Huntsville, AL 
Mastin Lake Share
Uploaded By: cumurph Hole #8
3 / 279ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Underrated compared to nearby courses and near Dreamland BBQ!

1    11/1/2013   6/24/2014
Review By: filobedo
Played: 183  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.8 Years
Pros: Here goes but I hope I do not get the holes mixed up particularly on the back. I played this course on a day that I also played Brahan Springs and I enjoyed this much more due to the scenery (foliage in the fall was spectacular) and elevation on a few holes. I initially went to Indian Creek and there was probably the largest monthly I have ever seen going on by a club (appeared to be at least 100 players) so I had the other courses to myself. There were a few hardcore dgers at Brahan that were not very courteous or helpful so I played it fast and headed to Mastin (I guess they were stressed about paying $250 for their brand new dg bags and another $150 on their brand new dg logo wear. The only other time I have encountered locals that did not seem accommodating while traveling was at Winter Park in WI). This course was definitely worth the drive across town and below are the highlights.
#1 - #2 - Short tight holes for shotmakers which were great to start off with a Roc
#5 - up and over hill with slight anhyzer at the end
#6 - fun hole up hill to basket on flat ground. Good shot at birdie if played smart
#7 - # 9 - Tight tunnel shots were accuracy is a must. Very good holes which can change a round.
Somewhere between #10 - #12 there is a very fun hyzer hole where you start off low and the basket is elevated about 20 feet higher than the teepad where accurate teeshot is a must for birdie.
#13 - one of the longer holes on the course where the teeshot must be accurate for shot at par.
#15 - great hole (hope I am not confusing with #13). Shot across creek to place in fairway then up hill to a pin on the left when played.
#17 - Great downhill tunnel shot. No room for error and it is all of 350' but plays about 280'.

Cons: No biggie but I think #3 and #4 are not consistent with the course because they play out of the woods over a creek into a field and then into the woods over the creek from the woods.
Other Thoughts: This was a very fast play and fun. I could see this being a great course for midrange practice and placement shots. I could also see less egos playing here due to the short holes and accuracy being a premium. Not only is the course great but it is only about a 5 minute ride to Dreamland BBQ which was another fantastic stop on my trip. I would think most in the area would note Redstone or Indian Creek as the best or must plays and I would agree but if you like old school courses, I would play this if Brahan is crowded.

 Lora

1    9/30/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: loraski
Played: 56  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: We loved this course. We are still relatively new to the sport and it gave us a confidence boost! The course was very well marked and tee pads and baskets were nice.
Cons: Couldn't find anything we didn't like!
Other Thoughts: We enjoy courses like this when you don't have to go through thick underbrush to find errant discs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Southern Hospitality

1    8/31/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Teepads, signage, hole-by-hole variety.
Other Thoughts: Mastin Lake is a largely wooded and well cared for par 54 course that serves as an excellent complement to the nearby UAH course. Like the UAH course, Mastin Lake is well laid out and takes full advantage of its landscape. Also like the UAH course, Mastin Lake has those extras that set it apart - nice concrete tees (one set on every hole, and two on many), excellent signage that makes it first time friendly, and plenty of benches. But while UAH plays open, somewhat long, and flat, Mastin Lake plays strictly par 3, mostly in the woods, and mostly on a hill, either up, down, or along. Master both courses and you will certainly have a fully rounded game.

Beyond amenities, shot variety is the standout feature of Mastin Lake. Yes, it's the sort of course where a mid-range off the tee is often the call, but all of the fairways are plenty fair and call for shots going straight, right, left, out into the open, back into the woods, uphill, downhill, along flat ground, and/or along a sloping hill. There's plenty of hole by hole variety out here, which to me is key to enjoying a course. Like many wooded courses, mistakes can be punished in the most frustrating manner, but stay on course and there's a chance at a birdie on a bunch of holes.

Overall, I rate this course Good, or well worth checking out if you're in the area. Taken hole by hole, it's on the high side of typical, with the positive of hole by hole shot variety offset by the average par 54 length and the predominance of one type of landscape vs. a good variety. Add in the teepads and signage, plus ease of navigation and the couple of somewhat distinctive holes and it gets firmly into Good territory, in my view.

Favorite hole - #17 - Steep downhill fairway in the woods crosses creek and then hooks left to a basket in the open.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 All around great course

1    3/23/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: superchadw
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really enjoyed this course. Had 4 other people with me that was there first time and they had a blast. There's not many areas that your disc can be lost or buried to where you cant find it like other places ive been. Ive played a good bit and thought it was challenging enough for me.
Cons: There was a football game going on in the park next to a pin and we had to skip that hole due to it. Not a huge deal though.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mastin Lake

1    5/29/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 97  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 6.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thought this was a very enjoyable course. It's situated along a nice forested hill in a nice little park. It begins at the base of the hill and slowly works its way up and back down. Although there are plenty of elevation changes none of the holes particularly capitalize on drastic up or downhill shots save for hole 17. It's a big and tight downhill shot that punches out into the open before 18 brings you back into the woods. A couple other holes punch out as well. One of them is through a wooded fairway to a small field with an OB culvert and another punch out towards a residential area. There is a punch in as well. It shoots back over a creek/ditch and the tee pad is just a few feet from the pit bull's back yard and he will let you know he is there for sure. Other tight shots abound with trees scattered along the fairways and they offer plenty of obstacles. There are two very pronounced doglegs, one left turning and one right turning with some elevation mixed in. They help with the already diverse shot types considering most of the holes are in heavily wooded areas. The holes vary in length but they do tend to lean towards the short side. The longest hole is only 366' but still makes for a somewhat challenging three.

This course has good baskets, good signage, and nice concrete tee pads. There are a few holes with alternate pads and there are a few alternate pin placements as well. You'll also find a variety of benches scattered around the course.

The course seems thoughtfully designed. Holes one and eighteen are near the parking lot, and the flow is good except for one pronounced spot. The hole nine/ten transition is close enough to the parking lot as well.
Cons: Nothing stands out as a huge con on this course to me. If you dislike short wooded courses this might not be one for you. A handful of longer and open holes could really diversify the course and probably become a favorite. Beyond that and besides each individual's pet peeves you should not have a whole lot to complain about. It's a pretty solid course.

The transition between ten's basket and eleven's tee pad is worth mentioning. It has you walking right behind 17's tee pad. If there are times when the course is crowded it will be distracting for the folks playing 17.
Other Thoughts: If this course had just a little more variety I would give it a four. As it stands I will give it a strong 3-1/2. Keep in mind that I love wooded courses though.

This is another really nice Huntsville course. What a pleasure it must be for the Huntsville locals to have so many choices in courses that are so close together. If you are planning a trip to Huntsville, make sure you give yourself enough time to hit several courses, including this one. Enjoy.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Coarse

1    1/5/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: chainbanger14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mixture of tight shots and open fairways! elevation changes. there is a creek that runs through part of the course.
Cons: no cons particularly agrivating. wish there was a bridge in some spots to cross the creek
Other Thoughts: in all a great course, btw watch out for the pitbull on one of the holes. i nicknamed him hercules

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wait...wheres the lake?

5+    2/16/2008   8/21/2009
Review By: The Drake
Played: 96  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mastin Lake is a very diverse wooded course. Nearly every hole requires a unique approach requiring you to really know every disc in your bag. There's a great variety of elevation changes. The fairways are open and legitimate without the random middle-of-the fairway-trees you find at some wooded courses to "add difficulty". With the other courses in the area Mastin Lake is a great supplemental course to Huntsville's disc golf scene.
Cons: There aren't a whole lot of cons to this course. It doesn't have a lot of distance so you can leave your drivers in the car if you're a long arm.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course several times and to me is one of the underecognized courses in Huntsville. With UAH and Redstone within a few minutes drive its understandable this course isn't the hot topic, but its definitely worth playing if you've got sometime, can't get on Redstone, and don't feel like throwing your arm out a UAH.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/13/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 190  Reviewed: 122  Exp: 22.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A nice short woodsy track that runs through modest elevation and reasonable fairways. Nice to see multiple pin placements and some extra tees on some holes. I really enjoyed having a few ace runs mixed with some longer holes to keep it from being a pitch & putt course. There is one hole (12?) where a 3 is hard-earned with a good drive. The course is technical but will all skill levels in my group were having fun. The locals are great- three of us united to play and had never met each other before! Signs on all the tees appear new and the baskets are all numbered and bright.
Cons: A few "next tee" signs would be helpful in a couple places. Navigation is not too tough otherwise. A practice basket would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I think that courses with multiple pins should follow PA course Tyler St. Park's example- put a little rotating dial which indicates which position the pin is in. It can save some walking and guessing, especially when it comes to doglegs.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Can score low, but still challenging

5+    7/23/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: BmaEngnr92
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads and signage are on every hole. The course winds along the side of a hill and the holes play through thick trees and shule. It's not a long course, but pretty challenging for it's length due to some of the small fairways. It's a great course for a beginner who feels like they are starting to outgrow Brahan, and allows an up and coming player to open up their game a little more.
Cons: Better signage for navigation would help someone playing the first time. Also, I've had a few problems with non-players walking around the course and a couple of times, even leaning on the basket I'm throwing toward.
Other Thoughts: Basically, it's a step up from Brahan, challenge wise, but still allows for a fun enjoyable round. I've seen some pros go really low here, and then turn around and shoot marginal. There's a lot of trees, and a lot of areas to make mistakes. I thoroughly enjoy playing Mastin; I should get out here to play this course more than I do. If you're in the area and can play only one course, maybe look at UAH/Redstone/Monte Sano, but if you've got time for a few courses, you'll definitely want to add this one to your itinerary.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Throw In The Woods!

1    7/6/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 712  Reviewed: 663  Exp: 36.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is set up mostly on the side of a hillside. It does seem as though you play along the hill more than up and down. It's tight and technical but I felt the design was very well thought out. We didn't feel there were any "throwaway holes" where they just stuck a hole in there to get you to the next place. We had no problem navigating the course for the first time. There were tee signs on almost every hole, they must be new. They're nice and informative. We did have to walk ahead a few times and figure out where the basket was. There are multiple basket placements and a couple holes have multiple pads. The pads were more than adequate. My favorite hole was one where you threw across the lawn to a basket just across the large, deep ditch (empty in July). That would be kinda of scary hole when that ditch was filled w/water. It's nice and shady in the Bama sun. Many holes have benches/logs to rest on.
Cons: There's no place for the big air throw. It's tight. I guess the rough is thick compared to many Alabama courses.
Other Thoughts: Enough challenge for everyone, I think, but not so long or foreboding that a newbie can't enjoy it. We brought someone playing only his second time time after Brahan Springs and even though he shot 20 over, he loved the course. So it's newbie friendly.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.