, A/B pin placements
Decent distance from long pads
Cons: Without map difficult to follow
A little muddy/wet after rain

Other Thoughts: Great change up from others courses in St. Louis
Loved it - need to be precise with shot selection and placement off tee -

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Fort

2-4    4/24/2014   4/25/2014
Review By: birdman101
Played: 56  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off the course went through a slight redesign along with having a lot of work done over the winter/ early spring when it was closed for the festival of lights.

It plays through a fairly busy park, but with a few exceptions most of the holes play away from other park patrons, but there are several places where really errant shots could get close to bystanders or vehicles.

every hole has 2 concrete tees, and 2 pin placements (unsure who has keys or how often the baskets will get moved). but between the 2 you could change the course up and work on different aspects of your game.

Most of the holes either play into, out of or through the woods, meaning you have to be accurate.some of the holes have some length as well forcing you to think a little bit as to how you play the hole.

with the 2 placements on every hole it seems to even out the lefty vs. righty holes a little better.

Baskets are still virtually brand new, and the tee signs have a picture of the hole along with distances for both tees, and a clip showing which pin location is currently in play.
Cons: Course still lacks some amenities that most of us look for. I don't recall seen many trash cans on the course itself, and there are only a handful of benches (several of which already have disc chargers drawn on them :/ )

There are only tee signs at the long tees, which isn't terrible most of the holes you have to walk past it to get to the short tee anyway.

There are a couple of ditch crossings that could use a bridge of some kind.

The flow is a little strange in spots as well (seems to be a common trend with new courses in the area). You do have to cross/ walk on the park road several times.

There is no parking lot for the course, you just park on the left hand side of the road that runs through the park. So the course loops back to your car between holes 5 and 6, but then never gets you back over there. After holes 18 you have to walk a short stretch down the road to get back to the start.
Other Thoughts: There is a practice basket by the first tee, but its a different style basket than the ones on the course.

There is a bathroom right by the first tee, and attached to the wall by the 1st tee is a box containing score cards and maps (assuming it stays full).

seems to draw in a bit of a crowed (not as bad as quail), but the course is difficult enough that it may scare off some of the new players.

The parks department and everyone involved seems to be putting a lot of effort into the course so changes could still happen.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Updates

2-4    7/26/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 120  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **UPDATE**
I haven't been out to this course in a while, but I'm please to share that they've made some serious upgrades to the course that will certainly push up my rating! Multiple pin placements & concrete tee pads - tee signs and a lot of the underbrush has been cleared.
New Baskets - Restrooms - Works Out Your Short Game - You Get a Good Walk in - Well-Maintained Park

Honestly, the best part about this course is that it is another place to play in St. Charles which means the sport is continuing to grow and the other courses (hopefully) won't be as crowded. The brand new Discatchers are nice and easy to see once you walk up the fairways. This course is a great place to hone in on your forehand shots and turnover midranges (if you throw RHBH).

The new pin placements and multiple tee pads give this course a lot more variety and challenge. There are still areas with broken flow that would be difficult to navigate without a map or guide. But, the course seems to get a lot of traffic, so shouldn't be too hard to find someone to drop in with or follow.
Cons: Interesting Layout - Repetitive Hole Design - Crowded Park - Lots of Casuals - Parking

The first 6 holes aren't terrible in regards to flow, but there is more walking then there needs to be. The walk between 6 & 7 on the other hand, is pretty long. Hole 9 does not cycle back to the parking area. They have better signage now, but without it, you'd easily get lost. The park wraps around a beautiful lake but (unfortunately) it doesn't really come into play except on hole 6.

Nearly every hole was a left to right shot. If you're left handed, you'll probably love it but the rightys need bring plenty of understable mids, flick shots and patience. This course also attracts a lot of casuals that don't understand speed of play or etiquette.

Other Thoughts: The recent updates at this course double the enjoyment you can have here. Again, the flow is still somewhat fragmented in places, but the multiple pin placements and multiple tee pads give you a ton of options each time you approach the hole. The new tee signs are also really helpful for those who haven't been to the course before. I still think they should get a second set of signs for the shorter tee pads, but it's obvious that this course is moving in the right direction!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another Gem in the St. Charles Crown!

1    8/21/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 199  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: "The Fort", the newly-installed addition to the St. Charles line up (The Ranch, The Ridge, The Crik & The Wood), is an exceedingly beautiful county park course that winds through mature woods, up and down rolling inclines that will engage and challenge your game. Can you say tunnels? Low ceilings? Lots of lefty shots? The fort has it!
The tees are marked by white stones, one has the hole number and distance, the other a drawn map of the hole that is simple but effective. The red tees, the "kid" tees, are super short but ideal for kid-sized beginners. The white tees, well... They're quite a bit more challenging, adding not only length but different shot choice angles to many of the holes.
Navigation was pretty clear and simple, using arrows to point you around.
The course will take you through tightly wooded tunnels, wide rolling fairways guarded by mature trees, and moderate elevation changes just about every hole.
The park itself is quite lovely, wrapping around a popular fishing lake.
I had an awesome time playing the Fort and will definitely play it again and again!
UPDATE 4/18/14: There are now dual concrete tees in place, imprinted with a very cool wood plank relief and big descriptive tee signs at each long tee. There are plenty of trash cans around the course as well. And about six million trees to hit. The Fort just gets better!
Cons: It's a brand new course, with plans for growth. That said, it needs trash cans and concrete tees. (UPDATE 4/18/14: dual concrete tees and ample trash cans abound)
Also, I was made to understand that it is a heavily-trafficked park on the weekends, and the course, while away from the obviously-populated areas, still winds close to people.
Other Thoughts: Play the Fort. Seriously. Quite fun.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.