Disc Golf Store
Huntsville, AL 
Mastin Lake Share
Uploaded By: SimonCarr Hole #17
3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Enjoyable Throw In The Woods!

1    7/6/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is set up mostly on the side of a hillside. It does seem as though you play along the hill more than up and down. It's tight and technical but I felt the design was very well thought out. We didn't feel there were any "throwaway holes" where they just stuck a hole in there to get you to the next place. We had no problem navigating the course for the first time. There were tee signs on almost every hole, they must be new. They're nice and informative. We did have to walk ahead a few times and figure out where the basket was. There are multiple basket placements and a couple holes have multiple pads. The pads were more than adequate. My favorite hole was one where you threw across the lawn to a basket just across the large, deep ditch (empty in July). That would be kinda of scary hole when that ditch was filled w/water. It's nice and shady in the Bama sun. Many holes have benches/logs to rest on.
Cons: There's no place for the big air throw. It's tight. I guess the rough is thick compared to many Alabama courses.
Other Thoughts: Enough challenge for everyone, I think, but not so long or foreboding that a newbie can't enjoy it. We brought someone playing only his second time time after Brahan Springs and even though he shot 20 over, he loved the course. So it's newbie friendly.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent!

5+    3/5/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: wirerat123
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is an accuracy test no doubt. BIG variety of shots, nice uphills, downhills, lefts, rights, straights. This course is #2 on my bring your learning players here. Brahan Springs being the first and the easiest. Once they start getting close to par every game there, bring them here. It forces you to work on your accuracy. Another great grooming and practice course in Huntsville. If you play nothing but Brahan Springs and Mastin Lake for a year, when you step out on to another course you aren't going to get your heart broken.
Cons: Thick layer of dead leaves makes finding discs a chore sometimes. Needs signs, or something to make finding your way around here easier. Shady neighborhood, have had several people wandering around looking into cars parked here. but it's not a problem when the park is busier.
Other Thoughts: Everyone but the strongest of players will enjoy tuning up on this one. Get ready to get your legs in shape.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/3/2007   2/10/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging wooded course, but it does have fairways and it does open up a couple of times. Most holes seemed to play laterally along the hillside, which aren't as tiring as constantly going up and down. Big ditch/gulch in play on one hole was fun to navigate.

Shady in the Alabama summer!
Cons: Was a little to confusing to navigate, but not impossible as the holes aren't too long or spaced out. I had someone who had played it before showing me the way though!

Other Thoughts: Of the three public courses in town, this is my least favorite, but is a decent course to help make Huntsville a nice DG destination if you play UAH and Brahan.

There is no lake here- at least not near the course! So you don't have to worry about losing a disc that way.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/24/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun little course that sits mostly in the woods on the side of a large hill. There are good concrete tee pads on every hole. The design is very good, using the many trees and elevation well, and forcing a large variety of shots off the tee. There is a good mix of easy shots and tough shots, with a lot more in between.

This course offers a good challenge for a lot of different skill levels. A few of the tougher holes do have alternate tee pads.
Cons: These have been covered, but I will reiterate. There are no tee signs and the layout can be a bit confusing if it is your first time playing the course. As mentioned, you have to walk past 17's tee pad in order to get to hole 11. I initially played this course in a tournament and my 2nd time playing the course several months later, I remember having to try and find my way around the course. A little work fixing these problems would go a long way with this particular course.

Several of the fairways have rocks in the fairway that can be rough on discs and some thick shule lining the fairways that can make it tough to find an errant shot. Also, the course it self is in the middle of a neighborhood, so be sure to look closely for the correct street that leads to the entrance.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is just a fun course to play and it is a good compliment to the other courses that are nearby. Amateurs and newer players will enjoy the many interesting shots that are not too difficult or too long. Pros will enjoy the course because most holes will challenge you to get the birdie, with plenty of dangers for not so accurate shots that go off the beaten path. As a blue level pro, I tend to leave this course thinking I should have shot 10 down, when the reality is that 5-8 is a good solid score. Scratch Scoring Average for the last tournament I played here is actually around a 47-48. If you like wooded courses with lots of elevation change, I would recommend playing here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great elevation shots, no signs

1    12/13/2008   12/13/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in the woods on the side of a hill. The layout uses the change of elevation extremely well, with many uphill and downhill shots.

The front 9 plays a little shorter than the back 9. There are quite a few technical shots that require accurate 250 feet drives. I had 3 birdies on the front, but took a 4 on a 400 foot downhill shot and a very narrow fairway.

The layout on the back 9 is confusing (read about that in the cons), but there were some really cool golf shots on the back 9. Many of the shots being in the 250-350 range, with a couple shorter birdie opportunities. The 17th hole was my favorite by far. The teepad is on the side of the hill, and you are throwing dead straight and downhill out into an open field. The shot is about 360 feet with the first 270 feet going through the woods.

There were definitely some challenging holes at this course, but I would not call it hard. Some accurate drives and good midrange game will let you shoot under par easily.
Cons: No signs at all. Also, the layout is confusing... The basktes don't have markings either. It would be best to find a local to show you the way, as it will save you a lot of time wandering around in the woods.

You are going to miss hole 11 playing the first time, because there are no tee signs. Hole 17 follows Hole 10 for some reason - you have to walk past the 17th tee to find the 11th tee.
Other Thoughts: In the fall the leaves are thick and errant throws can be hard to find. In the summer when the trees have leaves, the fairways would be much tighter.

There are no par 4 type of shots here, but there are some challenging disc golf shots at this course. I shot a -3 the first time playing it, and it took about 1.5 hours to play.

I really enjoyed the round I played here, and would recommend it to anyone who likes courses with good elevation change. If every hole had signs and there were more alternate pin possibilities this course could easily be a 4.0

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice fall day

1    11/8/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: Boostman
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great layout and use of otherwise under used section of a park. Nice concrete tee pads, nice Discathcer baskets. Course has a nice array of shots, left, right, straight, uphill, and downhill. Course was well maintained and seems to be used often. Heavily wooded which made for some nice tight shots.
Cons: No tee signs (Think they were in the process of upgrading). No course map on information board.
Other Thoughts: We missed the little sign up in the tress about tee #11 so accidentally played #17 only to realize it afterward. No real harm done as we walked the course backwards to find where our error was which gave us good insight the reminder of the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 mastin lake

5+    9/22/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: wdemick
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: elevation changes and variety of shots needed
Cons: bring skeeter spray!
Other Thoughts: players used to wide open courses are brought down to earth here. still one of my favorite all-time courses.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

4/26/2008   4/30/2008
Review By: Rogue Skunk
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Difficult but not impossible lines through heavy woods and steep elevation changes. Holes are laid out well and easy to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I don't reccomend playing this course following a round at UAH. My legs were killing me :).

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 good course

4/13/2008   4/19/2008
Review By: domihop20
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good clean course with lots of shade and up and down a hill. Challenging.
Cons: none that I can think of
Other Thoughts: easy to miss park tucked away on a residential street

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.