Huntsville, AL
Mastin Lake Share
Uploaded By: nitegolfer Hole #5 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lora

1    9/30/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: loraski
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: We loved this course. We are still relatively new to the sport and it gave us a confidence boost! The course was very well marked and tee pads and baskets were nice.
Cons: Couldn't find anything we didn't like!
Other Thoughts: We enjoy courses like this when you don't have to go through thick underbrush to find errant discs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mastin Lake

1    5/29/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 90  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thought this was a very enjoyable course. It's situated along a nice forested hill in a nice little park. It begins at the base of the hill and slowly works its way up and back down. Although there are plenty of elevation changes none of the holes particularly capitalize on drastic up or downhill shots save for hole 17. It's a big and tight downhill shot that punches out into the open before 18 brings you back into the woods. A couple other holes punch out as well. One of them is through a wooded fairway to a small field with an OB culvert and another punch out towards a residential area. There is a punch in as well. It shoots back over a creek/ditch and the tee pad is just a few feet from the pit bull's back yard and he will let you know he is there for sure. Other tight shots abound with trees scattered along the fairways and they offer plenty of obstacles. There are two very pronounced doglegs, one left turning and one right turning with some elevation mixed in. They help with the already diverse shot types considering most of the holes are in heavily wooded areas. The holes vary in length but they do tend to lean towards the short side. The longest hole is only 366' but still makes for a somewhat challenging three.

This course has good baskets, good signage, and nice concrete tee pads. There are a few holes with alternate pads and there are a few alternate pin placements as well. You'll also find a variety of benches scattered around the course.

The course seems thoughtfully designed. Holes one and eighteen are near the parking lot, and the flow is good except for one pronounced spot. The hole nine/ten transition is close enough to the parking lot as well.
Cons: Nothing stands out as a huge con on this course to me. If you dislike short wooded courses this might not be one for you. A handful of longer and open holes could really diversify the course and probably become a favorite. Beyond that and besides each individual's pet peeves you should not have a whole lot to complain about. It's a pretty solid course.

The transition between ten's basket and eleven's tee pad is worth mentioning. It has you walking right behind 17's tee pad. If there are times when the course is crowded it will be distracting for the folks playing 17.
Other Thoughts: If this course had just a little more variety I would give it a four. As it stands I will give it a strong 3-1/2. Keep in mind that I love wooded courses though.

This is another really nice Huntsville course. What a pleasure it must be for the Huntsville locals to have so many choices in courses that are so close together. If you are planning a trip to Huntsville, make sure you give yourself enough time to hit several courses, including this one. Enjoy.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wait...wheres the lake?

5+    2/16/2008   8/21/2009
Review By: The Drake
Played: 84  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mastin Lake is a very diverse wooded course. Nearly every hole requires a unique approach requiring you to really know every disc in your bag. There's a great variety of elevation changes. The fairways are open and legitimate without the random middle-of-the fairway-trees you find at some wooded courses to "add difficulty". With the other courses in the area Mastin Lake is a great supplemental course to Huntsville's disc golf scene.
Cons: There aren't a whole lot of cons to this course. It doesn't have a lot of distance so you can leave your drivers in the car if you're a long arm.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course several times and to me is one of the underecognized courses in Huntsville. With UAH and Redstone within a few minutes drive its understandable this course isn't the hot topic, but its definitely worth playing if you've got sometime, can't get on Redstone, and don't feel like throwing your arm out a UAH.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/13/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A nice short woodsy track that runs through modest elevation and reasonable fairways. Nice to see multiple pin placements and some extra tees on some holes. I really enjoyed having a few ace runs mixed with some longer holes to keep it from being a pitch & putt course. There is one hole (12?) where a 3 is hard-earned with a good drive. The course is technical but will all skill levels in my group were having fun. The locals are great- three of us united to play and had never met each other before! Signs on all the tees appear new and the baskets are all numbered and bright.
Cons: A few "next tee" signs would be helpful in a couple places. Navigation is not too tough otherwise. A practice basket would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I think that courses with multiple pins should follow PA course Tyler St. Park's example- put a little rotating dial which indicates which position the pin is in. It can save some walking and guessing, especially when it comes to doglegs.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great elevation shots, no signs

1    12/13/2008   12/13/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in the woods on the side of a hill. The layout uses the change of elevation extremely well, with many uphill and downhill shots.

The front 9 plays a little shorter than the back 9. There are quite a few technical shots that require accurate 250 feet drives. I had 3 birdies on the front, but took a 4 on a 400 foot downhill shot and a very narrow fairway.

The layout on the back 9 is confusing (read about that in the cons), but there were some really cool golf shots on the back 9. Many of the shots being in the 250-350 range, with a couple shorter birdie opportunities. The 17th hole was my favorite by far. The teepad is on the side of the hill, and you are throwing dead straight and downhill out into an open field. The shot is about 360 feet with the first 270 feet going through the woods.

There were definitely some challenging holes at this course, but I would not call it hard. Some accurate drives and good midrange game will let you shoot under par easily.
Cons: No signs at all. Also, the layout is confusing... The basktes don't have markings either. It would be best to find a local to show you the way, as it will save you a lot of time wandering around in the woods.

You are going to miss hole 11 playing the first time, because there are no tee signs. Hole 17 follows Hole 10 for some reason - you have to walk past the 17th tee to find the 11th tee.
Other Thoughts: In the fall the leaves are thick and errant throws can be hard to find. In the summer when the trees have leaves, the fairways would be much tighter.

There are no par 4 type of shots here, but there are some challenging disc golf shots at this course. I shot a -3 the first time playing it, and it took about 1.5 hours to play.

I really enjoyed the round I played here, and would recommend it to anyone who likes courses with good elevation change. If every hole had signs and there were more alternate pin possibilities this course could easily be a 4.0

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice fall day

1    11/8/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: Boostman
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great layout and use of otherwise under used section of a park. Nice concrete tee pads, nice Discathcer baskets. Course has a nice array of shots, left, right, straight, uphill, and downhill. Course was well maintained and seems to be used often. Heavily wooded which made for some nice tight shots.
Cons: No tee signs (Think they were in the process of upgrading). No course map on information board.
Other Thoughts: We missed the little sign up in the tress about tee #11 so accidentally played #17 only to realize it afterward. No real harm done as we walked the course backwards to find where our error was which gave us good insight the reminder of the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.