Huntsville, AL 
Mastin Lake Share
Uploaded By: SimonCarr Hole #17
3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice shaded course

1    6/16/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: slowRoll
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mastin Lake is a very good example of a pitch and putt course. The fairways are very fair with slight bends to the right or left, but overall nothing drastic to make you feel as if the shot isn't there for you to execute. Most of the holes on this course are under 300' and many were under 250'. This provided an excellent opportunity to work on teeing off with mids and putters and to focus on playing a controlled game.

As stated in the title, this course in almost entirely in the woods and offers great relief from the summer sun. The baskets all appeared to be in good shape and the teeboxes were very large and in good order.
Cons: Several of the tees have uphill blind shots that require you to walk half the way up the fairway to see where the pin is at. There also was a great deal of evidence of a recent storm so we were clearing braches from the fairway as we walked down them. For an Open or Advanced player this course will not offer much of a challenge but I suppose that could be a Pro to some players that like to play a confidence building round every now and then.
Other Thoughts: Overall Mastin was a nice change of pace course for Huntsville. When I think of the Rocket city, I think of Redstone and grueling rounds at UAH battling to stay anywhere close to par. Mastin is instead the type of course where you step up to every teebox with a chance to birdie almost every single hole.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Southern Hospitality

1    8/31/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Teepads, signage, hole-by-hole variety.
Other Thoughts: Mastin Lake is a largely wooded and well cared for par 54 course that serves as an excellent complement to the nearby UAH course. Like the UAH course, Mastin Lake is well laid out and takes full advantage of its landscape. Also like the UAH course, Mastin Lake has those extras that set it apart - nice concrete tees (one set on every hole, and two on many), excellent signage that makes it first time friendly, and plenty of benches. But while UAH plays open, somewhat long, and flat, Mastin Lake plays strictly par 3, mostly in the woods, and mostly on a hill, either up, down, or along. Master both courses and you will certainly have a fully rounded game.

Beyond amenities, shot variety is the standout feature of Mastin Lake. Yes, it's the sort of course where a mid-range off the tee is often the call, but all of the fairways are plenty fair and call for shots going straight, right, left, out into the open, back into the woods, uphill, downhill, along flat ground, and/or along a sloping hill. There's plenty of hole by hole variety out here, which to me is key to enjoying a course. Like many wooded courses, mistakes can be punished in the most frustrating manner, but stay on course and there's a chance at a birdie on a bunch of holes.

Overall, I rate this course Good, or well worth checking out if you're in the area. Taken hole by hole, it's on the high side of typical, with the positive of hole by hole shot variety offset by the average par 54 length and the predominance of one type of landscape vs. a good variety. Add in the teepads and signage, plus ease of navigation and the couple of somewhat distinctive holes and it gets firmly into Good territory, in my view.

Favorite hole - #17 - Steep downhill fairway in the woods crosses creek and then hooks left to a basket in the open.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Can score low, but still challenging

5+    7/23/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: BmaEngnr92
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads and signage are on every hole. The course winds along the side of a hill and the holes play through thick trees and shule. It's not a long course, but pretty challenging for it's length due to some of the small fairways. It's a great course for a beginner who feels like they are starting to outgrow Brahan, and allows an up and coming player to open up their game a little more.
Cons: Better signage for navigation would help someone playing the first time. Also, I've had a few problems with non-players walking around the course and a couple of times, even leaning on the basket I'm throwing toward.
Other Thoughts: Basically, it's a step up from Brahan, challenge wise, but still allows for a fun enjoyable round. I've seen some pros go really low here, and then turn around and shoot marginal. There's a lot of trees, and a lot of areas to make mistakes. I thoroughly enjoy playing Mastin; I should get out here to play this course more than I do. If you're in the area and can play only one course, maybe look at UAH/Redstone/Monte Sano, but if you've got time for a few courses, you'll definitely want to add this one to your itinerary.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/3/2007   2/10/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging wooded course, but it does have fairways and it does open up a couple of times. Most holes seemed to play laterally along the hillside, which aren't as tiring as constantly going up and down. Big ditch/gulch in play on one hole was fun to navigate.

Shady in the Alabama summer!
Cons: Was a little to confusing to navigate, but not impossible as the holes aren't too long or spaced out. I had someone who had played it before showing me the way though!

Other Thoughts: Of the three public courses in town, this is my least favorite, but is a decent course to help make Huntsville a nice DG destination if you play UAH and Brahan.

There is no lake here- at least not near the course! So you don't have to worry about losing a disc that way.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/24/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun little course that sits mostly in the woods on the side of a large hill. There are good concrete tee pads on every hole. The design is very good, using the many trees and elevation well, and forcing a large variety of shots off the tee. There is a good mix of easy shots and tough shots, with a lot more in between.

This course offers a good challenge for a lot of different skill levels. A few of the tougher holes do have alternate tee pads.
Cons: These have been covered, but I will reiterate. There are no tee signs and the layout can be a bit confusing if it is your first time playing the course. As mentioned, you have to walk past 17's tee pad in order to get to hole 11. I initially played this course in a tournament and my 2nd time playing the course several months later, I remember having to try and find my way around the course. A little work fixing these problems would go a long way with this particular course.

Several of the fairways have rocks in the fairway that can be rough on discs and some thick shule lining the fairways that can make it tough to find an errant shot. Also, the course it self is in the middle of a neighborhood, so be sure to look closely for the correct street that leads to the entrance.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is just a fun course to play and it is a good compliment to the other courses that are nearby. Amateurs and newer players will enjoy the many interesting shots that are not too difficult or too long. Pros will enjoy the course because most holes will challenge you to get the birdie, with plenty of dangers for not so accurate shots that go off the beaten path. As a blue level pro, I tend to leave this course thinking I should have shot 10 down, when the reality is that 5-8 is a good solid score. Scratch Scoring Average for the last tournament I played here is actually around a 47-48. If you like wooded courses with lots of elevation change, I would recommend playing here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.