Huntsville, AL
Mastin Lake Share
Uploaded By: nitegolfer Hole #1 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 207ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 All around great course

1    3/23/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: superchadw
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really enjoyed this course. Had 4 other people with me that was there first time and they had a blast. There's not many areas that your disc can be lost or buried to where you cant find it like other places ive been. Ive played a good bit and thought it was challenging enough for me.
Cons: There was a football game going on in the park next to a pin and we had to skip that hole due to it. Not a huge deal though.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Coarse

1    1/5/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: chainbanger14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mixture of tight shots and open fairways! elevation changes. there is a creek that runs through part of the course.
Cons: no cons particularly agrivating. wish there was a bridge in some spots to cross the creek
Other Thoughts: in all a great course, btw watch out for the pitbull on one of the holes. i nicknamed him hercules

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Throw In The Woods!

1    7/6/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is set up mostly on the side of a hillside. It does seem as though you play along the hill more than up and down. It's tight and technical but I felt the design was very well thought out. We didn't feel there were any "throwaway holes" where they just stuck a hole in there to get you to the next place. We had no problem navigating the course for the first time. There were tee signs on almost every hole, they must be new. They're nice and informative. We did have to walk ahead a few times and figure out where the basket was. There are multiple basket placements and a couple holes have multiple pads. The pads were more than adequate. My favorite hole was one where you threw across the lawn to a basket just across the large, deep ditch (empty in July). That would be kinda of scary hole when that ditch was filled w/water. It's nice and shady in the Bama sun. Many holes have benches/logs to rest on.
Cons: There's no place for the big air throw. It's tight. I guess the rough is thick compared to many Alabama courses.
Other Thoughts: Enough challenge for everyone, I think, but not so long or foreboding that a newbie can't enjoy it. We brought someone playing only his second time time after Brahan Springs and even though he shot 20 over, he loved the course. So it's newbie friendly.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent!

5+    3/5/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: wirerat123
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is an accuracy test no doubt. BIG variety of shots, nice uphills, downhills, lefts, rights, straights. This course is #2 on my bring your learning players here. Brahan Springs being the first and the easiest. Once they start getting close to par every game there, bring them here. It forces you to work on your accuracy. Another great grooming and practice course in Huntsville. If you play nothing but Brahan Springs and Mastin Lake for a year, when you step out on to another course you aren't going to get your heart broken.
Cons: Thick layer of dead leaves makes finding discs a chore sometimes. Needs signs, or something to make finding your way around here easier. Shady neighborhood, have had several people wandering around looking into cars parked here. but it's not a problem when the park is busier.
Other Thoughts: Everyone but the strongest of players will enjoy tuning up on this one. Get ready to get your legs in shape.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 mastin lake

5+    9/22/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: wdemick
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.9 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: elevation changes and variety of shots needed
Cons: bring skeeter spray!
Other Thoughts: players used to wide open courses are brought down to earth here. still one of my favorite all-time courses.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 good course

4/13/2008   4/19/2008
Review By: domihop20
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good clean course with lots of shade and up and down a hill. Challenging.
Cons: none that I can think of
Other Thoughts: easy to miss park tucked away on a residential street

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.