Casper, WY 
Bullsnake Alley Share



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Easier Version of Casper DGC

1    4/25/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great views of the surrounding area from holes 12-13. This course is pretty scenic in its own unique Wyoming type of way.
-Some fun elevation. 12 and 13 were the main 2 but there were a few other examples of lesser elevations used well. Holes 7 and 18 were good examples.
-Easy enough navigation with the large metal tee signs, arrows to next tee in basket, and flags marking the way.
-Tees are marked off by wood and despite being natural, are fairly flat.
-A good amount of woods here, a little more than on Casper. It made you throw some lines but gave options as well. There were straight holes as well as holes that made you throw left and right. There were a few blind holes as well.
-A good variety of lengths. Some were shorter but usually tighter. Some were longer and a little more open.
-The park is mostly disc golf. There are walkers and bikers but it is still open enough that you should see them coming. I had no interferences.
-The course didn't appear to be too busy. There were only a few other groups playing the two courses when I was there. If you get there and want to avoid other groups, you can play the other course. This course also loops around after 9 so you can play the back 9 first if you want to.
-Shared practice basket with Casper
-Casper is another fun course and is right next to this one.
-Many ace runs if you hit your line right. I almost aced 2 then did ace 14.
Cons: -Tees are natural. Most of them were decent enough. One flooding of the river and all the tees are gone. Some were a big bumpy and others were sandy and loose. Hole 14 didn't really have a tee.
-Baskets are single chained. They caught well enough, I had a few chainouts but not too many. These are better than nothing.
-Mailbox was full of candy wrappers instead of maps.
-Could lose a disc in the river on 17, in the bushes on many holes but especially 13. And on most holes in the rough later in the season. It wasn't bad right now in April though.
-Cacti, sage, and other prickly plants. I assume there are snakes here too but I didn't see any.
-No tee signs at all beyond the metal plates with numbers, it would be very helpful for distance and knowing where the blind baskets are.
Other Thoughts: -This course is definitely a good course. I debated between 3 and 3.5 for its rating. If it had signage, maps in the mailbox, better tees, better baskets, it could get bumped to a 3.5 or maybe even a 4.
-This course is a slightly easier version of Casper DGC. It seemed to me to be shorter overall and more approachable for newer players.
-When you walk across the bridge, just keep going and don't get distracted by baskets on the right. Those are the last few holes. You will find the start of the course shortly.
-I would definitely recommend a stop here. You can play Casper and this course pretty quick as they are right next to each other and not too busy. You won't spend much time searching for the next tee or discs here. These courses are unique and fun.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Second Course

2-4    4/14/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 74  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the newer companion course to the Casper DGC on the same plot of land. It uses both wooded land along the river and the more barren hillside to provide two very different types of holes.

The holes on the lower part of the course play among the trees lining the river, and offer a lot of opportunities for line-shaping, backhand vs. forehand, etc. The river is in play only on the 17th hole and is easily avoided.

The upper part of the course plays up, down, and along the hillside. This area is pretty barren, but the elevation changes offer a lot of challenge.

The course is new and a little raw, but very playable. Teepads are simply cleared areas on the ground, usually outlined with logs or branches. They were a bit wet and muddy when I played, but usable.

I really liked the "Bullsnake Alley" sign at the start of the course. Great graphic and some good information about Bullsnakes and why they shouldn't be harmed.

Each tee has a very nice steel sign with the hole number cut into a vertical steel panel. The panels were painted bright red which made them easy to find.

Each basket had an indicator of the direction to the next tee, and there were a few plastic flags marking the path to the next tee. Being a newer course I assume that the paths between holes will wear in to become more obvious.

This is a shorter course than the adjacent course, which would make it more newby and family friendly.
Cons: This is a newish course, and a map of the overall course, hole maps, or at least hole distances would be useful. I'm guessing that the signage will eventually match that on the adjacent course.

The baskets are single chain baskets, and I had one blow-through and a couple of near blow-throughs on harder putts. Not a big negative but they don't catch as well as the Innova baskets on the adjacent course.

The hillside is pretty rough and has the most amazing amount of small cactus that I've ever seen on a course. There were places where I was literally standing on a carpet of cactus.
I didn't get any spines but it wouldn't be hard to get stuck.
Other Thoughts: I rated this course a bit lower than the adjacent course, mainly because it is less finished. With the addition of concrete teepads and some signage this course would be just as nice as the other.

Congratulations to the local DG Club for having 36 good holes on this property.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice surprise

1    9/13/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: Harrishabitat
Played: 135  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice companion to the other course on site. And it is very nice to have two courses right together.

Has some nice tight shots that makes you really hit your lines

The elevated shot from the hill side is a fun shot
Cons: (this is a brand new course so this isn't a negative as much as some stuff to work on)

Really need to create some paths in the cactus on the back side of the course

There is nothing wrong with natural tee pads, but smoothing them out would be a good start.

Other Thoughts: Overall I was very impressed with the course considering that Casper only has one other course. I really liked the fact that they put it on the same land as the other course. I also liked the fact that is a tighter more technical course then the other one so there are two very distinct feels for each course.

This course is less then a month old so any comments need to be taken as suggestions and not as negatives. So far this is great course and look forward to more of what they are doing here,

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bullsnake Alley... The other dark meat.

5+    8/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: Scott Ruskanen
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2013
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This review is being updated 11/ 28/ 2013.
Bullsnake Alley is a nice tight shot type course. 425 ft. is the lonest hole. This is a new course and seems just a little rough around the edges yet. But you will get to practice with most every disc in your bag. Tight hyzer and anhyzer lines keep you guessing. Deceptive basket placement lets you see the basket.. then wonder how you might be able to get there. There are an abundance of cottonwood and Russian olive trees that come into play on most holes. #8 is a cool blind shot over some greasewood trees about 170 feet. Biggest cottonwood tree I've ever seen on #5. #12 takes you straight up a 60' hill about 350' long. Very tuff birdie right there. #13 lets you shoot off the hill on your Tee shot. #17 skirts the Platte river... Lost my Vulcan there.. middle of the river.
Cons: Concrete tee pads would be nice. some benches and garbage cans would also help.
Other Thoughts: Bullsnake Alley is in a natural setting next to the Platte river. As such, there is a lot of wildlife. We chased off 2 coyotes... scared away some mule deer and antelope. Pretty sure a badger lives close to #15.. you just hear growling in the hole. The signage is top notch... 16"x8" plate steel with the numbers jet blasted into them.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.